خارج نطاق مسؤوليتنا

عند استجابة المنظمات العلمانية لحاجات المُهجَّرين، قد لا تكون الممارسات الدينية والحاجات الاجتماعية على رأس قائمة أولويات الأمور التي يجب التفكير بفعلهاوبالفعل، قد تجد المنظمات صعوبة في إدراك أهمية الدين في الحياة والموت.

في نهاية عام ١٩٩٠، طردت حركة نمور التاميل جميع السكان المسلمين من المقاطعة الشمالية في سريلانكا، وكثير منهم، وقد أصبحوا الآن نازحين داخلياً، توجهوا إلى منطقة بوتالام على الشاطئ الغربي، حيث توجد منظمة أوكسفام العلمانية، التي تأخذ على عاتقها كثيراً من مهمات العمل مع الحكومة المحلية لإقامة المخيمات و توفير مواد الإيواء، من بين أمور أخرى.

ومن أكثر مواد التسقيف والبناء توافراً وشيوعاً هو ما يمسى محلياً بالكادجانز، وهي أوراق النخيل المحلي، إذ تسُتخدم لعمل قش التسقيف العازل للماء، ومع ذلك، نظراً للبيئة الممطرة والمياه الجوفية الضحلة، وفَّرنا أيضاً لفائف من الألواح البلاستيكية لتقطيعها كألواح أرضية. واحتُسبَت الكميات اللازمة بناءً على عدد الأكواخ ومساحة كل منها، ,كُلف النَّازحون داخلياً بتقطيع هذه الألواح وتوزيعها على كل كوخ، ومع ذلك، عندما ذهبت للإشراف على التوزيع في واحدة من هذه المستوطنات، وجدت أنَّ مساحة كبيرة من الألواح خُصصت للاستخدام في فرش أرضية المسجد ( الذي أُنشئ- مثل الأكواخ- من الاعمدة الخشبية و" الكادجانز" المقدمة لهم، وبما أننّي الشخص المسؤول، كان رد فعلي أنه لم يكن بمقدورنا توفير الألواح للمسجد، إذ إنَّها قُدِّمت للاستخدام في بناء المساكن فقط.

و أجد من الصعب، لمرور الزمن، أن أتذكر على وجه اليقين النّقاشات  التي دارت بيني وبين أفراد مجتمع النَّازحين داخلياً، ولكن حُجتي كانت قائمة على أمرين هما: "حقيقة" أنَّ منظمتنا كانت علمانية من الأساس، فليس من اختصاصها تقديم العون لبناء مبنى مخصص لممارسة الشعائر الدينية بل للسكن. أما الأمر الآخر فكان مبنياً على الاعتراض على أنَّ المسجد كان مخصصاً حصراً للرجال والصبيان وليس لجميع فئات المجتمع ومن بينها النساء والفتيات،

وبغض النظر عن حجتهم، فقد "فازوا" في النهاية بحكم الأمر الواقع ولعدم استطاعتي إقناعهم بالعكس. ولكن على أي حال، كنا جميعاً نتشارك التفكير ذاته، إذ كنا نعتقد أنه من مصلحة الجميع الإبقاء على علاقة طيبة واستمرار العمل بيننا، بحيث لا تقتصر على المساعدة الحالية فحسب، بل تضم أيضاً المساعدة في بناء القدرات مع المنظمة الجديدة للنازحين داخلياً التي كانوا يؤسسونها.

وأتذكر أنني أبلغت عما حدث للمديرين المسؤولين عني في سريلانكا وفي المملكة المتحدة لكنَّ الأمر لم ينته إلى شيء. إلاّ أنّي كثيراً ما أتذكر هذا الأمر وأفكر فيه بإمعان، فبالنيابة عن المنظمة، لم أضع في الحسبان قيمة وجود مسجد عند الناس، أو ربما الخسارة المجتمعية من عدم وجوده.   لقد وقفت بجانبهم في وجه السلطات المحلية، للسماح لهم ببناء مستوطنات شبيهة بالقرى بدلاً من مخيمات مصفوفة بغير تناسق، ولكنني لم أصل وقتها إلى اقتناع بحاجاتهم الدينية.  وما زلت غير متيقن مما إذا كنت مخطئاً أم لا، فحتى هذا العرض المجرد للوضع، وإيجابياته وسلبياته وما له وما عليه، يشير إلى بعض جوانب أساس المشكلة.

وفي المقابل، عندما كنت في الصومال في أواخر عام ١٩٩٢، وفّرنا عن طيب أكفاناً لمساعدة الناس في دفن كثير من الأشخاص الذين ماتوا بسبب العنف والمجاعة، وذلك طبقاً للشعائر الدينية،  وقد يكون ذلك الوضع استثنائياً، لكنَّ الاعتراف بأهمية الدين في حالات الموت والاستجابة له بفاعلية أسهل نوعاً ما لمنظمة علمانية صريحة ولأفرادها، من الاعتراف بأهميته في الحياة.

 موريس هيرسون maurice.herson@qeh.ox.ac.uk محرر نشرة الهجرة القسرية في مركز دراسات اللاجئين، جامعة أكسفورد.www.fmreview.org

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Not in our remit

When secular organisations are responding to the needs of displaced people, the religious practices and needs of the communities may not be high on the list of things to be thought about. Indeed secular organisations may struggle to recognise the importance of religion, in life and in death.

At the end of 1990 the Tamil Tigers expelled all of the Muslim residents from Sri Lanka’s Northern Province. Many of those who were now internally displaced went to the Puttalam area on the west coast where Oxfam, a secular organisation, took on much of the task of working with the local government to create camps, providing –  among other things – shelter materials.

The most easily available and common roofing and wall material are cadjans, the leaves of a local palm, which are used to make a waterproof form of thatch. However, given the rainy environment and the shallow water table, we also provided rolls of plastic sheeting to be cut up as groundsheets. Quantities were calculated by the number of huts and their area, and the IDPs were instructed to cut the sheeting and give it out for use in each hut. However, when I went to monitor the distribution in one of these settlements I found that a substantial area of sheeting had been designated for use on the floor of the mosque (which had been constructed, like the huts, out of poles that we had provided and cadjans). As the person responsible, my reaction was that we could not provide sheeting for the mosque as it had been given for use in dwellings.

I find it difficult at this distance in time to recall with certainty my arguments and those of the community of IDPs but mine included both the ‘fact’ that, as a secular organisation, it was not in our remit to provide for a building devoted to religious observance rather than residence, and the objection that the mosque was for the exclusive use of men and boys rather than the whole community, including women and girls.

Whatever their arguments were, in the end they ‘won’ both by virtue of the fait accompli and because I was not able to persuade them otherwise. But in any case we were all of the same mind, that it was in the interests of all that we remained on good terms and continued the work – not just immediate assistance but also capacity building with a new IDP organisation they were forming.

I recall reporting what had happened to my managers, in-country and in the UK, and nothing came of it. Except I have often thought back to it and reflected how I, on behalf of the organisation, did not take notice of the value to the people of having a mosque, or maybe of the loss of community to them in not having one. I had worked with them, and against the local authorities, to let them build village-like settlements rather than rigidly aligned camps but I had not taken the further step of seeing their religious needs. I am still not sure I was wrong but even this bare outline of the situation and its pros and cons indicate some parts of the core difficulty.

By way of contrast, when I was in Somalia in late 1992, we willingly provided shrouds to enable people to bury, with due religious observance, the many people dying of violence and starvation. A far more extreme situation but, somehow, recognising the importance of religion in death seemed easier for an avowedly secular organisation, and staff member, to actively respond to than the importance of it in life.

 

Maurice Herson maurice.herson@qeh.ox.ac.uk is Co-Editor of Forced Migration Review at the Refugee Studies Centre, University of Oxford. www.fmreview.org

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview