تصدير: التَّعليم- حتمية إنسانية وتنموية

منذ أمد بعيد، والمانحون والمجتمع الدولي يغفلون التعليم في الاستجابة الإنسانية. ولا تُستثنَى من هذا سويسرا. فقد اِعتِيدَ أن تكون الصدارة عند الطوارئ للغذاء والماء والصحة والمأوى، أمَّا التعليم فعُدَّ هدفاً بعيد الأمد تعالجه الحكومات الوطنية وهيئات التنمية في أيِّ أزمة فورَ انقضائها.

لكننا كنَّا في ذلك مخطئين. فما كان ما فعلناه إلا تجاهلاً لاتِّجاه فكر الأسر إلى أنَّ تعليم أطفالهم -الذي هو في الغالب انقطع أو غير موجود أصلاً- حاجة أوَّليَّة بعد أن هُجِّروا. ولم ندرِ دراية كافية أنَّ التعليم داعمٌ لحياة الفرد ووقائيٌ له في النِّزاعات والأزمات. وقد بخسنا حقَّ أثر التعليم في التعايش السلمي وأسأنا تقدير العواقب الاجتماعية والاقتصادية لغياب التعليم في أثناء التَّهجير بالبلدان المضيفة والأصلية.

ولكن من حسن الحظ أنَّ الحال اليومَ قد تحسَّنت كثيراً، إذ تتزايد منذ مؤتمر القمة العالمي للعمل الإنساني عامَ 2016 الدراية بالواجب الإنساني الذي يُحتِّم تحقيق الوصول إلى التعليم في الأزمات. على أنَّ 52 بالمئة من 69 مليونَ مهجَّرٍ في العالم هم ممَّن لم يبلغوا سنَّ الثامنة عشرة. وتطول مدة أزمات التَّهجير شيئاً فشيئاً وهي في الغالب تؤثر في جزء لا يُستهَان به من الوقت الذي يقضيه الطفل في نموُّه وتنمية قدراته واستعداده حتَّى يصير بالغاً. ولا يُرفَع حقُّ التعليم الجيد بسبب الأزمات والتَّهجير. فالحكومات الوطنية والمنظمات الدولية والمنظمات غير الحكومية والمشاركون في النِّزاع ونحن في الهيئات المانحة يتحتَّم علينا جميعاً واجب حماية حقِّ التعليم من غير نظرٍ إلى الأحوال. ويجب أن يتسنَّى للأطفال الذهاب إلى المدرسة والتَّعلم في بيئة أمينة. ويجب أن يتاح لهم تنمية قدراتهم حقَّ التنمية، سواءٌ كانوا يعيشون في مخيمٍ للاجئين أو في مستوطنة مؤقتة أو في مدينة أو ما زالوا ينتقلون من مكان إلى آخر. فالتعليم -وهو حقٌّ منصوص عليه في اتفاقية حقوق الطفل- مسؤولية مشتركة. 

وعند سويسرا أنَّ التعليم هو أسُّ الآساس في صرح تنمية الفرد والتنمية الاجتماعية والتنمية الاقتصادية وركنٌ من أركان القيم الإنسانية كالتسامح والاحترام والكرامة والمساواة. وعلى ذلك فالتعليم الأساسي وتطوير الكفاءات المهنية هما مجالان ذوا أوْلَويَّة في تعاوننا الدولي. ولذلك ضاعفنا دعمنا المالي ضعفين لهذين المجالين في المدة الواقعة بين عام 2017 و2020. ونشرت الوكالة السويسرية للتنمية والتعاون في عام 2017 أوَّل إستراتيجية تعليم فيها لإرشاد سويسرا في التزامها الثنائي والمتعدد الأطراف في هذا القطاع. وإنَّ زيادة دعم التعليم في الأحوال المتأزِّمة الهشَّة لَهي أوْلَويَّة إستراتيجية في سويسرا ففي هذه الأحوال أكثر أوجه انعدام المساواة والاستضعاف، والتعليم فيها يساعد على بناء مجتمعات أشمل وأعدل وأكثر سلاماً. وصَوْنُ حقِّ التعليم عند الطوارئ والأزمات التي يطول أمدها والتَّهجير هو جزء من مسؤولية سويسرا الإنسانية وجانب ضروريٌّ جداً من جوانب حماية الأطفال وتأميلِهم خيراً في المستقبل.

إنَّ هذا العدد من نشرة الهجرة القسرية لعددٌ ضروريٌ أصابَ الوقت مَجِيئهُ. ويَحسُن استذكار الذي هو في خطرٍ حين يُمنَع الأولاد والبنات المهجَّرون من الذهاب إلى المدرسة، وذلك في وقتٍ التَّهجير فيه لم يسبق له مثيل وتزداد فيه الأعمال العدائية والنزاعات طويلة الأمد. ثم إنَّ التعليم أعظم سُبُلِ النجاة من دوَّامتي الفقر والضعف، ولا وجود للتنمية المستدامة من غيره. وفي جيل الشباب من المهجَّرين قدرات هائلة للمساهمة في المجتمع. ومع ذلك فلا بدَّ من التزام دولي أكبر لدعم البلدان التي تزداد فيها التحركات السكَّانية. فخمسة وثمانون بالمئة من اللاجئين القاطنين في البلدان النَّامية المجهدة مِن قبلُ بسبب نظم تعليمية وضعتها وتبذل فيها مواردَ فوق ما لديها منها. وعلينا أنْ نمدَّ يد العون لهذه البلدان بغية أن يصل الأطفال المهجَّرون فيها إلى المدارس المحلية. ولا بد لنا من أنْ ندعم وزارات التربية الوطنية والمعلمين والآباء حتَّى يتعلَّم الأطفال المهجَّرون وأطفال المجتمعات المضيفة جميعاً ويَنمُون في بيئة أمينة ملائمة لهم. وعلينا أيضاً أنْ نجد حلولاً خلاَّقة للأطفال والشباب الذين تخلَّفوا عن التعلُّم فنُمكِّنهم من إدراك ما فاتهم. ويحتاج كل ذلك إلى عملٍ تشترك فيه الجمعيات الإنسانية والتنموية والمنظمات غير الحكومية والوكالات الثنائية والمتعددة الأطراف والقطاع الخاص. وتدعو سويسرا البلدان والأطراف الأخرى إلى أن تحذوا حذوها في تقديم التعليم على غيره حين وضع السياسات العامة وتمويله وتحويل الأقوال إلى أفعال حيث ينبغي الفعلُ.  فتوفير التعليم للأطفال والشباب المهجَّرين إنما هو استجابة فورية للطوارئ وطريقة مجدية لإيجاد حلول دائمة في أحوال التَّهجير التي يطول أمدها.  

مانويل بيسلير سفير، ورئيس هيئة المساعدات السويسرية، ونائب مدير الوكالة السويسرية للتنمية والتعاون  

 لمعلومات حول المساعدات الإنسانية التي تقدمها الوكالة:

www.eda.admin.ch/deza/en/home/activities-projects/activities/humanitarian-aid.html

للتواصل مع شبكة التعليم في الوكالة السويسرية للتنمية والتعاون:education@eda.admin.ch

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Foreword: Education – a humanitarian and development imperative

For far too long, donors and the international community have neglected education in humanitarian response. Switzerland was no exception. Food, water, health and shelter were the usual priorities during emergencies, while education was considered more of a long-term objective to be tackled by national governments and development agencies once a crisis was over.

However, we were wrong. We simply ignored the families’ tendencies to see their children’s education – often interrupted or absent – as a priority need in displacement. We were not sufficiently aware of education’s life-sustaining and protective role during conflict and crisis. We underestimated the impact education can have on peaceful coexistence and misjudged the social and economic consequences of the lack of education during displacement for both host and home countries.

Luckily, we have come a long way. Since the 2016 World Humanitarian Summit, there has been growing awareness of the humanitarian imperative to ensure access to education during crises. Fifty-two per cent of the 69 million people displaced globally are under the age of 18. Displacement crises are increasingly protracted and often affect a significant proportion of the time a child takes to grow, develop and prepare for adult life. The right to quality education does not stop because of conflict and displacement. National governments, international organisations, non-governmental organisations (NGOs), parties to the conflict and we as donor agencies have an obligation to protect the right to education, regardless of the circumstances. Children must be able to go to school and learn in a safe environment. They must be given the chance to develop their potential to the full, whether they live in a refugee camp, a makeshift settlement or a town, or are still on the move. Education – a right enshrined in the Convention on the Rights of the Child – is a collective responsibility.  

Switzerland regards education as the essential foundation for individual, social and economic development and as a pillar for values such as equality, respect, tolerance and dignity. Accordingly, basic education and vocational skills development are priority areas of our international cooperation. Hence for the 2017–20 period, we have doubled our financial support in these areas. In 2017, the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) published its first education strategy to guide Switzerland’s bilateral and multilateral engagement in this sector. Increasing education support in fragile and crisis-affected contexts is a strategic priority for Switzerland as this is where inequalities and vulnerabilities are greatest and where education can help bring about more inclusive, just and peaceful societies. Protecting the right to education during emergencies, protracted crises and displacement is part of Switzerland’s humanitarian mandate and an indispensable aspect of protecting children and giving them hope for the future.

This edition of Forced Migration Review is timely and necessary. In a time of unprecedented displacement, rising hostilities and an increase in protracted conflicts, it is important to recall what is at stake if displaced girls and boys are prevented from going to school. Education is the most powerful means of breaking cycles of vulnerability and poverty, and without education there can be no sustainable development. The young displaced generation has enormous potential for contributing to society. However, greater international commitment is needed to support countries dealing with rising population movements. Eighty-five per cent of refugees live in developing countries that already struggle with over-stretched education systems. We need to provide assistance to countries to ensure that displaced children can access local schools. We need to provide support to national education ministries, teachers and parents so that both displaced and host-community children can learn and grow up in safe, child-friendly environments. We need to find creative solutions to enable children and youth who have missed out on learning to catch up. All this requires the joint action of the humanitarian and development communities, NGOs, multi- and bilateral agencies and the private sector. Switzerland calls on others to follow suit by prioritising education in policy making, funding and action on the ground. The provision of education for displaced children and youth is both an immediate emergency response and an effective way to work towards durable solutions during protracted displacement.  

 

Manuel Bessler
Ambassador, Head of Swiss Humanitarian Aid, Deputy Director General SDC, Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC)

Information on SDC Humanitarian Aid: https://www.eda.admin.ch/deza/en/home/activities-projects/activities/humanitarian-aid.html

Contact for the SDC Education Network: education@eda.admin.ch

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview