دراسة ميدانية حول الهجرة والتنوُّع

إذا تمعنا في رحلة الطيور المهاجرة، تبين لنا مستوى التعقيد ذاته الذي يسم التَّهجير البشري ويؤثر فيه.

أنا محظوظ لأنني قضيت حياتي في الأماكن البرية والجميلة أرسم الطيور. فأنا أعشق الطيور بأشكالها المجردة، وبتغريدها، وبسلوكاتها وبهجرتها. ولقد رسمت الطيور وشاركت في الدراسات العلمية حول رحلات هجرتها من المنطقة القطبية الشمالية وصولاً لأفريقيا. وفي عام 2015، تقارير من شواطئ جزر البحر الأبيض المتوسط حول وصول أشخاص يائسين إلى الشاطئ، وعندئذٍ أدركت أن هذه الجزر هي نفسها الأماكن التي شاهدت فيها رحلات هجرة الطيور ورسمتها بنفسي. فهنا، في هذه الأماكن، أناس يبحثون عن ملاذ للبقاء على قيد الحياة سالكين مسارات السير نفسها التي تسلكها الطيور التي رسمتها.

وبعد ذلك، على مدار العام حدث أن سافرت إلى المملكة المتحدة وإلى أوروبا وعبر البحر الأبيض المتوسط إلى الشرق الأوسط. وفي أسفاري هذه، كنت أتحدث إلى اللاجئين والسكان المحليين والمتطوعين وكنت أرسم كل شيء أراه من أشخاص وأماكن وطيور. وتؤدي الطيور حسبما يقول علماء البيئة دور المؤشر البيئي المهم إذ يقول العلماء إنَّ التغيرات التي قد تطراً على تعداد الطيور أو هجرتها تشير إلى حدوث تغيرات في البيئة يمكن أن تكون مصدر قلق خطير. والأمور معقدة ولكن ثمة دراسات أكاديمية ترى رابطاً يجمع بين التغير المناخي والنزاع والتحركات الهائلة للاجئين، فجميع هذه العوامل تؤدي بدروها إلى مزيد من الضغوط الاجتماعية والبيئية. وفي هذه الأنظمة، ينظر علماء البيئة إلى الطيور على أنَّها تشير إلى ما قد يحدث في عالمنا. فالطريقة التي نتعامل بها مع التغير المناخي والنزوح سوف تحدد هويتنا والمجتمعات التي سوف نعيش فيها لأجيال قادمة.

وفي أثناء أسفاري، عملت مدرساً للرسم في مدارس للاجئين في الأردن [انظر الصورة خلف الصفحة]، وشاركت في تنظيم الأنشطة الفنية للعائلات في فعاليات الترحيب باللاجئين في المملكة المتحدة كما شاركت في إقامة فعاليات المشاركة الفنية للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين في مخيم ’الأدغال‘ في كاليه. وكان لكل فعالية من هذه الفعاليات طابعها الخاص وتركيزها المختلف. وفي الأردن، حاولت إبراز إمكانات التطور الشخصي والهوية الشخصية خاصةً لدى النِّساء والفتيات اللائي يعشن في مجتمع ذكوري. ففي المملكة المتحدة، حاولت مساعدة اللاجئين في جعلهم يشعرون بالاندماج والترحيب من خلال الرسم على الجدران رسومات قد تشعرهم ’بالوطن‘ والانتماء، وفي كاليه، أقمت فعاليات ساهمت في إشراك شباب من اللاجئين الذين ليس لديهم أي ثقة في أي أحد في التحدث إلى متطوعي الجمعيات الخيرية لمعرفة ما هم بحاجة إليه من ملابس وغيرها أو أي الخدمات يمكن تقديمها إليهم.

ولا يعمد مراقبو الطيور (ولا رسامو الطيور) إلى مراقبتها أو النظر إليها على الدوام، ولذلك عندما أجلس لأرسم الطيور الموجودة في المخيم وحوله أبحث عن الطيور ثم أرسمها. وكان المشهد مؤثراً أن نرى طيوراً مهاجرةً تحلق فوق أسوار تحتجز خلفها بشراً مهاجرين. لكنَّ عبورهم للبحار والحدود يثير جوانب أخرى للتشابه والمقارنة ومنها استجرار الأفراد اليائسين وافتراس الطيور المفترسة للطيور المتعبة الأصغر حجماً. فغالباً ما تهاجر الطيور والأفراد حسب جغرافية المكان إذ يختارون أقصر المعابر، والانتقال بمحاذاة حواف الجبال، والسفر انطلاقاً من مراكز التموين والإمدادات إذ وجد كلاهما أنَّ الأماكن التي أعدها لهم البشر لم توفر لهم المساحة الكافية، فعندما كنت في المخيمات غير الرسمية التي تُنصَبُ فوق أراضي القمامة، أو على حواف الحدائق، أو على أراضٍ هامشية بين الطرقات، رأيت أشخاصاً وطيوراً أُحضِرُوا في أماكن ضيقة ومزعجة بالكاد تؤويهم أو تمنحهم قدراً مناسباً للمضي قدماً.

وفي عالم نواجه فيه قضايا وموضوعات تفرض علينا تحديات من الصعب التفكير في حلها، غالباً ما يكف الأشخاص عن التفكير ويغلقون عقولهم. لكنَّ الفن يمكنه أن يجمع الأفكار بطريقة تجعل الناس يعيدون النظر في هذه التحديات كرة أخرى. كما يمكنه أيضاً أن يستميل مشاعر الناس ويحثهم على تقدير المشاركة الإنسانية والتحديات المشتركة التي نحتاج إلى التصدي لها.

ديريك روبيرتسون derekart@btinternet.com

فنان الحياة البرية

www.creativepastures.com/migrations

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

A field study of migration and adversity

The migratory journeys of birds can reflect the same complexity of issues that trigger and affect human displacement.

I am privileged to spend my days in wild and beautiful places painting birds. I am fascinated by them: by their abstract shapes, their song, their behaviour, their migrations. I have sketched them and helped in scientific studies of their migratory journeys from the Arctic right down into Africa. In 2015 I watched reports from beaches on Mediterranean islands as desperate people came ashore, and I recognised these islands as the same places where I had watched and sketched migratory birds. Here now were people seeking refuge in order to survive, taking the same lines of flight as the birds that I had drawn.

Subsequently, over the course of a year, I travelled through the UK and Europe, through the Mediterranean to the Middle East. On my travels I spoke to refugees, to locals and to volunteers and I sketched what I saw: the people, the places and the birds. One of the interests that ecologists have in birds is that they are important environmental indicators. If the populations or migration of the birds change, this points to changes in the environment that could be of grave concern. The issues are complex but academic studies draw a link between climate change, conflict and large movements of refugees – all of which in turn cause further social and environmental stress. In these complex systems, ecologists look to the birds to indicate what might be happening to our world. How we address the intertwined issues of climate change and displacement will define who we are and what societies we will live in for generations to come.

During my travels, I taught art classes in refugee schools in Jordan [see image overleaf], organised art activities for families at refugee-welcoming events in the UK and held art engagement events for unaccompanied children in ‘the Jungle’ camp in Calais. Each had a different character and focus. In Jordan, I tried to show the possibilities for personal development and identity, especially for women and girls in a very patriarchal society; in the UK, I wanted to help provide a sense of engagement and welcome where paintings on a wall could indicate a sense of ‘home’ and belonging; and in Calais I held events that helped engage very distrustful youngsters in conversation with the charity volunteers to see what clothes, help or services they needed.

There is a degree to which birdwatchers (and bird artists) are always birdwatching so when I sat down to draw in and around the camps, I looked out for birds – and drew them. It was poignant to see migrating birds flying over the fences that constrained their human, migratory counterparts but in their crossing of seas and borders, there were other comparisons, including the ensnarement of unfortunate individuals and the predation by birds of prey of smaller, exhausted birds. Both birds and people often travelled according to geography: the shortest crossing, skirting the edge of mountains, travelling through cover or from established provisioning points. Both found that a tended and man-made landscape offered little room for them and when I was sitting in unofficial camps pitched on waste ground, park edges or marginal ground between roads, I found people and birds brought together in scrubby edgelands where they could shelter and from which try to move onwards.

In a world where we are challenged by topics that can be hard to think about, people often close their minds. Art can bring together ideas in a way that makes people look at the ordinary afresh. And it can appeal directly to people’s emotions, helping to provoke an appreciation of a shared humanity and of the shared challenges that we need to address.

 

Derek Robertson derekart@btinternet.com
Wildlife artist

www.creativepastures.com/migrations 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview