المبادئ والتبشير: ممارسة حميدة في أثيوبيا

على المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة أن تتأكد أنها من خلال توفير المساعدات الإنسانية الأساسية لن تستغل استضعاف الناس بالتبشير سواءً أكان ذلك صراحة أم ضمنياً.

ألزمت المنظمات الإنسانية التي وقعت على مدونة السلوك لحركة الصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر وكذلك المنظمات غير الحكومية العاملة في الإغاثة في حالات الطوارئ أنفسها على عدم اللجوء إلى استخدام الاستجابة الإنسانية في تعميق العقائد السياسية أو الدينية.[1] ومع ذلك، الحقيقية هي أنَّ بعض المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة تنخرط في التبشير في سياق تقديم المساعدات سواءً أكان ذلك من خلال النشاطات كالصلاة مثلاً أم من خلال دراسات الكتب المقدسة وتوزيعها أو عرض المواد الدينية ورموزها. ومثل هذه الممارسات حدَّت كثيراً من مساهمات المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة في حماية اللاجئين ودعمهم. وقد عرَّف مجلس الكنائس العالمي في تقرير له عام 1961 التبشير على أنه إفساد للشهادة المسيحية: "تفسد الشهادة باستخدام التملق والرشوة وممارسة الضغوط غير العادلة أو التخويف سواءً أكان ذلك ضمناً أم صراحةً بهدف إدخال معتنقين جدد للديانة."  وفي العام ذاته، انضمت لمجلس الكنائس العالمي عدة كنائس أرثوذكسية تعارض التبشير منذ أبد بعيد.

وتدير كنيسة تيواهيدو الإثيوبية الأرثوذكسية برنامجاً لدعم اللاجئين من خلال لجنة الإنماء والمساعدات العابرة للكنائس التابعة لها في قسم شؤون اللاجئين والعائدين.[2]ويأتي اللاجئون الذين يدعمهم هذا البرنامج من الصومال وأريتيريا وجنوب السودان والسودان وجمهورية الكونغو الديموقراطية واليمن. وفي فبراير/شباط 2014، كان هناك ما يقارب ألفي لاجئ في المخيمات ممن يتلقون التعليم الثانوي من اللجنة إضافة إلى 2500 لاجئ في المناطق الحضرية ممن كانوا يعتمدون على قسم شؤون اللاجئين والعائدين للحصول على الرعاية الصحية والتعليم بعض المال للمعيشة. ووفقاً تاريخ الكنيسة الأرثوذكسية الإثيوبية الطويل في معارضته للتبشير، يتخذ البرنامج موقفاً متشدداً ضد التبشير.

ومع أنَّ موقع الإنترنت الخاص باللجنة يشير إلى المصادر الإنجيلية على أنها مصدر التزامها في مساعدة اللاجئين "فلم ألحظ فيه أي بيان أو رمز ديني مكتوب أو معروض باستثناء ختم المنظمة الذي يحمل رمز الصليب"، وهذا ما ذكره أحد اللاجئين الصوماليين الذين قابلتهم الكاتبة. وهذه من الممارسات المهمة في فصل الناحية الروحية عن الإنسانية. ومع ذلك، من المهم معرفة أنه حتى الرموز، كالصليب مثلاً الموجود على ختم المنظمة، قد ينظر لها بعضهم على أنَّها من الأمور الحساسة التي تروّج لعقيدة معينة أخرى. ومن المهم أيضاً أنه لا يوجد أي رموز أو إشارات مرجعية في المقر الرئيسي للجنة ولا في المدارس التي يتعلم فيها اللاجئون.

ولدى سؤالنا إذا ما كان أي من موظفي اللجنة يتحدثون إلى اللاجئين في أمور الدين، يجيب دينغ غاه، وهو لاجئ من جنوب السودان قائلاً: "نعم. إنهم يخبروننا أنه علينا أن نكون أقوياء في ديننا لكي نعزز من قدرتنا على مقاومة الظروف السيئة التي نمر بها ونعيشها." وبهذه الطريقة، تعزز اللجنة العقيدة كطريقة من طرق التغلب على الصدمة النفسية والمعاناة دون أن يقول أي من أفرادها للاجئين: "عقيدتي هي الأفضل".

وفي حين يمثل التعليم البيئة الأكثر احتمالاً لحدوث التبشير، يُلاحظُ أنَّ المدارس التي تديرها اللجنة تتبع منهاج الحكومة العلماني كما أنه لا يوجد أي مقررات إنجيلية إضافية على عكس ما تقدمه المدارس الأساسية والثانوية التي تديرها الكنيسة لسكانها المحليين (أي في المدارس غير تلك المؤسسة لأهداف إنسانية). ومن الممكن أن يجد المتطوعون نافذة يستغلونها في التبشير المسيحي من خلال تقديم خدمات الرعاية الصحية للاجئين المرضى و/أو المنهكين نفسياً. لكن اللجنة تسمح للمتطوعين (بمن فيهم اللاجئين) من شتى الانتماءات الدينية بل حتى الذين لا ينتمون إلى دين معين من العمل معهم وتقدم لهم التوجيه حول التصرفات المناسبة وغير المناسبة.

ولا تخضع عميلة فرز المتقدمين للوظائف في اللجنة إلى اعتبارات الالتزام بالديانة المسيحية أو أي ديانة أخرى. ومع أنَّ المقابلة مع المتقدم بطلب الوظيفة تتضمن سؤالاً حول معرفته العامة بالكنيسة الأرثوذكسية الإثيوبية/اللجنة، لا يوجد هناك أي توقع من أن يكون ذلك الشخص ملتزماً بالكنيسة. وهكذا، هناك مسلمون وأشخاص من طوائف مسيحية أخرى يعملون مع اللجنة في المقر الرئيسي وكذلك في مخيمات اللاجئين. ومع ذلك، حتى الآن لا يوجد أشخاص من الديانات الأخرى يشغلون أي منصب رفيع، وربما يجب على اللجنة التفكير في هذه النقطة.

الرصد والمساءلة

تتطلب الشراكة بين اللجنة ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين التمسك بالمبادئ الإنسانية (بما فيها نبذ التمييز وعدم التبشير) ورصد ذلك ورقابته. ومن هنا، أُوكِلت إلى فرق التقييم التشاركي مهمة التقييم الدوري لأداء الدعم الإنساني الذي تقدمه المنظمة. يقول أحمد عبد الله وهو لاجئ من أريتيريا وعضو في إحدى هذه الفرق: "كان انتخابنا ديموقراطياً وكنا نمثل كل جنسية من جنسيات اللاجئين ونراجع كل جانب توصيل الدعم الإنساني. أما بخصوص مسألة فرض الدين، فليس هذا ما نفعله ولم نعاني من أي مشكلة. ولو حدث أن صادفنا ممارسة مثل هذه فسوف نلفت انتباه المنظمة لها لتصويب الوضع." وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تجتمع لجنة مراكز اللاجئين كل شهر (وتدعو اللاجئين الحضريين والمقيمين في المخيمات لحضور) لمناقشة القضايا المقلقة لهم ولتقديم الشكاوى حسب الأصول. ويتاح أيضاً للاجئين تقديم شكاويهم علناً في الاجتماعات أو سراً بالكتابة أو عبر البريد الإلكتروني.

وربما تظهر مشكلة التبشير تحت غطاء المساعدات الإنسانية لأنَّ التمويل يأتي من مناصري دين معين. ومع أنَّ لجنة الإنماء والمساعدات العابرة للكنائس تؤمن تمويلها من هيئات الأمم المتحدة ما يجعلها تحدد بكل وضوح الحدود بين المساعدات الإنسانية والتبشير، فمن الموصى به تمييز عملها الإنساني عن قيمها الدينية في سياق التعامل مع الأشخاص الذين يفرون من الاضطهاد ويسعون للحماية. فبمقدور المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة أن تمثِّل أدواراً حيوية في حماية المُهجَّرين ودعمهم، لكن عليها في الوقت نفسه أن تتمسك بمبدأ الشراكة الإنسانية القائم على نبذ التمييز والامتناع عن التبشير. والاستهزاء بهذا المبدأ سيكون بمنزلة الاستغلال والإساءة.      

زينيبي ديستا zenedesta@gmail.com  تخرجت مؤخراً في مركز دراسات المساعدات الإنسانية وحصلت منه على درجة الماجستير في التعاون الدولي والمساعدات الإنسانية. http://proyectokalu.com

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Principles and proselytising: good practice in Ethiopia

Faith-based organisations need to ensure that in providing essential humanitarian assistance they do not exploit the vulnerability of people by proselytising, whether overtly or covertly. 

Humanitarian agencies who have signed up to the Code of Conduct for the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement and NGOs in Disaster Relief have committed themselves not to use humanitarian response to further political or religious creeds.[1] However, the reality is that some faith-based organisations (FBOs) do proselytise in the context of giving aid, whether through activities such as prayer, scriptural study and distribution or display of religious materials and symbols. Such practices gravely erode the contributions of FBOs in the protection and support of refugees. A World Council of Churches report in 1961 defined proselytism as a corruption of Christian witness: “Witness is corrupted when cajolery, bribery, undue pressure or intimidation is used – subtly or openly – to bring about seeming conversion.”  That same year several Orthodox Churches – which had long been opposed to proselytism – joined the World Council of Churches.

The Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahido Church runs a refugee support programme through its Development and Inter-Church Aid Commission in the Refugee and Returnee Affairs Department (DICAC-RRAD).[2] The refugees supported by DICAC-RRAD are mainly from Somalia, Eritrea, South Sudan, Sudan, Democratic Republic of Congo and Yemen. In February 2014, about 2,000 camp refugees were receiving secondary education provided by DICAC-RRAD, and around 2,500 urban refugees were dependent on the department for health care, education and subsistence money. In accordance with the Orthodox Church’s long history of opposition to proselytism, the Ethiopian Orthodox Church’s refugee support programme takes a firm stance against proselytising.

Although DICAC-RRAD’s website carries references to biblical sources for its commitment to assist refugees, “there is no religious statement or symbol or icons that I have ever observed written or displayed except the stamp of the organisation that bears a cross”, says a Somali refugee interviewed by the author. This is an important practice in keeping spirituality and humanitarianism separate. However, it is essential to be aware that even a symbol such as a cross on an organisation’s ‘stamp’ could be picked up on – as either a sensitive matter or deemed to be promoting a faith – by people from a different religious background. Significantly, there are no religious symbols, icons or references on or in the DICAC-RRAD head office or in the schools in the refugee camps.

When asked if DICAC-RRAD staff ever approached refugees to discuss religion, Deng Gach, a South Sudanese refugee, says “Yes, they tell us to be strong in our own religion in order to be resilient in the face of all the bad things we have gone through.” In this way, DICAD-RRAD reinforces faith as a way to cope with trauma and suffering without saying ‘my faith is the best way’.

While education is a likely setting for proselytising to creep in, the schools run by DICAC-RRAD follow the government’s secular curriculum and there are no additional biblical subjects provided, unlike those provided in the church-run primary and secondary schools for the local population (i.e. schools not established for humanitarian purposes). Providing health-care services for ill and/or distressed refugees could also be open to volunteers using the opportunity for evangelism. DICAC-RRAD allows volunteers (who include refugees) of any and no religious affiliation, and provides orientation for them on what is and is not appropriate.

Applicants for jobs with DICAC are not screened for their commitment to Christianity or any other faith. Although there is an interview question on the applicant’s general knowledge of the Ethiopian Orthodox Church/DICAC, there is no expectation of a commitment to the church. Hence, there are Muslims and persons from other Christian denominations who work for DICAC-RRAD, both in the head office and in the refugee camps. So far, however, there are no people from other religions in senior positions, something that DICAC might wish to reflect on.

Monitoring and accountability

DICAC-RRAD’s partnership with UNHCR requires adherence to humanitarian principles (including non-discrimination and no proselytising) and monitoring thereof. Participatory Assessment Teams are tasked with periodically assessing the performance of the humanitarian support that the organisation is providing. Ahmed Abdella, a refugee from Eritrea who is a member of one of these teams, explains: “We were democratically elected, representing each refugee nationality, and we review every aspect of humanitarian support delivery. With regard to the imposition of religion, we have had no problem with that so far. If we noticed such a practice, we would bring it to the organisation’s attention to be rectified.” In addition, a Refugee Centre Committee meets every month (involving both urban and camp-based refugees) to discuss issues of concern and to lodge complaints as appropriate. Furthermore, individual complaints by refugees can be made openly at meetings or confidentially in writing or email.

Proselytising under cover of humanitarian aid can come about because the funding comes from the proponent of a particular religion. While the fact that DICAC-RRAD secures its funding from UN agencies is one reason why it does not blur the lines between humanitarianism and proselytisation, it should be commended for differentiating its humanitarian work from its religious values in the context of people fleeing persecution and seeking protection. Faith-based organisations can play vital roles in protecting and supporting displaced people but need to adhere to the humanitarian partnership principle of non-discrimination and non-proselytism. Flouting this principle could be tantamount to exploitation and abuse.      

 

Zenebe Desta zenedesta@gmail.com has recently graduated from the Humanitarian Aid Studies Centre’s Master’s in International Cooperation and Humanitarian Aid. http://proyectokalu.com  

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview