العصيان المدني المسيحي واحتجاز الهجرة الإجباري لأمد غير محدد في أستراليا

هناك حركة جديدة بين الناشطين المسيحيين في أستراليا تتمثل في استخدام العمل الراديكالي لتحدي سياسة بلادهم في اتباع الاحتجاز الإجباري للأطفال طالبي اللجوء.

في أواخر عام  2013، أطلقت الحكومة الأسترالية سياسة "حدود العمليات السيادية"  لتوقف معالجة جميع طلبات طالبي اللجوء الذين يرغبون إعادة التوطين في أستراليا والذين يستخدمون البحرية (على نحو مثير للجدل) بإعادة قواربهم قبل أن يدخلوا إلى المياه الإقليمية. وعُممت حملة إعلانية تحمل موضوعاً عسكرياً معادياً على الأشخاص الذين قد يطلبون اللجوء بأنه "من المستحيل”" أن يسعوا إلى إعادة التوطين في أستراليا.

ورداً على ذلك، استخدمت مجموعة من المسيحيين النمط والخط ذاتيهما المستخدمين في تلك الحملة الحكومية وبدأت حملة مضادة بعنوان "الحب يجعل المستحيل ممكناً." وتبنت المجموعة تعاليم السيد المسيح ومارتن لوثر كينغ الصغير والماهاتما غاندي ودفعت إلى اتخاذ الإجراءات بشأن أكثر من 700 طفل من طالبي اللجوء المحتجزين لأمد غير محدود.[i] وتسعى الحركة إلى إبراز الجانب الإنساني من الموضوع من خلال حملة مباشرة نابذة للعنف وعصيان مدني.

وتتمثل إجراءاتهم "بالاعتصامات" لأداء الصلوات المسائية داخل مكاتب السياسيين مثل رئيس الوزراء ووزير الهجرة وحماية الحدود إذ تدخل مجموعات صغيرة من القادة الدينيين من مختلف التقاليد ويحتلون مكتب السياسي ويمارسون الصلوات والطقوس إلى أن يحصلوا على التزام من هؤلاء أو إطار زمني على الأقل لإطلاق سراح جميع الأطفال من الاحتجاز.

وبين شهري مارس/آذار ونوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2014، احتل 112 قادة دينيون منهم 41 راهباً وأربعة راهبات وحاخام يهودي مكاتب 12 عضواً في البرلمان في كل من سيدني وميلبورن وبيرث وأديلايد وبريسبين ولاونسيستون وكانبيرا. واعتُقل إثر ذلك 95 شخصاً وقُدم إلى المحاكمة 25 غيرهم على أساس التعدي على ملكية الغير لكنّ القضاة أسقطوا القضايا لاحقاً. وتركز الحركة على الأحداث الإنسانية باستخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي خاصة من خلال التغريدات الحية عبر تويتر حول الاعتصامات والاعتقالات، وما من شك أنَّ الطبيعة الدينية للحركة ساهمت في نمو شعبيتها بطرق عدة. 

فأولاً، تمكنت الحركة من خلال شعارها "الحب يجعل المستحيل ممكناً" إزالة الغموض عن الحوار السياسي اللامتناهي في أستراليا حول كيفية التعامل مع طالبي اللجوء وذلك باختزال الجدال الدائر والتركيز على المبدأ الإنساني الأساسي بأنه من الخطأ احتجاز الأطفال لمدد لا نهائية. وتضع الحركة هذا المبدأ ضمن إطار الظلم الذي لا يمكن لهم كمسيحيين أن يقبلوه بل يدعون لرفع ذلك الظلم مستلهمين في سبيل ذلك قصة "عيسى اللاجئ" الذي كان عليه وهو رضيع أن يفر من اضطهاد الملك هيرودتس.[ii] وقد صُمم هذا التأطير لإقناع المسيحيين الآخرين بتغيير مواقفهم ونظراتهم تجاه طالبي اللجوء أو للانضمام إلى الحركة.

وثانياً، تولَّدت البنية الحركية واللامركزية للحركة من شبكات الكنائس الموجودة أصلاً وهذا عنى إمكانية إطلاق أعمال الاحتجاج بسرعة وفي جميع المواقع في شتى أنحاء البلاد.

وثالثاً، تستند الحركة إلى الحس العاطفي للوحدة وينادي قادتها بمبدأ أنّ الكنائس الأسترالية تتحدث “بصوت واحد” حول الموضوع. وفي الواقع، ليس ذلك حقيقة تماماً، ومع ذلك نجحت الحركة في حشد أكبر عدد من الطوائف الكنسية وإشراكها بدءاً بالتحرريين وانتهاءً بالمحافظين- لإضفاء صورة مفادها أنَّ المؤسسات الرئيسية تساعدها.

وأخيراً تستهدف الحركة إبراز كلمة الحب على أنها شكل من أشكال الالتزامات الأخلاقية أثناء خطابهم مع السياسيين الذين يعتنقون الديانة المسيحية. ومع أنّه من النادر ذكر كلمة الحب في النقاشات حول طالبي اللجوء، فأي شخص لديه المعرفة البسيطة بالعهد القديم سيألف إحدى الوصايا العشر "أحبَّ جارك". ويقول نشطاء حركة "الحب يجعل المستحيل ممكناً" إنهم يسعون إلى دعوة السياسيين إلى تبني أسلوب أكثر عطفاً  وهذه الروح الجماعية للحركة تجعل تأثيرهم قوياً.

وبعدم إظهار أي نية للتراجع، أثبتت حركة الحب يجعل المستحيل ممكناً أنه ما زال هناك مجال لنا نحن بصفتنا مواطنين عالميين لاتخاذ الإجراءات العملية بعد أن احتيل على القانون الدولي وبعد أن لقيت الرسائل والعرائض المقدمة منهم الرفض والتجاهل.  بل هناك زخم واضح متنام من الأشخاص الذين يُبدُونَ التزاماً كبيراً للمعنى الحقيقي لمحبة جيرانهم.

ماركوس كامبل  mcam2375@uni.sydney.edu.au باحث في مستوى الماجستير في جامعة سيدني. www.sydney.edu.au

 


[i] انظر نشرة الهجرة القسرية العدد 44 حول "الاحتجاز وبدائل الاحتجاز والتّرحيل" www.fmreview.org/detention

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Christian civil disobedience and indefinite, mandatory immigration detention in Australia

A new movement of Christian activists in Australia is using radical direct action to challenge their country’s policy of mandatory detention of asylum seeker children.

In late 2013 the Australian government launched ‘Operation Sovereign Borders’, ceasing all processing of asylum seekers for resettlement in Australia and controversially using the navy to turn boats back before they enter territorial waters. An aggressive military-themed advertising campaign was circulated to inform would-be asylum seekers that there is ‘No Way’ they would ever be resettled in Australia.

In response to this, a group of Christians appropriated the font style and layout of the government campaign and began the movement ‘Love Makes A Way’. Inspired by the legacies of Jesus Christ, Martin Luther King Jr and Gandhi, and compelled to take action for the more than 700 asylum-seeker children held in indefinite detention,[1] the movement seeks to dramatise the issue through nonviolent direct action and civil disobedience.

Their actions take the form of ‘sit-in’ prayer vigils inside the offices of politicians such as the Prime Minister and the Minister for Immigration and Border Protection. Small groups of faith leaders from a range of different traditions enter and occupy a politician’s office to say liturgical prayers for asylum seekers and sing hymns, refusing to leave until they are given a commitment or timeline for the release of all children from detention.

Between March and November 2014, 112 faith leaders including 41 clergy, four nuns and a Jewish rabbi occupied the offices of twelve members of parliament across Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane, Launceston and Canberra. 95 people were arrested and 25 faced court for trespass but the cases were later dismissed by magistrates. The movement capitalises on these dramatic events by intelligent use of social media, particularly though live tweeting about the sit-ins and arrests, and the religious nature of the movement has no doubt contributed to its growing popularity in many ways. 

Firstly, Love Makes A Way has been able to demystify the endless political debate in Australia about how to deal with asylum seekers by reducing the argument down to the basic moral principle that it is wrong to detain children indefinitely. They frame it as an injustice so intolerable that as Christians they are called to action by the ‘refugee Jesus’ who as an infant had to flee persecution by King Herod.[2] Framing the issue in this way is designed to persuade other Christians to change their views on asylum seekers or to join the movement.

Secondly, the dynamic and decentralised structure of the movement was born out of pre-existing church networks and this has meant that protest actions can be launched quickly and in locations all over the country.

Thirdly, the movement appeals to a sense of unity, with leaders claiming that Australian churches are speaking with ‘one voice’ on the issue. In reality this is not strictly true but the movement succeeds by having as many church denominations as possible involved – from liberal to conservative – giving the sense that there are major institutions backing them.

Lastly, the word love is targeted as a form of moral leverage to call out politicians who profess to be Christians. Love is rarely brought up in discussions on asylum seekers but anyone with the most basic knowledge of the New Testament would be familiar with its repeated command to ‘love your neighbour’. Love Makes A Way activists say they aim to invite the politicians to a more compassionate and loving way, and this ethos makes their influence powerful.

With no sign of slowing down, Love Makes A Way has proven that there is still room for us as global citizens to take practical action after international law has been circumvented, letters and petitions have been dismissed, and street protests have been ignored. There is clearly a growing momentum of people radically committed to the true meaning of loving their neighbour.

 

Marcus Campbell mcam2375@uni.sydney.edu.au is a Master of Research student at the University of Sydney. www.sydney.edu.au

 

[1] See FMR issue 44 on ‘Detention, alternatives to detention, and deportation’ www.fmreview.org/detention

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview