مشاركة اللاجئين مع الاقتصادات المضيفة في أوغندا

يتيح العمل الميداني متعدد المواقع في أوغندا استكشاف الأنماط المعقدة للمشاركة بين النشاطات الاقتصادية للاجئين والاقتصادات المحلية في البيئات الحضرية والطوارئ والمطولة.

وضعت الحكومة الأوغندية الاعتماد على الذات في صلب المقاربة التي انتهجتها البلاد تجاه استضافة اللاجئين. وتستضيف أوغندا حالياً أكثر من مليون لاجئ من مختلف الجنسيات والقوميات، بمن فيهم اللاجئون من جمهورية الكونغو الديموقراطية والصومال وجنوب السودان ورواندا ممن يعيشون في المخيمات الريفية والمناطق الحضرية. ويتمتع اللاجئون في أوغندا على العموم بحق العمل وحرية الحركة ضمن البلاد والوصول إلى الخدمات الرئيسية. ولهذه السياسات دور مهم في تيسير مشاركة اللاجئين في نشاطات الأعمال وتمكينهم من الاندماج ضمن الأسواق المحلية والوطنية والصناعات المحلية في أوغندا.

وبين عامي 2013 و2015، أجريت مع زملائي دراسة حول الحياة الاقتصادية للاجئين ونظرنا في تفاعلهم مع المجتمعات المضيفة المحلية عبر أربعة مواقع ضمن ثلاث بيئات مختلفة: كامبالا-العاصمة وكيانجوالي وناكيفالي وهما مخيمان أقيما منذ أمد بعيد، وروامونجا وهو مخيم أنشئ حديثاً.[1] ويقدم هذا البحث متعدد المواقع مقارنة مثيرة للاهتمام بين العلاقات الاقتصادية القائمة بين اللاجئين والمضيفين عبر الزمن وفي مختلف البيئات الجغرافية.

كيانجوالي وناكيفالي: اقتصادات الاستيراد والتصدير

أقيم تجمع ناكيفالي عام 1959 أما تجمع كيانجوالي فقد أنشئ في عام 1989. ويشار إليهما على أنهما ’تجمعان بشريان‘ بدلاً من أن يكونا ’مخيمين‘، وذلك لطبيعتهما المنفتحة مكانياً ونظراً للحريات الاقتصادية الممنوحة فيهما للاجئين. وكلاهما يقع في الريف الجنوبي الغربي من البلاد، ومع أنهما بعيدان ونائيان جغرافياً فهما في الوقت نفسه ليسا منعزلان اقتصادياً فقد لاحظنا أنَّ النشاط الاقتصادي داخل التجمعين ليس متنوعاً فحسب بل إنَّه مدمج في الهيكليات الاقتصادية الأوسع نطاقاً التي تمتد إلى ما وراء حدودهما الجغرافية ذلك أنَّ البضائع والخدمات تستورد وتصدر ويمثل اللاجئون دوراً نشطاً في سلسلات التوريد تلك.

وكان اللاجئون عندما وصلوا إلى هذين التجمعين قد منحوا حق الوصول إلى الأراضي وزراعتها، فلا غرابة إذن أن تكون الزراعة التجارية هي النشاط الاقتصادي الأكثر شيوعاً. بل إنَّ تجمع كيانجوالي حصل على سمعة طيبة بين تجار المحاصيل الأوغنديين بأنَّه مصدر للذرة عالية الجودة. فخلال موسم الحصاد تخرج الشاحنات والحافلات الصغيرة الأوغندية بانتظام من كيانجوالي محملة بأكياس كبيرة من الذرة التي اشتروها من المزارعين اللاجئين، والتي يقصد إرسالها لبيعها في الأسواق المحلية في كامبالا وغيرها من المدن الأوغندية، بل حتى لتصديرها للدول المجاورة مثل تنزانيا وجنوب السودان.

ومع أنَّ النشاطات الزراعية تهيمن على كلا التجمعين، ظهرت أنواع من المشروعات التجارية النابضة بالحياة وأصبحت مدمجة اندماجاً عميقاً في كل من الشبكات الوطنية والإقليمية التجارية. وفي واقع الحال، تشتري كثير من المتاجر المعروفة في كل من كيانجوالي وناكيفالي البضائع من سلسلات التوريد القائمة التي يديرها بائعو الجملة الأوغنديون ممن يقدمون بانتظام إلى التجمعين ويبيعون البضائع للمتاجر الفرعية لهم.

"تجمع كيانجوالي واحد من أهم نقاط البيع لنا. وفي كيانجوالي رأينا متاجر اللاجئين الذين نبيع بضاعتنا لهم" (مدير المبيعات لمصنع أوغندي للجعة)

وفي ناكيفالي، لاحظنا وجود تفاعلات تجارية شبيهة بين اللاجئين وتجار الجملة الأوغنديين كما أنَّ كثيراً من أصحاب المشروعات الصوماليين على وجه الخصوص يستوردون من نظرائهم الصوماليين والأوغنديين في كامبالا المنتجات بما فيها الحليب والمعكرونة ولحم الجمال والملابس ومواد التجميل والأدوية ليحضروها ويبيعوها في التجمع.  

روامونجا: اقتصاد ناشئ

افتتح تجمع روامونجا في أبريل/نيسان 2012 في قرية ريفية تقع غربي أوغندا، وجاء التجمع استجابة إلى التدفق الطارئ للاجئين الكونغوليين. وفي الأشهر الأخيرة من عام 2013 عندما نفذنا بحثنا الأولي كان الناس ما زالوا في طور القدوم. ويُقَدَّمُ للقادمين الجدد حصص غذائية ومعونات إغاثية بما فيها مواد الطبخ، ومجرفة، وبطانيات، وأوعية الوقود، ومناجل. وكما الحال في كيانجوالي وناكيفالي، منح اللاجؤون قطعة أرض ليقيموا عليها ويزرعوها.

ويقول اللاجئون الذين جاؤوا إلى روامونجا عند تأسيسها إنَّ النشاط الاقتصادي داخل التجمع ظهر مباشرة تقريباً إذ بدأت أولى المعاملات التجارية تظهر مبنية على تبادل السلع الغذائية وغير الغذائية بين اللاجئين. وانضم بعض الأوغنديين من القرى المجاورة في عمليات المقايضة مع أنَّ اللاجئين والمضيفين لم يكن بينهم كثير من التشارك القَبْلِي في الأصول العرقية والثقافية، ولم تكن بينهم لغة مشتركة. فكان اللاجئون يتبادلون أكياس الذرة أو زيت الطبخ لقاء حصولهم على محاصيل أوغندية كالموز والكاسافا والعناصر غير الغذائية المباعة. ومنذ ذلك الوقت، تحولت هذه النشاطات التجارية البدائية إلى أسواق أكثر تنظيماً للاجئين. ومثال ذلك السوق في قرية كايهورا وهي واحدة من 36 قرية في التجمع الذي يستقطب الآن قرابة ألفي بائع وزبون، بمن فيهم اللاجئون والمواطنون الأوغنديون، وذلك في كل يوم تفتح فيه الأسواق هناك.

لقد حفز تدفق اللاجئين وعمال الإغاثة الإنسانية إلى هذه القرية الريفية التي لم يكن يسكنها بالكاد أحد الاقتصادات المحلية في المناطق المجاورة ووفقاً للقرويين الأوغنديين الذين يعيشون في المناطق المجاورة بدأت كثير من المشروعات الجديدة بالظهور بعد تدفق اللاجئين بما في ذلك المطاعم والحانات وبيوت الضيافة والمتاجر. يقول هنري، وهو مالك أوغندي لمطعم شعبي يقع في مدخل التجمع، وكان قد أسس مشروعه التجاري في يناير/كانون الثاني 2014:

"كنت في السابق أدير مطعماً صغيراً في كامبالا وجئت إلى هذه المنطقة وتفقدتها ووجدت أنَّه لا يوجد فيها مطاعم جيدة؛ فلذلك قررت الانتقال إلى هنا. والآن يأتيني قرابة مائتي زبون في اليوم الواحد. وكثير منهم يعملون لدى هيئات المساعدات، لكنَّ بعضهم أيضاً من اللاجئين بل أيضاً من رجال الأعمال الأوغنديين الذين يزورون المخيم."  

وكان مالكو المشروعات التجارية القائمة قبل تأسيس التجمع في المناطق المضيفة قد استفادوا استفادة كبيرة من وجود اللاجئين وعمال الإغاثة الإنسانية. فقد تمكنت إحدى العائلات المحلية من تجديد حانتها لاستهداف السكان المتزايدة أعدادهم، ونمى المشروع التجاري بسرعة وفي عام 2014 وسعت العائلة مشروعها لتؤسس نزلاً ومطعماً خارج مدخل التجمع.

ومقارنة بناكيفالي وكيانجوالي، ما زالت النشاطات الاقتصادية للاجئين في روامونجا في مراحلها الأولى فهي ليست متصلة اتصالاً كبيراً بالاقتصادات الوطنية والعابرة للوطنية. ومع ذلك، تُظهِرُ روامونجا لنا وجود عملية حيوية ينشأ من خلالها اقتصاد يحفزه اللاجئون بعد دخول موجات جماعية من اللاجئين حتى في تلك المنطقة المضيفة المتخلفة عن التقدم.

كامبالا

يصل عدد سكان كامبالا ما يقدر بـ 1.5 مليون نسمة، ما يجعلها المدينة الأكبر في أوغندا. ويعيش فيها اللاجئون ويعملون جنباً إلى جنب مع المواطنين الأوغنديين والمهاجرين من مختلف أنحاء القارة الإفريقية. ويعيش معظم اللاجئين الصوماليين جنباً إلى جنب مع الصوماليين الأوغنديين، والمهاجرين الاقتصاديين الصوماليين في كيزني في كامبالا مستفيدين من صلاتهم العرقية بالاقتصادات الصومالية الأوغندية النابضة بالحياة، ورادمين الثغرات في طلب العمالة في القطاعات التي لا تغطيها معظم العمالة غير الصومالية الأوغندية. كما أنَّ هناك شركات صومالية أوغندية واسعة النطاق تعمل في نطاق النفط، وصناعات التجزئة، والمحروقات فهي تستقطب أيضاً أعداداً كبيرة جداً من اللاجئين الصوماليين. وشرح لنا أحد المديرين الصوماليين الأوغنديين من واحدة في هذه الشركات الأمر قائلاً إنَّ استقطاب اللاجئين الصوماليين قرار بسيط جداً:

"نشعر براحة أكبر عند العمل مع الصوماليين لأننا نشترك بعدة قواسم كاللغة والدين والعادات الثقافية."

وبالمقابل، يعيش اللاجئون الكونغوليون مشتتين في مختلف مناطق كامبالا مثل إنسمبيا وكاتولي، ويعيشون جنباً إلى جنب مع المجتمعات الأوغندية المحلية. ومع أنَّهم معروفون بعملهم في نطاق واسع من النشاطات الاقتصادية فأكثر ما يشتهرون به بيع البيتنج (منسوجات كونغولية تقليدية) لسببين رئيسيين أولاً أنَّ الاستثمار المباشر صغير نسبياً، ثم ثانياً هناك التنميط الإيجابي للحرفية الكونغولية بين الأوغنديين، وذلك ما يقدم فرصة طيبة في السوق. ويجد هؤلاء اللاجئين الكونغوليين الروابط الاقتصادية مع التجار الأوغنديين مفيداً للطرفين، فالأوغنديون من جهتهم عليهم أن يعتمدوا اعتماداً هائلاً على اللاجئين الكونغوليين الذين بدورهم يمثلون دور الموزعين الرئيسيين وتجار التجزئة لمنتجاتهم.

مواجهة التصورات السائدة

يسود في أوساط صانعي السياسات تصور بأنَّ وجود اللاجئين يعزز من التنافس نحو الوظائف وأنهم يزاحمون المواطنين في البلد المضيف لكن الوضع يخالف هذا التصور في كامبالا لأنَّ اللاجئين الكونغوليين والصوماليين سعوا إلى التشارك بفضائهم الاقتصادي ضمن الاقتصاد المضيف الأوسع نطاقاً ولم يكن ذلك بالضرورة على حساب المواطنين الأصليين. وقد وجدنا في كل موقع من مواقع الدراسة هذه أنَّ وجود النشاطات الاقتصادية للاجئين أثمر عنه الاعتماد المتبادل بين اللاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة ولم ينتج عنها خسارة مشتركة بين الطرفين بسبب التنافس الاقتصادي المتصور.

وفي سياقات اللاجئين المطولة في كل من ناكيفالي وكيانجوالي أصبحت تجمعات اللاجئين مدمجة في التجارة الإقليمية من خلال استيراد المواد وتصديرها، وأصبحوا مراكز تجارة حيوية في هذه المواقع النائية الريفية. وحتى في تجمع روامونجا الذي أسس مؤخراً، أصبحت نشاطات الأعمال للاجئين ترتبط ارتباطاً تدريجياً مع الاقتصادات المجاورة، ويبدو أنَّها تمثل دوراً مهماً في إنعاش المجتمعات المضيفة. ومع أنَّ الطرق التي يضع اللاجئون أنفسهم فيها في الاقتصادات المضيفة تختلف من بيئة إلى أخرى، فمن الواضح تماماً أنَّ اللاجئين يمثلون دوراً مهماً، بل قد يكون دورهم حتمياً لا يمكن التخلي عنه في القطاعات التجارية الأوسع نطاقاً في أوغندا.

ومن هذا التحليل تنتج مجموعة من المضمونات التي يجب الأخذ بها عند رسم السياسات وتطبيقها ممارسة على أرض الواقع. فغالباً ما ينظر إلى المحاولات الرامية لدعم نشاطات اللاجئين في توليد الدخل بطريقة مجردة بدلاً من النظر إليها وفق منظور يسعى إلى تحقيق فهم أفضل للسياقات الأوسع نطاقاً للسوق. إذن لا بد للجهات الفاعلة العاملة نحو تعزيز الفرص الاقتصادية لكل من مجتمعي اللاجئين والمضيفين من أن يتوفر لهم فهم أوضح وأفضل للمنظومات الاقتصادية ذات الصلة وهيكلياتها. وإضافة إلى ذلك  لا بد للتدخلات من أن تبني جهودها بناءً على ما هو موجود في الأسواق القائمة ومشروعات الأعمال أو مساعدة اللاجئين في المشاركة الأكبر فعالية مع هذه الأسواق. وأخيراً لا بد للجهات الفاعلة الخارجية من أن تساعد عملية إنشاء البيئة التمكينية. ويمكن للاجئين أن يكونوا منشئين للسوق إذا ما أتيحت لهم الظروف والحقوق المناسبة لتحديد الأصول الفريدة لسبل كسب الرزق وتوظيفها دون أن يكون في ذلك تعزيز للمنافسة مع المجتمعات المضيفة.

ناوهيكو أوماتا naohiko.omata@qeh.ox.ac.uk

مسؤول بحث رئيسي، برنامج اقتصادات اللاجئين، مركز دراسات اللاجئين، قسم التنمية الدولية في جامعة أكسفورد، www.rsc.ox.ac.uk  

[1] See Betts A, Bloom L, Kaplan J and Omata N (2016) Refugee Economies: Forced Displacement and Development (اقتصادات اللاجئين: التَّهجير القسري والإنماء) www.rsc.ox.ac.uk/news/refugee-economies-forced-displacement-and-development-new-book-out-now

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Refugees’ engagement with host economies in Uganda

Multi-sited fieldwork in Uganda allows for an exploration of the complex patterns of engagement between refugees’ economic activities and local economies, in urban, emergency and protracted settings.

The Government of Uganda has made self-reliance central to the country’s approach towards hosting refugees. Currently, Uganda hosts more than one million refugees of diverse nationalities, including from the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Somalia, South Sudan and Rwanda, who live in both rural camps and urban areas. Refugees in Uganda generally enjoy the right to work, freedom of movement within the country, and access to basic services. Such policies have an important role in facilitating refugees to engage in business activities and enable them to become embedded within local and national markets and industries in Uganda.

Between 2013 and 2015, my colleagues and I conducted a study on refugees’ economic lives, looking at their interaction with local host communities across four sites with three different contexts: Kampala – the capital city; Kyangwali and Nakivale – long-established camps; and Rwamwanja – a newly established camp.[1] This multi-sited research offers an interesting comparison of economic relationships between refugees and hosts over time and in different geographical environments.

Kyangwali and Nakivale: ‘import and export’ economies

Nakivale settlement has existed since 1959 and Kyangwali settlement since 1989. They are formally designated as ‘settlements’ rather than ‘camps’ because of their relatively open layout and the economic freedoms afforded to refugees. Both are located in the rural south-west of the country but though geographically remote they are far from economically isolated. Not only is there diverse economic activity within the settlements but also their economies are embedded in wider economic structures that extend beyond their geographical boundaries. Goods and services are imported and exported, with refugees playing an active role in these supply chains.

Upon arrival, refugees in both settlements have historically been given access to a plot of land to cultivate; not surprisingly, therefore, commercial farming is the most common economic activity. Kyangwali settlement is known widely among Ugandan crop traders for its good-quality maize. During the harvest season Ugandan trucks and minivans regularly travel out of Kyangwali, loaded high with sacks of maize purchased from refugee farmers and destined for sale in local markets, in Kampala and other Ugandan cities, and even in neighbouring countries such as Tanzania and South Sudan.

While agricultural activities dominate both settlements, over time an array of vibrant businesses has emerged and become deeply embedded within both national and regional commercial networks. In fact, many of the well-established shops in both Kyangwali and Nakivale buy goods from existing supply chains run by Ugandan wholesalers who regularly come to the settlements and sell goods to satellite shops.

“Kyangwali settlement is one of our important selling points. In Kyangwali, we have seven refugee shops that we sell our items to.” (sales manager for local Ugandan brewery)

In Nakivale, we observed similar commercial interactions between refugees and Ugandan wholesalers. Many Somali business owners in particular would regularly import products including milk, pasta, camel meat, clothing, cosmetics and medicines to the settlement from their Somali-Ugandan counterparts in Kampala. 

Rwamwanja: an emerging economy

Rwamwanja settlement opened in April 2012 in a rural village in Western Uganda in response to the emergency influx of Congolese refugees. By late 2013, when we did our initial research, people were still arriving. New arrivals are provided with food rations and relief supplies, including cooking items, a hoe, blankets, jerry cans and machetes. Similar to Kyangwali and Nakivale, the refugees are allocated a plot of land for their residence and cultivation.

According to refugees who came to Rwamwanja when it was first established, economic activity inside the settlement emerged almost immediately, with the first visible commercial transactions based around the exchange of food and non-food aid items between refugees. Soon Ugandans from neighbouring villages joined in the bartering, despite the refugee and host populations having very little pre-existing ethnic or cultural affinity or shared language. Refugees exchanged bags of maize or cooking oils for Ugandan crops such as bananas and cassava, and sold non-food items. These initial trading activities have since transformed into more organised refugee markets. For instance, the market in Kaihura village, one of 36 villages in the settlement, currently attracts about 2,000 sellers and customers, including both refugees and Ugandan nationals, every market day.

The arrival of refugees and aid workers into this scarcely populated rural village has stimulated local economies in the surrounding areas. According to Ugandan villagers who live nearby, many new businesses began to appear after the influx of refugees, including restaurants, bars, guesthouses and shops. Henry, the Ugandan owner of a popular restaurant located at the entrance of the settlement, established his business in January 2014:

“I used to run a small restaurant in Kampala. I came and checked the area and found no good restaurants so I decided to move here. Currently, I receive about 200 customers per day. Many of them are working for the aid agencies but some of them are refugees and Ugandan business people visiting the camp.”  

Owners of pre-existing businesses in the host area have also benefited significantly from the presence of refugees and humanitarian workers. One local family renovated their bar to target the growing population; the business grew rapidly and in 2014 the family expanded it to create a lodge with a restaurant just outside the entrance of the settlement.

Compared with Nakivale and Kyangwali, refugees’ economic activities in Rwamwanja were still embryonic and less extensively connected with national and transnational economies. Nevertheless, Rwamwanja reveals the dynamic process through which a new ‘refugee-induced economy’ emerges following a mass influx of refugees even in an underdeveloped host region.

Kampala

With an estimated population of more than 1.5 million, Kampala is the largest city in Uganda. Here refugees live and work side by side with both Ugandan nationals and migrants from across the continent. Most Somali refugees live alongside Somali-Ugandans and Somali economic migrants in Kisenyi in Kampala, taking advantage of their ethnic ties with the vibrant Somali-Ugandan economies and filling gaps in labour demand in sectors where most non-Somali Ugandans would not seek employment. Several large-scale Somali-Ugandan enterprises in the oil, petrol and retail industries hire a large number of Somali refugees. A Somali-Ugandan manager from one of these companies explained that hiring Somali refugees is a simple decision:

“We feel more comfortable working with Somali people because we have a lot in common such as language, religion and cultural habits.”

In contrast, Congolese refugees live scattered in several areas in Kampala such as Nsambya and Katwe, and live alongside Ugandan communities. While they are associated with a range of economic activities, the selling of bitenge (traditional Congolese fabric) is the most common, for two main reasons – firstly, the up-front investment needed is relatively small and, secondly, positive stereotyping of Congolese craftsmanship among Ugandans provides a helpful market opportunity. These Congolese refugees find mutually beneficial economic links with Ugandan merchants; these Ugandans have come to rely heavily on Congolese refugees, who act as the primary distributors and retailers for their products.

Countering prevailing perceptions

Among policymakers, there is a prevailing perception that the presence of refugees intensifies competition for employment with national populations in a host country. Contrary to this perception, however, in Kampala, Congolese and Somali refugees have sought their own economic space in the wider host economy, not necessarily in conflict with nationals. And in each of our study sites, the presence of refugees’ economic activities has resulted in interdependence between refugees and host communities, rather than a zero-sum game of economic rivalry.

In the protracted refugee contexts of Nakivale and Kyangawali, refugee settlements have become embedded in regional commerce through ‘import and export’ of items and have become active trade hubs in their remote, rural locations. Even in recently established Rwamwanja, refugees’ business activities are being gradually linked with surrounding economies and appear to play a role in revitalising host communities. While the ways in which refugees position themselves in host economies differ in each setting, refugees clearly play an important, perhaps indispensable, role in wider commercial sectors in Uganda.

Some implications for policy and practice follow from this analysis. Often, attempts to support refugees’ income-generating activities are conceived in abstraction rather than with an understanding of wider market contexts. Actors working to enhance economic opportunities for refugee and host populations need a clear and better understanding of the relevant economic systems and structures. Furthermore, interventions should aim either to build upon existing markets and businesses or help refugees to more effectively engage with those markets. And, finally, external actors need to help create an enabling environment. Refugees can be market creators if certain conditions and rights are granted, enabling them to identify and employ unique livelihood assets while avoiding intensifying competition with host populations.

 

Naohiko Omata naohiko.omata@qeh.ox.ac.uk
Senior Research Officer, Refugee Economies Programme, Refugee Studies Centre, Oxford Department of International Development, University of Oxford www.rsc.ox.ac.uk

 

[1] See Betts A, Bloom L, Kaplan J and Omata N (2016) Refugee Economies: Forced Displacement and Development
www.rsc.ox.ac.uk/news/refugee-economies-forced-displacement-and-development-new-book-out-now

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview