الاعتراض على الظُّلم

يتبيَّن من إعانة باربارا هاريل-بوند لي من حيث أنا لاجئٌ أنَّ دفاعها عن اللاجئين كان أعلى بكثير من تحضير طلبات اللجوء.

كان أول عهدي بباربارا في شهر أكتوبر/تشرين الأول سنة 2011، بعد أنْ اسْتَمعتُ إلى لقاءٍ معها بإذاعة بي بي سي أنكرت فيه سَبْقَ أوان التطبيق المَنْوِيِّ لبند وقف الحماية على اللاجئين الروانديين. إذ شجَّعني دفاعها عن اللاجئين الروانديين على اختلاف أعراقهم أنْ أفكِّر في أنها لعلها قادرة على إعانتي، وأمَّلتني كلماتها أنَّه من الممكن أنْ أجد مخرجاً من محنتي.

ولقد كنت يومئذٍ طالب دكتوراه مقيماً في الصين ببرنامج ترفده الحكومة الرواندية. ثم بعد أنْ رددت طلباً طُلِبَ إليَّ فيه الرجوع إلى رواندا لأشهد زوراً على زعيم المعارضة الرواندية قبل الانتخابات الرئاسية عام 2010، رفضت الحكومة الرواندية إعادة إصدار جواز سفري ومنعتني من المِنحةَ المالية الطلابية. وامتنعت السفارة الرواندية في الصين عن تصديق زواجي وابني -المولود في الصين سنة 2011- فتُركْتُ بلا وثائق رسمية.

ولمَّا اتصلت بباربارا أول مرة، لم أتوقع منها رداً عليَّ فما كنَّا مُتعارفَين. لكنَّ باربارا ردَّت على الرسالة الإلكترونية التي أرسلتها إليها، وأرشدتني في تحضير مِلَفٍّ لطلب اللجوء في الصين. فأولاً شاركتني في عيِّنة من طلب لجوءٍ حتى تساعدني على إنشاء مسوَّدتي الأولى، ثم راحت تنعم النظر في قصَّتي مِراراً، مُثِيرَةً الأسئلة وأنا أقصُّها عليها حتَّى تمَّت، وتراجع طلب اللجوء وتصحِّحهُ إملائياً مرةً بعد مرةٍ. وكانت تجري مراسلاتنا بالبريد الإلكتروني والمِرسال الآنيِّ وبرمجيَّة إسكايب والهاتف.

وكانت باربارا معتادةً العملَ مع اللاجئين الروانديين وكان بين يديها كلُّ ضروريٍّ من معلومات البلد الأصلي. وكانت عطوفة جداً حتى إنها حدَّثتني عن شبابها وعمَّا لَقِيَها من مصاعب. وكانت باربارا تعطينا مالاً أيضاً وتُكثِرُ أنْ تتَّصل بمكتب المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين ببكِّينَ وتُلحُّ في اتصالها لتُحرِّك الناس هناك فيصنعون ما ينبغي لهم صنعه، مُشرِكَةً غيرهم ممَّن تعرفهم في المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في مراسلاتها فتضع عناوين بُرُدِهم الإلكترونية فيها بحيث تُرسَل إليهم نسخٌ منها للاطلاع عليها.

هذا، وقد ضَمِنَتْ لي باربارا أيضاً أنْ أزيد في إنماء مسلكي في الميدان الأكاديمي. فصحَّحت إملائياً أوراق بحثي الأكاديمي في علم الحاسوب، وعرَّفتني إلى كثيرٍ من العلماء في المملكة المتحدة والولايات الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الذين يعملون في الميدان الذي أعمل فيه، وبعد أنْ حصَّلت شهادة الدكتوراة، كانت كتبت فيَّ خطاب تزكية وقدَّمته بين يدي منظمةٍ في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية: الباحثين الأكاديميين المعرضين للخطر،[i] التي دبَّرت لي وظائف مؤقتة في هيئة الأساتذة بجامعات هولندا وبلجيكا.

ولما كان في شهر يونيو/حزيران سنة 2012، أُوعِزَ أنْ أُمنَحَ صفة اللاجئ في الصين فمُنِحتُها، وفي شهر فبراير/شباط سنة 2013 أُعِيدَ توطيني في السويد حيث لا يزال لي صفة اللاجئ وأنتظر أنْ يُنظَر في طلبٍ للحصول على الجنسية السويدية كنت قد رفعته منذ زمن قريب. فإن قُبِل طلبي عنى ذلك عندي إمكان الاندماج والحماية التامَّة.

لقد تبيَّنتُ في ست سنوات ونصف التي فيها عرفت باربارا أنَّ دفاعها عن اللاجئين تجاوز كلَّ التجاوز أن تُيسِّرَ لهم طلبات اللجوء. إذ هي دافعت عنَّا دفاع الأمِّ عن أبنائها والجدَّة عن أحفادها، ليس لإيجاد مخارجَ لمِحَنِنا فحسب، بل لذلك ولننجح في مِهَنِنا. وعندي أنَّ ما تركته لنا إرثاً هو الاعتراض على الظلم، فإنما هو شيء يمكن أنْ يأخذه عنها كلُّ أحدٍ. والنصيحة التي أرغب في أنْ أشارك اللاجئين الآخرين فيها من غير تكلُّف هي: دافعوا عن الصواب مهما كلَّف ذلك. فقد كان لما كنت فيه مخرجٌ سهلٌ لو أنني خضعت للشِّدَّة فصنعت ما لا يجوز. ولكنَّني قاومت ثم وجدت مخرجاً من محنتي، والفضل في ذلك يعود إلى عون باربارا.

أولِفيِه روكُّوندو orukundo@gmail.com

[i] www.scholarsatrisk.org

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Resist injustice

The assistance that I, as a refugee, received from Barbara Harrell-Bond shows that her defence of refugees went far beyond the preparation of asylum applications.

I first made contact with Barbara in October 2011, after hearing a BBC radio interview with her in which she denounced as premature the planned invocation of the cessation clause for Rwandan refugees. Her defence of Rwandan refugees of different ethnicities encouraged me to think she might be able to help me, and her words gave me hope that I might find a way out of my ordeal.

I was at that time a PhD student living in China on a programme supported by the Government of Rwanda. After I had refused a request to return to Rwanda to make false testimony against the Rwandan opposition leader ahead of the 2010 presidential elections, the Rwandan government had refused to re-issue my passport and stopped my student bursary. The Rwandan embassy in China had also refused to officiate my marriage, and my son – born in China in 2011 – and I were left undocumented.

When I contacted Barbara the first time, I did not expect a response because we did not know each other. But Barbara did reply to my email and she guided me in preparing my case for an asylum application in China. First she shared with me a sample application to help me create my first draft, and then she went through my story with me many times, asking questions until it was complete, and reviewing and proofreading the application over and over again. We communicated by email, instant messenger, Skype and telephone.

Barbara was used to working with Rwandan refugees and had access to all the necessary country of origin information. She was very sympathetic because she even told me about her early life and the difficulties she had encountered. Barbara also sent us money and contacted UNHCR’s Beijing office frequently and persistently to stir them into action, copying her other contacts at UNHCR.

Barbara also ensured that I was able to further develop my career in academia. She proofread my computer science academic papers, introduced me to many scientists in the UK and US working in my area of expertise and, after I completed my PhD, wrote me a recommendation for the US-based Scholars at Risk organisation,[1] who arranged temporary faculty positions for me at universities in the Netherlands and Belgium.

In June 2012 I was granted mandate refugee status in China and in February 2013 I was resettled to Sweden, where I still have refugee status and am waiting for my recent application for Swedish citizenship to be considered. The success of my application for me would mean the possibility of integration and full protection.

During the six and a half years that I knew Barbara, I learned that her defence of refugees went far beyond facilitating asylum claims. She defended us like a mother defending her own children and grandchildren, not only to find a way out of our ordeals but also to become successful in our careers. Her legacy to me is to resist injustice – something everyone could learn from her. The advice I would like to share with other refugees is simply: defend what is right, despite the costs. The easy way out of my situation would have been to bow to the pressure to do what was wrong. I resisted and, ultimately, thanks to Barbara’s help, found a way out of my ordeal.

 

Olivier Rukundo orukundo@gmail.com

[1] www.scholarsatrisk.org/

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview