الأخلاقيَّات والمساءلة في البحث في شؤون العنف الجنسي ضد الرجال والأولاد

يحتاج البحث في العنف الجنسي ضد الرجال والأولاد في أوساط العمل الإنساني إلى سبر آراءٍ متعارضة متعددة لها صلة بالأخلاقيَّات والمساءلة.

في يناير/كانون الثاني من عام 2018، أطلقت لجنة اللاجئات مشروع مناهضة العنف الجنسي وهو مبادرة تمتد على مدار ثلاث سنوات تركز على العنف الجنسي ضد المُهجَّرين من الرجال والأولاد[1] بمن فيهم المثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغيير الجندر (إل جي بي تي +) وغيرهم من ذوي التوجه الجنسي المتنوع والهُوِيَّة الجندرية و/أو التَّعبير عنها. ويتضمن المشروع عدة نشاطات من بينها تطبيق بحث استكشافي تطبيقي على اللاجئين في بنغلاديش وإيطاليا وكينيا. ونظراً لحساسية موضوع البحث، كان استضعاف المشاركين بالبحث واحتمالية تعرضهم للضرر والتصدي لقضايا السلامة والبعد الأخلاقي في البحث من الأمور المهمة.

وتمثلت الخطوة الأولى في إجراء البحث الذي يشتمل على الأشخاص مباشرة ضمان الحصول على الموافقة الأخلاقية من الجهة المعنية، إلاَّ أنَّ مجالس مراجعة الشؤون الأخلاقية الأكاديمية والحكومية لم تكن في كثير من الأحيان على اطلاع بالبحوث في البيئات الإنسانية بل ربما كانت تميل إلى حجب منح موافقتها. ثمَّ إنَّ الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية غالباً ما تعاني من ضعف داخلي في القدرات البحثة وقد يتضافر ذلك مع شح التمويل والضغوط على الوقت بسبب متطلبات المانحين والحاجات الإنسانية الملحة. وربما نُظِر إلى السعي وراء الموافقة الأخلاقية لإجراء البحث على أنَّها مضيعة للوقت أو أنَّها أصعب من أن يدروسوا أمرها أو أنَّها غير ضرورية أساساً. لكنَّ تلك الخطوة كانت محورية خاصة نظراً لغياب منظومات الحماية الفاعلة في كثير من البيئات الإنسانية. وإذا ما حُصِل على الموافقة الأخلاقية من مؤسسة ما خارج بلد الدراسة، فلا بد وقتها من البحث عن موافقة من مجلس وطنية للمراجعة المؤسسية أو أي هيئة اعتماد محلية أخرى. (في البيئات التي تتسم فيها مجالس المراجعة الأخلاقية بالفساد أو ضعف الفعالية أو التي لا تكون تلك المجالس موجودة فيها أصلاً، قد لا يكون الحصول على الموافقة المحلية أمراً مفيداً ويمكن وقتها البحث عن بدائل أخرى.)

فعلى سبيل المثال، في إطار مشروع مناهضة العنف الجنسي للجنة اللاجئات، تمكنا من الحصول على الموافقة الأخلاقية من جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز في أستراليا ومن هيئة البحوث الوطنية (كيمري) في كينيا. لكنَّنا مع ذلك واجهنا معوقات مختلفة في الحصول على الموافقة الأخلاقية في كل من إيطاليا وبنغلاديش، وكذلك واجهتنا صعوبات أخرى بسبب ندرة مجالس المراجعة الأخلاقية التي تراجع الأبحاث غير الطبية ومحدودية تمويل المشروع ومحدودية الوقت المتاح. وريثما تتم عملية المراجعة الرسمية، أسسنا مجموعات مرجعية تضم باحثين محليين وخبراء في الحماية لمراجعة بروتوكول البحث وأدواته وتوفير الإرشادات التوجيهية بشأن القضايا الثقافية والسياسية وتقديم المشورة العامة حول المخاوف الأخلاقية. وفي إيطاليا، رغم إعلامنا بأنَّ جامعة باليرمو ليس فيها مجلس مراجعة أخلاقية للبحوث العلمية الوطنية، توجهنا إلى قسم علم النفس والاجتماع والخدمات التربوية فيها وطلبنا إليهم إعداد مراجعة غير رسمية وتقديم موافقتهم الخطية لبروتوكول المشروع. إضافة إلى ذلك، عقدنا اجتماعاً تشاورياً عالمياً بحضور 12 خبيراً فنياً لمراجعة البروتوكول والأدوات وإثرائنا بمعطياتهم حول الاعتبارات الأخلاقية.

الامتثال للإرشادات التوجيهية الأخلاقية تشير منظمة الصحة العالمية في إرشاداتها التوجيهية[2] الأخلاقية إلى عدم جواز إجراء المقابلات مع ضحايا العنف الجنسي إلا إذا انعدمت البدائل. ومن جهتنا، لم تكن مقابلات الناجين ضَرورَةً لتحقيق أهدافنا البحثية ولم تكن أمراً يوافق الأخلاق نظراً لحالة الاستضعاف التي يمر بها المشاركون واحتمالية وقوع آثار سلبية فيهم. بل كانت المعلومات المستقاة من مصادر ثانوية وثالثية كافية. إلاَّ أنَّه رغم التركيز للمشاركين بأنه ليس من المطلوب منهم أن يتحدثوا عن خبراتهم الشخصية في العنف، عمد بعضهم إلى الإفصحاح عفوياً عن تلك التجارب وكان منهم من فعل ذلك من مجموعات التركيز إذ باحوا بقصصهم لأفراد المجتمع المحلي.

ولتوجيه المشرفين نحو المساعدة، طوَّرنا أوراق معلومات المشاركين (وترجمناها إلى اللغات المطلوبة) وتضمنت تلك الأوراق جهات الإحالة المحلية للرعاية الصحية والنفسية-الاجتماعية وراجعها ودققها متخصصون في مجال العنف القائم على الجندر و/أو الحماية و/أو الصحة. وتُقدَّم تلك الأوراق إلى جميع المشاركين بغض النظر عما إذا كانوا قد أفصحوا عن تجاربهم الشخصية حول العنف أم لا. وتعمدنا حذف عبارة العنف الجنسيمن الاستمارة للترويج لسرية المعلومات وخفض احتمالية الوصم بالعار إلى الحد الأدنى وخفض أي تبعات سلبية محتملة أخرى. كما وضعنا بوتوكولاً[3] معدلاً لطلب الاستغاثة لمساعدة الباحثين في تحديد مؤشرات طلب الاستغاثة خلال المقابلة أو خلال جلسة المجموعة المركزة والاستجابة لها كما هو مطلوب. وطلبنا تقديم المشاركة لموافقة مدروسة في بداية جلسة مجموعة التركيز وتأكدنا من ذلك مع المشاركين من خلال إثارة النقاش لتأكي حقهم في العزوف عن الإجابة عن أي أسئلة لا يحبون الإجابة عنها وأخبرناهم أن لا تعبات سلبية عليهم بسبب ذلك الإحجام.

الاعتبارات الأخلاقية المترتبة على مشاركة المراهقين توجب الإرشادات التوجيهية لمنظمة الصحة العالمية تقديم ضمانات إضافية في حالة المشاركة المباشرة للأطفال في البحث. وكان من المهم الحصول على إفادات المراهقين للوقوف على طبيعة العنف الجنسي الممارس ضد الأولاد وفهم خصائصه وآثاره إضافة إلى تحديد العوائق والجوانب التي تروج لإقبالهم على الخدمة. وتفادياً لإعادة إنتاج أوجه القصور في البحث الأولي حول العنف الممارس ضد المرأة الذي تجاهل لدرجة كبيرة المراهقات، أدخلنا اعتبارات أخلاقية إضافية في عملية البحث لضمان اشتماله على المشاركات المراهقات (الفئة العمرية 15-17 عاماً).

وقبل جميع البيانات، طلبنا الموافقة المدروسة من ذوي المراهقات والمراهقين أما في حالة القاصرين غير المصحوبين ببالغين فطلبنا الموافقة من منظومة الرعاية المؤسسية كالباحث الاجتماعي أو المستشار النفسي. وحضر جميع جلسات مجموعات التَّركيز التي أجريت مع القاصرين غير المصحوبين ببالغين وصي أو/و باحث اجتماعي و/أو مستشار نفسي و/أو خبير في شؤون العنف القائم على الجندر. أما بخصوص المراهقين المستضعفين من ذوي الحماية والدعم المحودين مثل القاصرين والقاصرات غير المصحوبين ببالغين الذين يعيشون في التجمعات غير الرسمية، فقد استثنيناهم من عينة البحث.

ومع تقدم العمل في المشروع، بدأنا عملية التأمل حول الطرق الأفضل أخلاقياً لإشراك المشاركين من مراهقين ومراهقات. وعدا عن أننا طلبنا إلى المراهقين من لاجئين ولاجئات بأن يقدموا لنا أمقلة عن رفض الموافقة، وجدنا من الناجع أن نقدم لهم عدداً متنوعاً من الأمثلة الملفوظة التي تفيد برفض الموافقة والإحجام عن الإجابة والقرار بالانسحاب، وبذلك نضمن قدرة المراهقين والمراهقات على التعبير على الفور عن رفضهم عندما يريدون ذلك، وبالفعل استخدم بعض المراهقين والمراهقات تلك التعبيرات اللغوية في القفز عن بعض الأسئلة أو تجاهلها خلال النقاش.

ثم إنَّنا ترجمتا ملخصات عن البحث وشاركنا بها المستجيبين والمستجيبات وشركاء البحث التنفيذيين لغاية تعميمها بهدف ضمان حصول اللاجئين ومقدمي الخدمات المحليين على معلومات مدروسة حول النتائج والتوصيات. وتعاونا مع منظمة الأمم المتحدة للأمومة والطفولة (اليونيسف) في إيطاليا فطوَّرنا معهم ملخصاً صديقاً لفئة المراهقين والمراهقات لتلك النتائج باستخدام لغة مناسبة ورسوم تصويرية.

سبر الأخلاقيات والعواطف الوجدانية إننا نشعر بأنَّ مسؤولية أخلاقية عميقة تقع على عاتقنا بأن نضمن التزامنا بالمسؤولية تجاه توثيق أصوات المشاركين وتجاربهم والتشارك بها. فكثيراً ما يقول لنا بعضهم أخبروا الناس عما حدث لي لكي يتمكن أحدهم من فعل شيء إزاء ذلك. فالمشاركون في البحث يستذكرون قصص العنف والفقدان الرهيبة التي حدثت معهم بل انفجر بعضهم باكياً وهو يتحدث عما جرى له. وكذلك الأمر بالنسبة لمقدمي الخدمات الذين قد يكشفون في معرض حديثهم ما يختلج أنفسهم من عواطف وجدانية. وذات مرة، انفجر أحد مقدمي الخدمات باكياً عندما استذكر قصة لاجئ فتى تعمد الناس أن يشوهوا وجهه لأنه كان بشوشاً كثير الابتسام. ومثل هذه القصص قد يكون لها وقع عاطفي على أكثر عاملي الخدمات الإنسانية خبرة كما أنَّ الحزن والأسى قد يصبحان تحصيل حاصل عندما يعود المرء فيتحدث عن قصص العنف والظلم في معرض تنقيته للبيانات وترميزها وتحليلها.

ومن هذا المنطلق، نعمل على تحديد سلم أولويات الرعاية الشخصية، بعدة طرق، منها تضييق الوقت الممنوح للمشاركة بالبيانات الصعبة وبناء الدعم الإيجابي خارج العمل. ونعمل على تطوير مُجمَّع تدريبي (موديول) بالتعاون مع منظمة الأمم المتحدة للأمومة والطفولة (اليونيسف) لدعم الوسطاء الثقافيين (المُفَسِّرين الشفويين) لكي نُحسِّن استجابتتنا لحالات الإفصاح عن العنف الجنسي أو خفض حالات تكرار الشغور بالصدمة النفسية غير المباشرة، بينما نقدم في بنغلاديش الدعم في مشروع مع منظمة الإجراء القانوني العالمية لتطوير نقاط الارتباط للروهينغيا لتحسين ربط الناجين من الذكور والجنس الثالث مع الخدمات ويتضمن ذلك مُكوِّناً خاصاً بالرعاية الذاتية لنقاط الارتباط.

ضمان المساءلة إزاء النِّساء والفتيات نظراً لتزايد الاهتمام الممنوح للعنف الجنسي ضد الرجال والأولاد، لا بد من إيلاء الأولوية أيضاً للنِّساء والفتيات والترويج للمساواة في الجندر. ويعني ذلك، على سبيل المثال، ضمان عدم تعزيز البرامج والمناصرة الخاصة بالناجين الذكور للمعايير الاجتماعية الذكورية الضارة أو الممارسات المرتبطة بها ولا ينبغي في الوقت نفسه من أن يكون ذلك على حساب الموارد أو الاهتمام بالمرأة والفتاة. وتخصيص المساحات والتمويلات والبرامج مخصصة للنِّساء والفتيات من الأمور المُحدَثَة في القطاع الإنساني، كما أنَّها ليست من الإنجازات التي يمكن تحقيقها بسهولة، إلاَّ أنَّ تزايد الاهتمام العالمي والمناصرة حول المرأة والفتاة لم يُترجَم بعد إلى واقع ملموس في التمويل الثابت أو تقديم الخدمات الممنهج. ونحن نعمل على تبديد الإيمان الخاطئ بأنَّ خدمات ما بعد التعرض للعنف الجنسي متاحة على نطاق واسع للمرأة والفتاة دون الرجال والفتيان. وعبر مختلف البيئات الإنسانية، هناك حاجة ماسة لتعزيز تلك الخدمات لجميع الناجين والناجيات. وبذلك، لا تقتصر مناصرتنا ولا خدماتنا على الناجين الذكور وحدهم، بل نركز أيضاً على تقديم الخدمات الشاملة والتكميلية التي تلبي حاجات الناجين والناجيات من العنف الجنسي، إناثاً كُنَّ أم رجالاً، إضافة إلى الأشخاص على اختلاف توجههم الجنسي وتعبيرهم أو هُوِيَّتهم الجندريين.

انطباعات خلال عملية البحث، أبدى موظفو المشروع وأعضاء المجموعة الاستشارية انطباعاتهم حول الاعتبارات الأخلاقية والمساءلة وكيف كان من الممكن تحسينها في المشروع. واشتملت انطباعاتهم تحديداً على ما يلي:

  • أنَّ المشورع لو راعى اشتمال ممثلين عن النساء المحليات ومجموعات المثليين والمثليات ومغيري الجندر (جي بي تي+) و/أو اللاجئين الأعضاء في لجان المرجعيات الوطنية كان من الممكن أن يعزز من المساءلة تجاه المرأة والفتاة ومجموعات المثليين والمثليات ومغيري الجندر (جي بي تي+). ففي أغلب الأحيان، كانت مجالس المراجعة الدولية تضم الأكاديميين والخبراء من دول الشمال العالمي، وكان قوام تلك المجالس يفتقر إلى تمثيل الأفراد القادرين على التعبير عن منظورات المشاركين في البحث.
  • مع أنَّنا عممنا نتائج البحث على مقدمي الخدمات، فقد كان من الممكن أن نجري متابعة للترويج لزيادة نطاق تعميمها بين الفئات السكانية ممن اللاجئين.
  • هناك درجة ملموسة وملحوظة من استطاعة اللاجئين المشاركين الصمودَ في البحث تجسدت في تشاركهم في قصصهم. إلاَّ أنَّ ذلك يدعونا للتساؤل فيما إذا كان هؤلاء المشاركين قد واجهوا آثاراً سلبية عاطفية أو اجتماعية بعد نقاشات مجموعات التَّركيز، ما يدعونا للتساؤل أيضاً عن التدابير الإضافية التي يمكننا اتخاذها لتعزيز حُسْنِ أحوالهم. ولذلك، سوف نعمل في المرحلة الثانية من المشروع على التركيز على دعم الناجين والناجيات للوصول إلى الرعاية الصحية العقلية النوعية والدعم النفسي الاجتماعي إلى غير ذلك من خدمات.

سارة شينويذ svproject@wrcommission.org

مُؤسِّسةٌ ومديرة مشروع مناهضة العنف الجنسي/ومستشارة اللجنة النسائية المعنية باللاجئات www.womensrefugeecommission.org

 

سارة مارتِن smartindc@gmail.com

خبيرةٌ مستقلةٌ في شؤون العنف القائم على الجندر وعضوةٌ في اللجنة الاستشارية العالمية بمشروع مناهضة العنف الجنسي

 

[1] هذه الدراسة مركوزةٌ في الأفراد الذين يُعرَّفون بأنَّهم رجال أو أولاد أو صنِّفوا من قبل بذلك. ونستعمل هنا مصطلح الرجال والأولادلسهولة القراءة ونُقِرُّ أنَّه لا يضم كثيراً من ذوي التوجه الجنسي المتنوع والهُوِيَّة الجندرية و/أو التَّعبير عنها الذين يشملهم نطاق الدراسة.

[2] WHO (2007) Ethical and safety recommendations for researching, documenting and monitoring sexual violence in emergencies

 (توصيات في الأخلاق والسلامة للبحث والتوثيق ورصد العنف الجنسي في حالات الطوارئ) www.who.int/gender/documents/OMS_Ethics&Safety10Aug07.pdf

[3] Burke Draucker C, Martsolf D S and Poole C (2009) ‘Developing Distress Protocols for Research on Sensitive Topics’, Archives of Psychiatric Nursing 23:5

(وَضْعُ بروتوكولات الاستغاثة للبحث في المواضيع الحساسة)

www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0883941708001799?via%3Dihub

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Ethics and accountability in researching sexual violence against men and boys

Researching sexual violence against men and boys in humanitarian settings requires navigating multiple ethics- and accountability-related tensions.

In January 2018, the Women’s Refugee Commission (WRC) launched the Sexual Violence Project, a three-year initiative focusing on sexual violence against displaced men and boys,[1] including gay, bisexual, transgender and others with diverse sexual orientation and gender identity and/or expression (GBT+). The project includes, among other activities, undertaking applied exploratory research among refugees in Bangladesh, Italy and Kenya. Given the sensitivity of the research topic, the vulnerability of the research participants and the potential for harm, addressing safety and ethical issues is paramount.

A first step in undertaking research that directly involves people is to secure ethics approval from an appropriate body, yet academic and governmental ethics review boards are frequently unfamiliar with, and may be resistant to approving, research in humanitarian settings. Further, humanitarian actors frequently grapple with limited internal research capacity, limited and/or restricted funding, and time pressures due to donor requirements and pressing humanitarian needs. Pursuing ethics approval for research may be perceived as time-consuming, too challenging or unnecessary. However, this step is essential, particularly given the absence of functioning protection systems in many humanitarian settings. If ethics approval is secured from an institution outside the country of study, approval should also be sought from a national Institutional Review Board (IRB) or other local accredited body. (In settings with corrupt, dysfunctional or nonexistent ethics boards, securing local approval may not be viable, and alternatives can be considered.)

For example, for the WRC Sexual Violence Project, we secured ethics approval from the University of New South Wales in Australia and KEMRI, a national research body, in Kenya. However, different barriers impeded obtaining ethics approval in Italy and Bangladesh, including the paucity of IRBs that review non-medical research, limited project funding, and time constraints. In lieu of a formal review process, we established national reference groups with local researchers and protection experts to review the research protocol and tools, provide guidance on cultural and political issues, and generally advise on ethical concerns. In Italy, although we were informed that the University of Palermo does not have a formal IRB for social science research, we asked the Department of Psychological, Pedagogical and Education Services to informally review and provide written approval of the research protocol. In addition, we convened a global advisory board with 12 technical experts to review the protocol and tools and provide input on ethical considerations.

Adherence to ethical guidelines

The World Health Organization’s ethical guidelines[2] state that interviewing survivors of sexual violence should only be undertaken as a last resort. Interviews with survivors were not deemed necessary for achieving our research aims, or ethical given the vulnerability of the participants and the potential for adverse impacts; second- and third-hand accounts of sexual violence are sufficient. However, despite emphasising to participants that they do not need to share personal experiences of violence, some do spontaneously disclose such experiences, including in focus groups with other community members.

In order to direct survivors to assistance, we developed participant information sheets (translated into relevant languages) which include local referral points for health and psychosocial care and which were vetted by gender-based violence, protection and/or health specialists. These information sheets are offered to all participants, regardless of whether they have disclosed personal experiences of violence or not. The term ‘sexual violence’ is omitted from the form in order to promote confidentiality and minimise stigmatisation and any other potential negative repercussions. An existing distress protocol[3] was also adapted to assist researchers to identify indications of distress during an interview or focus group and respond accordingly. Informed consent is requested at the beginning of the focus group and we also check with participants throughout the discussion to emphasise their right to skip questions or leave, without repercussions.

Ethical considerations involving adolescents

According to WHO’s ethical guidelines, additional safeguards must be put in place if research directly involves children. Capturing adolescents’ inputs is important to understand the nature, characteristics and impacts of sexual violence against boys as well as to identify barriers to and aspects that promote service uptake. To avoid reproducing the shortcomings of initial research on violence against women, which largely omitted adolescent girls, we included additional ethical considerations in the research process to ensure adolescent participants (aged 15–17) could be included.

Prior to data collection, informed consent is sought from the parents of adolescent participants; among unaccompanied minors, consent is sought from an institutional guardian such as a social worker or psychologist. A guardian, social worker, psychologist and/or gender-based violence expert is present during all focus groups with unaccompanied minors. Vulnerable adolescents with limited protection and support – such as unaccompanied minors living in informal settlements – are excluded from the sample.

As the project advances, we are reflecting on how to better ethically engage adolescent participants. In addition to asking adolescent refugees to provide examples of refusing consent, we found it effective to provide a variety of verbal examples of declining consent, refusing answers and deciding to withdraw, so adolescents had that language at their fingertips; indeed, some adolescents used this language to skip questions or leave during the discussion.

Translated summaries of the research are shared with key informants and operational research partners for local distribution to ensure refugees and local service providers are informed of findings and recommendations. In collaboration with UNICEF Italy, we developed an adolescent-friendly summary of the research findings, using appropriate language and graphics.

Navigating ethics and emotions

We feel a deep ethical responsibility to ensure that participants’ voices and experiences are responsibly documented and shared. Many ask us to “tell people what happened to me so they will do something about it”. Research participants recount tales of terrible violence and loss, and some shed tears. Service providers may also display emotion. In one setting, a provider wept while recounting the story of a refugee boy who had been disfigured for smiling too much. This can take an emotional toll on even the most seasoned aid worker, and re-engaging with accounts of violence and injustice through cleaning, coding and analysing the data, in addition to writing up the findings, can also cause distress.

As such, we work to prioritise self-care practices, including limiting the time spent engaging with difficult data and cultivating positive support networks outside work. We are also developing a training module with UNICEF to support cultural mediators (interpreters) to better respond to disclosures of sexual violence and reduce vicarious traumatisation, while in Bangladesh we are supporting a project with Legal Action Worldwide to develop the capacity of Rohingya focal points to better link male and third-gender survivors with services, which includes a self-care component for the focal points.

Ensuring accountability to women and girls

As more attention is given to sexual violence against men and boys, accountability to women and girls and promoting gender equality need to be prioritised. This means, for example, ensuring that programmes and advocacy for male survivors do not reinforce harmful patriarchal norms or practices, or erode resources or attention from women and girls. Dedicated spaces, funding and programmes for women and girls in the humanitarian sector are recent, hard-won achievements but the increased global attention and advocacy around women and girls have not translated into consistent funding or systematic service provision on the ground. We work to dispel the myth that post sexual violence services are widely available for women and girls but not for men and boys. Across humanitarian settings, these services frequently require strengthening for all survivors. As such, we do not advocate for attention to and services for male survivors alone, but for comprehensive, complementary services that meet the needs of all survivors of sexual violence – female, male and those with diverse sexual orientation and gender expression or identity.

Reflections

Throughout the research process, project staff and advisory group members have reflected on how ethical considerations and accountability could have been improved within the project. In particular:

  • Additional inclusion of representatives from local women’s and GBT+ groups and/or refugees on the national reference committees could have further strengthened accountability to women, girls and GBT+ persons. Too often, IRBs are composed of academics and experts from the Global North with limited, if any, inclusion of individuals who can articulate the perspective of the research participants.
  • Although research findings are shared with local service providers, further follow-up could be undertaken to promote wider dissemination among the refugee populations.
  • The resilience of the refugee research participants who share their stories with us is remarkable. We wonder, however, whether these participants encounter adverse emotional or social impacts after the focus group discussion, and what additional measures can be undertaken to enhance their well-being. Through the second phase of the project we will maintain a focus on supporting survivors to access good-quality mental health care and psychosocial support, among other services. 

 

Sarah Chynoweth svproject@wrcommission.org
Founder and Director/Consultant, Sexual Violence Project, Women’s Refugee Commission www.womensrefugeecommission.org

Sarah Martin smartindc@gmail.com
Independent gender-based violence expert and member of the Sexual Violence Project’s Global Advisory Committee

 

[1] The study focuses on individuals who identify as men or boys or were once designated as such. We use the term ‘men and boys’ for ease of reading and acknowledge that it does not capture many persons of diverse sexual orientation and gender identity and/or expression who are included in the scope of the study.

[2] WHO (2007) Ethical and safety recommendations for researching, documenting and monitoring sexual violence in emergencies www.who.int/gender/documents/OMS_Ethics&Safety10Aug07.pdf

[3] Burke Draucker C, Martsolf D S and Poole C (2009) ‘Developing Distress Protocols for Research on Sensitive Topics’, Archives of Psychiatric Nursing 23:5 www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0883941708001799?via%3Dihub

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview