الاسْتِعمَالُ الأخلاقيُّ للصُّوَرِ والرَّسَائِلِ

لا بدَّ للمنظمات غير الحكومية والمنظمات الدولية والمانحين على السَّواء من أن تنظر في وَقْعِ الصور والرسائل التي تستعملها في سعيها إلى جمع المال من أجل المساعدة الإنسانية.

إذا نكب قومٌ يوماً بنكبة، كان كرم أخلاق النَّاس ناجماً عن الاهتمام بحب الخير للإنسان. ولكنْ يغلب على بعض النكبات أنْ يرد إليها مال أكثر من الذي يرد إلى غيرها، ويمكن أن يكون للصور والرسائل المستعملة في تصوير الأحوال دور بالغ الأهميَّة. فمن البديهيات أنَّ الصور والرسائل التي توضح بلوى السكَّان المنكوبين بصورٍ تنطق بلسان الحال فتقول أقرب ما تكون الحال عليه في الواقع، هي التي ستُحدِثُ الأثر الأعمق وتُنشِئ مشاعر العطف والشفقة والذَّنب، وهذا يحمل على الهِبَة الخيريَّة. وفي غالب الأحوال أنَّه كلما كانت الصور أوضح تعبيراً وأكثر تفتيتاً للأكباد عَظُمَ الانفعال وَعظُمَت معه الرغبة في التبرُّع.

لكنْ متى يصير التصوير متجاوزاً حدَّه؟ هذا سؤال يُثِيرُه العاملون في ميداني التسويق وجمع المال في أنفسهم، ذلك أنَّهم لا يريدون أنْ ينفر عامَّة الناس من الأمر. ولكنْ أعِنْدَ هذا يوضع الحدُّ؟ تشير مبادئ الإنسانية، بما فيها من ذِكرٍ ليس فيه لَبْس ولا إبهام لاحترام الفرد المنكوب وصَوْنِ كرامته، إلى أنَّه ينبغي وضع الحدِّ بإحكام قبل مناقشة أمر ما ليس له داعٍ.

ثم إنَّ الفرد الذي خسر استقلاله بنفسه وأُسُسَ الحياة وشيئاً من الحدِّ الأدنى من الكرامة (أي أن يكون له مكان للاغتسال واللُّبس ومرحاض تُقضَى الحاجة فيه ويُقَامُ بشؤون الحَيْض) لن يُرِيدَ أنْ تُذاعَ أخبار حاله شرقاً وغرباً وجنوباً وشمالاً.[1] فإن عجز المرء عن القيام بنفسه وبأسرته، وأُجبِرَ على الاعتماد على المساعدة الخيرية وإيثار غيره على نفسه، مهما يكن من سببٍ، يمكن أن يذهب ذلك شيئاً فشيئاً بكرامة الأفراد والأسر والمجتمعات المحلية وحتى الدول أحياناً ويذهب باستقلالهم بأنفسهم أيضاً. إذ الهبوط في الحياة إلى مستوىً منخفض تحدٍّ هو وحده صعب فكيف بإذاعة الحال هنا وهناك وإبلاغ صعوباتها كلها، التي تكثر المغالاة فيها، لا لشيءٍ إلا الحصول على بعض المال.

غير أنَّ المال مُحتَاجٌ إليه في إيصال المساعدة الإنسانية، ويأتي هذا المال أساساً في هيئة تبرعات خيرية يتبرُّع بها الأفراد المنفعلون بالصور والرسائل التي تصوِّر الحاجة الشديدة، أو الحكومات المانحة التي تأمل أنْ تجذب الدعم العام لتوفيرها المعونة الخارجية. وأمَّا المانحون، فجذبهم هذا الدعم العام في زمن النكبات الكبرى أسهل وأيسر من جذبهم إيَّاه من أجل المساعدة الإنمائية المُستَمر فيها. وأمَّا المنظمات الإنسانية فتحتاج إلى استلال استجابة انفعالية عاجلة من أجل زيادة التبرعات إلى أقصى حدٍّ، وذلك مع معرفة كون العطاء في أعظمه في الغالب بعد وقوع النكبة رأساً.

مُدوَّنة قواعدِ السُّلوك في الصُّور والرَّسائل لدوشاس في إيرلندا، كما هي الحال في غيرها، تدور المناقشات حول هذه الآراء المتعارضة منذ عقود. فلمَّا كانت سنة 2007، وافقت الشبكة الإيرلندية للتنمية والمنظمات الإنسانية، واسمها دوشاس (Dóchas)، على مُدوَّنة سُلوكٍ طوعيَّة في لاستعمال الصور والرسائل.[2] وتنصُّ مبادئه الأساسية على أنَّ اختيار الصور والرسائل ينبغي أنْ يُبنَى على احترام كرامة الأشخاص المعنيين، واعتقاد المساواة بين الناس أجمعين، وقبول الحاجة إلى تعزيز النزاهة والتضامن والعدل. ومن الوجهة العملية، يُحوَّل هذا إلى التزامٍ، فيه أنَّنا في جميع اتصالاتنا، متى كان ذلك معقولاً وقابلاً للتطبيق وفق الحاجة إلى بيان الواقع على ما هو عليه، نسعى مجاهدين إلى:

  • أنْ نختار الصور والرسائل التي لها صلة بها بناءً على قيم الاحترام والمساواة والتضامن والعدالة
  • أنْ نُمثِّل بصدقٍ أيَّ صورةٍ أو وضعٍ موصوفٍ من فور وقوع حدثها وبنطاق أوسع حتَّى نُحسِّن فهم الجمهور حقائق الحدث وتعقيداته
  • أنْ نتجنَّب الصور والرسائل التي يُحتمَل أن يكون فيها تنميطٌ أو تهويلٌ أو تمييزٌ للناس أو الأحول أو الأماكن
  • أنْ نستعمل الصور والرسائل ودراسات الحالة بإطلاع مَن فيها (أو أحد الأبوين أو الوصيَّين) إطلاعا تاماً ومشاركتهم واستئذانهم
  • أنْ نضمن للذين تُمثَّل أحوالهم إتاحة فرصة يُبْلِغُون فيها قصصهم بأنفسهم
  • أنْ نُحدِّد ونُسجِّل ما إذا كان مَن في الصور والرسائل يرغب في أن يكون اسمه مذكوراً فيها أو أن يكون مُعرَّفاً مَن هو ويُتصرَّف دوماً وِفْقَ ذلك
  • أنْ نمتثل أمر أعلى المعايير التي لها صلةٌ بحقوق الإنسان وحماية المستضعفين

وتحتوي هذه المبادئ التوجيهية واسعة النطاق على مسائل عملية يمكن العمل بموجبها وينبغي، وذلك بعمليات جيدة، مثل العمليات التي لها صلة بالأذون والمُعرِّفات. غير أنَّ في الاتفاق على ما يمكن تصنيفه تنميطاً أو تهويلاً تحدِّيات، وهناك تفسيرات مختلفة للواقع الذي من المفترض أن يُبيَّنَ. ففي النكبات الإنسانية، ولا سيَّما الكوارث الطبيعية السريعة الوقوع، يمكن أن يُمثِّل عَرْضُ الصورة التي هي أوسع تحدٍّ بسبب الحاجة إلى مراعاة مُدَدِ انتباه الجمهور والإعلام، فضلاً على أنَّه قد يتغيَّر الواقع تغيُّراً سريعاً جداً في مثل هذه الأحوال. وأمَّا الأزمات المعقدة، حيث تكون أسباب التَّهجير وآثاره مُبهمَة في الغالب (لأنَّها متأصِّلةٌ في الأحوال التاريخية، والاجتماعية السياسية، والقّبّلِيَّة، والاستعمارية، والجغرافية، والزراعية)، فيكاد يكون من المستحيل فيها عَرْضُ حال مُجرَّدةٍ مُوسَّعةٍ.

مُقَارَبةُ بلان إنترناشيونال الإيرلندية في منظَّمة بلان إنترناشيونال الإيرلندية، انضممنا إلى المُلتَزمِينَ بالمدوَّنة ونرفع كلَّ سنةٍ تقريراً نبيِّن به تقيُّدنا بقواعدها. ونُقرِّ بالتعقيد المُفصَّل الكلام فيه في مقدِّمة المدوَّنة فقد جاء فيه قوله:الواقع في عالمنا اليومَ أنَّ كثيراً من صُوَرِ الفقر المدقع والمِحَنَ الإنسانية فيها سوءٌ ولا يمكن تجاهلها. فتَجاهُلها يتعارض هو وروح هذه المدوَّنة التي أُحْدِثَت لتُصوِّر الواقع في حياة الناس بفهمِ مشاعرهم ومشكلاتهم واحترامِ كراماتهم.

فعندنا أنَّ دليل استعمال الصور والرسائل هذا موصولٌ من قُربٍ بسياساتنا في حماية الأطفال والشباب وطلب الإذن والقبول المكتوب منهم وصون كراماتهم وحقوقهم. وفي أحوال التَّهجير أو الطوارئ، حين بُفْصَل الأطفال عن أسرهم ولا يكون لهم وصيٌّ قانوني يقوم على شأنهم في القبول، ينبغي الاهتمام بهم اهتماماً خاصاً من أجل حمايتهم. فالأطفال غير المصحوبين بذويهم ولم يتجاوزا سنَّ الثالثة عشرة لا يستطيعون قانونياً أنْ يقبلوا من عند نفسهم، أي ليس استعمال قصصهم وصورهم أمراً ممكناً بحال من الأحوال، وهذا يتحدَّى منظمات حقوق الطفل، كمنظمة بلان، التي تعمل خصوصاً في مسائل التَّهجير والأطفال المنفصلين عن ذويهم. ثم ينبغي إخفاء هُويَّة مَن يقع سِنَّه بين 13 و17 من الأطفال، الذين من المعلوم أنَّه عموماً عندهم المقدرة العقلية على فبول أنْ تُستَعمل قصصهم، وينبغي في هؤلاء أيضاً ألَّا تُستعمَل صورهم وأسماؤهم الحقيقية في ظلِّ أيِّ ظرفٍ من الظروف.

وتُقُرِّ منظمة بلان أنَّه في حالات الطوارئ يكثر أنْ يصعب إيجاد صُوَرٍ تجمع بين شِدَّة التأثير واحترام مَن فيها وتمثيل الواقع المعقَّد في الطوارئ من غير أنْ تعزز الصور النمطية أو الافتراضات غير الصحيحة، ومع ذلك، تحلُّ ما يقتضيه الاحترام محلَّ ضرورات جمع المال. هذا خيارٌ تنظيميٌّ ربَّما لا يقبله الآخرون. فقد يُرَى أنَّه الخيارُ الصَّحيحُ من الوجهة السياسية، لا خياراً يعالج الواقع. ولقد يؤدي إلى جمع مالٍ أقل، فيُقْدَرُ على تنفيذ استجابة أضيق نطاقاً ومن ثم أقلُّ تأثيراً وفائدةً في المنكوبين.

ولا نستعمل صوراً تُظْهِرُ ألماً شديداً أو ناساً وهم يموتون أو ميِّتون. ولكنَّ هذه الأمور جزءٌ من النزاع والتَّهجير، ويمكن لإظهار الحقيقة بالصُّور أنْ يكون ذا شأنٍ في مساعدة الناس على معرفة خطورة الحال. إذ يمكن لذلك أنْ يشجِّع الضغط الشعبيَّ على الحكومات وأنْ يسرِّعَ من ورود التبرُّعات. وتحاول منظمة بلان أنْ تُصوِّر الطوارئ بصورةٍ مُجرَّدةٍ، بتسليط الضوء على ما يقدر المنكوبون عليه وما يطمحون إليه، لا أن يُكتفَى بإظهار ضعفهم وخوفهم، وبهذا تقصد المنظمة إلى إظهار نظرة إلى الواقع مُحسَّنةٍ مع التزام حقيقة الحال (كما نُدْرِكُها في الأقل). ونهدف إلى إيجاد صُوَرِ ناسٍ يساعدون مجتمعاتهم المحلية ويستجيبون للأزمة بأنفسهم، ونحاول جهدنا أنْ نتجنَّب الصور النمطية كصورة عامل إغاثةٍ غربيٍّ يرعى منكوباً لا حول له ولا قوَّة.

هذا، وما مقاربة منظمة بلان في التصوير والتراسل في الطوارئ إلا حلقةً في سلسلةٍ من السُبُل الممكنة، وما عنينا بهذا القولَ بصحَّتها. فإنَّ مقاربةَ منظمة بلان هي لمنظمة بلان، هي قرارٌ صادرٌ عن المنظمة ليس غير، مبنيٌّ على قِيَمٍ تنظيمية. وليست بمقام القاضي فتحكم على الآخرين أو تتهمهم بتهمة السلوك الجشع وغِلْظَةِ القلب. إذ نُدرِكُ أنَّ المال يُنجِّي الناس من الموت، وأنَّ المُقايسَة التي قد تخطر في الذهن بين النقيضين المتساويين في القيمة والمختلفين في الخصائص، أي بين صون الكرامة وإنقاذ الناس من الهلاك، مستحيلٌ فهما لا يقبلان المقايسة إذ هذا في واد وذلك في واد.

ولقائلٍ أنْ يقول جدلاً إنَّ مقاربة منظمة بلان هي المقاربة الأنيقة، أو المقاربة الصحيحة من الوجهة السياسية، أو لعلَّها المقاربة السهلة ولكنَّها غير ذات مفعول. ولقد يرى بعض الناس أنَّ الواقع أقسى ممَّا تصوِّره منظمة بلان، وبعضٌ آخرُ أنَّ واقعَ المُعطينَ صحيح كما هو واقع الذين ترد إليهم المساعدة، وأنَّه إن أردنا مال المانحين أريناهم ما يُثِيرُ انفعلاتهم. فهل يوجد احتمالُ خطرٍ من أنْ تُظْهِرَ الهيئات الصُّوَرَ بطريقةِ مُتولٍّ أبويٍّ يعامل الناجين من حالات الطوارئ معاملة الأطفال فتجعل من نفسها حاميةً كراماتهم، وهي تخفي واقع الأزمة والنزاع؟ نقول: عند منظومة المساعدات الإنسانية الدولية، يثير استعمال الصور والرسائل تحديات وفرصاً في الوقت نفسه، فيُنْشِئُ ذلك ضغطاً وشِدَّة لا تنفكُّ عن المنظمات غير الحكومية والمنظمات الدولية والمانحين على السواء يوماً بعد يومٍ.

دُوْلتا رُوكنِين Dualta.Roughneen@plan-international.org رئيسةُ برامجٍ في منظمة بلان إنترناشيونال الإيرلندية www.plan.ie

كتبت المؤلفة هذه المقالةَ من عند نفسها، وقد لا تستوي الآراء التي فيها وآراء منظمة بلان إنترناشيونال الإيرلندية.

 

[1] انظر سياسة نَشْرِ الصُّور في نشرة الهجرة القسرية www.fmreview.org/ar/photo-policy

[2] www.dochas.ie/images-and-messages

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The ethical use of images and messaging

NGOs, international organisations and donors alike must consider the impact of the images and messaging they use in seeking to raise funds for humanitarian assistance.

When a disaster strikes, the generosity of individuals is triggered by a concern for humanity. However, some disasters tend to receive more funds than others, and the role of the images and messaging used to depict such situations can be significant. The intuitive view is that images and messages that portray the difficult plight of disaster-affected populations in as much vivid reality as possible will have the most significant impact, generating feelings of sympathy, pity and guilt, prompting charitable donations. Often the more graphic and heart-rending the images, the greater the emotion, and thus willingness to donate.

But how graphic is too graphic? This is the question that those working in marketing and fundraising ask themselves, as they do not want the public to be put off. However, is this where the line should be drawn? The principle of humanity, with its explicit references to respect and the dignity of the disaster-affected individual, suggests that the line should be drawn well before a discussion around gratuitousness is reached.

An individual who has lost autonomy, the essentials of life and some of the basic requirements of dignity (having a place to wash, dress, go to the toilet, deal with menstruation) will not want their situation broadcast far and wide.[1] Being unable to provide for oneself and one’s family, being forced to become dependent on the charitable assistance and altruism of another, for whatever reason, can erode the dignity and autonomy of individuals, families, communities and even sometimes States. Being brought low in life is challenging enough without the situation being broadcast far and wide with all of its difficulties communicated, and often exaggerated, merely to get some money.

Yet money is needed in order to deliver humanitarian assistance and this money primarily comes in the form of charitable donations from individuals who are moved by images and messaging depicting great need, or from donor governments who hope to attract public support for their provision of overseas aid. For donors, such public support is more easily attracted at times of great disaster than it is for ongoing development assistance. For their part, humanitarian organisations need to elicit an emotional and immediate response in order to maximise donations, recognising that giving tends to be highest in the immediate aftermath of a disaster.

The Dóchas Code of Conduct on Images and Messaging

In Ireland, as elsewhere, debates over these tensions are decades old. In 2007, the Irish network of development and humanitarian organisations, Dóchas, agreed a voluntary Code of Conduct on Images and Messaging.[2] Its primary principles establish that the choice of images and messages should be based on respect for the dignity of the people concerned, belief in the equality of all people, and acceptance of the need to promote fairness, solidarity and justice. In practical terms this translates into a commitment that in all our communications, and where practical and reasonable within the need to reflect reality, we strive to:

  • choose images and related messages based on values of respect equality, solidarity and justice
  • truthfully represent any image or depicted situation both in its immediate and wider context so as to improve public understanding of the realities and complexities of development
  • avoid images and messages that potentially stereotype, sensationalise or discriminate against people, situations or places
  • use images, messages and case-studies with the full understanding, participation and permission of the subjects (or their parent/guardian)
  • ensure those whose situation is being represented have the opportunity to communicate their stories themselves
  • establish and record whether the subjects wish to be named or identifiable and always act accordingly
  • conform to the highest standards in relation to human rights and protection of vulnerable people

 

These very wide-ranging guidelines encompass practical issues which can and should be complied with through good processes, such as those relating to permissions and identifications. However, there are challenges in agreeing what can be classed as stereotyping and sensationalising and there are differing interpretations of the reality that is supposed to be reflected. For humanitarian disasters, particularly rapid-onset natural disasters, presenting the wider picture can be a challenge because of the need to take account of public and media attention spans – not to mention that reality can change very fast in such situations. And in complex crises, where often the causes and effects of displacement are unclear (because they are deeply embedded in historical, socio-political, tribal, colonial, geographical and agrarian contexts), it is virtually impossible to present an objective wider context.

Plan International Ireland’s approach

At Plan International Ireland we have signed up to the Code and report annually on our adherence. We recognise the complexity that is articulated in the Code’s preface: “It is a reality of our world today that many of the images of extreme poverty and humanitarian distress are negative and cannot be ignored. To ignore them would run counter to the spirit of this Code which is to portray the reality of the lives of people with sensitivity and respect for their dignity.”

For us, we consider this guidance on use of images and messages to be closely interconnected with our policy on safeguarding of children and young people, requiring permissions and written approval, as well as protecting dignity and rights. In situations of displacement or emergency, where children have become separated from their families and do not have a legal guardian to give consent, extra care should be taken to protect them. Unaccompanied children under the age of 13 are not legally able to give consent so their stories and images cannot be used at all – presenting a challenge for a children’s rights organisation, like Plan, that particularly works on issues of displacement and separated children. The identity of children aged 13­–17, who are generally recognised to have the capacity to consent to the use of their stories, should be concealed, and their images and real names not used under any circumstance.

Plan recognises that in emergency situations it is often a struggle to find hard-hitting pictures that show respect for their subjects and represent the complex reality of an emergency without promoting stereotypes or incorrect assumptions, yet the requirement of respect supersedes fundraising imperatives. This is an organisational choice and possibly not one that others may agree with. It could be considered the politically correct option rather than addressing reality. And it may result in raising less funding, being able to implement a smaller-scale response and thus having less impact and benefit for those affected by disaster.

We do not use images depicting extreme suffering, dying or dead people. However, these are very much part of conflict and displacement and the reality presented through images can be important in helping people recognise the gravity of the situation. This can in turn encourage public pressure on governments, and prompt donations. Plan tries to portray an objective image of emergencies, highlighting the capacities and aspirations of those affected, not just their vulnerabilities and fears – aiming to show a more positive view of reality while adhering to the truth of the situation (at least as we see it). We aim to find images of people helping their own communities and responding to the crisis themselves and we very much try to avoid stereotypes such as the Western aid worker tending a helpless victim.

Plan’s approach to imaging and messaging in emergencies is one approach on a continuum of possible avenues and it is not to say that this is the right approach. It is the Plan approach and it is a subjective decision based on organisational values. It is not to stand in judgement over others or to accuse them of behaving with callous greed. We understand that money saves lives, and that weighing up the possible trade-off between protecting dignity versus saving lives is impossible as they are incommensurable.

One could argue that the Plan approach is the ‘nice’ approach, the politically correct approach, or perhaps the easy but ineffective approach. Some may feel that the reality is much harsher than Plan portrays, others that the reality of individual givers is as valid as the reality of those who receive aid, and that if we want donors’ money we have to meet them where they are. Is there a risk that agencies present images in a paternalistic manner that infantilises survivors of emergencies by taking it upon themselves to protect their dignity, while hiding the reality of crisis and conflict? For the international humanitarian system, the use of images and messaging can pose challenges and opportunities at the same time, creating a tension that is lived out on a day-to-day basis for NGOs, international organisations and donors alike.

 

Dualta Roughneen Dualta.Roughneen@plan-international.org
Head of Programmes, Plan International Ireland www.plan.ie

This article is written in a personal capacity and does not necessarily represent the views of Plan International Ireland.

 

[1] See Forced Migration Review’s photo policy www.fmreview.org/photo-policy

[2] www.dochas.ie/images-and-messages

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview