دمج الأطباء اللاجئين في منظومات الرعاية الصحية بالمجتمع المضيف

يواجه الأطباء اللاجئون عدداً من العوائق التي تمنعهم من مزاولة مهنة الطب رغم الإسهامات الكبيرة التي يمكنهم أن يقدموها.

لا ينقص الأطباء اللاجئون[1] الحماسة في مزاولة الطب، بل لديهم حافزية عالية تجاه ذلك سواء أكانوا في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أم في مناطق أخرى، لكنهم غالباً ما يجدون أنفسهم مضطرين إلى العمل في الوظائف التي تتطلب مهارات دنيا ريثما يُسمَحُ لهم الدخول في برامج الإقامة الطبية.[2]وقد يواجهون صعوبات كثيرة في التواصل وتوفير الوثائق، وإثبات تدريبهم السابق وربما يعكس ذلك فوات الفرصة ليس للأطباء اللاجئين فحسب، بل لمنظومة الرعاية الصحية في البلد المضيف ذاتها، خاصة في البلدان أو المناطق التي تعاني من شح في الأطباء، وربما تعاني من ارتفاع موجات الهجرة، أو سكان اللاجئين.    

ومؤلفات هذه المقالة هنَّ لاجئات سابقات، أو طالبات لجوء سابقان، أو مهاجران إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، أو ممن لديهن خبرات سابقة حول اللاجئين. وهذا الموضوع قريب إلى قلوبنا، فنحن طبيبات مهنيات تحدونا رغبة في استكشاف الطرق التي يمكننا من خلالها أن نمكن الأطباء اللاجئين ونساعدهم في الانضمام إلى سوق العمل واستئناف حياتهم المهنية والتعبير عن هوياتهم ومساعدتهم في سد الفجوات والثغرات.

دروس من بلدان أخرى

يتطلب إدماج الأطباء اللاجئين في منظومة الرعاية الصحية في البلد المضيف إشراك مختلف أصحاب العلاقة المعنيين بمن فيهم الجمعيات الطبية، والخدمات الطبية الإقليمية والوطنية والمنظمات في القطاع الخاص والجامعات. فقد اعترفت المملكة المتحدة على سبيل المثال بأن التغلب على العوائق الماثلة في الاعتراف بالشهادات ومعادلتها والاعتراف بالمؤهلات والتدريب السابق والأنظمة واللوائح الخاصة بالتوظيف كلها سيتطلب إحداث تغيرات خاصة على المستوى الوطني والمحلي في السياسات لتمكن الأطباء اللاجئين وأطباء الأسنان منهم من مزاولة مهنهم في المملكة المتحدة.[3]وتضمنت مبادرة السياسات على نطاق المملكة المتحدة إنشاء المجموعة التوجيهية للمهنيين في مجال الصحة من اللاجئين التي أشرفت على بناء البرامج من أجل المساعدة على الاستبقاء على الأطباء اللاجئين وفقاً لمعايير الخدمات الصحية الوطنية، وتغطية تكاليف الكشف الطبي، وإعادة نقل الأطباء إلى المناطق التي تعاني من شح في الخدمات الطبية. وكان هناك كثير من البرامج المحلية التي ساعدت الأطباء اللاجئين على التسجيل لدى المجلس الطبي العام واجتياز امتحان البورد المهني اللغوي التقييمي. ومع أن قوانين الهجرة اللاحقة منذ ذلك الحين أضافت صعوبات جديدة أمام الأطباء اللاجئين لتحد من دخولهم إلى سوق العمل والبقاء في المملكة المتحدة، بقي معظم الأطباء اللاجئين من المساهمين في هذه المشروعات في المملكة المتحدة ليزاولوا مهنتهم.

في عام 2015، وضعت الحكومة السويدية الأطباء اللاجئين على ’المسار السريع‘ نحو منظومة الرعاية الصحية، وذلك عن طريق تسريع التحقق من أوراقهم الثبوتية وتوفير التدريب الفردي والإرشادي والتوجيهي ودروس اللغة السويدية. وفي تركيا، أسست جامعة غازي عنتاب مع منظمة الصحة الدولية فريقاً من أجل تدريب وتوظيف 500 لاجئ سوري من الأطباء وذلك للمساعدة في تقديم خدمات الرعاية الصحية للاجئين السوريين، وكانت العيادات المحلية تقدم الفرص للأطباء من أجل رفع مستوى الوعي لديهم وما يتعلق بمنظومة الصحة التركية.[4]

الوضع الحالي في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

لممارسة الطب في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ينبغي للأطباء اللاجئين أولاً أن يخوضوا عملية مكثفة للغاية ومستهلكة للوقت، وتتطلب جهداً وعملاً كبيراً ومالاً كثيراً أيضاً، وتتضمن عملية المصادقة على الشهادات والاختبارات وفترات الإقامة في المستشفيات، وترخيص المزاولة. ومع أن مناصري هذه المنظومة يشيرون إلى ضرورة ضمان أفضل جودة ممكنة، وأكثرها اتساقاً في تقديم الرعاية للمرضى، هناك خبراء آخرون يقولون إن الأطباء الأجانب المدربين لديهم معارف متقدمة إضافة إلى المهارات العيادية أبل قد يتفوقون في ذلك عما يمتلكه الأطباء المدربون محلياً، ذلك لأن الأطباء الأجانب كانوا يعملون في بيئات لا تعتمد كثيراً على التكنولوجيا. ففي دراسة أجريت حديثاً على سبيل المثال تبين أن المرضى الأكبر سناً في المستشفيات الأمريكية الذين عالجهم خريجون من كليات الطب الأجنبية كانت احتمالية وفاتهم خلال 30 يوماً أقل ممن عالجهم خريجو الجامعات الأمريكية.[5]

وقد أُسِّسَ عدد من البرامج الخاصة والعامة وغير الهادفة للربح لدعم الأطباء اللاجئين في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. فهناك مبادرة مرحباً بكم مجدداً (Welcome Back) التي أسست في عام 2001، وفيها استخدمت المجموعة المتاحة من الأطباء خريجي الجامعات الأجنبية الذين لم تستغل كفاءتهم من قبل والذين يعيشون في كاليفورنيا من أجل توفير الرعاية المناسبة لغوياً وثقافياً للسكان المحليين.[6]ومنذ ذلك الحين توسعت هذه المبادرة لتضم شبكة وطنية من أحد عشر مركزاً في تسع ولايات، وتخدم ما يقارب خمسة عشر ألف فرد من 167 بلداً. وتقدم هذه المراكز خدماتها مجاناً للأطباء اللاجئين بما في ذلك الخدمات التوجيهية والاستشارة المهنية والدعم في الحصول على الوثائق الثبوتية والرخص، والمساعدة في استكشاف البرامج التعليمية وفرص الوظائف والتطوع وغير ذلك من خيارات مهنية بديلة. لكن النجاح مع ذلك كان متواضعاً: فـ23% من المشاركين حصلوا على التوظيف في القطاع الصحي للمرة الأولى، و21% اجتازوا اختبار الترخيص، وهناك 87 طبيباً ممن قُبِلُوا في البرامج التدريبية[7].

يهدف برنامج مساعدة خريجي العلوم الطبية الدوليين في وزارة الصحة في ولاية مينيسوتا إلى تعزيز القدرة على الوصول إلى الرعاية الطبية الأولية في المناطق الريفية وغير المخدومة جيداً بالخدمات الصحية وذلك بتوفير تقييم الجاهزية العيادية لخريجي الجامعات الأجنبية الطبية وتمويل المنظمات غير الهادفة للربح لتوفير الإرشادات المهنية، والخبرات العيادية الإضافية، ومواقع الإقامة الطبية في الرعاية الأولوية لخريجي الجامعات الأجنبية الراغبين بممارسة الطب في المناطق غير المخدومة.

وفي عام 2014 كانت ميسوري الولاية الأولى التي أقرت تشريعاً تُنشَأ بموجبه فئة جديدة من ’الأطباء المساعدين‘ المرخصين الذي يمكنهم أن يقدموا الرعاية الطبية الأولية تحت الإشراف المباشر لطبيب في المنطقة التي تعاني من شح في الخدمات الطبية الصحية، وذلك لأول ثلاثين يوماً ثم يكون الإشراف غير مباشر على يد طبيب يمارس الطب ضمن دائرة نصف قطرها خمسون ميلاً. ورغم الانتقاد الذي وجه إلى القانون[8] بلغ عدد الأطباء الذين تقدموا للحصول على الرخصة منذ مايو/أيار 2017 مائة وسبعة وعشرين طبيباً منهم 23 حصلوا على الرخصة، و55 صدر قرار بأنهم غير مؤهلين لذلك، وما زالت طلبات البقية تحت المراجعة.

ثم إنَّ كثيراً من المؤسسات الأكاديمية الأمريكية مثل جامعة كاليفورنيا في سانتياغو، وجامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس أنجلس أنشأت برامج خاصة من أجل تسكين أطباء الأسرة المؤهلين ثقافياً ومتعددي اللغات في الأماكن التي تحظى بنسبة عالية جداً من مجتمعات اللاجئين والمهاجرين.

التوصيات

رغم الإبداع وقصص النجاح المبكرة التي حظيت بها هذه البرامج الأمريكية هناك عامل مشترك بينها كلها وهو أنها جميعاً كانت صغيرة النطاق. فمقارنة بالبلدان الأخرى التي تستضيف اللاجئين، ما زالت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية متخلفة من ناحية بذل الجهود المنسقة للاعتراف بتدريب الأطباء اللاجئين والعثور على طرق مبسطة وأكثر سهولة لتعزيز معارفهم ومواهبهم ومهاراتهم اللغوية ومهاراتهم الأخرى في إنقاذ حياة الناس من أجل إفادة مجتمعاتنا. وعليه نقترح ما يلي: 

  • إنشاء فريق عمل يضم أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين على المستوى الاتحادي وعلى مستوى الولايات الفيدرالية ويضم ممثلي عن مؤسسات القطاعين الخاص والعام والمجالس الطبية والجمعيات والنقابات المهنية والأطباء اللاجئين أنفسهم. ويتولى ذلك الفريق جمع الإحصاءات الأساسية حول عدد الأطباء اللاجئين وتوزيعهم الجغرافي وتخصصاتهم الحالية ودراسة مقاربات البلدان الأخرى ومراجعة متطلبات منح الشهادات والمصادقة عليها، واستقصاء الأطباء اللاجئين في مختلف الأدوار العيادية.
  • توفير الحوافز التدريبية لبرامج الإقامة في المستشفيات بحيث تكون مركزة جغرافياً أو حسب الاختصاص ومبنية على حاجات السكان الحاليين، ويمكن أن يتضمن ذلك إعادة هيكلة نظام الملاحظة (ملازمة الأطباء) والتدريب الداخلي والزمالة المصممة خصيصاً للأطباء اللاجئين.
  • تيسير متطلبات إعادة التدريب كحل مؤقت أو دائم لبعض اللاجئين الأطباء إضافة إلى وضع بعض التدابير الخاصة بتعزيز فرص الوظائف التي تستقطب وتعين الأطباء اللاجئين ليعملوا بأدوار أخرى مبدئياً (مثل التعرض إلى النظام الأمريكي والتعرف إليه).
  • توفير المنح الدراسية الأكثر تركيزاً بحيث تكون مبنية على الحاجات، أو تقديم نظام دعم المصروفات المالية من أجل المساعدة في تخفيف العبء المالي الهائل المترتب على إعادة اعتماد الشهادات واختبارات الترخيص.
  • تأسيس برامج نشطة يمكن النفاذ إليها لتوفير الإشراف والتوجيه من خلال عملية معقدة لمنح الشهادات والترخيص في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بالإضافة إلى التعليم على نظام الرعاية الصحية الأمريكية.
  • توفير مجموعة أدوات مجانية وسهلة الوصول بما في ذلك المصادر الوطنية ومصادر الولاية ووحدات الاتصالات التعليمية واستراتيجيات خوض الاختبارات والمعلومات المتعلقة بعملية التقدم بالطلبات.

وأخيراً، لا يجب إغفال الدور المهم والحاسم للأطباء أنفسهم في المساعدة في دعم المبادرات الجديدة. وقد تساعد جهود التطوير المهني في تحديد القادة الذين يمكنهم أن ينفذوا برامج دعم خريجي الجامعات الأجنبية، والسعي نحو الشراكات في التخطيط الاستراتيجي وتنظيم المنظمات الحالية المناصرة للأطباء من خريجي الجامعات الأجنبية أو إقامة علاقة الشراكة معها.

شهلاء نامق snamak@wakehealth.edu

قسم طب الأسرة والمجتمع، كلية الطب في جامعة واين

فاتن سحار fsahhar@med.wayne.edu

قسم طب الأسرة وعلوم الصحة العامة، كلية الطب في جامعة واين

سارة قرشي sk795@georgetown.edu

قسم طب الأسرة، كلية الطب في جامعة جورج تاون

فاديا الريس fadya_el_rayess@brown.edu

قسم طب الأسرة، كلية ألبرت للطب في جامعة براون

رانيت ميشوري mishorir@georgetown.edu 

قسم طب الأسرة، كلية الطب في جامعة جورج تاون

[1]في هذه المقالة، نستخدم عبارة ’الأطباء اللاجئون‘ للدلالة على كل من الأطباء اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء.

[2] مدة تدريبية رسمية خاضعة للإشراف تقدم لخريجي كليات الطب وعادة ما تمتد من ثلاث إلى خمس سنوات يتخصص خلالها الطبيب في أحد مجالات الطب.

[3] Steward E (2007) ‘Addressing the Challenges Facing Refugee Doctors in the UK’, Local Economy Vol 22 (4(

 (’التصدي للتحديات التي تواجه الأطباء في المملكة المتحدة‘ في الاقتصاد المحلي) http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1080/02690940701736868

[4] Özdemir V, Kickbusch I and Coşkun Y (2017) ‘Rethinking the right to work for refugee Syrian healthcare professionals: a call for innovation in global governance’, British Medical Journal 357

(’إعادة التفكير في حق العمل للسوريين المخصصين في مجال الرعاية الصحية: دعوة للإبداع في الحوكمة العالمية‘ في المجلة الطبية البريطانية)

www.bmj.com/content/bmj/357/bmj.j2710.full.pdf

[5] Tsugawa Y J, Anupam B J, Orav E J and Ashish K J (2017) ‘Quality of care delivered by general internists in US hospitals who graduated from foreign versus US medical schools: observational study’, British Medical Journal 356 www.bmj.com/content/356/bmj.j273

(جودة الرعاية التي يقدمها الأطباء الباطنيون العامون في المستشفيات الأمريكية من خِرِّيجي الجامعات الأجنبية مقارنة بخريجي الجامعات الأمريكية: دراسة رصدية’في المجلة الطبية البريطانية)

[6] Fernández-Peña J R (2012) ‘Integrating Immigrant Health Professionals into the US Health Care Workforce: A Report from the Field’, Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health Vol 14 (3)

(’دمج المهنيين الصحيين المهاجرين في القوى العاملة في مجال الرعاية الصحية الأمريكية: تقرير من الميدان‘ في مجلة الهجرة وصحة الأقليات)

 https://doi.org/10.1007/s10903-011-9496-z

[7] يرتبط هذا الرقم بالأفراد البالغ عددهم عشرة آلاف و700 فرد في البرنامج في عام 2012.

[8] مثال ذلك

 Freeman B D (2016) ‘The Implications of Missouri’s First-in-the-Nation Assistant Doctor Legislation’, Journal of Graduate Medical Education Vol 8 (1)

(’مضمونات تشريع الطبيب المساعد الأول من نوعه في البلاد الذي سنّته ولاية ميسوري‘ في مجلة الدراسات العليا الطبية)

www.jgme.org/doi/10.4300/JGME-D-15-00341.1

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Integrating refugee doctors into host health-care systems

Refugee doctors face a number of barriers to practising medicine, despite the significant contributions that they can make.

Despite being highly motivated to practise medicine, refugee doctors[1] in the United States (US) and elsewhere often find themselves working in low-skilled jobs while waiting to get into residency programmes.[2] They may face difficulties in communication, providing documentation and verifying previous training. This may represent a missed opportunity not only for the refugee doctors themselves but for the host country’s own health-care system, especially in countries or areas with doctor shortages and/or a high proportion of immigrant or refugee populations.    

The authors of this article are themselves former refugees or asylum seekers, immigrants to the US and/or have immigrant or refugee backgrounds. This issue is close to our hearts as medical professionals and we would like to explore how we can empower and assist refugee doctors to join the workforce, resuming their professional lives and identities and helping to fill gaps.

Lessons from other countries

Integrating refugee doctors into a host country’s health-care system requires the involvement of different stakeholders including medical associations, regional and national health services, private organisations and universities. The UK, for example, recognised that overcoming barriers such as recognition of equivalency of qualifications and training, and employment regulations, would require specific national and local policy changes to enable refugee doctors and dentists to practise in the UK.[3] UK-wide policy initiatives included the creation of the Refugee Health Professionals Steering Group which supervised the development of programmes to help retrain refugee doctors to National Health Service standards, cover examination costs and relocate doctors to under-served areas. Many local programmes assisted refugee doctors to register with the General Medical Council and pass the Professional Linguistic Assessment Board exam. Although subsequent immigration laws have since made it more difficult for refugee doctors to enter the workforce rapidly and remain in the UK permanently, most of the refugee doctors participating in these projects have remained in the UK to practise.

In 2015, the Swedish government ‘fast-tracked’ refugee doctors into their health-care system by rapidly verifying their credentials and providing individual training, mentoring and Swedish language lessons. And in Turkey, Gaziantep University and the World Health Organization teamed up to train and employ 500 Syrian refugee doctors to help care for the Syrian refugee population, with local clinics providing opportunities for the doctors to familiarise themselves with the Turkish health system.[4]

The current situation in the US

To practice medicine in the US, refugee doctors must undergo a process that is very intensive in terms of time, labour and finances, involving certification, examination, residency periods and licensing. While advocates of this system point to the need to ensure the best and most consistent quality of care for patients, other experts argue that foreign-trained doctors have more advanced bedside clinical skills than domestically trained doctors, having generally practised medicine in settings with less technology. A recent study, for example, showed that older patients in US hospitals treated by International Medical Graduates (IMGs) were less likely to die within 30 days of treatment than those treated by US-trained graduates.[5] 

A number of private, public and non-profit programmes have been established to support refugee doctors in the US:

The Welcome Back Initiative (WBI), founded in 2001, used the untapped pool of IMGs living in California to provide linguistically and culturally competent care to local populations.[6] The WBI has since expanded to a national network of 11 centres in nine states, serving almost 15,000 individuals from 167 countries. These centres provide free services to refugee doctors, including orientation, career counselling, support in obtaining credentials and licences, assistance in exploring educational programmes, job and volunteer opportunities, and alternative career options. Success has been modest: 23% of participants obtained employment in the health sector for the first time, 21% passed licensing exams, and 87 doctors were accepted into training programmes.[7]

The Minnesota Department of Health’s International Medical Graduate Assistance Program aims to increase access to primary care in rural and under-served areas by providing clinical readiness assessment of IMGs and funding non-profit organisations to provide career guidance, additional clinical experience and primary-care residency positions for IMGs willing to practise in under-served areas.

In 2014, Missouri was the first State to pass legislation creating a new category of licensed ‘assistant doctors’ who can provide primary care under the direct supervision of a doctor in a health-care shortage area for the first 30 days, and thereafter with indirect supervision from a doctor who practises within a 50-mile radius. Although there has been criticism of the law,[8] as of May 2017 127 doctors had applied for the licence with 23 being issued a licence, 55 deemed ineligible, and the others under review.

Several US academic institutions, such as University of California San Diego and University of California Los Angeles, have created programmes to place multi-lingual, culturally competent family doctors in areas with large immigrant and refugee communities.

Recommendations

Despite the creativity and early successes of some of these US programmes, what almost all of them have in common is their small scale. Compared with other refugee-hosting countries, the US lags behind in making concerted efforts to recognise the training of refugee doctors and to find more streamlined ways of harnessing their knowledge, talents, language and lifesaving skills to benefit our communities. We propose: 

  • A task-force consisting of stakeholders from federal and State governmental, private and public organisations, medical boards and professional associations, as well as refugee doctors themselves, to collect basic statistics on the number of refugee doctors, their demographics and current specialisms and to study other countries’ approaches, review certification requirements and explore the integration of refugee doctors into different clinical roles.
  • Training incentives for residency programmes that are geographically or specialism-focused, based on local population needs; this may also include the restructuring of observerships (shadowing), internships and fellowships specifically tailored to refugee doctors.
  • Easing re-training requirements as a temporary or permanent solution for some, alongside other measures to strengthen job opportunities that recruit refugee doctors in other roles initially (to gain exposure to the US system).
  • A more centralised scholarship and needs-based grant or stipend system to help with the significant financial burden of re-certification and licensing exams.
  • Robust, accessible programmes to provide supervision and guidance through the complex certification and licensing process in the US, as well as instruction on the US health-care system.
  • Free, easily accessible toolkits including national and State-based resources, communication modules, test-taking strategies and information about the application process.

 

Finally and critically, refugee doctors themselves should help drive new initiatives. Professional development efforts may help identify leaders who would run IMG-support programmes, seek partnerships in strategic planning, and organise – and perhaps partner with – existing IMG advocacy organisations.

 

Shahla Namak snamak@wakehealth.edu
Department of Family and Community Medicine, Wake Forest School of Medicine

Fatin Sahhar fsahhar@med.wayne.edu
Department of Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences, Wayne State University School of Medicine

Sarah Kureshi sk795@georgetown.edu
Department of Family Medicine, Georgetown University School of Medicine

Fadya El Rayess fadya_el_rayess@brown.edu
Department of Family Medicine, Alpert School of Medicine at Brown University

Ranit Mishori mishorir@georgetown.edu
Department of Family Medicine, Georgetown University School of Medicine


[1] In this article, we use ‘refugee doctors’ to include both refugee and asylum-seeker doctors.

[2] A formal period of supervised training for medical school graduates, usually three to five years in length, during which a doctor specialises in a field of medicine.

[3] Steward E (2007) ‘Addressing the Challenges Facing Refugee Doctors in the UK’, Local Economy Vol 22 (4) http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1080/02690940701736868

[4] Özdemir V, Kickbusch I and Coşkun Y (2017) ‘Rethinking the right to work for refugee Syrian healthcare professionals: a call for innovation in global governance’, British Medical Journal 357 www.bmj.com/content/bmj/357/bmj.j2710.full.pdf

[5] Tsugawa Y J, Anupam B J, Orav E J and Ashish K J (2017) ‘Quality of care delivered by general internists in US hospitals who graduated from foreign versus US medical schools: observational study’, British Medical Journal 356 www.bmj.com/content/356/bmj.j273

[6] Fernández-Peña J R (2012) ‘Integrating Immigrant Health Professionals into the US Health Care Workforce: A Report from the Field’, Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health Vol 14 (3) https://doi.org/10.1007/s10903-011-9496-z

[7] This figure relates to the 10,700 individuals in the programme in 2012.

[8] For example, Freeman B D (2016) ‘The Implications of Missouri’s First-in-the-Nation Assistant Doctor Legislation’, Journal of Graduate Medical Education Vol 8 (1) www.jgme.org/doi/10.4300/JGME-D-15-00341.1

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview