التِّقاناتُ الجديدة في الهجرة: آثارها في حقوق الإنسان

تحرص الدول على استكشاف استخدام التقانات الجديدة في إدارة الهجرة، غير أنَّ مزيداً من آليات الرقابة والمساءلة ضروريٌّ لحِفْظِ الحقوق الأساسية.

يشهد قطاع إدارة الهجرة تزايداً في استخدام التقانات الجديدة بدءاً بتطبيقات البيانات الكبيرة حول التحركات السكانية في منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط وانتهاءً بأتمتة عملية اتخاذ القرار للبت في طلبات الهجرة واللجوء واستخدام الذكاء الاصطناعي في كشف الكذب على الحدود الأوروبية. وتمثل الطريقة التي تُستَخدَم بها التقانة عدسة مفيدة يمكن من خلالها إظهار ممارسات الدول وتثير التساؤلات حول الديموقراطية والسلطة والمساءلة. ويُسوِّغ استِخدامَ التقانات الجديدة وجميع البينات الحاجة لتعقب المهاجرين والكشف عنهم تحت ذريعة حماية الأمن الوطني بل ربما تحت شعار العمل الإنساني والإنمائي. إلاَّ أنَّ التقانة لا تضمن بالضرورة تطبيق الديمقراطية، ولا بد من أن تأخذ في الاعتبار آثارها المحتملة في حقوق الإنسان في سياقات العمل الإنساني والهجرة القسرية.

العمل الإنساني المُوَجَّه بالبيانات
الذكاء الاصطناعي وتعلم الآلة ونظم أتمتة عملية اتخاذ القرارات والتحليل التنبؤي ما هي إلا مصطلحات يتداخل بعضها ببعض إذ تشير إلى فئة من التقانات التي توسع من قدرة البشر على اتخاذ القرارات أو قد تحل محل الإنسان في اتخاذها، إذ تعمل هذه المنظومات على معالجة المعلومات بشكل البيانات المدخلة باستخدام خوارزمية تُولِّد المخرجات. ويمكن تصور الخوارزمية بشكلها البسيط بأنَّها مجموعة من التعليمات كما لو كانت وصفة يمكن تعلمها. وتتنوع البيانات التي تستخدمها الخوارزمية في التعلم الآلي ويمكن أن تمثل قانوناً عرفياً من الحالات السابقة أو يمكن أن تُصنَّف مُسبَقاً بناءً على المعايير التي يضعها المصمم. ويمكن استخدام تلك التقانات بطرق متنوعة في عدد متنوع من جوانب إدارة الهجرة’.

فتقانات اتخاذ القرارات المؤتمتة تتطلب كميات هائلة من البيانات لتعليم الآلة ومثال ذلك أنَّ مختلف مشروعات الأمم المتحدة تعتمد منذ مدة على مجموعات كبيرة جداً من البيانات للتنبؤ بالتحركات السكانية، وهكذا تقدم خدمة كبيرة في تعزيز كفاءة تقديم المساعدات الإنسانية. لكنَّ جميع البيانات لا تخلو من الاعتبارات السياسية خاصة عندما تعمد الجهات الفاعلة القوية مثل الدول والمنظمات الدولية إلى جميع المعلومات حل الأشخاص المستضعفين دون استخدام منهجيات منظمة للرقابة والمساءلة. فالحماس المتزايد في جمع البيانات حول السكان المهاجرين فيما يطلق عليه تسمية الاستعمار البياني قد يؤدي إلى خروقات في الخصوصية وقد يثير مخاوف ترتبط بحقوق الإنسان. وكذلك جمع البيانات المتعلقة بالمجموعات المهمَّشة فهي تتَّبع في صلبها المنهج التاريخي. وقد اعتمد النظام النازي من قبل على كميات كبيرة من البيانات الخاصة بالسكان اليهود جمعها النظام بمساعدة شركة آي بي إم (IBM)، وبالمثل في إبَّان حملة التطهير العرقي في رواندا، لوحق أفراد قبيلة التوتسي بطريقة ممنهجة من خلال تعقب السجلات العرقية. أما الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، فقد جمعت بعد هجمات الحادي عشر من سبتمبر/أيلول كميات هائلة من بيانات الأفراد المشتبه بهم من خلال منظومة تسجيل القادمين والمغادرين الوطنية التي تتبع وزارة أمن الوطن. وفي المشهد العالمي الذي يتَّسم بتزايد في معاداة المهاجرين، أسيء تفسير بيانات الهجرة وأسيء تمثيلها أيضاً لتحقيق أهداف سياسية، منها، على سبيل المثال، التأثير في توزيع أموال المساعدات ومصادرها وللمساعدة في تمتين السياسات المناهضة للهجرة.

الموافقة المدروسة والقطاع الخاص
يثير استخدام التقانات الجديدة مسائل ترتبط بالموافقة المدروسة خاصةً على ضوء تزايد الاعتماد على البيانات البيومترية. ففي الأردن، على سبيل المثال، تطبق السلطات عملية المسح الرقمي لقزحية عيني اللاجئ (بصمة العين) ليتمكن من الحصول من خلالها على الحصص الغذائية الأسبوعية. لكنَّ السؤال القائم هو ما إذا كان من حق اللاجئين طلب إزالة بياناتهم الشخصية المتحصل عليها بتلك الطريقة. فقد وجدت شبكة آيرين (التي أصبح اسمها الآن الإنساني الجديد) في مخيم الأزرق للاجئين أنَّ معظم اللاجئين الذين قابلتهم أبدوا عدم ارتياحهم من هذه التجارب التقنية لكنَّهم شعروا أنَّهم غير قادرين على رفض ذلك ما دام أمر طعامهم معتمداً عليها.[1] ولا يمكن القول إنَّ اللاجئ أعطى موافقته بمحض إرادته إذا ما أعطاها تحت الإكراه مهما تخفَّت الظروف الإكراهية تحت قناع الكفاءة في تقديم الخدمات وتحسينها.

ومن أهم المخاوف على وجه الخصوص تنامي دور القطاع الخاص في عملية جميع تلك البيانات واستخدامها وتخزينها. فقد وقَّع برنامج الأغذية العالمي، على سبيل المثال، مؤخراً عقداً بقيمة 45 مليون دولار أمريكي مع شركة بالانتير تيكنولوجيز، وهي شركة خاصة واجهت انتقادات واسعة النطاق على خلفية تقديمها للتقانة التي تدعم برامج الاحتجاز والترحيل التي توظفها دائرتي الهجرة والإنفاذ الجمركي في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. فماذا سيحدث لبيانات تخص 92 مليون مستفيد من المساعدات إذا ما أودعت لدى الشركة المذكورة؟ ولم يتضح بعد ما إذا كان بمقدور أصحاب البيانات رفض التشارك ببياناتهم، وليس من الواضح بعد ما إذا كان هناك نموذج سيتاح للجمهور العام بشأن تفعيل المساءلة والشفافية في التشارك بالبيانات.

أتمتة الهجرة
في تقرير شاركت بإعداده في عام 2018، استكشفت الآثار المترتبة لأتمتة عملية اتخاذ قرارات الهجرة في كندا،[2] وهي من الممارسات التي بدأت بتجربتها دول أخرى تستقبل أعداداً كبيرة من المهاجرين. ويستطلع التقرير العمليات التي تتمخض عن مختبر لأداء تجارب مرتفعة الخطورة ضمن منظومة معتمة تخضع للتقدير الشخصي. وبلغ تطبيق هذه التجارب أوجها في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. فعلى سبيل المثال، إثر صدور أوامر إدارة ترامب التنفيذية بشأن الهجرة، استخدمت سلطة إنفاذ الجمارك والهجرة خوارزمية على الحدود الأمريكية المكسيكية فسوَّغت بذلك احتجاز المهاجرين في كل حالة.[3]

كما وُثِّقَت حالات كثيرة من التحيز في اتخاذ القرارات المؤتمة خاصة فيما يتعلق بالعرق والجندر. فعندما تعتمد الخوارزميات على بيانات متحيزة، فإنَّها لا تُنتِج سوى نتائج متحيزة يستمر أثرها على المدى البعيد إذا ضُمِّنَت في التقانات الناشئة التي تخضع حالياً للتجربة في مجال الهجرة. ومثال ذلك ما يحدث في مطارات المجر ولاتفيا واليونان حيث رادت شركة اسمها آيبوردر كونترول (iBorderCtrl) مشروعاً تجريبياً جديداً أدخَل في نقاط التفتيش الحدودية جهازاً لكشف الكذب يعمل على الذكاء الاصطناعي.[4] ويعمل ذلك الجهاز على رصد علامات الكذب على وجه المسافر الذي إذا أصبح في دائرة الشبهةفي الجهاز فسوف يعطي الجهاز إشارة بتحويل ذلك الشخص إلى مرحلة الفحص المتقدم على يد موظف بشري. ومع أنَّ ذلك الإجراء قد لا يبدو بأنَّه ينطوي على أثر ضار، فهل بمقدور منظومة اتخاذ القرارات الانتباه إلى الصدمة النفسية وآثارها في ذاكرة طالب اللجوء، أو هل تقدر على الانتباه إلى الاختلافات الثقافية في التواصل؟ إضافة إلى ذلك، ما زالت تقانات التعرف على الوجه تواجه مصاعب في تحليل النساء والأشخاص ذوي البشرة المائلة للسمرة. كما أنَّ هذه الاستخدامات التجريبية للذكاء الاصطناعي تثير مجدداً مخاوفَ حول الخصوصية والتشارك بالمعلومات دون موافقة أصحابها.

سؤال آخر نطرحه هنا: ما الذي يحدث إذا وقعت الخوارزمية بالخطأ؟ ففي مايو/أيار 2018، على سبيل المثال، تسببت خوارزمية في وقوع منظومة الهجرة في خطأ ترحيل سبعة آلاف لاجئ من المملكة المتحدة بعد أن حكمت الخوارزمية عليهم بأنَّهم كانوا يغشون في اختبار الاكتساب اللغوي على ضوء تحليل الملفات الصوتية لهم.[5] وهب أنَّك أردت أن تعترض على قرار الخوارزمية كما حدث في المثال السابق في محكمة القانون، فعلى من ستقع المسؤولية المدنية: هل تقع على مصمم الخوارزمية أم مُرمِّزها أم ضابط الهجرة أم الخوارزمية نفسها؟ ثم إنَّ اتخاذ القرار للبت في أمر الهجرة أو اللجوء يشغل بالفعل مساحة قانونياً صعبة، إذ غالباً ما يكون عظيم الأثر في حقوق الأفراد ومصالحهم. ومع ذلك، نجد أنَّ المسؤول عن اتخاذ مثل تلك القرارات يحظى بقدر كبير من الاعتبار عدا عن أنَّ الضعف يعتري الضمانات الإجرائية. وليس من الواضح كيفية تأثير كامل المنظومة الجديدة لاتخاذ القرارات في آليات إعادة الاعتبار. ومن ناحية المحاكم، هناك أيضاً غموض خطير بشأن الطريقة التي سوف تفسر بها المحكمة القرارات التي تتخذها الخوارزمية والمبادئ القانونية الإدارية واجبة التطبيق مثل العدالة الإجرائية والحق في الحصول على قرار نزيه غير متحيز.

آليات المسائلة والرقابة
يغيب عن المشهد العالمي أي إطار تنظيمي يراقب استخدام التقانات الجديدة في إدارة الهجرة. إلاَّ أنَّ كثيراً من التطورات التِّقانيَّة ترد نصوص بشأنها في قوانين الملكية الفكرية وحقوق الملكية التي تمنع الاطلاع العام على مجموعات البيانات وتعيق تحقيق فهم كامل للتقانة. ومع أنَّ هناك حوارات تدور حول أخلاقيات استخدام البيانات والتقانة، ورغم أنَّ هناك إستراتيجيات عالمية وآليات إقليمية ما زالت قيد الاستكشاف، لا بد لنا من وضع تركيز أدق على آليات الرقابة. أمَّا القطاع الخاص، فتقع عليه المسؤولية بالفعل في ضمان عدم انتهاك التقانات التي يطورها لحقوق الإنسان الدولية. وكذلك تقع على عاتق أصحاب التقانات والمطورين والمهندسين المسؤولية عن بناء هذه التقانة التزامات أخلاقية خاصة تلزمهم بالتأكد من أنَّ ما يعملوه لن يُسهِّل انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. إلاَّ أنَّ نمو الرقابة الحكومية وإنفاذ قوانين الهجرة وبرامج أمن الحدود قد يُمثِّل حافزاً ونوعاً من المكافأة التي تشجع القطاع الصناعي في تطوير تقانات تنتهك حقوق الإنسان.

ولذلك، لا بد للدول من أن تعلن التزامها بوضع آليات للرقابة وتطبيقها. وبهذا الصدد، يقدم تقريرنا حول اتخاذ القرارات المؤتمتة في كندا جملة من التوصيات ويقدمها للدول وغيرها من الجهات الفاعلة في إدارة الهجرة ويمكن تطبيق تلك التوصيات في أي مكان في العالم وهي كما يلي:

  • الالتزام بالشفافية والإفصاح للجمهور العام عن التقانات التي في قيد التطوير والتقانات المستخدمة
  • تبني أوامر توجيهية وقوانين ملزمة تمتثل لالتزامات حقوق الإنسان المحمية دولياً
  • تأسيس هيئة مستقلة تراقب جميع استخدامات التقانات المؤتمتة في إدارة الهجرة ومراجعتها
  • تعزيز الحوارات الدائرة بين صانعي السياسات والباحثين الأكاديميين وأصحاب التقانات والمجتمع المدني حول مخاطر استخدام التقانات الجديدة ووعودها

ولا بد لهذه الحوارات أيضاً من أن تعالج مسألة عدم إشراك المجتمعات المتأثرة. فبدلاً من تطوير تقانات إضافية من أجلاللاجئين والمهاجرين أو حولهموبدلاً من جمع الكميات الهائلة من البيانات، ينبغي وضع الأشخاص الذين واجهوا تجارب التَّهجير في قلب النقاشات المرتبطة بمتى وكيف ينبغي دمج التقانات الناشئة في مخيمات اللاجئين وفي جلسات السماع الخاصة بأمن الحدود أو اللاجئين، إذا كان لا بد من تطوير تلك التقانات أصلاً.

بِترا مُولنَار petra.molnar@utoronto.ca

محامية في برنامج القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان، كلية الحقوق بجامعة تورونتو

https://ihrp.law.utoronto.ca

أسَاسُ هذه المقالة بحثٌ تجريه الكاتبة اليومَ في جامعة كمبريدج.

 

[1] Staton B (2016) ‘Eye spy: biometric aid system trials in Jordan

 (العين الجاسوسة: تجارب نظام المساعدات البيومتري في الأردن)

www.irinnews.org/analysis/2016/05/18/eye-spy-biometric-aid-system-trials-jordan

[2] Molnar P and Gill L (2018) Bots at the Gate: A Human Rights Analysis of Automated Decision Making in Canada’s Immigration and Refugee System

 (الرُوبوتات عند البوَّابة: تحليلٌ قائم على حقوق الإنسان في اتِّخاذِ القرارات المؤتمتة في نظام الهجرة واللاجئين بكندا) https://ihrp.law.utoronto.ca/sites/default/files/media/IHRP-Automated-Systems-Report-Web.pdf  

[3] Oberhaus D (2018) ‘ICE Modified Its “Risk Assessment” Software So It Automatically Recommends Detention

(عدَّلت سلطة إنفاذ الجمارك والهجرة برمجيَّتها في "تقييم احتمال الخطر" لتوصي بالاحتجاز تلقائياً)

https://motherboard.vice.com/en_us/article/evk3kw/ice-modified-its-risk-assessment-software-so-it-automatically-recommends-detention

[4] Picheta R (2018) ‘Passengers to face AI lie detector tests at EU airports

(سيواجه المسافر في مطارات الاتحاد الأوروبي اختبارات من جهاز لكشف الكذب يُشغِّله الذكاء الاصطناعي) https://edition.cnn.com/travel/article/ai-lie-detector-eu-airports-scli-intl/index.html

[5] Baynes C ‘Government “deported 7,000 foreign students after falsely accusing them of cheating in English language tests”’, The Independent, 2 May 2018

 (رحَّلت الحكومة سبعة آلاف لاجئٍ بعد اتهامهم من غير وجه حقٍّ بالغشِّ في اختبار اللغة الإنجليزية) https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/home-office-mistakenly-deported-thousands-foreign-students-cheating-language-tests-theresa- may-a8331906.html

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

New technologies in migration: human rights impacts

States are keen to explore the use of new technologies in migration management, yet greater oversight and accountability mechanisms are needed in order to safeguard fundamental rights.

Experiments with new technologies in migration management are increasing: from big data predictions about population movements in the Mediterranean, to the use of automated decision making in immigration and refugee applications, to artificial intelligence (AI) lie detectors deployed at European borders. The way that technology is used is a useful lens through which to highlight State practices and raise questions about democracy, power and accountability. Making migrants more trackable and detectable justifies the use of more technology and data collection in the name of national security, or even under the banner of humanitarianism and development. Yet technology is not inherently democratic and its human rights impacts are particularly important to consider in humanitarian and forced migration contexts.

Data-driven humanitarianism

AI, machine learning, automated decision-making systems and predictive analytics are overlapping terms referring to a class of technologies that augment or replace human decision-makers. These systems process information in the form of input data, using an algorithm to generate an output. In its most basic form, an algorithm can be thought of as a set of instructions, like a recipe that learns. The data that are used by the algorithm to learn are varied and can be a body of case law, a collection of photographs or a database of statistics, some or all of which have been pre-categorised based on the designer’s criteria. Such technologies can be used in various ways in different facets of ‘migration management’.

Automated decision-making technologies require vast amounts of data from which they learn.For example, various UN projects have been relying on extremely large data sets – ‘big data’ – to predict population movements during and after conflicts and to make the delivery of humanitarian aid more efficient. However, data collection is not an apolitical exercise, particularly when powerful actors such as States or international organisations collect information on vulnerable people without regulated methods of oversight and accountability. The increasingly fervent collection of data on migrant populations – so-called data colonialism – can also result in privacy breaches and raise human rights concerns. Data collection on marginalised groups is also deeply historical. The Nazi regime relied on vast amounts of data on Jewish populations collected with the help of IBM; during the Rwandan genocide Tutsis were systematically tracked in ethnicity registries; and the US after the 9/11 attacks has collected vast amounts of data on individuals under suspicion through the Department of Homeland Security’s National Security Entry-Exit Registration System. In an increasingly anti-immigrant global landscape, migration data have also been misinterpreted and misrepresented for political ends, for example to affect the distribution of aid funds and resources and to help advance anti-immigration policies.

Informed consent and the private sector

The use of new technologies raises issues of free and informed consent, particularly in the increasing instances of reliance on biometric data. For example, in Jordan, refugees now have their irises scanned in order to receive their weekly food rations. But are they able to opt out from having their data collected and retained? An investigation by IRIN News (now The New Humanitarian) in Azraq refugee camp found that most refugees interviewed were uncomfortable with such technological experiments but felt that they could not refuse if they wanted to eat.[1] Consent is not necessarily freely given if it is given under coercion, even if the coercive circumstances masquerade as efficiency and better service delivery.

Of particular concern is the growing role of the private sector in the collection, use and storage of these data. For example, the World Food Programme recently signed a US$45 million deal with Palantir Technologies, a private company that has been widely criticised for providing the technology that supports the detention and deportation programmes run by US Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). What will happen with the data of 92 million aid recipients when shared with Palantir? It is not yet clear whether data subjects will be able to refuse to have their data shared or whether there will be a model for accountability and transparency for data sharing made available to the public.

Automating immigration

A 2018 report I co-authored explored the impacts of automated immigration decision making in Canada,[2] a practice with which other States that receive large numbers of immigrants are also experimenting. The report looks at how these processes create a laboratory for high-risk experiments within an already highly discretionary and opaque system. In the US, these experiments are already in full force. For example, in the wake of the Trump administration’s executive orders on migration, ICE used an algorithm at the US–Mexico border which justified detention of migrants in every single case.[3]  

Instances of bias in automated decision making, particularly regarding race and gender, are also widely documented. When algorithms rely on biased data they produce biased results. These biases have far-reaching results if they are embedded in the emerging technologies being used experimentally in migration. For example, in airports in Hungary, Latvia and Greece, a new pilot project spearheaded by a company called iBorderCtrl has introduced an AI-powered lie detector at border checkpoints.[4] Passengers’ faces will be monitored for signs of lying, and if the system becomes more ‘sceptical’ of a person through analysing a series of increasingly complicated questions, it will select them for further screening by a human officer. While this use might seem innocuous, can an automated decision-making system account for trauma and its effects on an asylum seeker’s memory, or for cultural differences in communication? Furthermore, facial recognition technologies continue to struggle when analysing women and people with darker skin tones. These experimental uses of AI also, again, raise concerns about privacy and information sharing without people’s consent.  

What happens when an algorithm like this makes a mistake? For example, in May 2018, an algorithm led to the wrongful deportation of over 7,000 foreign students from the UK after concluding they had cheated on a language acquisition test after analysing sound files.[5] If you want to challenge an algorithmic decision like this in a court of law, is it the designer, the coder, the immigration officer or the algorithm itself who is liable? Much immigration and refugee decision making already occupies a difficult legal space. The impact on the rights and interests of individuals is often very significant, but great deference is given to the immigration decision-maker and the procedural safeguards are weak. It is unclear how a whole new system of decision making will affect mechanisms of redress. There is also a serious lack of clarity surrounding how courts will interpret algorithmic decision making and relevant administrative law principles such as procedural fairness and the right to an impartial decision-maker.

Mechanisms for accountability and oversight

No global regulatory framework yet exists to oversee the use of new technologies in the management of migration. In much technological development, intellectual property laws and proprietary considerations prevent public access to data sets and impede full understanding of the technology. Although conversations around the ethics of data and technology use are taking place, and broad global strategies and regional mechanisms are being explored, we need a sharper focus on mechanisms for oversight. Private sector actors already have an independent responsibility to ensure that the technologies they develop do not violate international human rights. Technologists, developers and engineers responsible for building this technology also have existing special ethical obligations to ensure that their work does not facilitate human rights violations. Unfortunately, the growth of government surveillance, immigration enforcement and border security programmes can incentivise and reward industry for developing rights-infringing technologies.

States must also commit to creating and enforcing such oversight mechanisms. Our report on automated decision making in Canada makes several recommendations for States and other actors in migration management with global applicability:

  • commit to transparency and report publicly what technology is being developed and used
  • adopt binding directives and laws that comply with internationally protected human rights obligations
  • establish an independent body to oversee and review all use of automated technologies in migration management
  • foster conversations between policymakers, academics, technologists and civil society on the risks and promises of using new technologies.

 

These emerging conversations must also address the lack of involvement of affected communities. Rather than more technology ‘for’ or ‘about’ refugees and migrants being developed and vast amounts of data being collected, people who have themselves experienced displacement should be at the centre of discussions around when and how emerging technologies should be integrated into refugee camps, border security or refugee hearings – if at all.

 

Petra Molnar petra.molnar@utoronto.ca

Lawyer, International Human Rights Program, University of Toronto Faculty of Law

https://ihrp.law.utoronto.ca

This article is based on the author’s current research at the University of Cambridge.

 

[1] Staton B (2016) ‘Eye spy: biometric aid system trials in Jordan’ www.irinnews.org/analysis/2016/05/18/eye-spy-biometric-aid-system-trials-jordan

[2] Molnar P and Gill L (2018) Bots at the Gate: A Human Rights Analysis of Automated Decision Making in Canada’s Immigration and Refugee System https://ihrp.law.utoronto.ca/sites/default/files/media/IHRP-Automated-Systems-Report-Web.pdf  

[3] Oberhaus D (2018) ‘ICE Modified Its “Risk Assessment” Software So It Automatically Recommends Detention’ https://motherboard.vice.com/en_us/article/evk3kw/ice-modified-its-risk-assessment-software-so-it-automatically-recommends-detention

[4] Picheta R (2018) ‘Passengers to face AI lie detector tests at EU airports’ https://edition.cnn.com/travel/article/ai-lie-detector-eu-airports-scli-intl/index.html

[5] Baynes C ‘Government “deported 7,000 foreign students after falsely accusing them of cheating in English language tests”’, The Independent, 2 May 2018 https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/home-office-mistakenly-deported-thousands-foreign-students-cheating-language-tests-theresa- may-a8331906.html 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview