دور متاجر الخضروات الريفية في استقبال اللاجئين

يشير البحث الذي أجريناه على مديري متاجر الخضار الريفية في الدانمارك إلى أنَّ إدماج مراكز اللجوء في الحياة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية المحلية في المناطق الريفية عامل أساسي في إنجاح استقبال اللاجئين.

في الدانمارك، يُطلَب إلى طالبي اللجوء البقاء في مراكز اللجوء في أثناء النظر في طلبات لجوئهم. وخلال هذا الوقت لا يُسمحَ لهم بالعمل ولا التحصيل العلمي، لكنهم يحصلون على السكن وعلى مصروفات بسيطة تكفي لشراء الغذاء وغيرها من ضروريات الحياة. وتتراوح فترات الإنتظار من ستة أشهر إلى أكثر من عشر سنوات في بعض الحالات الاستثنائية، ويتذبذب عدد مراكز اللجوء حسب عدد مقدمي طلبات اللجوء وطول مدد معالجتها. ففي عام 2007 لم يكن هناك سوى سبعة مراكز للجوء في الدانمارك، ثم ارتفع الرقم في عام 2016 ليصبح مائة، والآن أصبح العدد 22. ومع أنَّ دائرة خدمات الهجرة الدانماركية هي المسؤولة عن طالبي اللجوء في الدانمارك، فهي تتعاقد مع جهات أخرى لغايات تشغيل مراكز اللجوء، وتلك الجهات قد تكون الصليب الأحمر الدانماركي أو أي واحدة من البلديات الريفية المتعددة. وتدير البلديات الريفية حالياً أكثر من نصف هذه المراكز.

وتتسم المجتمعات الريفية في الدانمارك، كما الحال في دول الشمال العالمي بأنها مجتمعات هرمة ومتناقصة، تنخفض فيها فرص العمل، وتشهد إغلاقا للمشروعات التجارية المحلية، ومؤسسات الرفاه الاجتماعي، بالإضافة إلى المدارس، وبيوت المسنين. ويدعم هذا الواقع الآراء التي تقول بوجود فرصة اقتصادية جيدة في البلديات الريفية من ناحية استضافة مراكز اللاجئين.

فإغلاق كثير من مؤسسات الرفاه الاجتماعي في المناطق الريفية يعني أولاً أنَّ هناك مبان غير مشغولة، وغالباً ما تمتلكها الحكومة، وتكون بذلك إيجاراتها رخيصة، ويمكن إعادة تهيئتها بسرعة. وثانياً، تبدي البلديات الريفية اهتماماً خاصاً بالوظائف والمزايا الاقتصادية الثانوية التي يمكن اكتسابها من مراكز اللجوء، ومن ذلك على سبيل المثال إيجاد الطلب على الخدمات الأخرى بما في ذلك خدمات إعادة التصميم والصيانة، ويعني ذلك ارتفاعاً في أعداد الوظائف التي ستتاح إلى السكان المحليين، فالسياق في ذلك المنطقة يشير إلى أنَّ إنشاء أي عدد من الوظائف مهما كان صغيراً سيكون له أثر كبير جداً. وثالثاً، هناك إدخال أطفال طالبي اللجوء في المدارس المحلية الذي يمكن أن يحمي المدارس من الإغلاق. وبالمثل، بمقدور طالبي اللجوء من جميع الأعمار أن يدعموا حياة الجمعيات المحلية من خلال المشاركة في نوادي كرة القدم المحلية، على سبيل المثال.

وأخيراً، نظراً لأنَّ كثيراً من مراكز اللجوء الريفية تقع في أماكن معزولة نسبياً، غالباً ما لا يتاح لطالبي اللجوء سوى خيارات بسيطة في صرف أموالهم محلياً، ويعني ذلك شراء متطلباتهم الغذائية من متاجر الخضار المحلية. وعندما سألنا مديري متاجر الخضار عن تقييمهم لأهمية مراكز اللجوء بالنسبة لمشروعاتهم التجارية العامة، شخص واحد فقط منهم قال إنَّه لا يوجد لهذه المراكز أي أثر إيجابي على مشروعه التجاري، فيما أفاد سبعة آخرون أنَّ الأثر كان قليلاً، بينما قال ثمانية منهم إنَّ الأثر كان متوسطاً، فيما رأى ثلاثة آخرون إنَّ الأثر كان عظيماً. وفي الواقع أخبرنا ثلاثة من هؤلاء المديرين أنَّ متاجرهم كانت تُعوّلُ في بقائها على العمل القادم من مراكز اللجوء.

مراكز اجتماعية وحراس مجتمعيون

كان مالكو المتاجر ومديريها تجاراً، لكنهم نظروا إلى أنفسهم أيضاً على أنهم مسؤولون عن حماية مجتمعاتهم المحلية إذ قال لنا أحدهم: "نحن نقول إننا نوع من رئيسي البلدية غير الرسمي. فمن المهم أن يكو لنا حضور في فعاليات البلدة، ودعم المبادرات المحلية." ونتيجة لإغلاق أماكن الاجتماع الاجتماعية غير الرسمية كالمدارس، ازادت أهمية دورة المتاجر في حياة المجتمع المحلي. فقد كانت هذه المتاجر تقدم للسكان المحليين مكاناً يلتقون به، ويتحدثون فيما بينهم، ويدعمون من خلاله الجمعيات المحلية ومؤسساتها ضمن دائرة متشابكة وعميقة من التبادلات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية. وقد نُظِرَ لخطر إغلاق هذه المتاجر على أنَّه ذو تبعات اقتصادية حقيقية على المجتمع المحلي بأكمله.

وفي هذا السياق، يمكن أن تؤدي متاجر الخضروات دور حراسة مراكز اللجوء. ومثال ذلك أنَّ أحد مديري المتاجر في جزيرة لانجيلاند على سبيل المثال طلب إلى موظفيه أن يكون حديثهم عن مركز اللجوء المؤسس حديثاً في البلدة إيجابياً، وقال إنَّه ما دام لم تكن هناك خبرات سلبية، من الضروري دعم المركز كضرورة دعم أي مؤسسة جديدة أخرى في البلدة. وجاءت هذه الخطوة تقديراً منه بأنَّ مركز اللجوء جلب إلى متجره المنافع، لكنَّه أيضاً كان ينظر في ذلك على أنَّه طريقة لتعزيز الروح الجماعية في البلدة، وإثبات أنَّ المجتمع قادر على إنجاح هذا المركز. وعنى الأمر له أيضاً العمل مع الجمعيات التطوعية المحلية (خاصة نادي كرة القدم المحلي الذي كان يرعاه) لإيجاد الفرص أمام طالبي اللجوء في المشاركة فيها.

وهناك مديرة متجر آخر شرحت لنا أنها سرعان ما وجدت نفسها تقدم المساعدة لطالبي اللجوء في التبضع من متجرها، وفي تقديم الإرشادات لهم إلى الأماكن التي يريدونها في المجتمع المحلي، بل في بعض الأحيان كانت تقدم لهم المساعدة حول منظومة اللجوء ومعرفة تفاصيلها. وهكذا وجدت نفسها نقطة اتصال بشبكة متشعبة بين مركز اللجوء والمجتمع المحلي.

ومن جهة مراكز اللجوء، يمكن لبناء العلاقات الطيبة مع المجتمعات المحلية أن تفتح الفرص أمام التعاون مع المؤسسات المحلية والجمعيات التطوعية التي يمكنها أن توسع من الفرص الإجتماعية لطالبي اللجوء، وتحارب الشعور بالعزلة والإحباط الذي غالباً ما يَسِمُ الفترة الطويلة للانتظار.[i]

الاندماج الإجتماعي والاقتصادي

مع أنَّ الحوارات الوطنية المستقطبة غالباً ما تُؤطّرُ طالبي اللجوء على أنهم ضحايا يحتاجون إلى الإنقاذ، أو عناصر تهدد النظام الإجتماعي، كانت المجتمعات المحلية تَعمَدُ إلى انتهاج مقاربة براجماتية عملية من خلال اختبار مشاركة طالبي اللجوء في حياة المجتمع المحلي، ومن ذلك على سبيل المثال فئة المستهلكين، ولاعبي كرة القدم، وتلاميذ المدارس. فقد قال أحد عناصر دراستنا "الآن بعد أن أصبح [مركز اللجوء] عندنا، يجب علينا أن نتساءل ’كيف يمكننا أن نحقق الفائدة الأكبر منه؟‘

لكنَّ المجتمعات المحلية في بعض الأحيان اشتكت من الإقصاء النسبي لمراكز اللجوء من حياة المجتمع المحلية، وغالباً ما فسَّرت ذلك على أنه تعبير عن غياب المشاركة في المؤسسات المحلية ووجود نوع من الغموض إزاء عمليات تشغيلها اليومية، بالإضافة إلى تصورها لعدم وجود تواصل من السلطات ومديري المركز. وهذا الامتعاض الناتج قد يؤدي إلى زيادة سوء وضع الانعزال المحلي لمراكز اللجوء والذين يعيشون به، إضافة إلى فرض ضغوطات سياسية محلية على البلديات المستضيفة لتحد من تعاونها مع دائرة خدمات الهجرة الدانماركية. وفي أفضل الأحوال، سوف يعني ذلك إخفاقاً في التركيز على الفرص المتاحة من خلال التعاون المحلي والاستفادة منها، وفي أسوأ الأحوال قد يؤدي ذلك إلى إغلاق مركز اللجوء المحلي.

ومن هنا، تتبين أهمية العمل اللازم في بناء العلاقات وتوسيعها والتواصل مع الجمعيات والمؤسسات المحلية. وبمقدور مديري مراكز اللجوء وموظفيه المساهمة في هذه النقلة عن طريق شراء مستلزمات المراكز محلياً واستخدام الأماكن المحلية لإقامة الفعاليات وشراء خدمات السكان المحليين لهذا الغرض مما يضمن في النهاية مشاركة المؤسسة في الحياة الإقتصادية المحلية. ويمكن لهذه الخطوات بدورها أن تمهد للحوار والتقاطعات مع المجتمعات المحلية التي يمكنها أيضاً أن توفر الفرص لطالبي اللجوء والدعم الطوعي لمركز اللجوء. وربما يعني ذلك بناء معلب محلي والتشارك به، بدلاً من بناء ملعب منفصل لمركز اللجوء، أو التوجه إلى الجمعيات المحلية لسؤالها إذا ما كانت قادرة على استخدام المفروشات غير اللازمة من المركز بدلاً من رميها وطرحها جانبا.

إن المجتمعات المحلية قادرة على أن تمثل دور الشركاء المفيدين لمراكز اللجوء، لكنَّ هذا الدور يعتمد أولاً وآخراً على العمل الفاعل من أجل إدماج مراكز اللجوء ضمن نسيج الحياة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية المحلية بدلاً من إدارتها كمؤسسات معزولة وعازلة.

زاكاري وايت whyte@hum.ku.dk

بروفيسور مشارك

بيرجيتا رومة لارسين birgitte.romme@hum.ku.dk

زميل في مرحلة ما بعد الدكتوراه

مركز دراسات الهجرة المتقدمة، جامعة كوبنهاجن

http://amis.ku.dk

مونا شالدوموزا ms@samf.ku.dk

مساعدة بحث

قسم علم الإنسان، جامعة كوبنهاجن http://anthropology.ku.dk

[i] Whyte Z (2011) ‘Enter the myopticon: Uncertain surveillance in the Danish asylum system’ Anthropology Today 27(3), 18–21 https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1467-8322.2011.00808.x

(’دخول الماي أوبتيكون: رقابة غير أكيدة في منظومة اللجوء الدانمركية‘ في الأنثروبولوجيا اليوم)

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The role of rural grocery stores in refugee reception

Our research with rural grocery store managers in Denmark suggests that the integration of asylum centres into the local social and economic life in rural areas is a key factor in successful refugee reception.

In Denmark, asylum seekers are required to stay in asylum centres while their asylum applications are processed. During this time they are not allowed to work or pursue education but are provided with accommodation and a small stipend to buy food and other essentials. Waiting times range from around six months to more than ten years in some extreme cases, and the number of asylum centres fluctuates with the number of asylum applicants and the length of processing times: in 2007 there were only seven asylum centres in Denmark; in 2016 the number exceeded 100, and it is currently 22. While the Danish Immigration Service is responsible for asylum seekers in Denmark, they subcontract the work to asylum centre operators, either the Danish Red Cross or one of several rural municipalities. Rural municipalities now administer more than half of the centres.

Rural communities in Denmark, as across the Global North, are characterised by an ageing and reducing population, declining job opportunities, and the closure of local businesses as well as welfare institutions such as schools and retirement homes. There are therefore good economic arguments for rural municipalities to host asylum centres.

First, the closure of many welfare institutions in rural areas means that there are unoccupied buildings – often municipally owned and relatively cheap to rent – that can be quickly refitted. Second, rural municipalities are particularly interested in the jobs and secondary economic benefits derived from the asylum centres, such as the creation of demand for other services including remodelling and maintenance, which means more work for locals in a context where the creation of even a small number of jobs has a big impact. Third, the enrolment of asylum-seeking children in local schools can stave off school closures. Similarly, asylum seekers of all ages can support local associational life, for example by participating in local football clubs.

Finally, because of the relative isolation of many rural asylum centres, asylum seekers often have little option but to spend their money locally, which in particular means buying their food at local grocery stores. When we asked grocery store managers to rate the importance of asylum centres to their overall business only one felt the centre had no positive effect on their business; seven reported a small effect, eight a medium effect, and three a powerful effect. Three managers told us that their stores were dependent on the business from the asylum centre for their survival.

Social hubs and gatekeepers

As well as being merchants, the store owners and managers whom we interviewed saw themselves as upholders of their communities. One said, “We say that we are kind of an unofficial mayor. It is important that we are present at town events and support local initiatives.” Partly as a result of the closure of other informal social meeting places such as schools, stores were increasingly central to local community life. They provided locals with a place to meet and talk but they also supported local associations and institutions in a deeply interwoven circuit of economic and social exchange. The threat of closure of such stores was understood to have real economic consequences for the entire community.

In this context, grocery stores could function as gatekeepers for asylum centres. One store manager on the island of Langeland, for example, asked his staff to only speak positively of the town’s newly opened asylum centre, feeling that so long as there had not yet been any negative experiences it was important to support it as he would any other new institution in town. This was in part due to his appreciation of the custom that the asylum centre brought to his store but also as a way of bolstering the collective spirit in the town and showing that the community could make it work. For him this also meant working with local voluntary associations (particularly the local football club, which he sponsored) to create opportunities for asylum seekers to participate.

Another store manager explained that she quickly found herself helping asylum seekers to navigate her store, the local community and in some cases even the asylum system, and so had become a contact point for interactions between the asylum centre and the local community.

For asylum centres, having good relations with local communities can open opportunities for cooperation with local institutions and voluntary associations, which can widen the social opportunities of asylum seekers and combat the sense of isolation and frustration that tends to characterise their waiting time.[1]

Social and economic incorporation

While polarised national debates often frame asylum seekers as either victims in need of saving or threats to the social order, local communities tended to be more pragmatic through experiencing asylum seekers’ participation in local community life, for example as consumers, football players or school pupils. One of our rural respondents said, “Now that [the asylum centre] is here, the question is ‘How do we make the best of it?’”.

However, local communities sometimes complained about the relative seclusion of asylum centres from local community life – often understood as a lack of involvement with local institutions and a certain obscurity as to their daily operation – as well as a perceived lack of communication from authorities and centre operators. The resulting disapproval could exacerbate the local isolation of asylum centres and those living there, as well as put local political pressure on the hosting municipalities to limit their cooperation with the Danish Immigration Service. At best, this would mean a failure to capitalise on the opportunities available through local cooperation; at worst, this could spell the closure of the local asylum centre.

There is thus important work to be done in building and expanding relations and communication with local associations and institutions. Managers and staff at the asylum centres may contribute to this shift by buying necessities for the centre locally, using local venues for events, and hiring locals, thereby involving the institution in local economic life. These steps in turn create dialogue and intersections with local associations, who can provide opportunities for asylum seekers and voluntary support for the asylum centre. This might mean developing and sharing a local playground rather than building a separate one for the asylum centre, or asking local associations if they can use unneeded furniture from the centre rather than throwing it away.

Local communities prove useful partners for asylum centres but this relies on actively working to interweave asylum centres with local social and economic life, rather than operating them as isolated – and isolating – institutions.

Zachary Whyte whyte@hum.ku.dk
Associate Professor

Birgitte Romme Larsen birgitte.romme@hum.ku.dk
Postdoctoral Fellow

Centre for Advanced Migration Studies (AMIS), University of Copenhagen
http://amis.ku.dk

Mona Schaldemose ms@samf.ku.dk
Research Assistant

Department of Anthropology, University of Copenhagen
http://anthropology.ku.dk


[1] Whyte Z (2011) ‘Enter the myopticon: Uncertain surveillance in the Danish asylum system’ Anthropology Today 27(3), 18–21 https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1467-8322.2011.00808.x

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview