الأردن: سياسة التَّعليم في مرحلة انتقالية

مع تحوُّل قطاع التعليم في الأردن من استجابة إنسانية إلى استجابة تنموية، من شأن غياب التخطيط لعملية الانتقال المناسب أن يُعرِّض للخطر بعض مجموعات المتعلِّمين.

حين ينظر الناظر في خير طُرِقِ الانتقال من مرحلة الاستجابة الإنسانية إلى مرحلة الاستجابة الإنمائية فالغالب أنَّه يرى أوَّل الأمر أنها طريق لا آخِرَ لها. فمع أنَّ قطاع التَّعليم قد أصدر مبادئ توجيهية توجز أسلوب وضع الخطط الانتقاليَّة وإعدادها في "الأحوال المتأزِّمة والصعبة"،[1] ففي كثير من الحالات يبقى أمر تعاون أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين في القطاع بعضهم مع بعض (ومنهم مَن في الحكومة والمانحون والمتخصصون المحليُّون والدوليون) وقدرتهم جميعاً على تشخيص الضرورات والطُّرق المُثلَى والموافقة عليها لشقِّها إلى ما هو أحسن، يبقى كل ذلك تحدياً ينتج عنه إغفال بعض العناصر الأساسية لهذه المدَّة الانتقالية.

ففي الأردن كانت المقاربة الرئيسية التي اتَّبعَها قطاع التَّعليم في أوَّل الأمر مبنياً على خطة حسنة التدبير إطار عملها إنساني أمَّا اليوم فقد تغيَّر هذا الأساس وصارت المقاربة مبنية على خطة مُنصَبَّةٍ على الإنماء. ووضعت وزارة التربية والتعليم الخطة الأوليَّة (أي الفصل الذي يتحدَّث عن التربية والتعليم في خطة الاستجابة الأردنية للأزمة السورية)[2] بالتعاون مع شركاءَ وطنيين ودوليين يعملون لخير الإنسان. أمَّا الخطة الجديدة (أي الخطة الإستراتيجية لوزارة التربية والتعليم 2018-2022)[3] فقد أعدَّتها الوزارة ولم تشاور في أمرها الجهات الفاعلة الأخرى إلا قليلاً. وإذ قد كان الانتقال من الخطة الأولى إلى الخطة الثانية فُجائيَّاً مقارنة بغيره، فلم يولَ ما يحدث في الفترة بين الخُطَّتين -التي نعيش بها اليومَ- اهتماماً كافياً. وكذا أحوال الضرورات التي أُبرزَت في الخطة الأولى فهِيَ هِيَ، ولكنْ لم يجئ في الخطة الجديدة سُبُل استمرار معالجتها.

أضف إلى ذلك اختلاف وثيقتَي الخطَّتين في تعريف بعض الاصطلاحات الأساسية. مثال ذلك أنْ جاء في تعريف المجموعة المستهدفة في الفصل الذي يتحدَّث عن التعليم في خطة الاستجابة الأردنية للأزمة السورية أنَّ المقصود بهذه المجموعة هم ’الأطفال والمراهقون والشباب‘ في الغالب. فلمَّا بدأت المساعدات الإنسانية كان السبب في ذلك استعداد الأطفال كلّهم لدخول نظام التعليم الحكومي سواءٌ في المدارس الحكومية ومعاهد التدريب المهني وجامعات التعليم العالي ومعاهده وكليَّاته؛ وهكذا تصير وزارة التربية والتعليم قائمة على أمور الأطفال جميعاً. ولكن مع طول مدَّة الأزمة وتغيُّر أولويَّات التَّعليم وسياساتهما في البلاد، وَضَحَ من الخطابات أنَّ نطاق المجموعة المستهدفة قد ضاق فمن الأطفال عموماً إلى تلاميذ المدارس خصوصاً؛ أي ليس فيها إلا الأطفال المقيَّدة أسماؤهم من قبلُ في نظام وزارة التربية والتعليم. ويتضمَّن هذا النظام التعليم النظامي والتعليم غير النظامي والتعليم العالي ومساراً من مسارات التعليم المهني، أمَّا التعليم غير النظامي ومسارات التعليم المهني الأخرى فتقع خارج هذا النظام.

الفئات المستضعفة

ولذلك فهؤلاء الأطفال الذين هم خارجَ النظام ألا إنَّهم أكثر الأطفال عرضة للأذى. بحيث تقع هذه التدخلات في فئتين، تضم الأولى الأطفال الذين هم خارجَ النظام لأسباب مثل فقر أسرهم (وهذا قد يأتي بعمالة الأطفال والزواج المبكِّر). والغالب في هذه الفئة المراهقونَ وتشتمل على الأردنيين المستضعفين، وكان أمر ضرورات هذه الفئة من الأمور التي أولاها قطاع التَّعليم اهتماماً خاصاً إلا أنَّه اليومَ لا يوليها مثل ذلك الاهتمام. وفي الوقت نفسه لم يتَّضح شأن تضمين الخطة الإستراتيجية لوزارة التربية والتعليم (أو أي قطاع آخر أو وزارة تنفيذية أخرى) مسؤولية هذه الفئة. فهؤلاء المراهقون هم في خطر خروج أمرهم أجمعين من البرنامج الوطني اللَّهم إلا أن تتحمَّل وزارة أخرى مسؤوليتهم من فورها. ولعلَّها تكون وزارة التنمية الاجتماعية ولو لم يكن أمر قدرتها على معالجة هذه الضرورات الإضافية معلوماً. وهذا يترك هؤلاء الأطفال بين خطر الابتعاد عن خيارات التعليم كلّها والحماية الضعيفة.

وأمَّا الفئة الثانية، فتضم الأطفال الملتحقين برامج التعليم غير النظامي المُصدَّقة. فلهؤلاء اليومَ خياران معتمدان في البلاد: خيار لمَن بلغ سنَّ التاسعة إلى مَن بلغ سنَّ الثانية عشرة وخيار للأولاد لمَن بلغ منهم سنَّ الثالثة عشرة إلى مَن بلغ سنَّ الثامنة عشرة وللبنات لمَن بلغت منهنَّ سنَّ الثالثة عشرة إلى من بلغت سنَّ العشرين. وقد أُخِذَ بهذين الخيارين غير النظاميين علماً في خطة الاستجابة الأردنية للأزمة السورية ولكنْ لمَّا لم يكن لوزارة التربية والتعليم القدرة على إجراء البرنامجين أحدهما أو كلاهما، أُسنِدَ ذلك إلى شركاء القطاع خارجه. ومع أنَّ ضرورات هذه الفئة قد ذُكِرَت في خطة الاستجابة الجديدة فإن عجز الخطة الإستراتيجية لوزارة التربية والتعليم في هذا الشأن يعني أنَّ هذه الضرورات ليست في ضمن أولويَّاتها. ثم إنَّ التلاميذ في هذين البرنامجين ممنوعون من حضور الصفوف الدراسية التي هي أعلى من صفوفهم والتي لا بدَّ منها لإكمال التعليم العالي ونيل شهاداته المُصدَّقة. فكفاءة هذين البرنامجين وموافقتهما لضرورات الأطفال في حالنا اليومَ إنما هي محل نقاش، وكذا قدرتهما على إضاءة مسلك يوصل إلى التعليم النظامي. وإذ لم يكن في الخطة الإستراتيجية لوزارة التربية والتعليم تصويب الانتباه إلى إعادة النظر في أطر عمل سياسة تدريب اللاجئين المهني، فلا مسالك أمام المراهقين غير المقيَّدين في المدارس إلا القليل. ولو كانت الفترة بين الخطَّتين محددة وأحسن تدبيراً لسمح ذلك بالوصول في وزارة التربية والتعليم إلى قدرة تكفيها معالجة الضرورات التعليمية لهذه الفئة.

الآخذُ الرئيسيُّ للخدمات التي تأتي بها خطة الاستجابة الأردنية للأزمة السورية هم الأطفال أنفسهم، أمَّا ما يأتي من الخطة الإستراتيجية لوزارة التربية والتعليم فلِوزارة التربية والتعليم نفسها، سواءٌ الخدمات التِقْنيَّة والماليَّة. وشارك مانحو قطاع التَّعليم الرئيسيُّون بعضهم بعضاً باتفاقية تمويل مشترك لجمع جملة من المال يدعمون بها ميزانية وزارة التربية والتعليم دعماً مباشراً حتَّى تُنفِّذ خطَّتها الإستراتيجية. فقد جاء في خطة الاستجابة الأردنية للأزمة السورية أنَّ الوزارة لم تتسلَّم إلا حصَّة من الأموال الواردة إلى البلاد استجابةً لأزمة اللاجئين، هذا من جهة، ومن جهة أخرى تُستثمَر أموال اتفاقية التمويل المشترك مباشرةً في شؤون الحكومة والخدمات. وهذا لِوزارة التربية والتعليم تمويلٌ يسهل التعامل معه ويمكن معرفة خطواته مقدَّماً وهو -لا ريبَ- يُناسِب الوزارة إلا أنَّه قد لا يناسب ضرورات الأطفال. وأتت مقاربة اتفاقية التمويل المشترك -التي أملت برامج فعالية المعونة عليه أكثر ما فيه- مناسبة تماماً لبعض أجزاء الاستجابة طويلة الأمد في الأردن، مثال ذلك: التخطيط للتعليم القطاعي الشامل وتدريب المعلمين وإدارة البيانات. ولكن باتِّباع تلك المقاربة، يبتعد التمويل والتركيز عن الضرورات الواقعة خارج النظام المدرسي الرسمي. ثم إنَّ تراكب الخطة الإستراتيجية لوزارة التربية والتعليم وخطة الاستجابة الأردنية للأزمة السورية يُظهِر الحاجة إلى مقاربة أفضل تنظيماً يضمن أن يشمل التمويل جميع الضرورات ويعالجها في مدد زمنية تجري في وقت واحد.

لمَ أُطُرُ العملِ الانتقاليةُ مُهمَّة؟

تدوم أزمات التَّهجير زمناً طويلاً -كما هي الحال في الأردن وهو بلد متوسط الدَّخل من الشريحة الدنيا حكومته قوية مقتدرة- والاستجابة لهذه الأزمات هي في طريقٍ وعرٍ سياسياً ويرد إليها تمويل دولي أكبر. وإذ يزداد الاعتراف الدولي بأهمية الانتقال من مرحلة الاستجابة الإنسانية إلى مرحلة الاستجابة الإنمائية، فتبقى المبادئ التوجيهية وأطر العمل الدولية في هذا الشأن يجول حولها التأويل والنظر في أمرها على حسب قرائن الأحوال، ذلك ويعتمد اتِّباعها على استمرار تمويل مجموعة من الجهات الفاعلة التي هي خير من تعالج الضرورات المختلفة. وفي حال الأردن اليومَ تجاهد الهيئات التي تمس حياة المواطن اليومية في الدفاع عن معالجة ضرورات التعليم إلى أن يتحقق إصلاح شامل.

وبعدُ، فتحقيق التغيير الشامل أمر بطيء أمده طويل. والمستضعفون من الأطفال هم في حاجة اليومَ إلى المساعدة وإلا فلن يفادوا مطلقاً من الدخول في نظام التعليم. فلا داعي لأن تكون الاستجابة الإنسانية والاستجابة الإنمائية استجابتين اثنتين؛ فبالتخطيط الجماعي المنظم يمكن توقع نتائجَ يُتَّفق على أنَّها ستعالج الضرورات الإنسانية، وفي الوقت نفسه، ستقلل من خطر استضعاف الناس والأنظمة. وينبغي لتلك القطاعات التي تحقق الانتقال الإنساني الإنمائي النظر فيما يلي تأملاً واعتباراً:

  • ففي هذا هيكل يؤدي وظيفته بلا غموض مع مرور الوقت فيعالج بشمولٍ المسائل المعقَّدة المحويَّة في حال طال أمدها. وينبغي لأي إطار عمل أن يتضمَّن أهدافاً وطنية منها متوسطة الأجل ومنها طويلة الأجل يمكن تمويلها بالوسائل نفسها.
  • ينبغي لأطر العمل أن توضع بالتشاور مع طائفة واسعة من أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين ولا يُقتصَر التشاور على الوزارات والمانحين، فعلى سبيل المثال: مشاورة مَن وردت عليه المساعدات والعاملون في التَّعليم، ومنهم مَن يعمل في المنظمات غير الحكومية الوطني منها والدولي.
  • ينبغي لاتفاقيات أدوار الجهات الفاعلة ومسؤولياتها أن تكون واضحاً بيِّنة، وأن تتضمن خططاً وأُطُراً زمنية لنقل الاستجابات إلى قطاعات أخرى أو وزارات أخرى، وهذا في الضرورات التي ليس لخطة القطاع الإنمائية أن تعالجها.
  • ينبغي للخطط الإنسانية أن تُخصِّص ما يكفي الوزارات التنفيذية من الوقت والموارد لتعزز قدرتها على معالجة كل الضروريات المحددة في الخطة الإنمائية.
  • ينبغي أن تُنمَّى قدرات شركاء الحكومة تنمية تكفيهم في الأزمات الطويلة الأمد، وذلك في المقاربة الانتقالية ومقاربة التعافي، والمقاربات الإنمائية أيضاً.
  • ينبغي لكل الاستجابات، سواءٌ الإنسانية والانتقالية والإنمائية، أن تُربَط بمقاربة مشتركة، أن لا ضرر ولا ضرار.

 

جولي تشينيري julie.danielle.chinnery@nrc.no

متخصصة في مجال التعليم، المجلس النرويجي للاجئين، مكتب الأردن.

www.nrc.no

الآراء الواردة في هذا المقال آراء الكاتبة ولا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المجلس النرويجي للاجئين.

 

 

[1] منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلوم والثقافة (2016) أدلة إعداد الخطة الانتقالية للتعليم

https://unesdoc.unesco.org/ark:/48223/pf0000244900_ara/PDF/244900ara.pdf.multi

[2] Ministry of Planning and International Cooperation Jordan Response Plan for the Syria Crisis 2018–2020 www.jrpsc.org           

[3] وزارة التربية والتعليم الأردنية (2018) الخطة الإستراتيجية لوزارة التربية والتعليم (2018-2022)

http://www.moe.gov.jo/sites/default/files/esp_final_2018_10-10-2018_0.pdf

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Jordan: education policy in transition

As the education sector in Jordan moves from a humanitarian to a development response, a lack of planning for an appropriate transition risks excluding some groups of learners.

In most cases the best way to transition from a humanitarian to a development response is not immediately clear. Although the education sector has produced guidelines that outline the process for drafting transitional plans in “crisis-affected and challenging situations”,[1] in many contexts the capacity and coordination of sector stakeholders (including the government, donors and international and local practitioners) to collectively identify and agree on the needs and the best ways forward remain a challenge, resulting in some key elements of this transition period being overlooked.

In relation to this transition in Jordan, the key approach of the education sector was initially based on a strategic plan with a humanitarian framework but is now based on a clearly development-focused plan. The initial plan (the chapter on education in the Jordan Response Plan, JRP[2]) was drafted by the Ministry of Education in collaboration with national and international humanitarian partners. The new plan (the Ministry of Education’s national Education Strategic Plan 2018–2022, ESP[3]) was drafted by the Ministry with limited consultation with other actors. The transition from the first to the second plan has been relatively abrupt, and insufficient attention has been paid to what occurs during the period in between the two plans – where we are now. As such, needs that were highlighted in the first plan persist but the newer plan does not address how to continue to meet these.

In addition, there are differences in how the two documents define certain key terms. For example, the target group of the JRP education chapter is identified largely as ‘children, adolescents and youth’. When humanitarian operations started, the rationale was that all children had the potential to be in the formal education system, whether in formal school, vocational training or higher education, and thus in effect all children came under the remit of the Ministry of Education. However, as the crisis has become protracted, and national-level education priorities and policies have changed, the rhetoric in the response has narrowed from children to schoolchildren, thus clearly including only those who are already inside the Ministry of Education system, which comprises formal, non-formal, higher and one stream of vocational education; informal and other forms of vocational education fall outside this system.

Vulnerable groups

As a result, it is those children who are outside the system that are the most vulnerable. They fall into two categories. Firstly, some children remain outside the system because of reasons such as family poverty (which may result in child labour or early marriage). This group largely comprises adolescents and includes vulnerable Jordanians. The needs of this group used to be a core concern of the education sector but they no longer receive a similar level of attention; meanwhile, responsibility for this group has not been clearly transferred to the ESP (or to any other sector or line ministry). These adolescents are at risk of falling off the national agenda altogether unless another government ministry directly assumes responsibility for them. This could potentially be the Ministry of Social Development, although its capacity to cover these additional needs is not clear. This leaves these children at risk of having no educational options and limited protection.

The second category at risk is those who are pursuing certified non-formal education programmes. These children currently have two nationally accredited options: one for 9–12-year-olds and one for boys aged 13–18 and girls aged 13–20. These non-formal options were noted in the JRP but, without Ministry of Education capacity to run either programme, their implementation was outsourced to sector partners. Although the needs of this group appear in the new response plan, the lack of ESP capacity means that they are not prioritised. Furthermore, pupils following these programmes are excluded from following the upper years of study that are required to complete certified higher education. As a result, the efficiency of these programmes and their relevance to children’s needs in the current context are in question, as is their effectiveness as a pathway into formal higher education. And in the absence of a focus in the ESP on revising the policy frameworks around vocational training for refugees, there are few if any relevant pathways for out-of-school adolescents. Had there been a designated, better-designed period between the two plans, this could have allowed for sufficient capacity to be built within the Ministry of Education in order to address the educational needs of this group.

Additionally, whereas the main recipient of the service provision in the JRP is the children themselves, the main recipient in the ESP is now the Ministry of Education itself – technically and financially. Through a Joint Financing Agreement (JFA), the major education sector donors have pooled their funds to provide direct budgetary support to the Ministry of Education to implement the ESP. Under the JRP, the Ministry received only a percentage of the refugee response-related funds coming into the country; the JFA, on the other hand, invests directly in government and services. This provides the Ministry of Education with more flexible and predictable funding – clearly more favourable to the Ministry but not necessarily to children’s needs. The JFA approach – largely dictated by aid effectiveness agendas – makes perfect sense for certain parts of the protracted response in Jordan, such as sector-wide education planning, teacher training and data management. However, by taking this approach, both the funds and the focus are being drawn away from needs that persist outside the formal school system. A more structured approach is needed for the overlap of the ESP and the JRP to ensure that all needs are being funded and addressed along concurrent timelines.

Why do transitional frameworks matter?

Displacement crises are lasting longer and responses to them – as in the case of Jordan, a lower-middle income country with a strong government mandate and capacity – are becoming more politically intricate and are receiving higher levels of international funding. There is increasing recognition at an international level of the significance of transition from a humanitarian to development response,  yet international guidelines and frameworks for this remain subject to interpretation and contextualisation, and the ability to follow them depends on the continued availability of funding to the range of actors who are best placed to address different needs. In the current context in Jordan, frontline agencies are struggling to advocate for all education needs while systemic reform takes place.

Creating systemic change is a slow, long-term process. Vulnerable children need support now or risk not benefiting from participation in the education system at all. Humanitarian and development responses need not be binary: with structured planning, collective, expected outcomes can be agreed that will meet humanitarian need while at the same time reducing the risk to and vulnerability of people and systems. Those sectors who are making the humanitarian–development transition should consider the following:

  • Transitional frameworks and a common narrative are needed in order to provide a structure that functions clearly over time and to comprehensively address the complex issues involved in a protracted context. A transitional framework should include national-level medium- and long-term goals which can be funded by the same means.
  • Frameworks should be drafted in consultation with a broad range of stakeholders, not just ministries and donors but also, for example, those receiving assistance and those working in education provision, including national and international non-governmental organisations.
  • Agreements around actors’ roles and responsibilities should be clear, and should include plans and timeframes for transferring responses to other sectors or ministries for those needs that the sector development plan does not reflect.
  • Humanitarian plans should allocate sufficient time and resources to line ministries to build capacity to meet all the needs identified in the development plan.
  • Government partners in protracted crises should be offered sufficient capacity development in transitional/recovery approaches as well as in development approaches.
  • All responses, whether humanitarian, transitional or developmental, should be linked by the common approach of doing no harm.

 

Julie Chinnery julie.danielle.chinnery@nrc.no
Education Specialist, Norwegian Refugee Council, Jordan

www.nrc.no

This article is written in a personal capacity and does not necessarily represent the view of the Norwegian Refugee Council.

 

[1] UNESCO International Institute for Educational Planning (2016) Guidelines for Transitional Education Plan Preparation http://unesdoc.unesco.org/images/0024/002449/244900e.pdf

[2] Ministry of Planning and International Cooperation Jordan Response Plan for the Syria Crisis 2018–2020 www.jrpsc.org/

[3] Ministry of Education (2018) Education Strategic Plan 2018–2022 http://planipolis.iiep.unesco.org/sites/planipolis/files/ressources/jordan_education_strategic_plan_esp_2018-2022.pdf

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview