بيانات حجمها كبيرٌ وشأنها في الأخلاقيَّات قليلٌ: السريَّة والموافقة

إنَّ تعطُّش المانحين للبيانات يقوِّض الأمن والسريَّة شيئاً فشيئاً، وهذا يعرِّض الناجين من العنف والموظفين للخطر على السوَّاء.

غالباً ما يتشارك الأشخاص الذين يتعرضون للعنف والإقصاء بتجارب صدماتهم النفسية مع مقدمي الخدمات في أثناء تلقيهم للرعاية التي يعظم أثرها عندما تتيح للأفراد الحديث بحرية وصدق وتمنحهم الشعور بأنَّ معلوماتهم ستبقى سرية ولن تُنشَر لأحد. إلاَّ أنَّ اللجنة الدولية للإنقاذ وجدت في السنوات الأخيرة تدنياً متزايداً في مستوى أمن البيانات المرتبطة بحماية الأفراد المعنيين وسريتها. ومن أسباب ذلك النهج ما يمكن تتبعه في التغيرات في طريقة تعقب البرامج وقياس آثرها، تلك التغيرات التي لا يبدو في الظاهر بأنَّها قد تجلب الضرر على أحد.

وخلال العقد المنصرم، حدث تغير نمطي تجاه توليد البيانات كبيرة الحجمواستخدامها، وهي كميات كبيرة من البيانات المنظمة أو غير المنظمة. لكنَّ غياب المساءلة والضعف في فهم المخاطر الفريدة المحيطة ببيانات الحماية كانا سبباً لتشجيع حركة بين كبار المانحين لطلب قدر أكبر من البيانات (وأكثر تحديداً وتفصيلاً)، ما يعني احتمال التسبب بالإضرار بالأفراد

فطلبات الحصول على البيانات تلك ليست لمجرد الرغبة بالحصول على بيانات شاملة ومفصلة بما يمكن الاستفادة منه والتشارك به ضمن النماذج القياسية المفيدة المضبوطة ببروتوكولات التشارك بالمعلومات. بل إنَّ الطلب المتزايد من بعض الجهات المانحة المؤثرة للمعلومات الخاصة بالأفراد الناجين تزداد مُخفِقَةً في وضع الثقة المناسبة في طريقة استخدامها لتلك المعلومات. والمشكلة أنَّ عدم حماية الخصوصية والسرية قد يؤدي إلى إلصاق وصمة العار بالفرد وقد تجعله عرضة للأعمال الانتقامية، فيقضي ذلك على سلوك طالبي المساعدة ويهدد بسمعة مقدمي الخدمات بل يضع الموظفين والمستضعفين في خطر جسيم.

الطلب على البيانات الحق في سرية المعلومات والحفاظ عليها واحد من الحقوق التي تقع في صلب العمل مع الناجين المهجَّرين من العنف (بما فيه العنف القائم على الجندر) وحماية الأطفال وذوي الحاجات الخاصة. وبناء الثقة بين مقدمي الخدمات والمستفيدين شرط أساسي لتقديم المساعدة التي تؤتي أكلها، لكنَّ الثقة تعتمد في العادة على تقديم ضمانات بعدم المساس بالخصوصية. ويقع على مقدمي الخدمات واجب أخلاقي يلزمهم بحماية خصوصية المستفيدين وضمان عدم إلحاق الضرر بهم. وتعود جذور تلك المبادئ إلى قَسَم أبقراط وتؤكدها الأطر المعيارية للبحث الاجتماعي والمساعدات الدولية بما فيها الجهات التي تُنظِّم طريقة إدارة المعلومات في البيئات الإنسانية.

وتقتضي الضرورة إيلاء العناية الواجبة في كيفية جمع البيانات وتخزينها وحماية أمنها والتعامل مع كيفية التشارك بها مع الجهات الفاعلة الأخرى وتسويغ ذلك التشارك. ومن ذلك المنطلق، استثمرت لجنة الإنقاذ الدولية وغيرها من مقدمي الخدمات في بناء المنظومات المشتركة بين الهيئات والعمليات لضمان حسن إدارة البيانات ومراعاة سلامتها وأخلاقيات التعامل معها. ومن التدابير التي تتخذها تلك الهيئات منظومة إدارة معلومات حماية الطفل[1] ومنظومة إدارة معلومات العنف القائم على الجندر[2] ومبادرة إدارة معلومات الحماية.[3] وتقوم جميع هذه المنظومات على أساس الاعتراف بأنَّ ما يُقدِمُ عليه المانحون من تبادل صحيح للبيانات والإبلاغ وعمل تنسيقي فيما بينهم قد يثمر في الكشف عن ثغرات البرامج ويعزز من التنسيق ويحدد الفرص المتاحة للمناصرة في تحسين البرامج. ولكل منظومة بروتوكولات وممارسات واضحة وشاملة تحكم تبادل البيانات.

ورغم وجود تلك المنظومات (التي بدأ تطبيق بعضها منذ عقد من الزمن أو أكثر) ما زالت ممارسات سرية البيانات في تآكل متزايد. ففي بعض المواقع، تسببت التفسيرات الفضفاضة لمبدئي السرية والموافقة في تمييع المعايير المقبولة، ومن ذلك، على سبيل المثال، ما دأب البعض على التمسك به من رأي بأنَّ الموافقة فور إعطائها لمنظمة ما فهي تنحسب تلقائياً على موافقة المفصح عن المعلومات لمشاركة الجهات الأخرى بها.

والأمر الآخر أنَّ الجهات المانحة يزداد طلبها على المعلومات الحساسة المتعلقة بالحالات وإدارة الحالات التي يمكنها الكشف عن هوية أصحابها. ويأتي ذلك بعدة أشكال كأن تطلب الجهة حق الوصول إلى البيانات على أساس امتلاكها لها (وبذلك تمتلك البيانات وتتخذ القرارات النهائية بشأن استخدامها) أو قد تطلب إقامة مكتبات ورقية غير محمية تضم ملفات إدارة الحالات التي يمكن الولوج إليها حسب الرغبة، بل هناك من الجهات من أبدى إصراراً في المشاركة في جلسات إدارة الحالات السرية. ويزداد الوضع سوءاً في هذه الطلبات عندما تعمد الجهة المانحة إلى مضايقة مقدمي الخدمات بعدة طرق منها تهديدهم بسحب التمويل إذا لم يتخلوا عن البيانات لها. فقد وصل الطلب على البيانات السرية مستوى بات يقوِّض البرامج المخصصة للمستضعفين من النِّساء والأطفال والأشخاص ذوي الحاجات الخاصة، ويهدد عملية الإبلاغ ويثبط الناس عن طلب المساعدة ويأتي على سلامة المستفيدين.

تبعات برامج الحماية لهذه الممارسات الضارة أمثلة لا تحصى في العالم، تمس بآثارها الموظفين في الخطوط الأمامية والأشخاص الذين نخدمهم. [4]ففي شرقِّ أفريقيا، تبنى موظفون غير مدربين من إحدى الجهات المانحة أدوار المشرفين في العمل على الموظفين المتخصصين والمدربين على تقديم الخدمات، وفرضوا إرسال الإحالات إلى هيئتهم وأجروا اتصال المتابعة مع الناجين دون الحصول على موافقتهم بذلك.

وفي آسيا، صاغت إحدى الجهات المانحة إجراءات التشغيل القياسية دعت فيها إلى عقد اجتماعات المسؤوليةوهي ليس أكثر من اجتماعات إجبارية للوساطة وطرحتها على أنَّها خيارمتاح أمام الناجين/الناجيات من عنف الشريك العاطفي. وكل ناج يرفض المشاركة في تلك الوساطة بحضور الجاني يحال إلى قيادة مخيم اللجوء لاتخاذ الإجراءات الإدارية أو القانونية. وفي ذلك الأمر تجاهل لدليل راسخ منذ أمد بعيد بأنَّ أسلوب الوساطة المُيسَّرة بدلاً من أن تؤدي إلى جعل المسيء يحجم عن استخدامه للعنف للسيطرة على الآخرين، قد يضيف تهديدات أخرى على سلامة الناجين أو الموظفين (خاصةً عندما ينفِّذها موظفون غير مدربين جيداً).[5]

وفي موقع آخر في شرقيِّ أفريقيا، كان موظفو إدارة الحالات يعملون على إعادة نقل ناجية إلى مكان آمن. وقبل البدء بإعادة النقل، توجه موظفون من الجهة المانحة الممولة للبرنامج بطلب بتسليم الناجية إلى قيادة ذكورية للمجتمع المحلي لتبقى لمدة غير محددة في بيت القائد المجتمعي الذكر، وقدَّم الموظفون ذلك الطلب على أنَّه محاولة للوساطة. إلاَّ أنَّ الوساطة ينبغي لها أن تكون مرهونة بطوع أمر المعني لا أن تكون تدخلاً موصى به خاصةً إذا تولى تيسير جلساته موظفون غير مؤهلين. وفي أثناء عملية التقدم بذلك الطلب للناجية، كشف موظفو الجهة المانحة عن شخصيتها وأبلغوا القائد الذكر بأنَّ مدير الحالة في الهيئة قصَّر في حق الناجية التي كانت تسعى للمساعدةلقد شاب تلك الحالة إفصاح خاطئ عن المعلومات، إلاَّ أنَّ الناجية، لحسن الحظ، وصلت إلى بر الأمان بمساعدة المنظمة المنفذة وغيرها من الهيئات، لكنَّها توضح دون لبس مثالاً عن انتهاكات المبادئ الأخلاقية والالتزام بعدم الإضرار بأحد.

ويزداد تعقيد كل واحد من الأمثلة المذكورة بتساؤلات حول التحيز الثقافي والسيطرة الذكورية. ففيما لو حدثت تلك النشاطات في عالم الشمال، فلا شك من أنَّها ستثير موجة من الاعتراضات ومطالبات بالإصلاح. إلاَّ أنَّ المساس بسلامة المستفيد في سياق دول الجنوب ما زال مستمراً دون أن يثير أي غضب منتشر ودون أي دعوة تُطلَق لإجراء الإصلاح اللازم لخفض المخاطر الملازمة لها ومحاسبة أصحاب السلطة بشأنها. وبمقدور المنظَّمات غير الحكومية الدولية في بعض الأوقات أن تبدي مقاومة إزاء ضغوطات الجهات المانحة وتهديداتها، أمَّا المنظمات المحلية غير الحكومية فعادة ما تقع تحت رحمة مطالبات الممولين فإما أن يذعنوا أو أن يغلقوا منظماتهم. وفي ذلك إساءة كبيرة وخطيرة لإساءة السلطة ولا يجوز السكوت عنها.

صحيح أنَّ هناك بعض التطورات الإيجابية التي حدثت، مثل اللوائح التنظيمية التي سنها الاتحاد الأوروبي بشأن حماية البيانات العامة التي تركز على ضرورة حماية بيانات الأفراد، فلم يُبذَل جهد يُذكَر في محاسبة المانحين الإنسانيين أو تعميم المعيار القياسي للمقاربة الأخلاقية التي يمكن تطبيقها عالمياً بدلاً من حصرها في مواقع معينة دون غيرها. وبدلاً من ذلك، نحن نرى الآن مقاومة مفتوحة ونشطة لأبسط المعايير الأخلاقية المعترف بها دولياً التي كان من المفروض أن تكون مرجعنا الرئيسي في العمل دون نقاش. إذ ينبغي للعلاقة التي تجمع مقدمي الخدمات مع الجهات المانحة أن تقوم على أساس الشراكة والفهم المتبادل لا على القهر والإكراه. وينبغي لعملية الوصول إلى البينات أن تسير على المنطق ذاته وأن تقوم على أساس المعايير المشتركة والمتفق عليها.

التوصيات إنَّ هذه الممارسات الناشئة والضارة لتدفعنا إلى النظر في حتمية جديدة من حتميات العمل الإنساني تقوم على التشريعات النافذة بشأن حماية البيانات لتسير على خطى اللوائح التنظيمية للاتحاد الأوروبي بشأن حماية البيانات العامة لكنَّها لا بد أيضاً من أن تؤسس لإدارة أخلاقية إجبارية للبيانات بغض النظر عن الموقع الجغرافي، ولا بد للمعايير التي تنص عليها تلك اللوائح أن تكون واضحة وأن يتبعها الجميع ضمن إطار آليات تُنشَأ لمحاسبة المخالفين لها. وعليه، يجب على الفاعلين الإنسانيين:

  • ضمان سلامة المستفيدين والمحافظة على كرامتهم وجعل ذلك الهدف أولى أولوياتهم ويكون ذلك عن طريق إدخال بروتوكولات واسعة النطاق تنظم عملية التشارك في البيانات وتبادلها سعياً منها لصون سرية المعلومات ومراعاة الموافقة لصاحبها وتوفير عناصر الحماية المرتبطة بها.
  • انتهاج المعايير اللازمة لإدارة البيانات بسلامة مع مراعاة الجوانب الأخلاقية كما تحددها الجهود المشتركة بين الهيئات.
  • الإقرار بقيمة إخفاء هوية أصحاب البيانات المُجمَّعة ودعم إتاحتها لغايات التحليل بقصد إحداث تحسينات في الخدمات والتنسيق والمناصرة.
  • استعادة تعريفات الموافقة وسرية المعلومات والدفاع عنها والاعتراف بأنَّ ولاية المنظمةلا تحل محل الموافقة ولا يمكن استخدامها كذريعة للتشارك بالبيانات وتبادلها.
  • توحيد جهود المنظمات المحلية والدولية لتقف صفاً واحداً في وجه الممارسات الضارة غير المسؤولة في استخدام البيانات.
  • إيجاد كيان دولي يحدد الهيئات المديرة للتمويلات ومحاسبتها إزاء مشاركتها في تطبيق الممارسات الضارة في استخدام البيانات وانتهاك المعايير الراسخة.

فمع أنَّ الجهات الإنسانية تعمل جاهدة لتقديم المساعدات، فغالباً ما تغفل عن ضرورة النظر إلى ملفات المستفيدين بالطريقة ذاتها التي تنظر فيها إلى سجلاتها وقيودها المرتبطة بالصحة العامة والعقلية لموظفيها. ولذلك، على صانعي السياسات والمانحين أن يتذكروا أنَّ خلف كل رقم وإحصاء هناك فتاة وامرأة وفتى ورجل سعوا إلى الحصول على الخدمة متحملين في سبيل ذلك كل المخاطر. ونحن، في المقابل، مدينون لهم بأن نعمل معاً لضمان المحافظة على سرية معلوماتهم وصون كرامتهم وحماية سلامتهم.  

نيكول باينام Nicole.Behnam@rescue.org مديرةٌ فنيَّةٌ رئيسة

كريستي كرابتري Kristy.Crabtree@rescue.org مستشارةٌ في شؤون إدارة المعلومات والتِّقانة

وحدة منع العنف والاستجابة له، اللجنة الدولية للإنقاذ www.rescue.org

 

[1] www.cpims.org

[2] www.gbvims.com

[3] https://pim.guide

 [4] هذه الأمثلة واقعيةٌ ولكنْ أُزِيلَت منها بعض المعلومات التعريفية. وهي من عمل اللجنة الدولية للإنقاذ (IRC) مع أنَّ كثيراً من المنظمات حددت أيضاً مشكلات مماثلة مع كبار المانحين.

[5] IRC (2018) ‘Intimate Partner Violence and Mediation’, GBV Blended Curriculum

"تساهم عملية الوساطة نفسها في قوة ذكور المسيئين وسيطرتهم على النساء والمراهقات. وتفترض الوساطة أنَّه يمكن للطرفين التحدث بالتساوي بحرية وثقة وأمان."

اللغة العربية:

https://gbvresponders.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/5-Intimate-Partner-Violence-and-Mediation-AR-PDF.pdf 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Big data, little ethics: confidentiality and consent

Donors’ thirst for data is increasingly undermining security and confidentiality, putting both survivors of violence and staff at risk.

People who experience violence or exclusion often share their traumatic experiences with service providers while receiving care – care that is most effective when individuals can be open and honest and know that what they share will remain confidential. In recent years, however, the International Rescue Committee (IRC) has seen the safety and confidentiality of data relating to the protection of individuals of concern being increasingly diluted. This trend can be traced in part to a seemingly innocuous change in the way we track and measure programmes.

In the past decade there has been a shift towards the generation and use of ‘big data’ – large volumes of structured or unstructured data. However, a lack of accountability and little understanding of the unique risks associated with protection data have encouraged a movement among large donors to request more (and more specific) data, which could be potentially damaging to individuals.

These requests are not just for over-arching, aggregated data, which are widely valued and shared in standardised, useful formats through information-sharing protocols. Rather, some influential donors are making increased demands for individual survivors’ information – and have a misplaced confidence in how they might be able to use that information. Failing to protect privacy and confidentiality can result in stigma and retribution, and ultimately will erode help-seeking behaviour, threaten the reputations of service providers, and put staff and vulnerable people at risk.

Demand for data

At the core of work with displaced survivors of violence (including of gender-based violence) and in the protection of children and those with specific needs is their right to confidentiality. Trust between service providers and clients is essential to providing effective help, and typically depends on assurances of privacy. Service providers are ethically obligated to protect client privacy and to ensure they do no harm. These precepts date back to the earliest versions of the Hippocratic Oath and are reaffirmed in the normative frameworks of social work and international aid, including those governing how information is managed in humanitarian settings.

How data are gathered, stored and secured, and how and why they are shared with other actors, demands diligence. To that end, IRC and other service providers have invested in building inter-agency systems and processes to ensure data are managed in a safe and ethical manner. These include the Child Protection Information Management System,[1] the Gender-based Violence Information Management System[2] and the Protection Information Management Initiative.[3] Inherent within these systems is the recognition that sound data sharing and reporting by donors and at coordination level can lead to multiple benefits by revealing gaps in programming, strengthening coordination and identifying opportunities for advocacy to improve programming. Each system includes clear and comprehensive data-sharing protocols and practices.

Yet despite these systems (some of which have been in place for a decade or more), the erosion of confidentiality practices is increasing. In some locations, donors’ very broad interpretations of confidentiality and consent have diluted accepted standards, for example by arguing that once consent has been given to one organisation, that consent extends to the sharing of data with any other related party.

Donors are also making increased demands for sensitive, personally identifiable case management and incident information. This takes many forms, including: requests for proprietary access to data (whereby they own the data and make ultimate decisions about its use), the creation of unprotected paper libraries of case management files that can be accessed at will, and even insistence on participation in confidential case management sessions. Such demands are often exacerbated by donors harassing service providers, including by threatening to withdraw funding if the data are withheld. The demand for confidential data has reached a level that compromises programmes for vulnerable women and children and people with specific needs, threatens reporting, discourages people from seeking assistance, and undermines client safety.

Consequences for protection programming

Examples of these harmful practices abound globally, affecting frontline staff and the people we serve.[4] In East Africa, untrained staff from a donor agency adopted supervisor-like roles over specialised, trained service provider staff, forcing referrals to their own agency and conducting follow-up contact with survivors for which their consent had not been obtained.

In Asia, a donor agency drafted standard operating procedures that called for ‘responsibility meetings’ – essentially forced mediation sessions – to be an ‘option’ for survivors of intimate partner violence. Survivors declining to participate in this mediation with the perpetrator were referred to the refugee camp leadership for administrative or legal action. This fails to recognise the long-established evidence that, rather than resulting in the abuser choosing to stop using violence to control others, facilitated mediation (especially when applied by minimally trained staff) can introduce further threats to safety for survivors or staff.[5]

In another location in East Africa, caseworkers were working to relocate one female survivor to a safe location. Before the relocation could take place, staff from the donor agency funding the programme requested that the survivor be handed over to the male community leadership to be held indefinitely at a male community leader’s house, a request that staff presented as an attempt at mediation. Mediation should always be voluntary and is not a recommended intervention, especially if facilitated by untrained staff. In the process of making this request to move the survivor, the donor staff revealed her identity, and told the male leadership that the implementing agency’s caseworker was at fault for the survivor seeking help. Thankfully, the survivor ultimately got to safety with the help of the implementing organisation and other agencies but the violations of ethical principles and of the commitment to do no harm in this case of wrongful disclosure are clear.

Each of these examples is further complicated by questions of cultural bias and paternalism. If these activities were taking place in the Global North, no doubt there would be objections and reforms would be demanded. And yet these compromises to client safety in Southern contexts continue without attracting widespread outrage and without a push for reform to mitigate these risks and hold accountable those with power. International non-governmental organisations (NGOs) can at times push back against donor pressure and threats, but local NGOs are generally more at the mercy of funders’ demands and are often faced with the prospect of either giving in or being shut down. This is a fundamental and dangerous abuse of power that can no longer be ignored.

Although there has been some positive development, for example the introduction of the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), which focuses on the need to protect individuals’ data, little has been done to hold the main humanitarian donors accountable or to standardise an ethical approach that applies globally and is not limited to certain locations. Instead, we now see open and active resistance to basic, internationally recognised ethical standards that should guide our work without question. Relationships between service providers and donor agencies should be based on partnership and mutual understanding, not coercion. Access to data should follow that same logic and must be based on shared and agreed standards.

Recommendations

These evolving, harmful practices force the need for a new humanitarian imperative that builds on existing data protection legislation such as the GDPR but establishes the mandatory ethical management of data regardless of geographic location, under which standards are clear and uniformly followed and accountability mechanisms established. Accordingly, humanitarian actors should:

 

  • ensure the safety and dignity of clients as the first priority, including by extensively regulating data-sharing protocols to ensure confidentiality, consent and related protections
  • follow agreed standards for safe and ethical data management as set forth in inter-agency efforts
  • recognise the value, and support the availability, of aggregated, anonymised data for analysis that leads to improvements in services, coordination and advocacy
  • restore and defend the definitions of consent and confidentiality, recognising that having a ‘mandate’ does not replace consent and cannot be used as a specific reason for sharing data
  • unite local and international organisations to jointly reject irresponsible and harmful data practices
  • create an international body to identify and hold accountable fund-managing agencies who engage in harmful data practices and violate established standards

 

While working hard to be of assistance, humanitarian actors often lose sight of the fact that clients’ files should be considered in exactly the same way as their own personal medical or mental health records. Policymakers and donors must remember that behind each number and statistic are the girls, women, boys and men who, despite the risks of doing so, sought services. We owe it to them to work together to ensure that their rights to confidentiality, dignity and safety are protected.
 

Nicole Behnam Nicole.Behnam@rescue.org
Senior Technical Director

Kristy Crabtree Kristy.Crabtree@rescue.org
Information Management and Technology Advisor

Violence Prevention and Response Unit, International Rescue Committee www.rescue.org

 

[1] www.cpims.org

[2] www.gbvims.com

[3] https://pim.guide

[4] These examples are factual but some identifying information has been removed. They are drawn from IRC’s work although many other organisations have also identified similar issues with large donors.

[5]The mediation process itself maintains and contributes to the male abuser’s ongoing power and control over women and adolescent girls. The process of mediation presumes that both parties can speak equally freely, confidently and safely.” IRC (2018) ‘Intimate Partner Violence and Mediation’, GBV Blended Curriculum
https://gbvresponders.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/5-Intimate-Partner-Violence-and-Mediation-PDF.pdf

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview