سياسة الهجرة في المملكة المتحدة: قيود مفروضة على حق طالبي اللجوء في الدراسة

أدت التغيرات التي طرأت على تشريعات الهجرة في المملكة المتحدة إلى فرض قيود على حق كثير من طالبي اللجوء في الدراسة.

أدخل قانون الهجرة لعام 2016 نظاماً جديداً ’لكفالة الهجرة‘ إلى حيز النفاذ[1] في المملكة المتحدة؛ موسِّعَاً بذلك صلاحيات وزير خارجية الملكة المتحدة (’وزارة الخارجية‘) في فرض قيودٍ على طالبي اللجوء، بما في ذلك حقهم في الدراسة.

وبينما كان قانون عام 2016 في مرحلة الصياغة، دلَّت جميع المؤشرات على أنَّ تطبيق هذا القيد على الدراسة سيكون أمراً استثنائياً. ويتضح أيضاً من النقاشات البرلمانية الدائرة حول تمرير مشروع القانون أنَّ صلاحيات تقييد الدراسة لم يكن الهدف منها إلا استخدامها في الحالات النادرة لأغراض محددة.

ومع ذلك، عندما دخلت الأحكام المتعلقة بهذا القانون حيز النفاذ في يناير/كانون الثاني 2018، وجدت الجمعيات الخيرية ومختصو اللجوء أنَّ فرض القيود على الدراسة كان أمراً واسع الانتشار. ويكشف رد وزارة الداخلية على طلب يتعلق بحرية تقديم المعلومات أنه في الفترة ما بين 15 يناير/كانون الثاني و31 مايو/أيار 2018، مُنِع 12 ألفاً و642 شخصاً (24 بالمائة) من الدراسة من أصل 53 ألفاً و901 شخصاً قدمتْ لهم وزارة الداخلية نماذج الكفالة الخاصة بالهجرة (وثيقة تحدد شروط كفالة هجرة الشخص). وتُظهِر قصص بعض الأفراد الذين ساعدهم مكتبنا للمحاماة خلال الأشهر الثمانية الماضية مجموعة متنوعة من التجارب.

الأهداف والآمال

وصل كُلٌّ من شريف وهنري وفاروق[2] إلى المملكة المتحدة وكانوا قاصرين غير مصحوبين ببالغين ثم التحقوا بالمدرسة ثم بالجامعة. وبما أنَّهم وصلوا إلى سن التخرُّج في نظام الرعاية، أصبحوا مؤهلين للحصول على دعمٍ من الدولة يتضمن بدل معيشة وإقامة توفرها لهم السلطة المحلية شريطة أن يكونوا على مقاعد الدراسة وأن يواصلوا الدراسة حتى سن 21 عاماً. وقد حصلت جوزيه التي جاءت إلى المملكة المتحدة مع والدتها وشقيقها على منحة دراسية لطالبي اللجوء أتاحت لها فرصة دراسة العلوم الطبية الحيوية في الجامعة إذ كانت تأمل أن تبني على مؤهلاتها المتميزة في المرحلة الثانوية لكي تصبح عَالِمَة. أما مصطفى فقد أراد تحسين مهاراته في اللغة الإنجليزية ليتمكن من دراسة فن الرسم التوضيحي في الجامعة فور حصوله على صفة لاجئ وأن يضيف إلى خبراته التي اكتسبها من عدد من المعارض والمسابقات التي شارك فيها من قبل. وكان عليّ، وهو أحد ضحايا الاتجار، يتطلع إلى دراسة القانون والعلوم الشُّرَطيَّة في الجامعة من أجل إنشاء منظمة لمكافحة الاتجار ومساعدة من وقعوا ضحية الاتجار مثله. كما تشجعت ماري، وهي من ضحايا الاتجار أيضاً، على الالتحاق بمساقات دراسية في الجامعة حول الثقة بالنفس والتغذية الصحية واستيعاب القلق كجزء من علاجها وفي الوقت نفسه كانت على قائمة الانتظار للحصول على المشورة بشأن حالتها. أما كيت، وهي أم شابة، فقد رغبت في حضور دورة ESOL (اللغة الإنجليزية لغير الناطقين بها) تُقدِّم مرافق لرعاية الأطفال. وأرادت أن تتعلم اللغة الإنجليزية لتكون قادرة على رعاية ابنتها رعايةً أفضل وأن تتمكن من التنقل بسهولة أكبر بين المحلات والحافلات والأطباء والمحامين وتكوين صداقات مع غيرها من أولياء الأمور.

آثار فرض القيود على الدراسة

عندما طُرِح سؤال في البرلمان في أبريل/نيسان 2018 عن أهداف فرض قيود على الدراسة وعدد من طُبِّق عليهم هذه القيود، أجاب وزير الهجرة بأنه يمكن للأفراد مناقشة التعديلات الممكنة لشروط الكفالة الخاصة بهم مع مختص قضايا اللجوء في وزارة الداخلية التي يراجعونها على الدوام. إلا أنه بعد دخول النظام الجديد حيز التنفيذ، أُبلِغ كل فرد من الأفراد الذين تتحدث عنهم هذه المقالة بأنَّه ما عاد لهم حقٌّ في الدراسة في المملكة المتحدة، بينما لم يُسأل أي منهم عن خططه للدراسة أو ما إذا كان ملتحقاً بالفعل بالدراسة في ذلك الوقت. ولم يوضح أحد ماهية القيد المفروض على الدراسة أو أسباب التغيير. والمشكلة أنَّ مخالفة شروط كفالة الهجرة أمر خطير، فإذا استمر الطالب بالدراسة، قد يُتَّخَذ من ’مخالفتهم‘ تلك حجَّةً ضدهم في مطالبهم بشأن اللجوء. ولم يدرك كثير من الناس أنَّ هذا القيد قد طُبِّق عليهم حتى رصده باحث اجتماعي أو أحد المتخصصين بإدارة قضايا لجوئهم. ومن حاول طلب إجراء أي تغييرات على هذا الوضع فقد طُلِب إليه تقديم طلباته خطياً عن طريق محاميه. إلا أنَّ هذه الطلبات التي أرسلها الممثلون القانونيون لطالبي اللجوء قوبلت بالتجاهل. أما من واقع خبرتنا، فقد كانت الطريقة الوحيدة لرفع هذه القيود هي تهديد وزارة الداخلية باتخاذ إجراءات قضائية إذا لم تُرفَع هذه القيود. إلا أن ذلك لم يكن في كثيرٍ من الحالات كافياً، واضطررنا إلى متابعة الإجراءات القضائية.

لقد كان وضع شريف وهنري وفاروق حرجاً، فقد أصبحوا بين خيارين أحلاهما مر، فإما التوقف عن الدراسة ومن ثَمَّ فقدان الدعم المقدم لهم من السلطات المحلية (بما في ذلك الإقامة) أو الاستمرار في الدراسة، مع ما يتضمنه من احتمالية مخالفتهم لشروط الكفالة الخاصة بهم. أما ماري فقد كانت في غاية القلق من أن الدورات الدراسية التي التحقت بها كجزء من علاجها يمكن اعتبارها من ’الدراسة‘. واضطر مصطفى وكيت للانسحاب من دورات تعليم اللغة الإنجليزية لغير الناطقين بها، في حين سحبت الجامعة عرض الدراسة الذي حصل عليه كلٌ من جوزي وعليّ.

ووفقاً لسياسة وزارة الداخلية الخاصة بكفالة الهجرة، يجب أن تحقق القيود الهدف المشروع المتمثل في الحفاظ على إمكانية الاتصال بالأفراد أثناء معالجة طلبات لجوئهم والحد من مخاطر هربهم. إلاَّ أنَّه من الصعب تصور وضع يفرض قيداً على الدراسة ثم يقال عنه إنَّ له هدفاً مشروعاً. وفي الواقع، عند الطعن في الإجراءات الفضائية أو الرد على المراسلات قبل بد اتخاذ الإجراءات القانونية، أقرت وزارة الداخلية في كل حالة برفع القيد مع عدم تقديم أي أسباب لفرضه في المقام الأول.

تعديل على السياسة

في 8 مايو/أيار 2018، عقب سلسلة من الطعون القضائية الناجحة، واهتمام وسائل الإعلام وتدخل أعضاء البرلمان، عدَّلَت وزارة الداخلية سياستها وأجرت تعديلات كبيرة على القسم المتعلق بالقيود المفروضة على الدراسة. وتوفر السياسة الجديدة مزيداً من الإرشادات حول من يخضع لقيود الدراسة وتوضح أنه في معظم الحالات يجب السماح لطالبي اللجوء بالدراسة.

وقد قدمت وزارة الداخلية أيضاً عملية لتحديد الذين أُخضِعوا خطأً إلى القيد المانع للدراسة وإرسال نماذج جديدة لكفالة الهجرة ليس بها قيود على الدراسة لهؤلاء الأفراد. وبحلول نهاية ذلك الشهر، رفع مكتب وزارة الداخلية القيود المفروضة على الدراسة من أربعة آلاف و709 شخصاً، تاركاً على الأرجح سبعة آلاف و933 شخصاً ما زالوا خاضعين لقيود الدراسة وذلك في نهاية مايو/أيار 2018. وفي الوقت الحالي، يُشترَط موافقة أحد كبار ممثلي وزارة الداخلية لإعمال شرط الكفالة. كما وُجِهت رسالة إلى المنظمات غير الحكومية لتمكينها من تشجيع الأفراد الذين قد يكون لديهم مخاوف من الاتصال بمكتب وزارة الداخلية لطلب إجراء تغيير في شروط كفالتهم. ومع ذلك، ورغم هذه التدابير، ما زالت هناك إحالات تصلنا بشأن الأفراد الذين أُخضِعوا خطأً دون مُسوِّغ للقيود المفروضة على الدراسة.

وتوضح المعركة المتعلقة بقيود الدراسة كيف يمكن إساءة استخدام الصلاحيات القانونية الممنوحة لغرض خاص ومحدود على يد حكومة تُصَعِّب سياساتها كثيراً من حياة الأشخاص الذين لا يتمتعون بصفة قانونية في المملكة المتحدة. وهنا يتَّضح الدور الحيوي للجمعيات الخيرية ورجال السياسة ووسائل الإعلام والعاملين في مجال الدعم في رصد كيفية تطبيق هذه الصلاحيات التنفيذية من أجل منع القيود غير المُسوَّغ لها وغير العقلانية على حقوق الأفراد وحرياتهم.

هيلين بارون HelenS@Duncanlewis.com باحثة للحالات، مكتب دانكان لويس للمحاماة www.duncanlewis.co.uk

 

[1] كفالة الهجرة هي صفة مؤقتة تُمنَح للأفراد من غير الحاصلين على إذن بالبقاء (مثل طالبي اللجوء). ويسمح لهم هذا الإذن الخاضع لبعض الشروط البقاء في المملكة المتحدة والإقامة في المجتمع المحلي (غالباً ما يُقيَّدون في عنوان معيَّن) في أثناء السير بإجراءات طلباتهم أو طعوناتهم. وجميع طالبي اللجوء في المملكة المتحدة ممن لم يُحتّجزوا موجودون حالياً تحت مظلة كفالة الهجرة.

[2] جميع الأسماء الواردة في هذه المقالة مستعارة حفاظاً على خصوصيتهم.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

UK immigration policy: restrictions on asylum seekers’ right to study

Changes to immigration legislation in the UK have led to restrictions on many asylum seekers’ right to study.

The Immigration Act 2016 brought a new regime of ‘immigration bail’[1] into force in the UK, expanding the powers of the UK Secretary of State for the Home Department (‘the Home Office’) to impose restrictions on asylum seekers, including on their right to study.

While the 2016 Act was being drafted, all indications were that the application of this restriction on study would be exceptional. It is also clear from parliamentary discussions around the passing of the Bill that the power to restrict study was intended to be used only rarely and for specific purposes.

However, when the relevant provisions came into force in January 2018, charities and asylum caseworkers saw that the imposition of study restrictions was widespread. The Home Office’s response to a freedom of information request reveals that between 15th January and 31st May 2018, of the 53,901 individuals given immigration bail forms (a document defining the conditions of a person’s immigration bail) by the Home Office, 12,642 individuals (24%) were prohibited from studying. The stories of some of the individuals whom our law firm has assisted over the past eight months show a range of experiences.

Aims and hopes

Sharif, Henry and Farooq[2] arrived in the UK as unaccompanied minors and were enrolled in school and then college. As young people leaving the care system, they were eligible for State support, including a stipend and accommodation provided by the local authority, on condition that they were engaged in study and would remain studying until the age of 21. Josie, who came to the UK with her mother and brother, won a scholarship for asylum seekers which allowed her to accept a place to study biomedical sciences at university, where she hoped to build on her impressive secondary qualifications and become a scientist. Mustafa wanted to improve his English so that once he got refugee status he could study illustration at university and build on the many exhibitions and competitions in which he had already participated. Ali, a victim of trafficking, aspired to study law and policing at university, in order to one day start an anti-trafficking organisation and help others in his situation. Mary, also a victim of trafficking, was encouraged to enrol in assertiveness, healthy eating and understanding anxiety classes at a college as part of her recovery while she was on the waiting list for counselling. Kit, a young mother, wished to attend an ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) course, which offered childcare facilities. She wanted to learn English to be able to care for her daughter better, to more easily navigate supermarkets, buses, doctors and lawyers, and to make friends with other parents.

Effects of restrictions on study

When a query was raised in Parliament in April 2018 about the objectives of the study restrictions and numbers to whom it had been applied, the Immigration Minister replied that individuals could discuss possible amendments to their bail conditions with staff at the Home Office centre where they report on a regular basis. However, after the new regime came into force, each of the individuals whose stories are recounted here was informed that they no longer had the right to study in the UK; none was asked about their plans to study or whether they were enrolled in studies at the time. No one explained the restriction, or provided any reasons for the change. Breaching immigration bail conditions is a serious matter – had they continued to study, their ‘non-compliance’ could have been held against them in their asylum claims. Many did not even realise that the restriction had been applied to them until it was spotted by a social worker or their asylum caseworker. Those who tried to request any changes to this condition were told to submit their requests in writing via their solicitors. However, those requests sent by asylum seekers’ legal representatives were ignored. In our experience, the only way to get the restrictions removed was to threaten the Home Office with court proceedings if they did not do so. In many cases, this was not enough, and we were forced to pursue court proceedings.

Sharif, Henry and Farooq were placed in a terrible position, caught between ceasing their studies – and so losing their local authority support (including accommodation) – or continuing to study, potentially breaching their bail conditions. Mary was deeply concerned that the courses she had been enrolled on as part of her recovery would be considered ‘study’. Mustafa and Kit had to withdraw from their ESOL courses, while Josie and Ali had their offers to study withdrawn by the university.

According to the Home Office’s own policy on immigration bail, restrictions must achieve the legitimate purpose of maintaining contact with individuals while their asylum claims are being processed and reducing the risk of individuals absconding. It is hard to envisage a situation in which a restriction on a person studying could logically be said to further this legitimate aim. Indeed, when challenged in judicial proceedings or correspondence prior to commencing proceedings, the Home Office has conceded in every case, removing the restriction and failing to provide any reasons for its imposition.

Alteration of policy

On 8th May 2018, following a series of successful judicial challenges, media attention and intervention by Members of Parliament, the Home Office altered its policy, substantially amending the section on study restrictions. The new policy provides more guidance about who should be subject to study restrictions and clarifies that in most situations asylum seekers should and will be allowed to study.

The Home Office has also instigated a process to identify those to whom the study condition had been applied erroneously and send new immigration bail forms without study restrictions to these individuals. By the end of that month the Home Office had removed study restrictions from 4,709 individuals, presumably leaving 7,933 individuals still restricted at the end of May 2018. A senior representative of the Home Office must now first approve the application of a bail condition. A letter has also been sent to non-governmental organisations to enable them to encourage individuals who may have concerns to contact the Home Office to seek a change to their bail conditions. However, despite these measures, individuals who have had study restrictions incorrectly and unreasonably applied to them continue to be referred to us.

The battle over study restrictions shows how statutory powers, granted for a specific and restricted purpose, can be misused by a government whose policies make life very difficult for those without legal status in the UK. Charities, politicians, the media and support workers have a vital role to play in monitoring how such executive powers are applied, in order to prevent unjustified and irrational limitations on individuals’ rights and freedoms.

 

Helen Baron HelenS@Duncanlewis.com
Caseworker, Duncan Lewis Solicitors www.duncanlewis.co.uk

 

[1] Immigration bail is the temporary status granted to individuals without leave to remain (such as asylum seekers). This permits them – subject to certain conditions – to remain in the UK and reside in the community (often restricted to a particular address) while their claims are processed or their appeals are heard. All asylum seekers in the UK who are not detained are on immigration bail.

[2] All clients’ names have been changed to preserve their anonymity.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview