اسْتِنباءُ وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي: نظام اللجوء في النرويج

يثير التزايد في استعمال البيانات المجموعة من وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي عند النظر في طلبات اللجوء أسئلةً أخلاقيَّة لها أهمية كبرى وما أخذت حقَّها من الاستطلاع.

يزيد، شيئاً فشيئاً، عدُّ سلطات الهجرة في أوروبا من شرقها إلى غربها مَلامِحَ طالبي اللجوء في وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي مصدرَ معلومات غزيرَ الفائدة عند النظر في القضايا، مُتمِّماً مقابلة اللجوء. إذ إنَّ الحصول على ما لرافعي الطلبات من طُرُق السفر والصور وشبكة الأصدقاء وسجل الأنشطة الأخرى بالإنترنت لهو إمكانٌ تِقْنيٌّ إعلاميٌّ جِدُّ عظيم، لكنَّ هذه الممارسات الجديدة تثير عدداً من الأسئلة الأخلاقيَّة المعياريَّة التي ما أخذت حقَّها من الاستطلاع وأقل ما يقال في ذلك إنَّه يُؤْسَفُ له أشدَّ الأسف.[1]

أسئلةٌ للتفكُّر والتدبُّر
الوصول: الاستنباء التدقيقي والتمحيصي لوسائط التواصل الاجتماعي هو من أبرز ما في المعالجة الأوليَّة لطلبات اللجوء في النرويج. إذ تطلب الشرطة إلى كلِّ طالبي اللجوء في النرويج أرقام هواتفهم وبيانات تسجيل دخولهم إلى فيسبوك عند رفعهم الطلبات (أي عند أول اتصالهم بالسلطات). فيمكِّن الدخول مباشرةً في حساب المرء بفيسبوك موظفي إنفاذ القانون من الحصول على تاريخه الفيسبوكيِّ كلِّه، ومن ذلك الصور والأصدقاء والإعجابات والاهتمامات والنشاطات والأسفار وغيرها. ويُظهِرُ تحليل ملفات قضايا لجوء أُجْرِيَ في عام 2018 أنَّه يمكن للصور ومعلومات الشبكات والبيانات الجغرافية التي تؤخذ من حسابات فيسبوك أنْ تحسم الأمر في بتِّ القضايا. ويحصل موظَّفو الحكومة على بيانات وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي (أي بيانات طالب اللجوء ومَن له صله به) ليس من البيانات التي تظهر للعامَّة بالإنترنت فحسب، بل من طريق تسجيل الدخول في مِنصَّات وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي باستعمال أشخاص مركَّبين لا يمكن إسنادهم إلى موظفي الحكومة ولا إلى المؤسسات، وذلك وفق المبادئ التوجيهية الداخلية. ويُقصَد بهذا إلى حماية موظفي الحكومة وأصحاب طلبات اللجوء.

الموافقة: يجب أن يصدر قبول طالبي اللجوء تسليم ما لهم من معلومات إثبات الهوية لتسجيل الدخول وهواتفهم، وفق قانون الهجرة النرويجي ولوائحه، عن علمٍ واطِّلاعٍ‘ ’ومن غير حرج‘. ولكنْ قد يخطر في ذهن سائلٍ أن يسأل: أفي إمكان طالب اللجوء في مرحلة النظر في طلبه هذه أنْ يرى سلفاً عواقب تسليمه مفاتيح هذه المعلومات أو أنْ يدرك تلك العواقب؟ هذا، فضلاً على أنَّ هذه المعلومات لها صلة في الغالب بالأصدقاء وأفراد الأسرة الذين ما قبلوا أن يُشرِكوا في معلوماتهم أحداً. وإذ قد كان القبول يُطلَب في أول اتصال بين الشرطة ورافع الطلب، فالتباين في القوة واضح وعواقب رفض تسليم المعلومات يومئذٍ مبهمة على رافع الطلب. وفي مؤتمرٍ دوليٍّ عام 2017 دار حول التِّقانة في معالجة قضايا اللجوء، لم يُثِرْ موظفو الحكومة أمر القبول من حيث هو تحدٍّ معياريٌ عند استعمال فيسبوك في جمع البيانات؛[2] فعُدَّت المعلومات التي كانت في الحسابات المُعلَّم لها بعلامة عامعموميَّةً ليس إلا. ولكنْ حتَّى في هذه الحالات، يثور سؤالٌ فيه نظر: أيَحسُن عدُّ بيانات كهذه لها صلة بالموضوع أم لا مع أنَّه من الواضح أنها لم توضع ليتفحَّصها موظفو الحكومة كالموظفين المعنيين ببتِّ طلبات اللجوء؟

السريَّة: درج في إجراءات منح اللجوء على أنْ تحكمها قواعد صارمة تحافظ على سريَّتها، ولا سيَّما في ما له صلة بعدم إفشاء حال إنسان رافعٍ طلبَ لجوء للبلد الذي يزعم أَّنه اضطُّهدَ فيه.[3] وحين يبحث الموظفون في فيسبوك أو في ما يشابهه من مِنصَّات عمَّن طلبوا اللجوء، يتركون خلفهم آثاراً ويفصحون (للمِنصَّة في الأقل) عن اهتمامهم بالفرد الذي يبحثون عنه. وهم بذلك يُدخِلُون طرفاً ثالثاً في الإجراءات وهو غير ملزمٍ مباشرةً بقواعد السريَّة نفسها. والمخاطر التي قد يجلبها ذلك غير معلومة، ولكنْ في أسوأ الأحوال، قد تصل هذه المعلومات إلى مَن لا ينبغي أن تصل إليه. فلبعضٍ من البلاد الأصلية قدرةٌ مُحذَّقةٌ في المراقبة السِّبرانية، وقد تراقب نشاط المنشقين عنها في وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي. ولقد يظل يُقفَى أثر سلطات اللجوء وموظَّفيها على ما يتَّخذونه ليخفوا آثار نشاطهم، وقد يصيرون عن غير قصد مصدر خطرٍ على طالبي اللجوء المحاولين الهرب من الاضطهاد.

القيمة الإثباتية: كثيراً ما تُستعمَل المعلومات المستخرجة من فيسبوك أدلَّةً في قضايا الهجرة في النرويج، ولا سيَّما في التحقُّق من صحَّة الهوية والشبكات والأصل الجغرافي. وتكون هذه المعلومات في كثير من الحالات مُتمَّمةً بغيرها من الأدلة، غير أنَّه في بعض الحالات قامت بيانات وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي مقام المصدر الوحيد للمعلومات الجديدة التي تقود إلى إبطال اللجوء. ثم إنَّ تكرار استعمال الأسماء المستعارة والانتماء المُدلَّس في منصات وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي لهي أمثلة على ظاهرة تتحدَّى قيمة المعلومات المُستخرَجة من وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي لاستعمالها في بتِّ القضايا. ولذلك يُوعَزُ إلى الموظفين المعنيين بقضية ما أنْ يُفسِّروا المعلومات على هَدْيِ أدلةٍ أخرى في القضية، ومثال ذلك اختبارات اللغة والصِّدقُ المُدرَك من صاحب الطلب.

الاستنباء المُستمرُّ فيه: زادت الحكومة في النرويج من حدَّة تصويب انتباهها في السنوات القليلة الماضية إلى إبطال رُخَصِ الإقامة التي في أسباب مَنحِها عِلَّة، وإلى إيقاف صفة اللاجئ عمَّن ما عاد في حاجة إلى الحماية. وفي مثل هذه الحالات، كثيراً ما تكون الأدلة التي جيء بها من النشاط في وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي بعد أنْ مُنِحَت صفة اللاجئ أداةً لسحب الأذونات من بعد. وتثير هذه الممارسة، أي إعادة تنشيط استنباء وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي، أسئلة معيارية جديدة. إذ في الممارسة الحالية يقوم موظَّفو الهجرة باستنباءٍ أوَّليٍّ، ومن ذلك بحثٌ منهجيٌّ في فيسبوك، في مجموعة متنوعة من الأحوال التي تضمُّ الطلبات التي رفعها أفراد بأنفسهم طالبين الحصول على إقامة دائمة أو جنسية. ويعتمد هذا الاستنباء في الغالب على نصائح من مهاجرين آخرين وعلى معلومات تنشأ من قضايا أخرى. أضف إلى ذلك أيضاً استنباءً كُلياً قائماً على احتمال الخطر يجري على أفرادٍ من جنسياتٍ معيَّنة. ويكثر في حالات الإلغاء استئناف المقابلات مع المهاجرين، وفيها تُستعمَل غالباً من فيسبوك لَقْطات شاشةٍ ومنشورات وصور من الأصدقاء ليُواجَه الأفراد بمعلومات لها صلة بقضاياهم. ولا يُعلَمُ المهاجرون في الغالب قبل المقابلات أنَّ معلوماتٍ من وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي ستُستعمَل في المقابلات.

ماذا بَعْدُ؟
ممَّا يُحتَاج إليه هو إجْراءُ مناقشات جوهريَّة تدور حول هذه الأحداث التِّقانيَّة وما تتركه من أثرٍ في أحوال اللجوء والهجرة. ويشير المستجيبون في سلطات الهجرة النرويجية إلى الخبرة في الخوض في ما هو غير مألوف وليس فيه معالم يُهتدَى بهاحين يبحثون عن معلوماتٍ في وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي. ولا بدَّ من مبادئ توجيهية وطنية واضحة لحِفْظِ المعاملة العادلة في القضايا ولكي يَنْشَأ عند المهاجرين أنفسهم إمكان التنبُّؤ عمَّا سيجري عليهم من إجراءات. وينبغي أنْ يجمع ذلك بين الشواغل العمليَّة في إدارة الهجرة العاملة، ومنها حدود استعمال الأشخاص الزَّائفين وما يترتَّب على الحصول على بيانات تسجيل الدخول من مسؤوليات، وبين الشواغل الأخلاقيَّة التي لها صلة بحقوق المهاجرين والمواطنين التي منها حرية التعبير. ويُحتَاج إيضاً إلى مزيد إيضاحٍ في ما له صلة بما للمعلومات المُستخرجَة من وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي من قيمة إثباتية.

وينبغي لهذه المناقشات أيضاً أنْ تتضمَّن الحديث عن العواقب المحتملة على المهاجرين أنفسهم، ومن ذلك أسئلةٌ منها: هل يُعوِّق الانفصال من منصات وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي الاندماجَ الاجتماعي في المجتمعات المضيفة؟ وهل تُعزِّز مراقبة بعض المهاجرين في أوقات محددة من الزمن عند مجتمعات المهاجرين في نطاقٍ أوسع الشعورَ بأنَّهم مراقبون مراقبة شبه دائمة؟ وتُثَار أسئلة أخرى منها: أينبغي أنْ يُقيَّد الميقات والمدة التي فيهما ترصد سلطات البلد المضيف نشاط المهاجرين في وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي؟ وهل ينبغي تنبيه مَن هم تحت الفحص الدقيق على ما هم فيه، واضعين نصب أعيننا ما لإبطال صفة اللاجئ وغير ذلك من رُخَصِ المهاجرين من أثرٍ شديدٍ يُتْرَك في حياة المهاجرين وأسرهم؟ لا بدَّ للبلاد المُضيفَة من أنْ تُعادِلَ بين استعمال بيانات وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي في تحسين الجودة في معالجة القضايا وبين حِفْظِ حقوق المهاجرين.

يان-بول برِكِّ j.p.brekke@samfunnsforskning.no
باحثٌ رئيسٌ في معهد البحوث الاجتماعية http://www.socialresearch.no

آنْ بالِكِّ ستافِر annebal@oslomet.no
باحثة رئيسة في جامعة أوسلو متروبوليتان www.oslomet.no

 

[1]الأمثلة مستخلصة من:

 Brekke J-P, Groenningsaeter A G and Larsen K M (2018) ‘Revocation of residence permits – Due process and judicial oversight in processing of revocation cases in Norway’, Institute for Social Research report No. 6 http://hdl.handle.net/11250/2500937

(إبطال رُخَصِ الإقامة - الإجراءات القانونية والإشراف القضائيُّ في معالجة قضايا الإبطال في النرويج) http://hdl.handle.net/11250/2500937 and Brekke J-P, Birkvad S R and Erdal M B (2019, forthcoming) ‘Losing the Right to Stay: Revocation of immigrant residence permits and citizenship in Norway – Experiences and effects’, Institute for Social Research report

 (فقدان الحقِّ في الإقامة: إبطال رُخَص إقامة المهاجرين والمواطنة في النرويج - تجاربٌ وآثار) http://hdl.handle.net/11250/2599967

[3] انظر مثلاً الأمر التوجيهي (2013/32/EU) الذي أصدره البرلمان الأوروبي والمجلس في 26 يونيو/حزيران سنة 2013 في الإجراءات المشتركة لمنح الحماية الدولية وسحبها.

https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/HTML/?uri=CELEX:32013L0032&from=en

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Social media screening: Norway’s asylum system

The growing use of data gathered from social media in asylum claim assessments raises critical yet underexplored ethical questions.

Immigration authorities across Europe are increasingly finding asylum seekers’ social media profiles to be a valuable source of information in case processing, complementing the asylum interview. Access to applicants’ travel routes, photos, network of friends and record of other online activity represents a colossal technical and informational possibility, but these new practices raise several woefully underexplored ethical and normative questions.[1]

Questions for reflection and scrutiny

Access: Social media screening is a key feature of the initial processing of asylum applications in Norway. All asylum seekers in Norway are asked by police to provide their phones and Facebook login details when filing their application (at their first point of contact with authorities). First-hand access to a person’s Facebook profile enables law enforcement officials to access an individual’s complete Facebook history, comprising photos, friends, likes, interests, activities, travel routes and more. Analysis of asylum case files from 2018 shows that photos and information on networks and geographical information taken from Facebook profiles can be decisive for the outcome of case processing. Government agents also access social media data (on the asylum seeker and their connections) not only by looking at publicly available data online but also by logging into social media platforms using constructed personas which cannot be traced back to the individual civil servant nor to the institution, in accordance with internal guidelines. This is intended to protect both civil servants and claimants.

Consent: Consent to provide their login credentials and phones must, according to the Norwegian Immigration Act and Regulations, be ‘informed’ and ‘freely given’. One may question, however, whether the applicant at this stage of the asylum process could adequately foresee or comprehend the consequences of providing access to such information. Furthermore, the information may often concern friends or family members who have not given their own consent for it to be shared. And since consent is requested at the very first point of contact between the police and the applicant there is a clear power imbalance and the consequences of refusing consent will also be unclear to the applicant. At a 2017 international conference on the topic of technology in asylum case processing, civil servants did not raise consent as a normative challenge when using Facebook to gather data;[2] information that was available on profiles marked ‘public’ was considered to be just that – public. Even in such cases, however, it is debatable whether it is appropriate to consider such data as relevant when it was clearly never intended for scrutiny by government employees such as asylum officers.

Confidentiality: The asylum procedure has traditionally been governed by strict norms of confidentiality, in particular with regard to non-disclosure of a person’s asylum-seeking status to the alleged country of persecution.[3] When officers search Facebook or similar platforms for individuals who have claimed asylum, they leave behind traces and reveal (at the very least to the platform) their interest in the individual. In doing so they are introducing a third party into the proceedings that is not directly bound by the same confidentiality rules. Exactly what risks this may entail are unclear but in a worst-case scenario this information could fall into the wrong hands. Certain countries of origin have sophisticated cyber surveillance capabilities, and may monitor dissidents’ social media activity. Asylum authorities and officers who take steps to conceal their activity may still be traceable and may inadvertently become a new source of risk to asylum seekers trying to escape persecution.

Evidentiary value:  Information from Facebook is often used as evidence in immigration cases in Norway, in particular to validate claims of identity, networks and geographical origin. In most cases this information is supplemented by other evidence but in some cases social media data represented the sole source of new information leading to revocation of asylum. The frequent use on social media platforms of aliases and fake affiliations are examples of phenomena that challenge the value of information from social media for use in case processing. Case workers are therefore directed to interpret the information in light of other evidence in the case, such as language tests and the perceived credibility of the claimant.

Continued screening: In Norway, the government has intensified its focus over the past few years on the revocation of residence permits that were given on faulty grounds, and on the cessation of refugee status for persons no longer in need of protection. In such cases, evidence drawn from social media activity after refugee status has been granted is often used to subsequently withdraw permits. This practice of reactivating social media screening raises new normative questions. Current practice involves immigration officers carrying out preliminary screenings, including systematic Facebook searches, in a variety of contexts which include applications launched by individuals themselves for permanent residence or citizenship. Such screening practices are often based on tips from other migrants and on information arising in other cases. In addition, overall risk-based screening of individuals of certain nationalities also takes place. Often revocation cases include renewed interviews with the migrant, in which Facebook screenshots, posts and photos from friends are often used to confront the individual with information related to their cases. Migrants are often not informed beforehand that social media information will be used during these interviews.

What now?
There is a need for fundamental discussions about these technological developments and their impact in the asylum and migration context. Informants within Norwegian immigration authorities point to experiences of operating in ‘uncharted waters’ when they search social media for information. Clear national guidelines are needed to secure equitable treatment of cases and in order to create predictability for the migrants themselves about the procedures that will take place. These should combine both the practical concerns of operative immigration management, including the limits of using false personas and what responsibilities follow from having gained access to login information, and ethical concerns pertaining to migrants’ and citizen’s rights, which include freedom of expression. Greater clarity is also needed regarding the evidentiary value of information derived from social media.

These discussions should also include the potential consequences for the migrants themselves, including whether withdrawal from social media communities can hamper social integration in host societies or whether the monitoring of some migrants at certain points in time could foster a sense among wider migrant communities of being under near-permanent surveillance. Other questions that arise include whether there should be limitations on when, and for how long, host-country authorities can monitor the social media activity of migrants, and whether individuals under scrutiny should be alerted, given the significant impact that revocation of refugee status and other immigration permits has on the lives of migrants and their families. Host countries must find a balance between using social media data to improve case processing efficiency and securing migrants’ rights.

 

Jan-Paul Brekke j.p.brekke@samfunnsforskning.no
Senior Researcher, Institute for Social Research http://www.socialresearch.no

Anne Balke Staver annebal@oslomet.no
Senior researcher, Oslo Metropolitan University www.oslomet.no  

 

[1] Examples are drawn from Brekke J-P, Groenningsaeter A G and Larsen K M (2018) ‘Revocation of residence permits – Due process and judicial oversight in processing of revocation cases in Norway’, Institute for Social Research report No. 6 http://hdl.handle.net/11250/2500937 and Brekke J-P, Birkvad S R and Erdal M B  (2019, forthcoming) ‘Losing the Right to Stay: Revocation of immigrant residence permits and citizenship in Norway — Experiences and effects’, Institute for Social Research report http://hdl.handle.net/11250/2599967

[2] https://www.udi.no/en/statistics-and-analysis/european-migration-network---norway/conferences-and-events/conferences/the-use-of-methods-and-technology-in-identity-verification-2017/

[3] See for example Directive 2013/32/EU of the European Parliament and of the Council of 26 June 2013 on common procedures for granting and withdrawing international protection
https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/HTML/?uri=CELEX:32013L0032&from=en

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview