إشراك النَّازحين في سريلانكا: مقاربة بوذيَّة

تقدِّم منظمة بوذية غير حكومية في سريلانكا نموذجاً يُحتذى به حول قدرة منظمات المجتمع المدني العقيدية ذاتية النمو على مساعدة النَّازحين وحشدهم في امتلاك وتعريف الاستراتيجيات اللازمة لتأمين حمايتهم الذاتية.

غالباً ما يركز الخطاب المتعلق بحماية النَّازحين داخلياً على آليات الحماية النَّازلة من الأعلى إلى الأسفل الدولية منها و/أو الوطنية. وتضع المبادئ التوجيهية لعام 1998حول النُّزوح الداخلي وغيرها من الصكوك التي صدرت بعدها كالإطار العام للحلول المستدامة للنازحين لعام 2010 الصادرة عن اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات تركيزها على مسؤولية المجتمع الدولي في التَّرويج "للحماية" و"الحلول المستدامة" خاصة من خلال البرمجة الوطنية وبمشاركة الفاعلين الإضافيين بمن فيهم النازحين حسب المقتضى. لكنَّ التركيز على جدول أعمال النَّازحين داخلياً بقيادة الدولة لا يضع في الاعتبار بجدية بإمكانية أن يصبح معظم المتأثرين بالنُّزوح قادة في تصميم جهودهم الدامجة وتنفيذها بما في ذلك المشاركة النشطة في عملية تعريف مفهومي "الحماية" و"الحلول المستدامة". [i]

ومن أمثلة المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة العاملة في تمكين النازحين داخلياً في المشاركة في تأطير وتنظيم أنفسهم للتصدي للمشكلات التي تهمهم هي منظمة حركة سارفودايا شرامادانا في سريلانكا. ففي الأعوام القليلة الماضية، عصفت بسريلانكا أحداث عدَّة تسببت في نزوح السكان، ومن بين تلك الأحداث الموجات الزلزالية (تسونامي) في المحيط الهندي وحرب أهلية طويلة ومشروعات إنمائية اقتصادية كبيرة أُطلقت مؤخراً. وتعمل منظمة سارفودايا من خلال عدد قليل من الوحدات الوطنية ومئات المنظمات المستقلة قانوناً تطلق على نفسها اسم جمعيات شرامادانا وتعمل على مستوى القرى للتصدي لهموم الإنماء ما بعد النَّزاع من خلال إطار عمل بوذي روحي متيقظ مبني على مفهوم اتسارفودايا (صحوة الجميع) وشرامادانا (التشارك في العمل).

وتسعى الحركة إلى جمع السياسة والاقتصاد والعقيدة الدينية في مقاربة إنمائية ترك على المشاركة المحلية على مستوى القرى ونبذ العنف والاعتقاد بأنَّ الجماعات الإثنية والدينية بتنوعها يمكنها معاً أن تحسِّن من مستوى الحياة على مستوى البلاد كافة. وتعمل سارفودايا لأجل ومع الجماعات البوذية والمسيحية والمسلمة والهندوسية.

القوة والحماية

من أهم مبادرات سارفودايا مبادرة ديشودايا. ديشودايا مصطلح بوذي يشير إلى التحرر الروحي من القيود الفردية والظلم الاجتماعي-الاقتصادي ويوظف البرنامج اليقظة و"الصحوة" لتعريف الحماية "والحلول المستدامة" بالطرق التي تساعد القرويين وعلى الأخص منهم الأفراد الذين أفقدهم النزوح تمكينهم على إدراك عوامل القوى على المستويات المحلية والوطنية والدولية وتأثير ذلك على حياتهم وكيفية استخدامهم لهذا الإدراك في فهم الخطاب المهيمن الذي يحدد آليات وعوامل القوى (ويغيرها).

وتشجع المبادرة القرويين على التفكير الناقد بالقوى وكيفية هيمنتها على المستويات المحلية والوطنية والدولية لإيجاد منابر ومجموعات للديشودايا على المستويات الإقليمية والمحلية والقروية ولحشد المنظمات الحكومية والدولية والعمل معها ولترويج العمل الفردي والمجتمعي المحلي الذي يولد الفهم الصاعد من الأسفل إلى الأعلى حول السلام والتنمية والتصالح في مرحلة ما بعد النّزاع والأهم من ذلك تحقيق الحماية للأفراد المُهجَّرين. تجمع منتديات ديشودايا الوطنية القرويين بمن فيهم النازحين ليتعرفوا على الفاعلين الدوليين المسؤولين عن السياسات التي تؤثر على حياتهم. ويُحثُّ المشاركون على تحديد ما إذا كانوا أنفسهم يتدخلون ويعملون مع الغير في السعي وراء التغيير. وبين بداية برنامج التمكين المجتمعي في أوائل عام 2010 ومايو/أيار 2011، وصلت المبادرة إلى 500 ألف فرد في 245 قرية في سريلانكا من القرى التي كانت تؤوي أعداداً كبيرة من النّازحين داخلياً[ii].

وتساعد وحدة "الصحوة السياسية" النازحين في تسجيل جماعتهم قانوناً كمنظمة من منظمات المجتمع المدني، ومن ثم تصبح هذه الكيانات التي يمكن للأفراد النازحين من خلالها الاجتماع لمناقشة العمل "الحمائي" والتخطيط له مع البحث في الوقت نفسه عن فرص المناصرة في النقاشات الوطنية والدولية.

ومن أمثلة مشاركة النازحين التي ألهمتها المنابر والمناصرة حل الحماية والحلول المستدامة ما حدث في ترينكومالي، وهي المنطقة الشرقية التي تأثرت بالحرب. فقد نجحت وحدة ديشودايا فيها بحشد سلطات النقل العامة لتقديم مزيد من الخدمات والمواصلات العامة الكافية لإتاحة الفرصة أمام النازحين العائدين للوصول إلى سوق العمل والحصول على الأمن الوظيفي. ومكَّنت المبادرة الأطفال من الالتحاق بالمدارس في بلدة ترينكومالي وأتاحت للأسر الوصول إلى نوعية أفضل من مراكز الرعاية الصحية الحضرية. وفي أثناء ذلك، بعد انتهاء النزاع، اتحد أعضاء ديشودايا في جفنا بهدف الترويج لحماية الأطفال النازحين العائدين بتحسين مرافق ما قبل الدخول إلى المدرسة وجمع الأموال لتغطية رواتب المعلمين. وبالمثل، في إقليم بوتالام الغربي حيث يوجد كثير من النازحين، تحدثت مجموعة ديشودايا على المستوى القروي في المنابر العامة لرفع الوعي حول قضايا حماية الأطفال التي تواجهها الأسر النازحة العائدة مؤخراً.

وهكذا، أدت منابر ديشودايا التي يقودها القادة القرويون بمن فيهم النازحون إلى منح الفئات السكانية التي كانت لتُهمش لولا ذلك فرصة الحصول على اعتراف بهم بأنهم مشاركون وقادرة في الحوارات التي تخص حمايتهم. وبإيجاد المنابر التي يتولى فيها النازحون مسؤولية رسم مسارهم المستقبلي، تنأى مجموعات ديشودايا بأنفسها عن دفع أجندة الحماية المبنية على العقيدة وكذلك عن الاحتجاج بأنَّه لا ينبغي إشراك المنظمات الحكومية والدولية في حماية مجتمعات النازحين. وبدلاً من ذلك، تسعى تلك المجموعات إلى التأكيد على أنَّ النازحين السيريلانكيين من جميع العقائد والأديان لهم الحق في المشاركة في برامج الحماية وتحديد المبادرات وقيادتها جنباً إلى جنب مع الحكومة والمنظمات الدولية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني. ولذلك، بالإضافة إلى إثارة مسألة من يحدد معنى الحماية، يتساءل النّازحون داخلياً الآن عن كيفية تصميم مبادرات الحماية الحالية وتنفيذها.

 

إيميلي باري-مورفي emily.c.barry@gmail.com طالبة في مستوى الدكتوراه في كلية الشؤون العامة والدولية و ماكس ستيفينسون mstephen@vt.edu أستاذ ومدير، معهد السياسة والحوكمة، وكلاهما يعملان في معهد بوليتكنك فيرجينيا وجامعة الولاية. www.ipg.vt.edu



[i] انظر نانسي فرايزر (2010)أنطقة العدالة: إعادة تخيل الفضاء السياسي في عولمة العالم حيث تقدم فيها الباحثة إطاراً عاماً يمكن أن تتبناه المنظمات العقيدية غير الحكومية لتسهيل وتسريع عملية لاستغلال قدرات النَّازحين داخلياً.

[ii] وحدة تنسيق شركاء سارفودايا شرامادانا 2011التقرير النهائي: التمكين المجتمعي للسلام والتصالح والإنماء

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Engaging IDPs in Sri Lanka: a Buddhist approach

A Buddhist Sri Lankan NGO provides an example of how endogenous faith-based civil society organisations can help mobilise IDPs in owning and defining strategies for their own protection.

The rhetoric concerning protection of internally displaced people (IDPs) often focuses on top-down, international and/or state-led protection mechanisms. The 1998 Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement and other more recent documents such as the Inter-Agency Standing Committee’s 2010 Framework on Durable Solutions for Internally Displaced Persons emphasise the international community’s responsibility to promote ‘protection’ and ‘durable solutions’ principally by means of national programming, with the participation of additional actors, including IDPs, as appropriate. An emphasis on state-led IDP action agendas does not consider seriously that those most affected by displacement could serve as leaders in designing and implementing their reintegration efforts, including being actively included in the process of defining what concepts of ‘protection’ and ‘durable solutions’ mean.[1]

An example of a faith-based NGO working to empower IDPs to take part in framing and organising themselves in addressing issues that concern them is the Sarvodaya Shramadana Movement in Sri Lanka. In recent years, Sri Lanka has suffered from many events causing displacement – including the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami, a long civil war and recent large economic development projects. Sarvodaya works through a small number of national units and hundreds of legally independent organisations, called Shramadana Societies, which operate at the village level to address post-conflict development concerns through a Buddhist spiritual framework of mindfulness based on the concepts of sarvodaya (awakening of all) and shramadana (sharing of labour).

The movement seeks to bring together politics, economics and faith in a development approach grounded in village-level democratic participation, non-violence and a belief that diverse ethnic and religious groups can together improve the nation’s quality of life. Sarvodaya works for and with Buddhist, Christian, Muslim and Hindu groups.

Power and protection

One of Sarvodaya’s key initiatives is Deshodaya. Deshodaya is a Buddhist term that suggests spiritual liberation from individual and unequal socio-economic limitations in order to build human potential. The programme employs mindfulness and ‘awakening’ to define ‘protection’ and ‘durable solutions’ in ways that help villagers, especially individuals who have been disempowered by their displacement, to recognise the power dynamics at play in local, national and international arenas, how these affect their lives and how they can use this recognition to understand the dominant discourse that underlies the power dynamics (and change it).

Villagers are encouraged to think critically about power and how it is enacted at the international, national and local levels; to create regional, district and village-level Deshodaya forums and groups to lobby and work with the government and international organisations; and to promote individual and community-level action that generates a bottom-up understanding of peace, development, post-conflict reconciliation and, most importantly for displaced individuals, protection. National Deshodaya forums bring villagers together – including IDPs – to learn about national and international actors responsible for policies that affect their lives. Participants are encouraged to identify where they themselves can intervene and act with others in seeking change. Between the start of its community empowerment programme in early 2010 and May 2011, the initiative reached 500,000 individuals in 245 villages in Sri Lanka, many of which had large numbers of IDPs.[2]

Sarvodaya’s ‘political awakening’ unit helps IDPs to register their group legally as a civil society organisation; these entities then become the mechanism through which displaced individuals at the village, district or regional level can come together to discuss and plan ‘protective’ action, while looking for opportunities for advocacy in national and international discussions.

An example of forum-inspired IDP participation and advocacy concerning protection and durable solutions occurred in the eastern, war-affected district of Trincomalee, in which a Deshodaya unit successfully lobbied public transport authorities for additional services; adequate public transportation allowed returning IDPs to access the employment market and gain job security. The initiative also allowed children to enter schools in Trincomalee town and permitted families to reach better urban health-care facilities. Meanwhile, in Jaffna after the official end of the conflict, Deshodaya members joined together to promote protection for child IDP returnees by improving pre-school facilities and raising money for teachers’ salaries. Similarly, in the western district of Puttalam, where there are many IDPs, a village-level Deshodaya group spoke in public forums to raise awareness of child protection issues faced by recently returned displaced families.

Deshodaya forums led by village leaders, including IDPs, have resulted in otherwise marginalised populations becoming recognised as participants and leaders in conversations concerning their protection. By creating forums in which IDPs assume responsibility for developing their own path forward, the Deshodaya groups are not pushing a faith-based protection agenda, nor are they arguing that government and international organisations should not be involved in protection for IDP communities. Rather, they are contending that displaced Sri Lankans of all faiths should have the right and the possibility to participate in protection programmes and to define and lead those initiatives in tandem with government, international and other civil society organisations. So, in addition to calling into question who is defining what protection means, IDPs are now also questioning how current protection initiatives are designed and implemented.

 

Emily Barry-Murphy emily.c.barry@gmail.com is a PhD Student at the School of Public and International Affairs, and Max Stephenson Jr mstephen@vt.edu is Professor and Director, Institute for Policy and Governance, both at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. www.ipg.vt.edu

 

[1] See Nancy Fraser’s 2010 Scales of Justice: Reimagining Political Space in a Globalizing World in which she provides a framework that endogenous faith-based NGOs can adopt to facilitate and catalyse a process of IDP agency.

[2] Sarvodaya Shramadana Partner Coordination Unit’s 2011 Final Report: Community Empowerment for Peace, Reconciliation and Development (CEPRD).

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview