المنظمات التي يقودها اللاجئون السوريون في برلين

ما زال كثير من اللاجئين السوريين المقيمين في برلين والبالغ عددهم قرابة 50 ألفاً يعتمدون اعتماداً كبيراً على مساعدات الدولة، وقد أنشأ بعض اللاجئين أيضاً دعماً جديداً في المبادرات المجتمعية الحيوية والنشطة.

يتلقى اللاجئون في المانيا دعماً حكومياً لا بأس به فكل طالب لجوء يُقبَل طلبه تُحدَّد إقامته في مدينة أو بلدة، ويحصل على إقامة مؤقتة، ويبدأ بعملية الاندماج في المجتمع. ومع أنَّ الواصلين الجدد في عام 2015 أُسكِنوا مبدئياً في النوادي الصحية للمدراس وغيرها من المأوي الطارئة، هناك الآن مساكن للاجئين بعيدة الأمد، وهناك جهود مستمرة تُبذَل لمساعدة اللاجئين في الحصول على شقق بأنفسهم.

وعندما يُمنَح حق الإقامة أو يصبح ذلك من الأمور المحتملة، يحضر اللاجئون دورة تدريبية للاندماج ليتعلموا فيها اللغة والثقافة، ثم يحضرون اجتماعهم الأول في مركز الوظائف ليتعرفوا على آفاق التوظيف. أما العاطلون عن العمل من اللاجئين فيتلقون مبلغاً شهرياً يكفي تلبية مصروفاتهم المعيشية. ويتلقى اللاجئون الدعم من البلدية التي ستقدم لهم التوجيهات المحلية، وبعض الأمور اللوجستية مثل النقل والخدمات الطبية والوصول إلى المنظمات والنوادي. لكنَّ العثور على وظيفةٍ لا تتطلب الاعتراف بمؤهلاتهم أو اتقانهم للغة الألمانية من الأمور الصعبة، ولا يقل صعوبةً العثور على سكن لائقٍ، فالسكن في برلين أصلاً مشكلة مزمنة يعاني منها صغار الدخل حتى قبل أن ننظر بحاجات اللاجئين وعائلاتهم.

ورغم الدعم واسع النطاق الذي تقدمه الدولة، هناك ثغراتٌ في الخدمات، وفي كثيرٍ من الأحيان لا تلبى الحاجات إلا من خلال المبادرات الشعبية الموجودة في مختلف أنحاء البلاد. فهناك المئات من المشروعات والشبكات والمنظمات ومعظمها تأسس منذ عام 2015.

وبدايةً، اتخذ دعم القاعدة الشعبية السورية في برلين شكل مساعدة اللاجئين على الوصول إلى المساعدات الطارئة واستكشاف الإجراءات الإدارية المطلوبة لطلب اللجوء، والتسجيل. ففي الأيام الأولى لوصول الأعداد الكبيرة للوافدين اللاجئين على سبيل المثال، عمدت مجموعات من اللاجئين السوريين، ومعظمهم كانوا من الواصلين الجدد أصلاً، إلى المرابطة في محطات القطار الرئيسية في ألمانيا من أجل توفير الخرائط للقادمين الجدد وتقديم الإرشادات والتوجيهات والنصائح حول التسجيل وإيجاد المأوى.

لكنَّ السنوات الثلاثة الماضية شهدت تغيراً ونقلةً من توفير المساعدات اللوجستية اليومية إلى توفير الدعم الإبداعي الثقافي والمجتمعي لتلبية حاجات اللاجئين النفسية والوجدانية العاطفية والشخصية. وفي كثير من الحالات سُجِّلَت هذه الجهود التي يقودها اللاجئون كمنظمات ألمانية إذ بلغ عدد منظمات مساعدة السوريين 75 منظمة في ألمانيا،[1] وحدد بحثنا أيضاً[2] عشرةً منها موجودةٌ في برلين وحدها.

ومثال ذلك نادي السلام للثقافة والرياضة الذي أسسه أربعة سوريين منهم أستاذ جامعي وقاضٍ وصحفي ومترجم فوري ممن أدركوا الحاجة الماسة لتوفير الترجمة الفورية للاجئين السوريين وغيرها من خدمات الدعم اللوجستي لتمكينهم من تسجيل أنفسهم كلاجئين، وللتقدم بطلبات الحصول على وظائف والتعرف إلى المنظومات المعقدة الإدارية والتعليمية في ألمانيا. وقدم النادي أيضاً خدمات الإقامة لمدة ليلة واحدة مجاناً وذلك في ذروة وصول اللاجئين في عام 2015 لتمكين الناس من الانضمام إلى الطابور الطويل في مكتب التسجيل القريب في الصباح الباكر التالي.

وعلى مدار السنوات القليلة الماضية، أصبحت المساعدة التي يقدمها مركز السلام أكثر تنظيماً وأكثر اتساعاً في نطاقها، وها هو يقدم المشاورة ضمن العروض التقديمية الإسبوعية التي تتطرق إلى مختلف الموضوعات، مثل كيفية البحث عمل والتقدم بطلبات العمل، أو كيفية تسجيل الأطفال في المدراس. وهناك أيضاً عرضٌ تقديمي شهري يتعلق بقصة نجاحٍ لأي لاجئ من اللاجئين الذين حققوا شيئاً وأنجزوه في برلين، سواءً أكان ذلك في تأمين وظيفة له أم تحقيق مستوى أفضل في اللغة الألمانية. ويقدم النادي الآن مقهى للترويج للتبادل بين الثقافات وعدد من خدمات الدعم بما في ذلك ممارسة اللغة والرياضة والنشاطات وقت الفراغ (بما في ذلك ما يفيد اللاجئين ذوي الإعاقة) والمشروعات العابرة للثقافات والإبداعية.

اختلاف الغايات

من أكثر المنظمات الثقافية السورية رسوخاً في برلين منظمة مدى،[3] وهي موجودةٌ في مركز تقافي مجتمعي اسمه أولمي 35 ويقع في حي هادئ في برلين الغربية. ويقدم المركز الثقافي مكتباً ومساحةً لإقامة الفعاليات وفرصةً للتعاون مع الفنانين والنشطاء الألمان. وأسس منظمة مدى شخص اسمه صافي وهو لاجئ سوري، ويركز على الحوار والفنون والثقافة والمجتمع من خلال عرض برنامج ثقافي يتضمن إلقاء المحاضرات وأداء االأعمال المسرحية وعرض الأفلام والقراءات ومعارض الفنون. ولا يكاد يمر يومٌ إلا وتقام فيه فعاليات بما في ذلك ورشات العمل التدريبية على اللغة الألمانية، أو فعاليات خاصة بالأطفال والعائلات، وغيرها من نشاطات كثيرة يقصد بها إشارك المشاركين السوريين وغير السوريين على حد سواء.

وتقوم الفكرة وراء تأسيس منظمة مدى على الرغبة في التفاعل مع المجموعات الثقافية السورية الأخرى في برلين من الذين أبدوا تحفظهم في البداية لأنَّ صافي شعر أنَّ الثقافة السورية التي كان يفهمها لم تَحْظَ بالتمثيل، ولا الخبرة الصحيحين من خلال هذه المجموعات. ويعكس ذلك انقسام واسع وواضح بين المنظمات السورية التي يقودها اللاجئون في برلين إذ يسعى بعضها إلى تعزيز الأنماط المحافظة للثقافة السورية والدين والقانون، بينما يسعى البعض الآخر منهم إلى استخدام الثقافة السورية في الترويج للاندماج السوري، وتعزيز اللحمة الاجتماعية بين السوريين والألمان.

ومن المبادرات المهمة الثقافية التي يقودها اللاجئون المكتبة العربية الأولى في برلين التي أطلق عليها أصحابها أسم ’بيناتنا‘.[4] ويقوم على المكتبة فريق من المتطوعين الملتزمين، وتقدم كتباً باللغة العربية للقراء المحلين، وتروج التعلم للألمان، والغربيين، وتعرفهم بالثقافة العربية وآدابها. وجاءت الفكرة لماهر وهو ناشر ولاجئ من سوريا ومؤسس مشارك في مكتبة بينتنا في عام 2016 نظراً لافتقار برلين للكتب العربية. وتمكن من بدء مشروعه في غرف ضمن مرفق ألماني لإسكان اللاجئين كان يستخدم في البداية للتعلم ولاجتماعات الجاليات هناك، ثم سرعان ما جمع الكتب المتبرع بها. ويستضيف المشروع أيضاً فعاليات أدبية يشارك فيها مقدمو العروض السوريون، والألمان، وتسعى تلك الفعاليات لاستغلال هذه الفرص للتبادل بين الثقافات، والتعلم فيما بينهما. وبهذه الطريقة ليست بيناتنا "مجرد مكتبة، بل هي أيضاً صالونٌ أدبي"، وذلك بحسب ما قالته دانا وهي مؤسسة مشاركة أخرى للمكتبة.

وفي فبراير/شباط 2018 قدمت المكتبة العامة لبرلين عرضاً لمكتبة بيناتنا بالتشارك في فضائها للمكتبة، والآن أصبحت المكتبة مفتوحة لعامة الناس أربعة أيام في الأسبوع. لكنَّ المشكلة في ذلك أنه على المكتبة أن تعيد تنظيم كتبها ورفوفها وأثاثها مرة في الأسبوع لأنَّ المكتبة الأساسية ما زالت تستخدم تلك المساحة في الأيام الأخرى، ولعل ذلك يعني أنَّ هذا المكان الممنوح للمكتبة قد يكون مؤقتاً لا دائماً. وماهر شأنه شأن أي لاجئ آخر يسعى إلى سد الفراغ في حياته، يأتي إلى المكتبة كل يوم لأنَّها تذكره بعمله في النشر السابق في سوريا. فهو يرى في الكتاب أداة قوية لتيسير اندماج السوريين في ألمانيا.

يعزى النجاح في المنظمات التي يقودها اللاجئون ومبادراتهم في برلين في التصدي لمختلف حاجات اللاجئين إلى مرونة هيكلية تلك المنظمات وقابليتها للتكيف. فقد عدلت كثير من المنظمات مع مرور الوقت نشاطاتها بناءً على مهارات المتطوعين وحسب تغير الحاجات والاهتمامات لدى المشاركين. ومع أنَّ برلين كان ينظر إليها في يوم من الأيام على أنها مكان مؤقت للجوء، أصبحت الآن تشهد بداية حياة جديدة لكثير من الناس يجدون فيها هويتهم الجديدة. لكنَّ غالبية المنظمات التي يقودها اللاجئون السوريون في برلين لا تنظر إلى أنفسها على أنها مستدامة، ذلك أنَّ من يقوم عليها معظمهم من المتطوعين، وأنها تعتمد على التبرعات، وغير ذلك من المصادر الآنية المؤقتة للتمويل. ومع أن ذلك يكشف حاجة ماسة إلى توفير التمويل الموثوق به ليمكنهم من الاستمرار في عملهم على المدى البعيد، هناك أيضا كثير من هذه العوائق التي يبدو أنها محتومة. فهذه المنظمات التي يقودها اللاجئون ما زالت فتية حديثة العهد، وقصة السوريين في برلين ما زالت في بدايتها.

جينيفر وودjenn.m.wood@gmail.com

مستشارة تربوية ومدربة للأذهان، برلين

إيڨان إيستون-كالابريا باحث، مركز دراسات اللاجئين ومرشح للحصول على درجة الدكتوراه في قسم التنمية الدولية، جامعة أكسفورد. www.rsc.ox.ac.uk/people/evan-easton-calabria-1

يحيى الأوس yalous@gmail.com

صحفي وكاتب أعمدة مستقل، صحيفة سود دويتشه تسايتونغ الألمانية.

[1] www.citizensforsyria.org

[2] أجري هذا البحث بتمويل كريم لمدة سنتين من مؤسسة تويوتا فاونديشن.

[3] www.fann-mag.com/de/leben/verein-mada-kulturelle-bildung-berlin/

http://bit.ly/Ulme35

[4] www.baynetna.de

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Syrian refugee-led organisations in Berlin

Many of the approximately 50,000 Syrian refugees living in Berlin continue to depend largely on State assistance; some refugees have also created and found additional support in active, vibrant community initiatives.

Refugees in Germany receive considerable State support. Those whose asylum applications are accepted are assigned to a local city or town, gain temporary residency and begin the integration process. Although new arrivals in 2015 were initially housed in school gyms and other emergency shelters, there are now longer-term refugee hostels and continuing efforts to help refugees find apartments of their own.

Once residency has been established or looks likely, refugees attend an integration course to learn the language and culture, and have their first meeting at a job centre to learn about employment prospects. Unemployed refugees receive a monthly sum to cover living costs. Refugees receive support from the municipality with local orientation, logistics such as transportation and medical resources, and access to organisations and clubs. However, finding a job without recognised qualifications or German language skills is difficult; so too is finding decent housing – already an acute problem in Berlin for low-income earners, even before taking into consideration the needs of refugee families.

Despite the wide-ranging support provided by State agencies, gaps in services exist and, in many cases, unmet needs are addressed by grassroots initiatives found across the country. Hundreds of projects, networks and organisations exist, almost all of which have formed since 2015.

Initially, grassroots support by Syrians in Berlin mainly took the form of helping refugees to access emergency assistance and navigate Germany’s asylum and registration bureaucracy. In the early days of high numbers of refugee arrivals, for instance, groups of Syrian refugees – often recent arrivals themselves – positioned themselves at main train stations in Germany, equipping newcomers with maps, directions and advice about registering and finding shelter.

However, in the last three years there has been a shift from providing logistical and day-to-day assistance to offering cultural, community and creative support that meets refugees’ psychological, emotional and personal needs. In many cases, these refugee-led efforts are now registered German organisations. Over 75 Syrian assistance organisations exist in Germany,[1] and our research[2] identified 10 in Berlin alone.

The Salaam Culture and Sport Club (Salaamkulturklub) is one such example. The club was founded by four Syrians – an academic, judge, journalist and interpreter – who recognised that Syrian refugees desperately needed translation and other logistical support in order to register as refugees, apply for jobs and learn about Germany’s complex administrative and educational systems. The club also offered free overnight accommodation at the height of refugee arrivals in 2015 so that people could join the long queue at the nearby registration office the following morning.

Over the last few years, Salaam’s assistance activities have both formalised and broadened. Advice is provided in the form of weekly presentations on different themes, such as how to search for and apply for a job, or how to register children in school. There is also a monthly presentation highlighting ‘success stories’ by refugees who have accomplished something in Berlin, be it securing employment or achieving a higher German language level. The club also now offers a café to promote intercultural exchange and a range of other support, including language practice, sport and leisure activities (including for refugees with disabilities) and intercultural and creative projects.

Differing aims

One of the most established Syrian cultural organisations in Berlin is Mada,[3] housed in the cultural community centre Ulme 35 in a quiet part of former West Berlin. The cultural centre provides office and event space and the opportunity for collaborations with German artists and activists. Mada was founded by Safi, a Syrian refugee, and focuses on dialogue, art, culture and community by offering a cultural programme of lectures, theatre, films, readings and art exhibitions. There are events almost every day, including German language training and events for children and families, and many activities are intended for both Syrian and non-Syrian participants.

The idea behind establishing Mada arose in reaction to other Syrian cultural groups in Berlin which were more conservative, as Safi felt that Syrian culture as he understood it was not being adequately represented or experienced through them. This reveals a division that is more widely evident among Syrian refugee-led organisations in Berlin: some aim to reinforce conservative forms of Syrian culture, religion and law while others aim to use Syrian culture to promote Syrian integration and the social cohesion of Syrians and Germans.

Another significant refugee-led cultural initiative is Berlin’s first Arabic library: Baynetna, meaning ‘between us’.[4] Staffed by a team of committed volunteers, the library offers Arabic books to local readers, and promotes learning for Germans and ‘Westerners’ about Arabic culture and literature. Maher, a publisher and refugee from Syria, and Baynetna’s co-founder, first had the idea to create a library in 2016, prompted by the lack of Arabic books in Berlin. He started the project in rooms at a German refugee housing facility which was used for learning and community gathering, and slowly gathered donated books. The project also hosts regular literary events – often featuring both Syrian and German performers – and strives to use these as opportunities for intercultural exchange and learning. In this way, it is “not just a library but a literary salon”, according to Dana, another co-founder.

In February 2018, Berlin’s public library offered Baynetna shared space to house the library, which is now open to the public four days per week. However, books, shelves and furniture need to be packed and unpacked weekly because the main library still uses the space on the other days – a regular reminder that this home, too, may be temporary. Maher, like many refugees seeking to create meaning in their new lives, comes to the library every day because it reminds him of his former publishing work in Syria. For him, books are a powerful tool for facilitating the integration of Syrians into Germany.

The success of refugee-led organisations and initiatives in Berlin in addressing the different needs of refugees stems in part from their flexible and adaptable structure. Many organisations have over time adjusted their activities based on the skills of volunteers and the changing needs and interests of participants. While Berlin was once thought of as a place of temporary refuge, it has now become the beginning of a new life and identity for many. Yet the majority of Syrian refugee-led organisations in Berlin do not yet consider themselves sustainable, as they are run largely by volunteers and are dependent on donations and other ad hoc sources of funding. While this reveals a need for reliable funding that will allow them to continue their work in the long term, in many ways such constraints are inevitable. These refugee-led organisations are still new, and the story of Syrians in Berlin is still only at the beginning.

 

Jennifer Wood jenn.m.wood@gmail.com
Educational consultant and mindfulness trainer, Berlin

Evan Easton-Calabria
Researcher, Refugee Studies Centre
and DPhil Candidate, Oxford Department of International Development, University of Oxford
www.rsc.ox.ac.uk/people/evan-easton-calabria-1

Yahya Alaous yalous@gmail.com
Independent journalist and columnist, Sueddeutsche Zeitung


[2] This research was generously funded by a two-year grant from the Toyota Foundation.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview