الخيليات العاملة في مخيمات اللاجئين

تقدم مخيمات اللاجئين فرصاً جيدة للتعاون بين المنظمات الإنسانية ومنظمات الرفق بالحيوان بما فيه منفعة للمهجَّرين وحيواناتهم العاملة.

تشير التقديرات إلى وجود ما يزيد على مائة مليون من الخيليات العاملة التي تضم الخيول والحمير والبغال في أجزاء من العالم لا تتلقى الرعاية البيطرية الكافية: 55 مليون حصان (84% من إجمالي الخيول في العالم)، و41 مليون حمار (98%)، و13 مليون بغل (96%). وتوفر هذه الخيول، والحمير، والبغال وسائل النقل والطاقة الزراعية وربما تكون في كثيرٍ من الحالات مصدر الدخل الوحيد لأصحابها الذين يعيش كثيرٌ منهم في فقر. وتشير التقديرات إلى أنَّ نسبة كبيرة من سكان العالم تُقدَّر بـ 50% يعتمدون على الطاقة الحيوانية كمصدرٍ رئيسي للطاقة المستخدمة في الزراعة والنقل.

وتعمل كثيرٌ من المجموعات والمنظمات غير الحكومية والأفراد على تحسين الظروف الصحية والرعاية للخيليات العاملة في جميع أنحاء العالم. ويتضمن هذا العمل توفير الرعاية البيطرية وتدريب الجراحين البيطريين المحليين ومالكي الخيليات. ومع ذلك، حتى يومنا هذا لا يتوافر سوى القليل من المعلومات عن أعداد الخيليات العاملة المرتبطة بالمُهجَّرين ومخيمات اللاجئين. ويسعى مشروع ’البشر والحيوانات في مخيمات اللاجئين‘ - من بين أمور أخرى - إلى تحديد أعداد الخيليات العاملة مع المهجَّرين كما يسعى إلى تحديد حاجات هذه الحيوانات من ناحية الكم والوقوف على التحديات التي تواجهها.

ومع أنَّ الخيليات السليمة صحياً والمرعية رعاية تامة تمثل أصولاً لمالكيها، فكثيرٌ ممن يملكون هذه الخيليات فقراء لدرجة لا تسمح لهم الوصول حتى إلى المعلومات المتعلقة بالرعاية الحيوانية وغالباً ما يعيشون بعيداً عن أي شكل من أشكال الرعاية البيطرية. وقد يكون هذا هو الحال على وجه الخصوص في الأماكن التي هُجِّرَ إليها الناس سواء أكان ذلك في مخيمات اللاجئين، أم التجمعات غير الرسمية، أو أماكن أخرى حيث يكون وصولهم إلى الرعاية البيطرية محدوداً أو معدوماً.

وفي عام 2003، ساهم حوالي 14 ألف حمار في نقل أسر المُهجَّرين بسبب الحروب أو الكوارث الطبيعية في مخيم أبو شوك للاجئين في دارفور في السودان. وبعد مرور ثمانية عشر شهراً، أُفيِدَ أنَّه لم يبق منهم سوى 2300 حمار نجا من الموت. وأشارت جمعية حماية الحيوانات في الخارج إلى أنَّ 84% من هذه الحمير ماتت جوعاً بسبب نقص الغذاء. وحتى هذه اللحظة، لم يُنشَر سوى عددٌ محدود جداً من الإرشادات التوجيهية والبروتوكولات للمساعدة في تحسين إدارة الأوضاع المماثلة لما حدث في السودان بصورة أفضل.

وفي البيئات ذات الموارد المحدودة، تأتي الحيوانات في المرتبة الثانية بعد البشر، ولعل ذلك منطقي. لكنَّ الأمر يختلف في أبو شوك، فكما أشار الطبيب البيطري تيس سبرايسون "نظراً لانعدام التعاون بين منظمات الإغاثة الإنسانية ومنظمات الرفق بالحيوان، لقيت الحمير حتفها دون داع وماتت بشقاء، وفقد مالكوها بموتها في كثير من الحالات وسيلتهم الوحيدة للانتقال أو لكسب قوت يومهم"[1] وفقدوا حبلاً مهماً من حبال النجاة لمستقبلهم خارج المخيم. وفي دارفور، تدخلت جمعية حماية الحيوانات في الخارج من أجل توفير الأعلاف والرعاية البيطرية الأولية واستطاعت الحيوانات المتبقية في مخيم أبو شوك أن تنجو من الموت المحقق. ومع ذلك، لا يتوافر لدينا سوى معلومات ضئيلة جداً عن أعداد الخيليات العاملة المستخدمة في السفر سواء من أم إلى مخيمات اللاجئين في أي مكان في العالم. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا نعرف الكثير عن مصير هذه الخيليات العاملة بعد وصول أصحابها إلى المخيمات.

ولما كان من المعترف به أنَّ فقدان اللاجئين لدوابهم يعني عدم ترجيح عودتهم إلى ديارهم،[2] فقد حان الوقت لعمل أي شيء لتحديد نطاق تهجير الحيوانات لنعرف مصيرها ووضع أطر مرجعية للاستجابة إلى وجود هذه الخيليات العاملة. وفي هذه السياق، تقع المنظمات الإنسانية في موقع مناسب للعمل مع منظمات الرفق بالحيوان نظراً لأنها تستخدم غالباً معدات متشابهة ولها مصلحة مشتركة في ’الصحة الواحدة‘[3],[4] (الجهد التعاوني للتخصصات المتعددة التي تعمل على المستوى المحلي والإقليمي والعالمي للوصول إلى مستوى مثالي من الظروف الصحية للإنسان والحيوان والبيئة على حدٍ سواء). وحتى الآن، لا يوجد سوى عددٌ قليل جداً من الأمثلة على ذلك[5] ومع ذلك، تعد مخيمات اللاجئين فرصة كبيرة للمنظمات البيطرية ومنظمات الرعاية الحيوانية لإحداث تغيير طويل الأجل في حياة المُهجَّرين وحيواناتهم.وربما يمتد التعاون ليشمل تطوير ودمج وتقييم أدوات الفحص وطرق التشخيص المشتركة والأدوية واللقاحات وأنظمة المراقبة وسياسات الوقاية من الأمراض حيوانية المصدر وكيفية التعامل معها والسيطرة عليها.

ومع وجود هذه الأعداد غير المسبوقة من المُهجَّرين في العالم اليوم، يبدو أنَّه من المنطقي جداً افتراض زيادة أعداد الحيوانات التي تضررت هي الأخرى من عمليات التهجير هذه. ويتولى قسم دعم المعلومات والتنسيق الميداني في المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين مهمة تتبع أعداد الأشخاص الذين يضطرون إلى النزوح والهجرة كل عام وبما أنَّه يسهل التعرف على الخيليات وتحديدها فسيسهل تسجيل وجودها ومعرفة أعدادها. وما من شكٍ في أنَّ تطوير أدوات الفحص البسيطة التي سوف تمكن غير البيطريين من معرفة ما إذا كانت الخيليات الموجودة معهم أو أي حيوانات أخرى بحاجة إلى التدخل البيطري أم لا سيكون مجدياً جداً في توفير فوائد رعائية بيطرية كبيرة إلى هذه الأعداد الغفيرة من الحيوانات المنسية ولمالكيها الذين يعتمدون عليها في جل شؤون حياتهم.

 

باتريك ج بولوك  Patrick.Pollock@ed.ac.uk

محاضر رئيسي في جراحة الخيليات، جامعة أدنبره www.ed.ac.uk

 

[1] Sprayson T (2006) ‘Taking the lead: veterinary intervention in disaster relief’, In Practice,  28:1, p50

(’الريادة: التدخل البيطري في إغاثة الطوارئ‘ في في الممارسة)

www.bva.co.uk/uploadedFiles/Content/About_BVA/Association/Overseas_Group/sprayson_disaster_relief.pdf

[2] Andrzejewski J (2013) ‘War: Animals in the Aftermath’ in Nocella A J, Salter C and Bentley J K C (Eds) Animals and War: Confronting the Military-Animal Industrial Complex, Lanham, Md: Lexington Books

www.bmj.com/content/330/7496/858

[3] Gibbs E P J (2005) ‘Emerging zoonotic epidemics in the interconnected global community,’ Veterinary Record 157, 673–679.

(’الأوبئة المستحدثة حيوانية المنشأ في المجتمع العالمي المترابط‘ في السجل البيطري)

http://veterinaryrecord.bmj.com/content/157/22/673

[4] (’الحرب: الحيوانات فيما بعد الحدث‘ في الحيوانات والحرب: مواجهة التعقيدات العسكرية والحيوانية والصناعية)

 Alder M and Easton G (2005) ‘Human and veterinary medicine’, The BMJ 2005, 330:858

(’الطب البشري والبيطري‘ في مجلة بي إم جيه)

[5] Zinsstag J, Schelling E, Wyss K and Mahamat M B (2005) ‘Potential of cooperation between human and animal health to strengthen health systems’, The Lancet, Vol 366 (9503) : 2142-5

(’إمكانات تعزيز التعاون بين الصحة البشرية والصحة الحيوانية للمنظومات الصحية‘ في لانسيت)

www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(05)67731-8/abstract?code=lancet-site

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Working equids in refugee camps

Refugee camps offer good opportunities for cooperation between humanitarian and animal welfare organisations for the benefit of displaced people and their working animals.

It is estimated that there are over 100 million working equids – horses, donkeys and mules – in parts of the world that are underserved by veterinary care: 55 million horses (84% of the world population), 41 million donkeys (98%) and 13 million mules (96%). These working horses, donkeys and mules provide transport and agricultural energy and in many cases are the sole means of generating income for their owners, many of whom live in poverty. It is estimated that a remarkable 50% of the world’s population is reliant on animal power as its main source of energy for agriculture and transport.

There are many groups, non-governmental organisations and individuals working to improve the health and welfare of working equids across the globe. This work includes the provision of veterinary care and training for local veterinary surgeons and equid owners. However, to date little is known about the numbers of working equids associated with displaced people and in refugee camps. The ‘Humans and animals in refugee camps’ project is seeking, among other things, to determine the numbers of working equids travelling with displaced people and to quantify the needs of these animals and the challenges they face.

While healthy, well-managed equids are assets, many owners are too poor to access information about animal care and often live far from any form of veterinary care. This may be particularly the case where people have been displaced, whether to refugee camps, informal settlements or other locations, where their access to veterinary care may be poor or non-existent.

In 2003, approximately 14,000 donkeys carried families displaced by war and natural disaster into the Abu Shouk refugee camp in Darfur, Sudan. Eighteen months later, only around 2,300 were reported to have survived. The Society for the Protection of Animals Abroad (SPANA) estimated that 84% had died through lack of access to feed. To date few, if any, specific guidelines or protocols have been published to better manage situations such as that reported in Sudan.

In resource-limited settings, animals take second place to humans, which is perhaps how it ought to be. But at Abu Shouk, as veterinarian Tess Sprayson noted, “For want of better collaboration between humanitarian aid and animal welfare agencies, the donkeys died an unnecessary and miserable death, while their owners lost what, in many cases, was their sole means of transport or of earning a living”[1] – and a critical lifeline to a future outside the camp. In Darfur, SPANA intervened to provide fodder and basic veterinary care, and the remaining animals in the Abu Shouk camp survived. However, very little data exist on the numbers of working equids used either to travel to or from refugee camps anywhere in the world. Furthermore, little is known about the fate of working equids after their owners have reached a camp.

Since it is recognised that once refugees lose their livestock they are less likely to return home,[2] it is time to undertake work to determine the scale of animal displacement in order to understand the fate of these animals and to develop frameworks for responding to the presence of working equids. Humanitarian and animal welfare organisations are well suited to working together; they have similar needs, often use similar equipment and have a common interest in ‘one health’3 (the collaborative effort of multiple disciplines – working  locally, nationally and globally – to attain optimal health for people, animals and the environment). To date there are very few examples of this;4,5 however, refugee camps represent a great opportunity for veterinary and animal welfare agencies to make a difference for the long-term benefit of displaced people and their animals. Co-operation might extend to the development, integration and evaluation of screening tools, shared diagnostic methods, medicines, vaccines, surveillance systems and policies for the prevention, management and control of zoonotic diseases.

With an unprecedented number of displaced people in the world today, it seems logical to assume that the number of affected animals has also increased. The Field Information and Coordination Support Section of the UN Refugee Agency, UNHCR, tracks the number of people forced to flee each year and since equids are readily identifiable, recording their presence and number should be relatively simple. The development of simple screening tools that would allow non-veterinary personnel to flag the presence of equids and other animals in need of veterinary intervention has the potential to offer considerable welfare benefits for this forgotten population of animals, and for the people that rely so heavily upon them.

 

Patrick J Pollock Patrick.Pollock@ed.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer in Equine Surgery, University of Edinburgh www.ed.ac.uk


[1] Sprayson T (2006) ‘Taking the lead: veterinary intervention in disaster relief’, In Practice,  28:1, p50
www.bva.co.uk/uploadedFiles/Content/About_BVA/Association/Overseas_Group/sprayson_disaster_relief.pdf

[2] Andrzejewski J (2013) ‘War: Animals in the Aftermath’ in Nocella A J, Salter C and Bentley J K C (Eds) Animals and War: Confronting the Military-Animal Industrial Complex, Lanham, Md: Lexington Books

3 Gibbs E P J (2005) ‘Emerging zoonotic epidemics in the interconnected global community,’ Veterinary Record 157, 673–679. http://veterinaryrecord.bmj.com/content/157/22/673

4 Alder M and Easton G (2005) ‘Human and veterinary medicine’, The BMJ 2005, 330:858 www.bmj.com/content/330/7496/858

5 Zinsstag J, Schelling E, Wyss K and Mahamat M B (2005) ‘Potential of cooperation between human and animal health to strengthen health systems’, The Lancet, Vol 366 (9503): 2142–5. www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(05)67731-8/abstract?code=lancet-site

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview