البشر والحيوانات في مخيمات اللاجئين

هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من الأبحاث عبر مختلف التخصصات للوقوف على فهم أفضل بأهمية الأدوار المتنوعة التي تمثلها الحيوانات في حياة الناس في مخيمات اللاجئين.

تمثل الحيوانات دوراً مهماً في الخبرات البشرية للتهجير القسري، يتجلى على وجه الخصوص عند إقامة المخيمات. فغالباً ما تبني المخيمات بما يراعي حاجة سكانها إلى الحيوانات، ناهيك عن إسكان البشر فيها، وهنا تظهر ’حظائر الماعز‘، وأسواق الحيوانات لتصبح أهم السمات الهيكلية المميزة للمخيمات الصحراوية في الجزائر على سبيل المثال.[1]ويمكن للحيوانات الداجنة أن تمثل عدداً من الأدوار الاقتصادية والثقافية في حياة المخيم، كما تفعل الجمال في مخيم داداب في كينيا.[2] وبطبيعة الحال، قد يؤدي تفاعل المُهجَّرين مع الحيوانات البرية إلى ظهور مخاطر على الجانبين، ومثال ذلك التجمعات شبه الرسمية للاجئي الروهينغيا في بنجلادش التي وضعت اللاجئين حرفياً في مسار الفيلة.[3] وقد يظهر ذكر الحيوانات عند الحديث عن المخيمات كما الحال عندما يتحدث الصحفيون عن الفئران والجرذان لتلخيص الظروف الصعبة التي تواجه اللاجئين، وقد يشير اللاجئون أنفسهم إلى الحيوانات بقولهم ’إنهم يعاملون كالحيوانات‘.  لكنَّ البحوث في هذا المجال ما زالت محدودة جداً. ولا يضم دليل أكسفورد لدراسات اللاجئين والهجرة القسرية إلا قليلاً جداً من الإشارات المرجعية العابرة إلى الحيوانات، أما في نشرة الهجرة القسرية فلا يوجد إلا مقالة واحدة على وجه الخصوص حول العلاقة ما بين البشر والحيوانات.[4] وتركز الدراسات السابقة التي أدلى بها المزاولون في هذا المجال على أهمية الحيوانات لرفاه اللاجئين، لكنَّها غالباً ما تركز على الماشية.[5]

وجاء هذا الموضوع المصغر في هذا العدد من نشرة الهجرة القسرية لهدفين اثنين. الهدف الأول هو جذب انتباه المزاولين وصانعي السياسات إلى مختلف التفاعلات بين البشر والإنسان وتسليط الضوء على أهميتها في المخيمات بناءً على تجارب فريقٍ دولي من المساهمين. أما الهدف الثاني فهو تحفيز إجراء مزيد من الأبحاث حول هذا الموضوع واقتراح بعض التوجيهات التي يمكن اتخاذها. وجاء هذا الموضوع بعد سلسلة من اللقاءات بتمويل من منظمة ويلكوم تراست (Wellcome Trust)[6] بين المزاولين من المنظمات بما فيها المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين ومنظمة أطباء بيطريون بلا حدود ومنظمة لجوء الفنون وباحثين أيضاً من مختلف المجالات بما فيها العمارة والتاريخ والجغرافيا، والعلوم الطبية البيطرية والبشرية. ثم أعقب ذلك سلسلة أخرى من الاجتماعات مع مجموعة مرجعية للاجئين، ويجري هذا الاجتماع الآن بالتعاون مع المجلس الإسكتلندي للاجئين.

وتطور المشروع من هذا البحث الذي قدمته على أساس دراسة حالة تاريخية، وهي دراسة مخيم في بعقوبة قرب بغداد حيث كانت قوات الاحتلال البريطانية في نهاية الحرب العالمية الأولى تؤوي قرابة 50 ألف لاجئ من آسيا الصغرى (الأناضول).[7] واصطحب اللاجئون ألافاً من الحيوانات الكبيرة مثل الخيول والبغال والبقر، والصغيرة مثل الضأن والماعز والمتناهية في الصغر مثل القمل. وبدأ تطبيق النظام الطبي على البشر مباشرة فور وصولهم، وذلك بالقضاء على القمل، كما بدأ في الوقت نفسه نظام الطب البيطري على الحيوانات التي تحتاج إلى المراقبة الدقيقة والعزل ومعالجة المرضى من الحيوانات. وكان للحيوانات التي وصلت مع اللاجئين آثر في تحديد مكان إقامة المخيم وشكله. وبنيت المحاولات البريطانية للترويج إلى نشاط الاقتصاد بين اللاجئين على أساس وجود الحيوانات بدءاً من استخدامها لمنتجات الألبان التجارية من خلال قطعان الناجين أنفسهم إلى استقطاب فرق العمالة البشرية والحيوانية التي وصل قوامها إلى قرابة 2500 رجل وألف ثور من أجل العمالة المأجورة خارج المخيم. وأصبح التنافس على رعي الحيوانات مصدراً أساسياً للاحتكاك والمشاحنة بين اللاجئين والمجتمع المضيف. وتضمنت الخطط البريطانية لإغلاق المخيم في ذلك الوقت تجميع دواب الحمل والجر والعناية بها لغايات نقل السكان البشر وإعادة توطينهم في أماكن أكثر ديمومة.

وتكرر كثير من تلك المشكلات في الحالات المعاصرة كما سنشرح لاحقاً في هذه المقالة، لكنَّها ليست إلا مجرد نقطة البداية. ولتحقيق فهم أفضل للأدوار التي تمثلها الحيوانات في حياة الناس في مخيمات اللاجئين، لا بد من إجراء مزيد من الأبحاث على نطاقات مختلفة (من الجزء إلى الكل) وعبر مختلف الموضوعات. ولا شك في أنَّ المقاربات البيطرية والطبية البشرية من الأماكن الواضحة للبدء بها لأنَّ هناك ارتباطاً بين الصحة البشرية والصحة الحيوانية من خلال الأمراض المنقولة من الحيوانات على سبيل المثال. لكنَّ هذه الارتباطات ليست مجرد ارتباطات طبية حيوية، فأعمال العلاج التي نفذت في مخيمات في كاليس ونيبال على يد المعالج النفسي العيادي في شبكتنا تبين أهمية الحيوانات الكبرى في الصحة النفسية والوجدانية للبشر. أما عن مدى أهميتها فتختلف من حالة لأخرى. ففي بعض الأحيان يعتقد الناس أنَّ منزلاً دون كلب ليس سوى مكان للسكن، أما لغيرهم من الأشخاص فقد ينظرون إلى أنّ وجود الكلب في البيت غير مرحب به بل هو شيء فظيع. وسوف تؤثر الأهمية الثقافية المرتبطة بمختلف الحيوانات في الوضع النفسي العام للاجئين وفي حياتهم الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. وهذا بدوره سوف يساعد في فهم الطرق التي ينظم بها اللاجئون (أو يعيدوا تنظيم) الأماكن التي يقطنون بها بناء على حاجات حيواناتهم بدءاً بمأوى الحيوانات أو الحظائر المجاورة للمخيم نفسه. كما أنَّ المخيمات حتى الحضرية منها دائماً ما تكون موجودة ضمن بيئات طبيعية أكبر، كما تبين لوحة ديريك روبيرتسون، إذ هناك ارتباط وثيق فيما بين العوامل البيئية التي تساهم في هجرة الإنسان والحيوان وتؤثر في خبرة الهجرة. وهذه اللوحة رسمها فنان شارك في الدراسات العلمية للهجرة وتشير إلى مختلف التخصصات التي يمكن أن تساهم في فهمنا لهذا الموضوع. ونرحب باستجاباتكم لهذه المرحلة الأولية لمشروعنا من المزاولين والباحثين في أي من المجالات المختلفة التي تتعلق بنا.

 

بينجامين توماس وايت benjaminthomas.white@glasgow.ac.uk
جامعة غلاسكو www.gla.ac.uk/schools/humanities/
 

 

[1] Herz M (Ed) (2012) From Camp to City: Refugee Camps of the Western Sahara, Lars Müller Publishers 302–303, 340–347

(من المخيم إلى المدينة: مخيمات اللاجئين في الصحارى الغربية)

[2] Rawlence B (2016) City of Thorns: Nine Lives in the World’s Largest Refugee Camp, Portobello Books

(مدينة الشوك: عشر حيوات في أكبر مخيم للاجئين في العالم)

[3] International Union for the Conservation of Nature (2018) Survey Report on Elephant Movement, Human-Elephant Conflict Situation, and Possible Intervention Sites in and around Kutupalong Camp, Cox’s Bazar

(تقرير دراسة استقصائية حول حركة الفيلة ووضع النزاع بين الإنسان والفيلة ومواقع التدخلات المحتملة في مخيم كوتوبالونغ وما حوله، بازار كوكس)

www.unhcr.org/5a9946a34

[4] Fiddian-Qasmiyeh E, Loescher G, Long K and Sigona N (Eds) (2014) The Oxford Handbook of Refugee and Forced Migration Studies, Oxford University Press

(دليل أكسفورد للاجئين ودراسات الهجرة القسرية)

وأيضاً بيرن ب. وكلتي-هابر ك. (2015)، نشرة الهجرة القسرية العدد 49، ’الحيوانات والهجرة القسرية

www.fmreview.org/ar/climatechange-disasters/beirne-keltyhuber

[5] See for example LEGS (2014) Livestock Emergency Guidelines and Standards (2nd edition) Practical Action Publishing

(دليل التوجيهات والمعايير الخاصة بالماشية في أوضاع الطوارئ)

www.livestock-emergency.net/resources/download-legs;

UNHCR/IUCN (2005) Livestock-Keeping and Animal Husbandry in Refugee and Returnee Situations: A Practical Handbook for Improved Management

(رعاية المواشي والثروة الحيوانية في أوضاع اللاجئين والعائدين)

http://bit.ly/UNHCR-Livestock-handbook-2005

[6]Humans and animals in refugee camps’, Wellcome Trust Seed Award in Humanities and Social Science 2016 [award reference 205708/Z/16/Z]

(’الإنسان والحيوان في مخيمات اللاجئين‘ في مجلة العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية)

[7] White B T (2018) ‘Humans and animals in a refugee camp: Baquba, Iraq, 1918–20’, Journal of Refugee Studies

(’الإنسان والحيوان في مخيم للاجئين: بعقوبة، العراق 1918-1920‘ في مجلة دراسات اللاجئين)

https://academic.oup.com/jrs/advance-article/doi/10.1093/jrs/fey024/4996010

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Humans and animals in refugee camps

More research is needed, across disciplines, to better understand the important and varied roles that animals play in the lives of people in refugee camps.

Animals play an important role in human experiences of forced displacement and this is particularly visible in settings of encampment. Camps are often shaped by the need to accommodate animals as well as humans; ‘goat barns’ and animal markets are a distinctive architectural feature of Sahrawi camps in Algeria, for example.[1] Domesticated animals can play a range of economic and cultural roles in the life of a camp, as camels do in Dadaab, Kenya.[2] Displaced people’s interactions with wild animals can create dangers for both – for example, the semi-formal settlements of Rohingya refugees in Bangladesh have literally put refugees in the path of elephants.[3] Animals may figure in representations of camps, as when journalists mention rats as a shorthand for squalid conditions, and refugees themselves may say they are being treated ‘like animals’. Research in this area remains limited, however. In the Oxford Handbook of Refugee and Forced Migration Studies there are only a few passing references to animals, while in Forced Migration Review only one short article has specifically focused on the human­­–animal relationship.[4] Practitioner literature highlights the importance of animals to refugees’ well-being but focuses mostly on livestock.[5]

This special FMR feature has two aims. First, to highlight for practitioners and policymakers the variety and importance of human–animal interactions in camps, drawing on the experiences of an international team of contributors. Second, to spur further research on the topic, and suggest some of the directions it might take. The feature emerges from a series of meetings, funded by the Wellcome Trust,[6] between practitioners from organisations including UNHCR (the UN Refugee Agency), Vets Without Borders, Art Refuge and researchers from disciplines including architecture, history and geography, as well as the veterinary and medical sciences. A second strand of meetings, with a refugee reference group, is taking place in collaboration with the Scottish Refugee Council.

The project has grown out of my own research on a historical case study: a camp at Baquba, near Baghdad, where occupying British forces at the end of the First World War accommodated nearly 50,000 refugees from Anatolia.[7] The refugees were accompanied by thousands of animals: large (horses, mules, cattle), smaller (sheep and goats) and tiny (lice). The camp's medical regime for humans started, as they arrived, with the elimination of lice; like the veterinary regime for animals, it also involved close observation, with isolation and treatment of the sick. The animals that arrived with the refugees affected the siting and shape of the camp. British attempts to promote economic activity among the refugees were built around animals, from commercial dairy production with the refugees’ own flocks to hiring out teams of human and animal labour – numbering as many as 2,500 men and 1,000 oxen – for waged work outside the camp. Competition over grazing became a key source of friction between refugees and the host population. British plans to close the camp, meanwhile, involved assembling and caring for still more pack and draught animals, both for transporting its human inhabitants and for resettling them more durably elsewhere.

Many of these issues recur in more contemporary cases, as the pieces here show. But they are only a starting point. For a fuller understanding of the roles animals play in the lives of people in refugee camps, research is needed at different scales (from micro to macro) and across many different themes. Veterinary and medical approaches are an obvious place to begin as human health and animal health are intertwined, for example through zoonotic disease (disease which can be transmitted from animals to humans). But those connections are not simply biomedical. The art therapy work done in camps in Calais and Nepal by a clinical psychotherapist in our network illustrates how much animals matter in the psychological and emotional health of humans. Precisely how they matter will vary: in some places people believe that ‘a home without a dog is just a house’, while in others a dog in the home would be not just unwelcome but an outrage. The cultural significance of different animals will influence the psychological impact they have – and it will also affect, and be affected by, their role in refugees’ social and economic lives. This in turn will inform the ways in which refugees organise (or reorganise) spaces around the needs of their animals, from their own shelters or nearby enclosures to the camp itself and its surrounding landscape. And camps, even urban ones, are always dynamically situated within larger natural environments. As the piece by Derek Robertson shows, the environmental factors that contribute to human and animal migration, and shape the experience of migration, are closely connected. This piece, by an artist who has also taken part in scientific studies of migration, indicates the range of different disciplines that can contribute to our understanding of the subject. We would welcome responses to this initial stage of our own project from practitioners and researchers in any of the many and diverse fields which are of relevance.

 

Benjamin Thomas White benjaminthomas.white@glasgow.ac.uk
University of Glasgow www.gla.ac.uk/schools/humanities/

 


[1] Herz M (Ed) (2012) From Camp to City: Refugee Camps of the Western Sahara, Lars Müller Publishers 302–303, 340–347

[2] Rawlence B (2016) City of Thorns: Nine Lives in the World’s Largest Refugee Camp,  Portobello Books

[3] International Union for the Conservation of Nature (2018) Survey Report on Elephant Movement, Human-Elephant Conflict Situation, and Possible Intervention Sites in and around Kutupalong Camp, Cox’s Bazar www.unhcr.org/5a9946a34

[4] Fiddian-Qasmiyeh E, Loescher G, Long K and Sigona N (Eds) (2014) The Oxford Handbook of Refugee and Forced Migration Studies, Oxford University Press; Beirne P and Kelty-Huber C (2015) ‘Animals and forced migration’, Forced Migration Review issue 49: 97–98 www.fmreview.org/climatechange-disasters/beirne-keltyhuber

[5] See for example LEGS (2014) Livestock Emergency Guidelines and Standards (2nd edition) Practical Action Publishing www.livestock-emergency.net/resources/download-legs; UNHCR/IUCN (2005) Livestock-Keeping and Animal Husbandry in Refugee and Returnee Situations: A Practical Handbook for Improved Management http://bit.ly/UNHCR-Livestock-handbook-2005

[6] ‘Humans and animals in refugee camps’, Wellcome Trust Seed Award in Humanities and Social Science 2016 [award reference 205708/Z/16/Z]. 

[7] White B T (2018) ‘Humans and animals in a refugee camp: Baquba, Iraq, 1918–20’, Journal of Refugee Studies https://academic.oup.com/jrs/advance-article/doi/10.1093/jrs/fey024/4996010

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview