فهم الخطر في التفاعلات البشرية–الحيوانية

من المهم فهم دور الحيوانات في حياة اللاجئين، ومن المهم أكثر فهم المخاطر المحتملة التي تنطوي عليها التعاملات بين الإنسان والحيوان والطرق الأفضل لخفض هذه المخاطر.

يمكن للحيوانات في مخيمات اللاجئين أن تُحسِّن من صحة الإنسان ورفاهه، فهي مصدر للغذاء وسلعةٌ تباع وتشترى لقاء الحصول على السلع الأخرى أو أداة استثمارية. ويمكن للحيوانات أن تكون مصدراً للراحة النفسية[1] فقد تساعد اللاجئين على المحافظة على هويتهم الثقافية وقد تساعد أيضاً في بدء اللاجئين لحياة طبيعية. ومثال ذلك اللاجئون السوريون في المخيمات في الأردن فهم على استعداد بأن يصرفوا جزءاً لا بأس به من دخلهم الشهري لقاء حصولهم على طائرٍ يؤنسهم بزقزقته لأنَّ مثل هذا الطائر في الثقافة السورية هو الذي يحول المنزل إلى بيت دافئ. لكنَّ قرب المساحة بين الحيوانات والإنسان قد تكون مصدراً للخطر أيضاً، وهناك ضعفٌ عام يعتري فهم المخاطر التي تترتب على وجود الحيوانات في مخيمات اللاجئين.

ويقدم نموذجٌ للصحة العامة نشره في عام 1991 دالهغرين ووايتهيد مقاربةً لتوضيح المصادر المحتملة للمخاطر المتربطة بوجود الحيوانات في مخيمات اللاجئين.[2] ويبين هذا النموذج أنَّ حالات عدم المساواة في الوضع الصحي للناس تحددها سمات مجتمعة ثقافية وسياسية وبيئية واجتماعية وفردية إذ تؤثر هذه العوامل في كلٍ من المخاطر الماثلة أمام الفرد الذي يحتك بالحيوانات كما تؤثر في تعرضه للأمراض وقدرته على الوصول إلى المصادر الضرورية للاستشفاء.

البيئة السياسية/التنظيمية: على أوسع نطاق في هذا السيناريو، هناك المناخ الدولي والسياسي الوطني والحروب والصراعات التي تحدد طبيعة الحركة العالمية للناس ولحيواناتهم معهم (بمن فيهم المهجرون وأماكن بناء المخيمات) والسياسات المنظمات التي تدير المخيمات وتدعمها. وسوف يترتب على كل هذه الجوانب آثرٌ في الصحة البشرية والحيوانية كما أنَّ كفاءة إدارة التفاعلات البشرية والإنسانية والحيوانية ستعتمد على الهيئات والجهات الموجودة في الميدان ودرجة خبراتها في هذا المجال. فعلى سبيل المثال، قد لا يكفي التطعيم وحده لمنع فاشيات الأمراض لدى القطعان (لأنَّ نجاح برنامج التطعيم يعتمد أيضاً على جوانب أخرى مثل تغطية برنامج التطعيم وتوقيته) لكنَّه على أي حال يمكن أن يخفف المخاطر.

البيئة المادية: يمكن للبيئة التي يسافر فيها الناس وبيئة المخيم نفسه أن تساهم في عبء المخاطر، ومثال ذلك مخيمات اللاجئين الأفغان التي أسست في أوائل عام 1990على الحدود الغربية من باكستان فقد أقيمت في منطقة تضاريس هامشية فيها مسطحات مائية تشجع الملاريا. وبما أنَّ أفغاَنستان نفَّذَت في السابق برنامجاً ناجحاً في السيطرة على الملاريا قبل الحرب السوفيتية الأفغانية، لم يكن لدى اللاجئين الواصلين إلى باكستان أي مناعة تجاه المرض. وهكذا، أصبحت العائلات القادمة مع حيواناتها والمخيمات التي ازداد عدد رؤوس الماشية فيها تعاني من انتشار أكبر للملاريا لأنَّ الماشية قدمت مصدراً جاذباً للبعوض الذي يتغذى على الدم فزاد ذلك من تعداد البعوض.[3] وعلى العموم، قد تتعرض الحيوانات التي تفر من أصحابها وتشرد منهم إلى أنواع جديدة من الأمراض التي لم تكن لديها أي مناعة تجاهها أو قد تنقل بنفسها أمراضاً تعرض الحيوانات المحلية لخطر الإصابة بها.

ويمكن للبيئة المبنية أن يكون لها أثرٌ في مستوى خطر التفاعلات البشرية الحيوانية. ونادراً ما يوضع في الحسبان موضوع حضور الحيوانات في تصميم مخيمات اللاجئين. ففي مخيم الزعتري في الأردن، على سبيل المثال، طور الناس طرقهم الخاصة من أجل تربية الدواجن وغالباً ما يكون عن طريق تحويل السكن البشري لهذا الغرض. وبعدم وجود هذه الفضاءات والمساحات المناسبة والمخصصة للحيوانات، قد تضعف خدمات الإصحاح ويرتفع خطر الإصابة بالأمراض للحيوانات ونقل بعض هذه الأمراض إلى البشر.

البيئة الاجتماعية: العوامل الاجتماعية المحددة لتعرض الشخص للخطر. ومثال ذلك أنَّ الثقافة والتقاليد والعادات الدينية تؤثر في كيفية ذبح الحيوانات وتحديد الشخص الذي يفعل ذلك وتحدد طريقة إعداد اللحوم واستهلاكها. وقد يؤدي ذلك بدوره إلى تغير نوع خطر الأمراض المعدية والتعرض لخطر الإصابة الجسدية نتيجة التعامل مع الحيوانات.

وهناك المواقف والاعتقادات المتعلقة بالممارسات حول الحيوانات مثل التصورات الخاصة بكفاءة التطعيمات وهي تتأثر بالمجتمع المباشر أو الأسرة وقد يكون لها دورٌ في تحديد احتمالية مشاركة الشخص في السلوكات التي قد تخفض من الخطر. وإضافة إلى ذلك، قد يحتاج المرء إلى الاعتماد على الشبكات الاجتماعية (لغاية التمويل والحصول على المعلومات والاتصال بالأشخاص وغيرها) من أجل الوصول إلى المصادر مثل الرعاية البيطرية التي ستساعد أيضاً في خفض الخطر. ومن هنا يمكن للأفراد الذين يعيشون بالمخيمات مع العائلة الممتدة أن يحصلوا على المساعدة بأسرع مما يمكن لأي شخص أخر أن يحصل عليها إذا كان معزولاً أو إذا وصل مؤخراً إلى المخيم. ويمكن للدعم الاجتماعي أن يخفض من أثر فقدان الحيوانات وتحسين التعافي من الإصابة والأمراض الناتجة عن الحيوانات.

السمات الشخصية: من المحتمل أن يؤدي التوتر المرتبط بالإجلاء وبيئة المخيم إلى الإضرار بمناعة الحيوانات والبشر. وإذا ما امتدت فترات التوتر، قد يصبح البشر والحيوان أكثر عرضة لبعض أنواع الأمراض التي تحملها الأبقار مثل الحمى المالطية أو السل التي قد لا تمثل خطراً في الأوضاع الطبيعية. وتعتمد السمات الأساسية للمخاطر عل نطاق الحيوانات المحتفظ بها في المخيم وما إذا كانت الكلاب والماشية موجودة في أماكن قريبة بعضها إلى بعض أو قريبة إلى الإنسان على سبيل المثال وقد يؤدي ذلك إلى مخاطر على إصابة الإنسان ببعض أنواع الديدان الشريطية. وتزداد مخاطر الإصابة بوجود البقر التي قد تدوس على الناس أو تركلهم وكذلك الكلاب التي قد تعضهم. ويساهم في هذه المخاطر التي تجلبها الحيوانات المزاج العام للحيوان الفردي أو نوعه وسلالته واعتياد صاحبه على التعامل معه. وفي الوقت نفسه، يمكن لجندر الشخص وعمره وشخصيته وصحته أن تؤثر في هذا الخطر وتعدله. ومثال ذلك أنَّ النساء والفتيات في كثير من الثقافات مسؤولات عن المجترات الصغيرة (كالغنم والماعز) والدواجن في حين يتولى الرجال رعاية المواشي.

ويمكن استخدام النموذج المحدد آنفاً لوضع خرائط منهجية للمخاطر (والمنافع) المتأتية عن التفاعلات بين البشر والحيوانات في سياق الهجرة القسرية وتحديد كيفية خفض هذه المخاطر سواء على مستوى اتخاذ القرار بشأن موقع المخيمات أم في تصميمها أو في إنشائها وإدارتها أو على المستوى الفردي. ومع أنَّ هناك سياسات قائمة حول كيفية تقييم تلك المخاطر، تقدم الإرشادات التوجيهية والمعايير الخاصة بالثروة الحيوانية في أوضاع الطوارئ إرشادات شاملة وقوائم للتحقق و’شجرات القرارات‘ المرتبطة بحماية المواشي خلال مختلف مراحل الاستجابة لحالة الطوارئ.[4]وكذلك، وضعت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين دليلاً حول تربية المواشي والحيوانات، ويغطي الدليل موضوعات مشابهة لكنَّ تركيزه يقع على الماشية والدواجن.[5]ولا تقدم معايير التخطيط للمخيمات التي قدمتها المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أي توجيهات صريحة بشأن توفير مكان للحيوانات، لكنَّها تقترح أن تكون الأماكن المخطط لها أ) خالية من المناطق التي قد تزيد البيئة فيها من خطر انتشار الأمراض التي تحملها الحيوانات مثل الملاريا وب) أن تتيح مساحة للزراعة صغيرة النطاق.[6]

ومراقبة الحيوانات التي تعيش في مخيمات اللاجئين أو فيها هي الخطوة الأولى في إدارة المخاطر. ويمكن أن يشارك في عد الحيوانات وإعداد التقييمات الصحية لها المتخصصين البيطريين المحليين إضافة إلى المتدربين في الكشف عن الأمراض من المنظمات البيطرية الدولية وغير الحكومية والمجتمعات المحلية المربية للحيوانات. ومع أنَّ تقييم المخاطر في تربية المواشي أمر مهم جداً، يجب على النماذج أن تتضمن أيضاً تحديد المخاطر الناجمة عن تعامل الإنسان مع الحيوانات الأخرى التي تعيش في المخيمات (مثل الكلاب والقطط والطيور التي قد تعيش في الجوار). وعلى نطاق أوسع، يمكن الاستعانة بالمتخصصين البيطريين في التخطيط لتجمعات اللاجئين وإدارتها لغايات تقييم الحاجات الأساسية وتنسيق الاستجابات المحلية التي قد تتضمن التثقيف حول الحيوانات وتوفير الخدمات للحيوانات مثل الغذاء والماء والمأوى والرعاية الطبية الأساسية.

 

سارة أوفتشارتشنك-غارستيتسكاه owczarcz@liverpool.ac.uk

مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه علم الأوبئة والصحة السكانية ومعهد الخطر وعدم اليقين، جامعة ليفربول www.liverpool.ac.uk/risk-and-uncertainty

 

[1] Wells D L (2009) ‘The Effects of Animals on Human Health and Well-Being’, Journal of Social Issues, 65 (3)

(‘آثار الحيوانات على الصحة والرفاه الإنسانيين’، مجلة القضايا الاجتماعية)

https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1540-4560.2009.01612.x

[2] Dahlgren G and Whitehead M (1991) ‘Policies and strategies to promote social equity in health’, Institute for Futures Studies

(’سياسات واستراتيجيات للترويج للمساواة الاجتماعية في الصحة‘)

 www.researchgate.net/profile/Goeran_Dahlgren/publication/5095964   

[3] Rowland M and Nosten F (2001) ‘Malaria epidemiology and control in refugee camps and complex emergencies’, Annals of Tropical Medicine and Parasitology, 95 (8(

  (’علم أمراض الملاريا ومكافحتها في مخيمات اللاجئين وفي حالات الطوارئ المعقدة‘ في حولية الطب الاستوائي وعلم الطفيليات)

http://medbox-stage.uscreen.net/preview/5255da91-41ec-4d41-bd74-15880e695ecc/doc.pdf

[4] Livestock Emergency Guidelines and Standards

(الإرشادات التوجيهية والمعايير الخاصة بالثروة الحيوانية في أوضاع الطوارئ)

www.livestock-emergency.net

[5] UNHCR (2005) Livestock-Keeping and Animal Husbandry in Refugee and Returnee Situations

(رعاية المواشي والحيوانات في أوضاع اللاجئين والعائدين)

www.unhcr.org/uk/protection/environment/4385e3432/practical-handbook-improved-management-livestock-keeping-animal-husbandry

[6] UNHCR Camp planning standards (planned settlements)

معايير المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين الناظمة للتخطيط للمخيمات (التجمعات المخطط لها)

https://emergency.unhcr.org/entry/115940/camp-planning-standards-planned-settlements

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Understanding risk in human–animal interactions

There needs to be better understanding not only of the importance of animals in the lives of displaced people but also of the potential risks incurred by human–animal interactions and how best to mitigate these risks.

Animals in refugee camps can improve people’s health and well-being. They are a source of food and a commodity which can be sold or exchanged or kept as an investment. Animals can also be a source of psychological comfort,[1] can potentially help refugees to preserve cultural identity and can serve as a marker of normal life. For example, Syrian refugees in camps in Jordan are prepared to spend a substantial part of their monthly income on a singing bird because such a bird – in Syrian culture – is what turns a house into a home. However, close proximity of animals and humans can be a source of risk, and understanding of the risks posed by animals within refugee camps is generally poor.

A public health model published in 1991 by Dahlgren and Whitehead offers one approach to mapping the potential sources of hazards associated with animals in refugee camps.[2] The model shows how health inequities are shaped by a combination of cultural, political, environmental and social factors as well as by individuals’ attributes. These factors influence both the risks to an individual who is in contact with animals and also how they experience an illness and their ability to access the resources needed for recovery.

Political/organisational environment: At the widest level in this scenario is the international and national political climate – the wars and fighting that dictate the global movement of people and their animals (including who is displaced and where the camps are built) – and the policies of the organisations that run and support camps. All these aspects will have an impact on human and animal health, and the effectiveness of the management of human–animal interactions will depend on which agencies are on the ground and the degree of expertise that they have in this area. For example, vaccination alone may not suffice in entirely preventing outbreaks of diseases within herds (as the success of a vaccination programme depends also on aspects such as the coverage and timing of the vaccination programme) but it can reduce risk.

Physical environment: The environment through which people travel and the setting of the camp itself can contribute to the burden of risk. For instance, Afghan refugee camps established in early 1990 on the western boarder of Pakistan were situated on marginal waterlogged terrain, which encourages malaria. As Afghanistan had run a successful malaria control programme prior to the Soviet-Afghan war, the refugees arriving in Pakistan had no immunity to the disease. Families who arrived with animals, and camps with more livestock, experienced greater prevalence of malaria as the livestock provided mosquitos with an easy source of blood, which boosted the mosquito population.[3] More broadly speaking, animals that flee with their owners may be exposed to new diseases to which they have no immunity or may themselves carry diseases to which local animal populations are susceptible.

The built environment can also have an impact on the level of risk in human–animal interactions. The presence of animals is seldom factored into the design of refugee camps. In Za’atari refugee camp in Jordan, for example, people developed their own ways of keeping poultry, often by transforming human accommodation. Lack of suitable, designated spaces for animals may result in poor sanitation, increasing the risk of diseases to the animal population and transmission of certain diseases to people.

Social environment: Social factors shape a person’s exposure to risk. For example, culture, tradition and religion influence how animals are killed and by whom, and how their meat is prepared and consumed. This in turn could alter the risk of a range of infectious diseases and the risk of physical injury linked to handling animals.

Attitudes and beliefs about practices around animals, such as perception of efficacy of vaccinations, are also influenced by the immediate community and family, and could shape how likely a person is to engage in behaviours which could reduce risk. In addition, a person may need to rely on their social networks (for finance, information, contacts and so on) in order to access resources – such as veterinary care – which could help to reduce risk. Individuals living in a camp with an extended family may therefore be able to access help more readily than someone who is isolated or who only arrived recently. Social support could also reduce the impact of the loss of an animal and improve recovery from an injury or illness caused by animals.

Individual attributes: Stress linked with evacuation and the camp environment is likely to compromise the immunity of animals and people. Under prolonged periods of stress, humans and animals may be more susceptible to certain diseases carried by cattle (like brucellosis or tuberculosis) which in normal circumstances may not pose the same risk. The profile of risk is dependent on the range of animals kept in the camp; where dogs and livestock are kept in close proximity to each other and to humans, for example, certain types of tapeworm may become a risk for humans. Presence of cows adds to the risk of injury due to crushing or being kicked, and dogs may bite. An individual animal’s temperament, species/breed and habituation to handling will also contribute to the risk that this animal poses. Meanwhile, a person’s gender, age, personality, health and so on are likely to modify their risk. For instance, in many cultures, women and girls are more likely to be responsible for small ruminants (such as sheep and goats) and poultry whereas men tend to care for livestock.

The model outlined above could be used to systematically map risks (and benefits) of human-animal interactions in the context of forced migration and to determine how these risks could be mitigated, whether at the level of decision making about location of camps, at the camp design, construction and management level, or at the individual level. Although there are existing policies on how to assess such risk, Livestock Emergency Guidelines and Standards (LEGS) provides comprehensive guidelines, checklists and ‘decision trees’ related to protecting livestock during different stages of an emergency response.[4] The UN Refugee Agency, UNHCR, has also developed a handbook on livestock keeping and animal husbandry which covers similar areas, again focusing primarily on livestock and poultry.[5] UNHCR’s Camp Planning Standards do not offer explicit guidelines for provision of space for animals but suggest that planned sites should a) avoid areas where the environment may increase the risk of animal-borne diseases like malaria and b) provide space for small-scale cultivation.[6]

Surveillance of animals that live in and near refugee camps is the first step in risk management. Counting and health assessments for animals could include local veterinarian professionals, international veterinary non-governmental organisations and local animal-keeping communities trained in disease detection. While assessing risk in keeping livestock is crucial, the models need to include identifying risks in interactions with other animals that live in camps as well (such as dogs, cats or birds which may live nearby). More broadly, the involvement of veterinary professionals in planning, setting up and running refugee settlements could help with assessing basic needs and coordinating local responses, which may include education and the provision of food, water, shelter and basic medical care for the animals.

 

Sara Owczarczak-Garstecka owczarcz@liverpool.ac.uk 
PhD candidate, Epidemiology and Population Health and Institute for Risk and Uncertainty, University of Liverpool www.liverpool.ac.uk/risk-and-uncertainty


[1] Wells D L (2009) ‘The Effects of Animals on Human Health and Well-Being’, Journal of Social Issues, 65 (3) https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1540-4560.2009.01612.x

[2] Dahlgren G and Whitehead M (1991) ‘Policies and strategies to promote social equity in health’, Institute for Futures Studies www.researchgate.net/profile/Goeran_Dahlgren/publication/5095964

[3] Rowland M and Nosten F (2001) ‘Malaria epidemiology and control in refugee camps and complex emergencies’, Annals of Tropical Medicine and Parasitology, 95 (8)
http://medbox-stage.uscreen.net/preview/5255da91-41ec-4d41-bd74-15880e695ecc/doc.pdf

[4] Livestock Emergency Guidelines and Standards www.livestock-emergency.net

[5] UNHCR (2005) Livestock-Keeping and Animal Husbandry in Refugee and Returnee Situations www.unhcr.org/uk/protection/environment/4385e3432/practical-handbook-improved-management-livestock-keeping-animal-husbandry

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview