التململ من البحوث المُنْتَشِرُ في اللاجئين الروانديين بأوغندا

يُظهِرُ اللاجئون في مستوطنة ناكيڨالي للاجئين تململهم من البحوث، ولكنَّ باحثةً خاصَةً عادَت إليها زائرةً مرةً أخرى وبزيارتها كَشَفَت في الحكاية عمَّا لم يكن في الحِسْبان.

لمَّا كان في خلال بحثي لنيل درجة الدكتوراه[1] بين سنة 2009 وسنة 2013 في شؤون اللاجئين الروانديين بناكيڨالي، إحدى أقدم تجمعات اللاجئين في أوغندا، تنبَّهت في أثناء المقابلات إلى كثيرٍ من العبارات التي تفصح عن التململ من البحث. إذ غلب على شكاوى الإفراط في البحث أنْ تأتي من جَمْعٍ بين شِدَّة الإعادة والتكرار والفضول غالباً عن الحاجة في البحوث التي تجري في المخيَّم، فضلاً على الشعور بأنَّ البحوث تُخْفِقُ في إحداث تغييرٍ حقيقيٍّ كبيرٍ مقداره أو فائدةٍ للمُقيمينَ اللذين تُجرَى عليهم البحوث. ولقد يُنظَرُ إلى البحوث في بعض الحالات أنَّها جزءٌ من نظامٍ للمراقبة والسيطرة. وفي غيرها من الحالات قد يُنظَرُ إلى البحوث أنَّها تنفع الباحثين في شؤون حياتهم ومِهَنِهم وتترك شؤون حياة المُجرَى عليهم البحوث -أي اللاجئون- من دون أي تَحسُّنٍ فيها ذي شأن، بغضِّ النظر عن مساهماتهم في المعلومات والوقت والنشاط والموارد.

وبين عامي 2009 و2013، جذبت إعادة اللاجئين الروانديين إلى وطنهم (والتذرُّع ببند وقف الحماية عن اللاجئين) كثيراً من انتباه الباحثين المحليين والدوليين. ففي جمْعٍ للبيانات سنة 2011، قالت لاجئة رئيسة وهي غضبانة:

أتْعَبنا مجيءُ الباحثين ليسجِّلوا قصصنا في خضمِّ كل المشكلات التي نحن فيها، فإعادة قسرية إلى الوطن، ونوم في الأدغال خوفاً من أنْ نُساقَ في الليل إلى رواندا، وتخفيض حصصنا الغذائية، وحظرنا من مُلْكِ الأراضي والوصول إلى الخدمات الاجتماعية. لا أحد يعتني بأمرنا. تأتون [أنتم] فتأخذون قصصنا وتصوِّرون معاناتنا فِيديُويَّاً وتختفون.

وسأل لاجئ آخر قال:أسيُطْعِمُ بَحْثُكَ أسرتي؟وقال أيضاً مشاركٌ من المشاركين في مناقشةٍ:نرى أنَّ الباحثين مسرورون بمشكلاتنا المُزدادَة فبذلك يُجْرُونَ مزيداً من الأبحاث. ...ما نزال نواجه المشكلات ذاتها على الرغم من عدد الباحثين الذين اجتمعنا بهم.

وكان أكثر اللاجئين راغبين عن استئمان أيِّ شخصٍ على ما لديهم من معلومات، لأنَّهم كانوا في محتارين خائفين من إجبارهم على العودة. واعتقد المُسْتَطلَعُونَ أنَّ المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين تآمرت هي وحُكومَتَيْ أوغندا ورواندا على قَسْرِ اللاجئين على العودة إلى رواندا.[2] فضلاً على أنَّ اللاجئين قد لا يستطيعون توقُّعَ عواقب مساهماتهم في المشاريع البحثية، ويمكن لهذه الحَيْرةُ أنْ تخيفهم وتحول دون مشاركتهم في آخر المطاف.[3] ففي حالة من الحالات، كانت لاجئةٌ أبلغت باحثةً أنَّها أنقذت ناساً في الإبادة الجماعية التي وقعت سنة 1994، فأخبرتنا اللاجئة بما نشأ من خَطَرٍ وقلقٍ إذ نشرت الباحثة قصَّتها باسمها وصورتها.

ومن أجل إنشاء الثقة وإثبات الطبيعة التطوعية والمعرفية لمشاركة المُسْتَطْلَعِينَ، قدَّمت بين يدي اللاجئين استمارات للموافقة عن علمٍ وبيَّنت لهم أنَّ غاية دراستي أكاديمية. غير أنَّه في مناقشة من المناقشات الجماعية قال أحد المشاركين:

"نعلم أنَّكِ تريدين قصصنا لتنقليها إلى ... الحكومة الرواندية والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين حتَّى [يُخرِجُونا من أوغندا] قسراً، لا بدَّ أنَّهم مُرسِلُوكِ وأنت هنا تخدعيننا بقولكِ إن غاية بحثك أكاديمية."

صنَّفوني أداةً بِيَدِ أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين الذين كانوا قد دبَّروا لإعادتهم قسراً. غير أنني أعدت ذكر غايتي، وأظهرت لهم بطاقتي الهويَّة اللتان لي: الطالبية والجامعية. وقد ساعدتني هذه المعلومات المُضافَة على إنشاء شيءٍ من الثقة، فوقَّعوا في آخر الأمر في استمارات الموافقة. ولكنْ بعد أن كسبت بعض الثقة طَفِقَ لاجئٌ يَسْألُ:

قْلتِ لنا إنَّ غاية دراستكِ أكاديمية. فكيف يعيننا هذا؟ إنَّا مرغوبٌ عنَّا في أوغندا. ولكنْ لا نريد العودة إلى رواندا. فكيف يفيدنا بحثكِ؟"

فبيَّنتُ أنَّ البحث سيخرج بتوصيات للسياسة العامة بغية التأثير في السياسة العامة لكي تعالج مسألة الإعادة القسرية إلى الوطن، وكان الظاهر أنَّ هذا التِّبْيَانَ لم يُرْضِهِم البتَّة.

وكان اللاجئون مهتمِّين بالوعود التي وعدهم الباحثون بها. وقالوا إنَّ بعض الباحثين يعدونهم بإرسال تعقيبات ودعوات إلى المؤتمرات، وبعضهم يعدهم بمِنَحٍ دراسيةٍ لأطفالهم، وغيرهم يعدهم بأنَّ البحث سيُوجِدُ حلاً لمشكلات اللاجئين. "لم أعد أصدِّقهم لأنَّهم يختفون فور حصولهم على قِصَصِنا. فإذا تتبَّعتهم واتصلت بهم بالهاتف فلا يجيبون،" هذا ما قاله أحد المُسْتَطْلَعينَ.

وكان المُستَطْلَعُون مهتمِّين أيضاً بتأثير الأسئلة الدائرة حول إحجامهم عن العودة إلى رواندا، بقولهم إنَّ من الأسئلة ما ذكَّرهم بما عانوه من قبلُ وبما كان فيهم من ضرر نفساني. فقال أحد المُستجيبِينَ:ذكَّرتني بعض الأسئلة بالكيفية التي قُتِلَتْ بها زوجتي وأطفالي في رواندا. إنها أسئلةٌ تعيد إلى ذاكرتي ذكرياتٍ فظيعةٍ. حتَّى إنَّ الباحثين، مع كل ذلك، لا يكلِّفون أنفسهم متابعةَ أحوالنا ليعلموا أعَادَت إلينا العافية بعد الضرر النفساني الذي أوقعوه فينا بمقابلاتهم أم لا؟فينبغي للباحثين في حالاتٍ كهذه أنْ يديموا البحث عن طرق إفادةٍ فوريةٍ - كالنُّصْحِ والتَّحفيزِ- وأن يعقِّبوا على ما كان، بدل أنْ ينشروا الوعود ويقولوا إنها ستُنْجَزُ بعد البحث، فجائزٌ ألَّا تُنجزُ هذه الوعود أصلاً فإلى أنْ تخرج نتائج البحث ربَّما تكون الجماعات قد انتقلت.

هل انتفعوا؟ بعد أنْ نِلتُ درجة الدكتوراه، عُدْتُ إلى ناكيڨالي في سنة 2015 زائرةً لأجتمع بمُسْتَجِيبي بحثي مرةً أخرى واستعلم أحدث أخبار إعادة اللاجئين إلى وطنهم وبند وقف الحماية. وعلى الرغم من أنَّ بعض الناس قد خرجوا من المخيِّم واندمجوا في المجتمعات الأوغندية المحلية (خوفاً من بند وقف الحماية) استطعت أنْ أجتمع بأكثر المستجيبين.

وللاجئين اليومَ رأيٌ مختلفٌ في أمر البحوث. فقالوا إنَّ البحوث هي السبب في بقائهم بأوغندا غير مُخرَجِينَ منها قسراً. ورَوَوْا عدداً من أجزاء البحوث التي نُشِرَت محلياً ودولياً، وأشاروا إلى منشورات نشرها مشروع قانون اللاجئين ومشروع باربارا هاريل-بوند الذي اسمه فاهامو (Fahamu) ومنظمات أكاديمية وعدد من المنظمات غير الحكومية، كل هؤلاء جاهدوا في مناصرة حقِّ اللاجئين الروانديين أنْ لا يعادوا قسراً. ثم تحدَّثوا أيضاً عن بعض اللاجئين الذين كانوا يكتبون بجدٍّ في مشكلة اللاجئين الروانديين وما وراءَ إحجامهم عن العودة. وإذ قد كانوا يرون في الأمس أمر البحث كله أمراً مُفرَطاً فيه ما حلَّ شيئاً من مشكلاتهم، فهم اليومَ يقولون إَّنه لولا الباحثون وغيرهم من المناصرين لما أُسقِطَ سنة 2013 بند وقف الحماية. ونظراً إلى التغيُّر في وجهة النظر إلى المساهمة الكامنة في البحوث، فلعلَّ من المفيد أنْ يوسِّع مديرو المخيَّم مداركَ اللاجئين في علوِّ شأن البحث.

إكْلِيئوفاس كاروما ckarooma@must.ac.ug

مُحاضِرةٌ رئيسةٌ ونائبة عميد كلية الدراسات المتعددة التخصصات بجامعة جامعة مبارارا للعِلْمِ والتِّقانة بأوغندا www.must.ac.ug

 

[1] Karooma C (2017) Rwandan Refugees in Southwestern Uganda: Their Attitudes and Responses to Repatriation 1994-2012. The Edwin Mellen Press. Lewiston, New York

 (اللاجئون الروانديُّون في جنوبيِّ غربيِّ أوغنديا: مواقفهم واستجاباتهم للعودة إلى الوطن 1994-2012)

تودُّ الكاتبة هاهنا أنْ تُعرِبَ عن عرفانها جميلَ باربارا هاريل-بوند في الإدارة والإرشاد طوال مدة دراسات الكاتبة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه.

[2] Harrell-Bond B E (2011) ‘Cessation Clause Uganda Style’, Working Paper 11-001, Northwestern University Center for Forced Migration Studies (بند وقف الحماية على الطِّراز الأوغاندي)

https://buffett.northwestern.edu/documents/working-papers/CFMS_11-001_Harrell-Bond.pdf

[3] Krause U (2017) ‘Researching forced migration: critical reflections on research ethics during fieldwork’, Working Paper No 123, Refugee Studies Centre

 (البحث في الهجرة القسرية: تأمُّلات نقدية في أخلاقيَّات البحث في أثناء العمل الميداني) www.rsc.ox.ac.uk/publications/researching-forced-migration-critical-reflections-on-research-ethics-during-fieldwork

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Research fatigue among Rwandan refugees in Uganda

Refugees in Nakivale refugee settlement demonstrate research fatigue, yet a return visit by one particular researcher reveals an interesting twist to the tale.

During my doctoral research[1] in 2009–13 with Rwandan refugees in Nakivale, one of Uganda’s oldest refugee settlements, I noted many expressions of research fatigue during interviews. Complaints about over-research tend to arise from a combination of the sheer repetition, frequency and often redundancy of research in the camp, as well as a sense that research fails to bring any tangible or substantive change or benefit to the residents being studied. In some cases, research may be seen as part of a system of surveillance and control. In other cases, research may be seen as benefiting the lives and careers of researchers while leaving the lives of those being researched – the refugees – unimproved in any significant way, regardless of their contributions of  information, time, energy and resources.

Between 2009 and 2013, the repatriation of Rwandan refugees (and the invocation of the Cessation Clause) attracted much attention from both local and international researchers. During data collection in 2011, a refugee woman leader angrily said:

“We are tired of researchers coming to record our stories amidst all the problems we are encountering – forced repatriations, sleeping in the bush for fear of being rounded up at night and taken to Rwanda, reduction of our food rations, prohibition from accessing land and social services. Nobody cares. You just get our stories and videos of how we are suffering and [you] disappear.”

Another refugee asked, “Will your research feed my family?” A participant in a group discussion also noted, “We think that researchers take pride in our increasing problems in order to research more. …We are still facing the same problems despite the number of researchers we have met.”

Due to uncertainty and fear of being forced to return, most refugees were unwilling to trust anyone with their information. The interviewees believed that UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, had conspired with the governments of Uganda and Rwanda to force refugees back to Rwanda.[2] In addition, refugees may not be able to anticipate the consequences of their contribution to research projects; this uncertainty can frighten them and eventually thwart their participation.[3] In one case, a refugee woman who had told a researcher that she had saved people during the 1994 genocide told us of the insecurity and worry created when the researcher published her story with her name and photo.

In order to build trust and prove the voluntary and informed nature of interviewees’ participation, I presented my informed consent forms and explained to the refugees that my study was for academic purposes. In one focus group discussion, however, a male participant said:

“We know you want our stories to take them to … the Rwandan government and UNHCR in order to chase us [out of Uganda]; you must be sent by them and you are here deceiving us that your research is for academic purposes.”

They labelled me an agent of the stakeholders that had planned their forcible return. However, I re-stated my purpose, showing my student/university identity cards. This additional information helped to build some trust and they eventually signed the consent forms. Having won some trust, however, another refugee man asked:

“You said your study is for academic purposes. How is it going to help us? We are unwanted in Uganda. But we don’t want to return to Rwanda. How will your research benefit us?”

I explained that the research would come up with policy recommendations to influence policy in order to address the question of forcible repatriation – an explanation which sounded less than satisfactory to them.

The refugees were concerned about the promises made to them by researchers. They said that some researchers promise feedback and invitations to conferences; some promise scholarships for the refugees’ children; others promise that the research will solve the refugees’ problems. “I don’t believe them anymore because they disappear as soon as they get our stories. When you follow up with a telephone call, they do not answer,” said one interviewee.

Interviewees were also concerned about the impact of questions about their reluctance to return to Rwanda, pointing out that some questions reminded them of previous experiences or traumas. As one respondent said, “Some questions remind me about how my wife and children were killed in Rwanda. They bring back such horrible memories. And yet the researchers do not even follow up to find out whether we have recovered from the trauma they bring to us through their interviews.” In such cases researchers should always look for ways to give immediate benefits – such as counselling and incentives – and feedback, rather than promising post-research dissemination, which may not even be possible as communities might have moved on by the time any research results emerge.

Did they benefit?

After completion of my PhD, I made a return visit to Nakivale in 2015 to meet my respondents again and to get updates regarding repatriation and Cessation Clause processes. Although some people had already moved out of the camp and integrated into local Ugandan communities (for fear of the Cessation Clause) I was able to meet most of my respondents.

Now the refugees had a different view about research. They said it was because of research that they had not been chased out of Uganda. They recounted several pieces of research that had been published both locally and internationally, pointing to publications by the Refugee Law Project, Barbara Harrell-Bond’s Fahamu project, other academics and several non-governmental organisations which fought for Rwandan refugees’ right not to be returned forcibly. They also talked about some refugees who were actively writing about the Rwandan refugee problem and their reasons for not returning. Whereas previously they had dismissed the whole process as over-research which did not solve their problems, they now said that it was due to the researchers and other advocates that the Cessation Clause was not invoked in 2013. Given this change of attitude about the potential contribution of research, it would perhaps be helpful if camp administrators could raise wider awareness among refugees about the importance of research.

 

Cleophas Karooma ckarooma@must.ac.ug
Senior Lecturer and Deputy Dean, Faculty of Interdisciplinary Studies, Mbarara University of Science and Technology, Uganda www.must.ac.ug

 

[1] Karooma C (2017) Rwandan Refugees in Southwestern Uganda: Their Attitudes and Responses to Repatriation 1994-2012. The Edwin Mellen Press. Lewiston, New York. The author would like to express her gratitude for Barbara Harrell-Bond’s supervision and mentorship during the author’s doctoral studies.

[2] Harrell-Bond B E (2011) ‘Cessation Clause Uganda Style’, Working Paper 11-001, Northwestern University Center for Forced Migration Studies
https://buffett.northwestern.edu/documents/working-papers/CFMS_11-001_Harrell-Bond.pdf

[3] Krause U (2017) ‘Researching forced migration: critical reflections on research ethics during fieldwork’,  Working Paper No 123, Refugee Studies Centre www.rsc.ox.ac.uk/publications/researching-forced-migration-critical-reflections-on-research-ethics-during-fieldwork

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview