اللاجئون اللذين ’أُفرِطَ البحث فيهم‘ واللذين ’لم يُبْحَث فيهم بما يكفي‘

ينشأ عدد من المسائل الأخلاقية في أثناء العمل مع مجموعات اللاجئين اللذين أُفرِطَ البحث فيهمواللذين لم يُبْحَث فيهم بما يكفي.

أعمل منذ عام 2012 في مركز دراسات اللاجئين في جامعة أكسفورد في جمع البيانات حول الحياة الاقتصادية للاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة في بلدان ضمَّت كينيا وأوغندا وإثيوبيا. وبنيت هذه المقالة أساساً على انطباعاتنا من هذا البحث ومن سِنِي تفاعلي مع مختلف مجموعات اللاجئين في المخيمات والمناطق الحضرية.

المجموعات التي أُفرِط البحث فيها

من الواضح أنَّ بعض فئات اللاجئين تخضع مراراً وتكراراً للبحثعلى أيدي الأكاديميين ومنظمات المساعدات والطلاب ولدرجة ما الصحفيين. إلاَّ أنَّ غياب المنافع الملموسة من مشاركة اللاجئين في تلك الدراسات تجعلهم بعد أن خضعوا لأعداد مفرطة من البحوث يفقدون الثقة فيها بل يقررون في بعض الحالات الإحجام عن المشاركة في دراسات جديدة.

وفي عملي، لاحظت تزايد التعبير عن ارتفاع درجة الضعف العام للبحوث لبعض المجموعات خاصَّةً في مخيم كاكوما للاجئين في كينيا. وبين عامي 2016 و2017، أجريت بحثاً واسع النطاق في ذلك المخيم. وكالعادة، نظَّمتُ اجتماعات مع أفراد من الكيانات الممثلة للاجئين في المخيم لأعرفهم بنفسي وببحثي ولطلب تعاونهم ومشاركتهم. وفي أحد الاجتماعات، شرحت للمشاركين نطاق الدراسة وأوضحت لهم أنَّ البحث لا يشتمل على منح تعويض مالي للمشاركين في البحث، فتساءل بعضهم عن الفائدة التي سيجنوها من بحثنا إذا لم يكن هناك تعويض مالي لهم. فشرحت لهم أنَّ هذا المشروع البحثي يهدف إلى توليد فهم أفضل لأصحاب العلاقة المعنيين حول اللاجئين في مخيم كاكوما ومن هنا يسهم ذلك الفهم في إثراء السياسات وتحسينها عند التعامل مع اللاجئين في المخيم. عندها، وقف أحد كبار السن الصوماليُّون وأشار بإصبعه إليَّ معلِّقاً:

أعيش في مخيم اللاجئين هذا منذ عام 2008 وقابلت كثيراً من الباحثين مثلك. كلهم قالوا الشيء نفسه الذي تقوله اليومَ لكنَّ ذلك لم يغير شيئاً حتى الآن. في كل مرة نتعاون مع الباحثين لكنَّنا لم نجد البتَّة شيئاً من ذلك يُحسِّنُ حياتنا. فلا أستطيع أن أثق بما تقول.

وواجهت استجابات مماثلة خلال العمل الميداني في أديس أبابا في أواخر عام 2018. فخلال إحدى المقابلات ونقاشات مجموعات التَّركيز مع لاجئين شباب أريتيريين، كان من الواضح شيوع جو من الملل والشك الذي أثَّر بالتأكيد في صراحة ردود المشاركين ومشاركتهم.

وبينما يعيش اللاجئون في مخيم كاكوما وأديس أباب في ظروف صعبة (المقارنة هنا بين مخيمات اللجوء المطوَّل والعيش في العاصمة الحضرية) ظهرت مشاعر مشترك فيها بالملل من البحث وانعدام الثقة بالباحثين. ولا يقل توثيقاً عن ذلك وجود سقف مرتفع من توقعات اللاجئين المشاركين في الأبحاث إذ يتفرضون أنَّ مشاركتهم سوف تنعكس على تحسين أوضاعهم. وفي نقاشات مجموعات التَّركيز، عبَّر اللاجئون عن جملة من الآمال تضمنت زيادة المساعدات الإنسانية وإزالة اللوائح التنظيمية المؤثرة في حقوقهم الاجتماعية-الاقتصادية وتحسين وصولهم إلى إعادة التوطين في بلد ثالث. وإن لم تتحقق تلك التوقعات في أرض الواقع أو تدار، فقد يتبع ذلك ظهور الإحباط وخيبة الأمل وفقدان الثقة مع مرور الوقت.

وتلك نتيجة مؤسفة تأتي بسبب محدودية قدرات البحوث الأكاديمية في إثراء الإجراءات العملية في السياسات أو تأتي على الأقل بسبب عدم احتمالية ترجمة البحوث إلى تغيرات مباشرة في السياسات المرتبطة بالبيئات المحيطة باللاجئين. وبما أنَّ هذه المجموعات من اللاجئين تستقبل على الدوام أفواجاً من الباحثين الجدد واحداً تلو الآخر مثلي، فذلك يزيد من إحباطهم ويقود بذلك إلى إحجامهم أو رفضهم للمشاركة في البحوث.

المجموعات التي لم يُبحَث فيها بما يكفي

على الجانب الآخر، مرَّ عليَّ عدة مجموعات من اللاجئين ممن لم تُجرَ عليهم أبحاث كافيةويلقى حضورهم اهتماماً كبيراً دون أن ينعكس على إيصال اصواتهم إلى المشهد العالمي. ومن تلك المجموعات لاجئو الأقليات في أديس أبابا وهي مجموعة من القوميات التي لا تمثل سوى شذراً صغيراً من إجمالي سكان اللاجئين المُسجَّلين. وفي مستهل عملنا الميداني في أديس أبابا في شهر أغسطس/آب 2018، بدعم من المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، نظَّمنا اجتماعات تعريفية مع ممثلين عن مجتمعات اللاجئين من مختلف القوميات لنصف لهم الهدف من الدراسة وطلب مشاركتهم. ونظراً لضيق الوقت ومحدودية الموارد المالية المتاحة لمشروعنا، ركَّزنا على القوميات التي مثَّلت السواد الأعظم من اللاجئين في هذا السياق وهم على التحديد الإريتيريون والصوماليون. وعندما شرحت الفئة المستهدفةالرئيسية من قوميات اللاجئين، طلب أحد اللاجئين البورنديين شمل قوميته في دراستنا. وقال لنا إنَّ مجموعات الأقليات من بلدان مثل بلدان البحيرات العظمى كانوا قد أُقصُوا تماماً من تلك الدراسات. وقال لي بتشديد قطعي: "نريد أن نكون جزءاً من دراستكم. أريدك أن تسمع عن التحديات التي تواجهنا."

ووجدنا مشاعر خيبة الأمل الناتجة عن الإقصاء من البحوث في مجموعات أخرى من اللاجئين من ذوي الإعاقات وكبار السن اللاجئين في العاصمة الأوغندية كامپالا. وكانت كلتا المجموعتين قد أسستا جمعيتان سُجِّلتا رسمياً لدى السلطات الحكومية المحلية. وفي مقابلات منفصلة، ذكر أعضاء تنفيذيون في كلتا الجمعيتين أنَّ سبب تأسيس الجمعيتين جاء نتيجة غياب الانتباه من المنظمات الداعمة للاجئين.

في كامپالا، هناك منظمات مثل المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين ومنظمة إنترإيد وغيرها من المنظمات غير الحكومية، لكنَّها لا تقدم أيَّ برامج دعم مخصصة لذوي الإعاقة...نشعر أنَّنا مهمَّشون. لذلك، قررنا أن نجتمع ويساعد بعضنا بعضاً.

كلتا المنظمتين تروجان لنشاطات رفع الوعي وتوفير الدعم للأعضاء من خلال تقديم خدمات الاستشارات وتدريب المهارات وتشكيل مجموعات التوفير إلاَّ أنَّ مستوى الدعم غالباً ما لا يكفي لتغطية التحديات التي يواجهها الاعضاء.

وتبين حالة اللاجئين البورونديين في أديس أبابا أنَّ حجم مجموعة معينة من اللاجئين هو في أغلب الأحيان المعيار الذي يقرر مدى اهتمام الباحثين وصانعي السياسات. فبدءاً من عام 2018، وصل عدد اللاجئين البورنديين المُسجَّلين في أديس أبابا إلى 57 فرداً مقارنة بثماني عشرةَ ألفِ لاجئٍ أريتيري. وفي مواجهة الموارد المحدودة وضيق الوقت، دأب معظم الباحثين على التركيز على مجموعات اللاجئين الذين يمثلون الأعداد الكبرى من اللاجئين.

إضافةً إلى ذلك، يُنظَرُ إلى بعض المجموعات على أنَّها أقل ارتباطاً بسياق السياسات الحالية، ولا سيَّما في منظومة اللاجئين الدولية. ومثال ذلك أنَّ حجم الأبحاث على المُهجَّرين قسراً شهد زيادة كبيرة، لكنَّ الدراسات المُنجَزَة للتصدي لقضايا اللاجئين كبار السن واللاجئين ذو الإعاقات ما زال محدودة العدد. ويصعب معرفة ما إذا كان غياب برامج المساعدات المحددة التي تقدمها هيئات المساعدات لمثل تلك المجموعات نتيجة ضعف البحوث التي أجريت على تلك الفئات أو ربما أنَّ ضعف البحوث جاء نتيجة لغياب تلك البرامج. إلاَّ أنَّ تلك المجموعات من اللاجئين التي لم تحظ بالقدر الكافي من الدراسات، حسبما أشير إليه آنفاً، قد تكون بالفعل من الفئات المستضعفة التي تستحق تلقي اهتمام عاجل من الباحثين ومنظمات المساعدات.

التوصيات

بخصوص المجموعات التي لم تخضع لما يكفي من الدراسات، على الباحثين أن يُوسِّعوا من نطاق دراساتهم الاستكشافية لتشتمل على ما وراء نقاط التركيز للسياسات الحالية. وقد تكون لدى تلك المجموعات غير المبحوث بها تحديات أو مواطن استضعاف خاصة أو معقدة لم تُدرَس من قبل وقد يؤدي ضعف البحوث في ذلك المجال إلى ضعف القدرة على إنتاج انتباه كاف إحصائياً. وعند التصدي لمثل هذه المسائل، سيكون من المفيد إجراء البحوث النَّوعيَّة على هذه المجموعات بل ستكون خطوة أولى في توضيح وجهات نظر تلك المجموعات التي لم تُسمَع من قبل. ولا شك في أنَّ إجراء البحوث بحد ذاته ليس ضماناً بإحداث أي تغيير مباشر في حياة المجموعات التي لم تُبحَث جيداً، وبالمثل قد يؤدي الاستمرار بالبحوث التي لا تستطيع إثبات الأثر إلى الوقوع في المزالق ذاتها التي كشفت عنها تجربة المجموعات المُفرَط في البحث فيهاوقد يظهر ذلك على سبيل المثال في الملل من البحوث وخيبة الأمل فيها. ومع ذلك، ما لم تُتَّخَذ الخطوة الأولى، ستبقى التحديات ماثلة دون علاج. ولذلك، ينبغي للباحثين عند التعامل مع المجموعات غير المبحوث فيها كفايةً أن يركزوا على ضرورة إجراء الأبحاث التي يمكنها أن تثري السياسات للتصدي للقضايا التي لم تحظ بالاهتمام.

وفي غضون ذلك، عند الحديث عن المجموعات التي أُفرِط البحث فيها، لا غنى عن تنسيق الجهود بين الباحثين ومنظمات المساعدات ومؤسسات الاستشارات والطلاب بل حتى الصحفيين، لما لذلك التنسيق من أهمية قصوى في منع ازدواجية البحوث المعمولة مع المجموعة الواحدة. وعليه، ينبغي لجهود التنسيق أن تضم وسائل الإعلام والصحفيين العاملين من اللاجئين. ورغم الاختلافات التي قد تكون قائمة في مدونات سلوك تلك الجهات ورغم اختلاف أغراضها في البحث، فلا بد من الانتباه إلى منظور العينة المدروسةالتي لا تستطيع أن ترى فرقاً في تكرار البحوث لمجرد تغير الجهة التي تنفذها من وسائل إعلان أو أكاديميين أو مؤسسات إنسانية.

ولخفض تلك المشكلة، ربما لا حل آخر متاح سوى التشارك في المعلومات بين الباحثين والهيئات الداعمة للاجئين، مهما بلغ الاختلاف في إجراءات العمل بين الأكاديميين والفاعلين الإنسانيين، ذلك أنَّ الأكاديميين في الغالب يكونون في وضع يسمح لهم بجمع معلومات تجريبية ثرية قد تكون ذات أهمية كبيرة للمؤسسات الإنسانية. ومثال ذلك أنَّنا في عام 2013 قدَّمنا جميع قواعد بياناتنا بالكامل في أوغندا إلى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين مشترطين عليها أن تستخدم البيانات لهدف محدد وهو خدمة أغراض تطوير البرامج. ويمكن لتلك المقاربة أن تنجح على المستوى المحلي عندما يتبادل الباحثون ومؤسسات المساعدات المصالح والاهتمامات الواضحة والملموسة، فبينما يتيح الباحثون بياناتهم ويتشاركون بها، بمقدور الأمم المتحدة وغيرها من المنظمات الإنسانية أن تقدم الدعم للباحثين وتعطيهم البيانات المتاحة لديها. ولتشجيع ذلك، على الوسط الأكاديمي أن يدرك القيمة الحاصلة من التشارك بالبيانات التي تمثل أثراًومساهمة في صناعة السياسات.

إضافةً إلى ذلك، ينبغي بالنسبة للمجموعات المفرط في البحث فيها أن يعيدوا النظر في الممارسات الأساسية لأخلاقيات البحوث والمضمونات التي تكتنف عملهم. ومع أنَّ معظم الباحثين قد يجرون دراساتهم بهدف تحسين ظروف المُهجَّرين قسراً، من الضروري أن ينتهجوا منهج الانفتاح والصدق بشأن احتمالات مشروعات البحث وحدوده من ناحية إحداث أي تغييرات في السياسات، هذا إن لم نقل تغييرات مباشرة فيها، بما ينعكس على حياة الناس. ويحتم علينا أن نعيد النظر في كيفية توعية مجتمع اللاجئين المدروسين في البحث بشأن هذه الحقيقة البديهية البسيطة

ثم إنَّه لا بد من النظر ملياً بمسألة تبادل المنفعة ومنح مكافأة عادلة للمشاركين. وحتى لو كان الباحثون غير متأكدين من أنَّ مخرجات البحث ستكون مدخلات يستخدمها صانعو السياسات، فإنَّ توفير التعويض المادي للمشاركين سيكون له أثر مباشر أكثر في توفير المنافع المتبادلة للاجئين. وإضافة إلى التكاليف الحقيقية التي تترتب على المشاركين نتيجة مشاركتهم في البحث، مثل أجور المواصلات للوصول إلى موقع البحث وبدل الوقت الذي يقضونه، فلا بد من منح تعويض ما لضمان قدر ما من ذلك الحس بتبادل المنفعة. ومع أنَّ تقديم المكافآت المادية أو الهدايا للمشاركين مسألة جدلية في دراسات الهجرة القسرية، هناك مزايا لا يمكن أن ننكرها من ذلك نظراً إلى حالة الملل الشائعة من البحوث وكراهية بعض مجموعات اللاجئين للحضور في بحث يضيع وقتهم.

وفي نهاية المطاف، نقول إنَّ هذه القضايا الأخلاقية في سياق المجموعات التي لم يُبحَث فيها جيداً وتلك التي أفرط الباحثون في البحث فيها إن أُهمِلَت فربما تؤدي إلى تقويض مساءلة مجتمع البحث ومصداقيته في عيون اللاجئين إلى درجة كبيرة.

ناوهيكو أوماتا naohiko.omata@qeh.ox.ac.uk

موظَّفُ بحوثٍ رئيسيٌّ في مركز دراسات اللاجئين في قسم التنمية الدولية بجامعة أكسفورد www.rsc.ox.ac.uk

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

‘Over-researched’ and ‘under-researched’ refugees

A number of ethical issues emerge from working with ‘over-researched’ and ‘under-researched’ refugee groups.

Since 2012, I have been working at the Refugee Studies Centre at the University of Oxford, undertaking data collection on the economic lives of refugees and host communities in countries including Kenya, Uganda and Ethiopia. This article is based primarily on reflections from this research and my years of interactions with various groups of refugees living in refugee camps and urban areas.

Over-researched groups

It is evident that some refugee populations are frequent subjects of ‘research’ – by academics, aid organisations, students and, to a certain extent, journalists. However, in the absence of concrete benefits from their participation in such studies, over-researched groups are increasingly distrustful and in some cases are declining to participate in further studies.

In my own work, I have noted the increasing expression of strong research fatigue from some groups, in particular refugees in Kakuma refugee camp, Kenya. Between 2016 and 2017, I conducted large-scale research in this camp. As usual I organised meetings with members of refugee representative bodies in the camp in order to introduce myself and our research and to seek their cooperation and participation. At one meeting, after I explained the scope of the study and the rule of not providing financial compensation for research participants, some people asked what benefit our research would bring to them if we were not compensating them financially. I explained that this research project aimed to generate a better understanding of refugees in Kakuma among external stakeholders and ultimately to contribute to informing better policies for the refugees in the camp. At this point, one of the Somali elders stood up, pointed his finger at me, and commented:

I have been living in this refugee camp since 2008 and received so many researchers like you. They all mentioned the same thing you just said but nothing has changed. Each time, we cooperated with researchers but we have not seen any improvement in our life. I cannot trust what you said.”

I encountered similar responses during fieldwork in Addis Ababa in late 2018. During interviews and focus group discussions with Eritrean refugee youth, a sense of fatigue and suspicion was visible, which of course affected the candidness of responses and engagement.

While refugees in Kakuma camp and in Addis Ababa live in very different circumstances – in protracted camps versus an urban capital – there emerged a shared sentiment of research fatigue and overall mistrust of researchers. As is widely documented, refugee participants engaging in research can often have high expectations for improvements as a result of their involvement. In focus group discussions, refugees expressed hopes that included an increase in humanitarian aid, the removal of regulations affecting their socio-economic rights, and better access to third-country resettlement. If these expectations are not met, or managed, disappointment and mistrust can arise over time.

This is an unfortunate result of the limited capacity of academic research to feed into policy actions, or at least of the unlikelihood that research will result in immediate policy changes in refugees’ surrounding environments. The fact that such groups of refugees continuously receive influxes of new researchers – like me – exacerbates their frustration and subsequently leads to their reluctance or refusal to participate in research.

Under-researched groups

On the other hand, I have also came across several groups of ‘under-researched’ refugee populations, whose presence often remains under the radar and whose voices are less audible in the global arena. One such group is minority refugees in Addis Ababa – that is, nationalities which represent only a small fraction of the overall populations of registered refugees. At the inception of our fieldwork in Addis Ababa in August 2018, with support from UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, we organised introductory meetings with representatives from refugee communities of different nationalities to describe the aim of our study and to request their participation. Given the limited time and financial resources of our project, we focused on nationalities which made up the largest refugee populations in this context – namely Eritreans and Somalis. When I explained our main ‘target’ refugee nationalities, a representative of Burundian refugees requested to be included in our study. According to him, the minority groups such as those from Great Lakes region have been almost entirely excluded from these studies. He emphatically told me: “We want to be part of your study. I want you to hear our challenges.” 

Similar frustrations at feeling excluded from research were echoed by groups of refugees with disabilities and elderly refugees in Kampala, Uganda’s capital. Both groups had formed associations that were officially registered with local government authorities. In separate interviews, executive members of both associations all cited the lack of attention from refugee-supporting organisations as the main reason for establishing their own institutions.

“In Kampala, there are UNHCR, InterAid and other NGOs but they do not have any support programmes specifically designed for those with disabilities… we have been feeling marginalised. So we decided to come together to assist each other.”

Both of these associations promote awareness-raising activities and provide support for members through provision of counselling, skills training and formation of saving groups; however the level of support is often inadequate to cover the challenges facing them.

The case of Burundian refugees in Addis Ababa demonstrates that the size of a particular refugee population often determines the level of interest from researchers and policymakers. In Addis Ababa, as of 2018, the recorded number of Burundian refugees was 57, compared with nearly 18,000 Eritrean refugees. In the face of limited resources and time constraints, most researchers usually focus on refugee groups with higher numbers.

Furthermore, some groups are considered to be less relevant in current policy contexts, particularly for the international refugee regime. For instance, while the volume of research on forced migrants has greatly increased, the number of studies specifically addressing the issues of older refugees and refugees with disabilities remains limited. It is difficult to know if the absence of specific assistance programmes from aid agencies for such groups can be a considered a reflection of the lack of research on them, or vice versa. However, as indicated above, these under-studied groups of refugees may indeed be particularly vulnerable, which might merit more urgent attention from researchers and aid organisations. 

Recommendations

For under-researched groups, researchers need to expand exploratory studies beyond current policy focuses. Under-researched groups may have some specific and complex but unaddressed challenges or vulnerabilities, which may not be able to produce statistically significant attention. For such issues, qualitative research with these groups can be a useful first step to glean their unheard views. Of course, conducting research itself provides no guarantee of any immediate changes for under-studied groups, and continued research that is not able to demonstrate impact may lead to the same pitfalls as ‘over-researched’ groups experience, including research fatigue and disillusionment. However, without a first step, their challenges will remain unaddressed. For some under-researched groups, researchers should highlight the need for research that informs policy in order to address neglected issues.

Meanwhile, for over-researched groups, it is vital that researchers, aid organisations, consulting firms, students and even journalists make concerted efforts not to conduct similar research with the same groups repeatedly. Coordination efforts should also include media and journalists working with refugees. While they may have different ethical codes of conduct and different purposes, from the perspective of those who are ‘being studied’ it makes little difference whether they are media, academics or humanitarian agencies.

Data sharing between researchers and refugee-supporting agencies may be one way to mitigate the problem. Although the working procedures of academics and humanitarian actors differ considerably, academics are often able to gather rich empirical data which can be relevant for humanitarian agencies. For example, in 2013 we gave our full datasets in Uganda to UNHCR, on condition that UNHCR used the data strictly for programming purposes. This approach can work when done at the local level where both researchers and aid agencies share clear and concrete interests; while researchers share their data, UN and humanitarian agencies can provide logistical support for researchers and share their own data. To encourage this, academia needs to acknowledge the value of data sharing as an example of ‘impact’ and as a contribution to policymaking. 

In addition, for over-researched groups, researchers should reconsider basic ethical research practices and implications for their work. While most researchers might embark on their studies with the aim of improving conditions for forced migrants, it is necessary to be open and honest about the possibilities and limitations of research projects in terms of making any – let alone immediate – policy changes in people’s lives. It is imperative that we revisit how this basic reality can be communicated, diligently and responsibly, to refugee populations involved in research.

Moreover, the issue of reciprocity and fair reward for participants should be given more thought. Even when scholars are uncertain if the research outputs will ever be used by policymakers, a more direct and immediate way of providing reciprocal benefits for refugees is the provision of material compensation to participants. In addition to the actual costs accrued by participants due to research – such as transportation to research sites and their time – more consideration should be given to ensuring some level of reciprocity. Providing material compensation or gifts to participants is a controversial issue in forced migration studies. Nevertheless, in light of the significant research fatigue as well as resentment for time wasted among some groups of refugees, the practice has undeniable merits.

Ultimately, if these ethical issues with under-researched and over-researched groups are left unattended, the accountability and credibility of the research community in the eyes of refugee populations may be significantly undermined.

 

Naohiko Omata naohiko.omata@qeh.ox.ac.uk
Senior Research Officer, Refugee Studies Centre, Oxford Department of International Development, University of Oxford www.rsc.ox.ac.uk

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview