مساهمات المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة العاملة مع النازحين

تستمد المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة من موروثاتها الدينية دوافعًا قوية ومدخلًا لتاريخ طويل من التفكير في القضايا الاجتماعية والسياسية. وهذا ما يجعلها مثالية لملء الثغرات القائمة في تنفيذ مبادئ حقوق الإنسان.

في بداية عام 2014، زرت مافيسيلا - امرأة زيمبابوية تعيش في كوخ صغير في ضواحي مدينة صغيرة في جنوب إفريقيا[i].  وقد جاءت إلى جنوب إفريقيا أثناء الهجرة العظيمة من زيمبابوي في 2008 ومُنحت تصريح اللجوء بموجب نظكام الإعفاء العام المُفعل آنذاك وتجدد هذا التصريح دوريًا دون الفصل في قضيتها منذ ذلك الحين. وقد التقت المنظمة اليسوعية لخدمات المُهجَّرين بمافيسيلا لأول مرة في مستشفى محلية. وكانت بالكاد على قيد الحياة ووزنها 25 كجم وتعاني من فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية/الإيدز والسل المقاوم للأدوية. ومنذ ذلك التوقيت، ساعدتها المنظمة بمجموعة متنوعة من التدخلات ما مكنها من استعادة صحتها تدريجيًا والتواصل مع المجتمع المحلي (سواء في جنوب إفريقيا أم مع المهاجرين) والبدء في إيجاد عمل.

تسلط استجابة المنظمة اليسوعية لخدمات المُهجَّرين لقضية مافيسيلا الضوء على نوع المساهمات التي قد تقدمها المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة العاملة في مجال التهجير القسري وكذلك التحديات والمخاطر التي قد تواجهها تلك المنظمات. وعلى غرار كثير من أبناء وطن مافيسيلا الذين يعيشون في جنوب إفريقيا، لا تعد مافيسيلا غالبًا "لاجئة حسب تعريف الاتفاقية" وهذا يجعلها تقع خارج إطار الاهتمامات الرئيسية لمفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين. ومثل معظم المهاجرين الباقين على قيد الحياة، شعرت مافيسيلا بأنها مجبرة على الانتقال إلى جنوب إفريقيا حيث تعيش حياة محفوفة بالمخاطر للغاية في فقر مدقع. وقد امتاز برنامج المنظمة اليسوعية لخدمات المُهجَّرين بالتحرر من الاهتمامات التعريفية وبوجود شبكة على أرض الواقع تمكن المنظمة من الاستجابة لبعض احتياجات مافيسيلا ما ترتب عليه زيادة التدخلات المتنوعة أثناء تعرفنا عليها وعلى ظروف قضيتها بمزيد من التفاصيل. وبمرور الوقت، صارت الأولوية لتمكينها من تكوين روابط مع المجتمع المحلي الذي يشتمل أساسًا على السلطات المدنية والكنائس التي تُكّون المنظمة اليسوعية لخدمات المُهجَّرين علاقات معها. وعمومًا، ستستغرق العملية برمتها في نهاية المطاف قرابة الستة أعوام وهو توقيت زمني مألوف لإنهاء مثل هذا العمل.

وأزعم أنَّ أي منظمة قائمة على العقيدة تؤسس على نحو طبيعي بهدف ملء الثغرة القائمة بين اهتمامات الحكومات الرئيسية ومسؤولياتها المنصبة على شعوبها والثغرة في نظام الحماية الدولي حديث العهد الذي يواجه صعوبات في تكوين روابط قوية مع المجتمعات المحلية. وهكذا، تواجه المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة تحديات ومخاطر عند محاولتها ملء مثل هذه الثغرات. ومن تلك التحديات والمخاطر إرهاق قواها وفقد التركيز من ناحية، وتحجيم حريتها وشجاعتها لمواجهة متطلبات المانحين والحاجة لتحقيق نتائج يمكن قياسها من ناحية أخرى. ويمكن للمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة أن تبرز أفضل ما لديها من تقاليد موروثة عندما تقبل بأن تتفاعل أراء هذه التقاليد مع تطور أفكار الإدارة المهنية وتنظيم المشاريع الاجتماعية والهجرة القسرية وأن تتحداها. ولكني واهم إلى حد ما بصعوبة تحقيق هذه المهمة وتعقدها.

لا اعتقد أن مساهمات الموروثات القائمة على العقيدة مع النازحين قسرًا مقصورة على المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة وحسب. وفي الواقع، عادة ما تشكل الشبكات التي تكونها المساجد والكنائس نقطة المرور الأولى للاجئ إلى المجتمع الجديد وهو ما يُعد في جوانب كثيرة أعظم مساهمة قد تقدمها الجماعات القائمة على العقيدة إلا أنَّ تلك المساهمة لا تحظى بالتقدير الكافي. وعلاوة على ذلك، قد تنطبق بالمثل الأفكار التي أتناولها هنا على المنظمات غير الدينية "العلمانية" العاملة في هذا القطاع، فالأخلاق ليست حكرًا على المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة. بل على العكس، فلجميع الأديان حكمة يمكن توظيفها على نحو خلّاق في حوار يتناول تحديد الاحتياجات والاتجاهات الحالية في التفكير البرمجي وذلك سعيًا لتحقيق عمل ذي أهداف محددة تحديدًا جيدًا وميسور الكلفة وبالغ الأثر.

مفهوم الحقوق

تُعرف مجموعة الأفكار التي تطبق من خلالها الكنيسة الكاثوليكية معتقداتها في القضايا الاجتماعية والسياسية بالتعليم الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي. ولذلك جوانب كثيرة يهمنا منها واحدًا فقط على وجه الخصوص وهو مفهوم الكرامة المتأصلة في الإنسان أيًا كانت الظروف التي يواجهها. فهذه الكرامة تهب الإنسان مكانة تجعله شخصًا يجب احترامه من جميع الوجوه. ولا يصعب علينا اكتشاف الروابط القوية بين هذا المفهوم والقيم التي ينادي بها الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان وغيره من صكوك حقوق الإنسان الأخرى الكثيرة. ويؤكد التعليم الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي على جانبين من جوانب طبيعة الكرامة الإنسانية وعلى فهمه للإنسان وهما ما أعتقد أنهما مفيدان على وجه الخصوص.

بادئ ذي بدء، لا يرى التعليم الاجتماعي الكاثوليكي الشخص على أنه فرد ذو حقوق وحسب ولكنه يراه أيضًا إنسانًا تربطه علاقات بالآخرين الذين يعتمد عليهم في كثير من الأحيان لتحقيق أنانيته. وهكذا يتفاعل الشخص مع الآخرين بطرق عدة: اقتصاديًا واجتماعيًا وثقافيًا وسياسيًا ويحدد هويته ومعنى حياته الرئيسي نتاج هذه التفاعلات. وبالتالي يكتسب الشخص حق المساهمة الفاعلة في مجتمع من الناس. ولا يصعب علينا معرفة أن أكثر الآليات السياسية أهمية لبلوغ هذا الحق هو المجتمع السياسي الذي نسميه بالدولة. وعندما لا توفر الدولة على نحو كاف - لأي سبب من الأسباب - هذه البيئة التشاركية يكون للشخص حينها حق - أو بالأحرى عليه واجب - معالجة هذا الموقف عن طريق الهجرة إذا لزم الأمر.

ومثل هذا الأمر ينتزعنا بعيدًا عن طريقة تفكير "هات وخذ " التقليدي. وغالبًا ما يُنظر إلى فرار اللاجئين بوصفه الممارسة الفعالة لأحد الحقوق وثمة فرصة ضعيفة جدًا لرؤية الشخص النازح على أنه ضحية مغلوب على أمره. ويترتب على ذلك أيضًا أنَّ على الدول واجب الترحيب بالمُهجَّرين قسرًا واتخاذ خطوات إيجابية لإدماجهم على نحو فعَّال في المجتمع بطريقة أو بأخرى.

ثانيًا، تُزود المنظمات التي تتبع هذا التقليد بضوابط واسعة وأكثر مرونة عندما تواجه مشكلة في معرفة من الذين ينطبق عليهم التعريف ويستحقون أن يكونوا ضمن إطار اهتماماتها. وهذا الأمر بمثابة دليل على استجابة ممنهجة ومتسقة أخلاقيًا للاجئين والمهاجرين الناجين والمهاجرين أثناء الأزمات والنازحين داخليًا وبقية التجمعات الأخرى التي تقع تحت مصطلح "اللاجئين". وتمتد هذه المرونة الكبيرة لتشمل طبيعة البرامج التي تصممها هذه المنظمات ليتحول بذلك التركيز من على اللاجئين أنفسهم إلى التركيز على محاولة تمكين المجتمع المضيف من مساعدة هؤلاء اللاجئين على البدء في المساهمة الفعَّالة في هذا المجتمع. وبهذه الطريقة تجد المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة نفسها على طريق تنفيذ مشاريع يُشارك فيها أفراد المجتمع المضيف واللاجئين معًا بدلاً عن مجرد استهداف اللاجئين وحسب وتسليط الضوء على مخاطر ردود الفعل العنيفة الناجمة عن كراهية الأجانب من قبل السكان المضيفين.

وتُمثل تلك الرؤية المجتمعية للإنسان ولحقوقه تحديًا أمام المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة ومسوغًا عقلانيًا مستمرًا لها يدفعها للاشتراك بفاعلية في هذا القطاع. ويتصل ذلك بالتفكك المنطقي في خطاب حقوق الإنسان والاستجابة السياسية المترتبة عليه من قبل الحكومات تجاه المُهجَّرين قسرًا الذين يحاولون عبور حدود أراضيها. وقد ظهر مفهوم الدولة العلمانية إلى حيَّز الوجود في أعقاب الحروب الدينية في أوروبا والاتفاق على السماح ببقاء الدين - في نطاق أكثر خصوصية - على أن يوفر الحكام العلمانيون الأمن الشخصي لمن يعيشون داخل حدود الدولة. وبتطور دور الدولة، تنمو مسؤوليات الحكومات تجاه تمييز حقوق مواطنيها عن غيرهم من المقيمين فيها. إلا أن وجود المُهجَّرين قسرًا الذين يسعون للحصول على مجموعة أكبر من حقوق الإنسان عالميًا لا يتماشى مع مثل هذه التسوية السياسية. ويشهد تاريخنا الحديث بأن حكوماتنا - على جميع جوانب الأطياف السياسية - تجد صعوبات في الاستجابة للمُهجَّرين قسرًا ذلك لأنك لن تجد لأي استجابة حقيقية ذات مبادئ نفع سياسي. ويحدث الاستثناء إذا ما تمكنت الحكومات من تحقيق القضية العامة الصعبة من خلال جعل منافع الهجرة الداخلية للسكان المحليين تفوق سلبيات تقبل وجود مجموعة من الغرباء داخل حدود وطنهم.

فمع وجود نظام الحماية الدولي الآخذ في النمو والتطور والخاضع لمصالح عدد من الدول (والتمويل) تُقام المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة - بحكم الحرية الواجبة والفهم الدولي للإنسان الذي تتناوله تقاليدهم - لملء هذه الثغرة. فتلك المنظمات قادرة على فعل أشياء ترغب الحكومات في فعلها ولكنها لا تريد بالضرورة أن يراها الناس تفعلها. وهذا لا يعفي الحكومات من مسؤولية وضع نظام لحقوق الإنسان العالمية. ولا يعني أيضًا أن دور المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة بسيط أو واضح. وهكذا، على المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة أن تمسك عصا الحفاظ على المساءلة من المنتصف بأن تحافظ على معايير الخدمة وإطار القوانين المحلية وأن تمارس في الوقت نفسه تلك الحرية التي تُظهرها آليات مساءلة موروثاتهم الدينية.

ويُحتمل ألا تكون أعظم مساهمات المجتمعات الدينية منظماتها ولكن الشبكات التي سبق ذكرها وما ينتج عنها من قدرة على السماح للناس بالاستمرار في التواصل وإيجاد الترحيب وحُسن الضيافة في بيئة مغايرة وربما عدائية. وقد أثبتت التجربة أيضًا أن تلك الطبيعة الشاملة لهذه الشبكات - إذا ما فُعّلت - هي ما تُحدث الفارق الحقيقي خلال الثماني وأربعين ساعة الأولى الحاسمة في حالات الطوارئ.

وبهذا تصبح المنظمات العابرة للقوميات قادرة على إدراك المساهمات المميزة للمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة وعلى تعلم كيفية العمل معها على نحو أفضل. ويعد القطاع بحاجة ماسة للتعاون على نطاق واسع والاستفادة من نقاط القوة الكامنة في الاختلافات بين جميع المجموعات المتنوعة التي تقدم خدماتها. وفي الوقت نفسه، تصبح المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة قادرة على التخلص من خوفها من العمل مع السلطات المدنية والعابرة للقوميات. وعملًا بذلك، ستظل المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة تؤدي دورًا حيويًا لملء الثغرات المنطقية التي أحدثتها سياسات حقوق الإنسان في حين تبقى هذه المنظمات مسؤولة على نحو كافٍ عن السلطات المدنية وعن التوجيهات التي تضعها موروثاتهم الدينية.

الأب ديفيد هولدكروفت (جمعية يسوع المسيح)  southernafrica.director@jrs.net المدير الإقليمي، منطقة الجنوب الإفريقي، المنظمة اليسوعية لخدمات المُهجَّرين. www.jrssaf.org أو www.jrs.net 



[i] ليس اسمها الحقيقي.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The contribution of FBOs working with the displaced

Faith-based organisations take from their religious traditions both strong motivations and access to a long history of thinking concerning social and political issues. This can make them ideally placed to fill the gaps in the implementation of human rights.

Early in 2014 I visited Mavisela, a Zimbabwean woman living in a small shack on the outskirts of a small town in South Africa.[1] She came to South Africa during the great migration from Zimbabwe in 2008, was granted an asylum permit under the general dispensation in force at the time, and has had it renewed periodically, without resolution of her case, ever since. Jesuit Refugee Service (JRS) first encountered Mavisela in a local hospital. She was barely alive, weighing 25kg and suffering from HIV and drug-resistant TB. Since then, the organisation has helped her with a variety of interventions which have seen her slowly regain her health, make contacts with the community (both South African and migrant) and begin to find work.

JRS’s response to Mavisela’s case highlights the type of contribution that faith-based organisations (FBOs) working in the area of forced displacement can make, as well as some of the challenges and pitfalls they face. Like many of her compatriots living in South Africa, Mavisela is most probably not a ‘Convention refugee’ and this places her outside UNHCR’s core mandate of concern. Like most survival migrants, however, she felt forced to move to South Africa where she lives a highly precarious existence in deep poverty. JRS’s programme had both the freedom from definitional preoccupations and an on-the-ground network to be able to respond to some of her needs, then subsequently to mount various interventions as we came to know her and the circumstances of her case in more detail. Over time the priority has shifted to enabling her to forge links with the local community, which involves mainly the civil authorities and churches with whom JRS is networked. All in all, by the end the process will have taken around six years, a not unusual time frame for such work.

I would argue that an FBO is naturally placed to fill the gap that exists between governments’ core area of concern and responsibility, which is focused on their own citizenry, and that of a relatively young international system of protection which has trouble creating strong links with local communities. FBOs face challenges and risks, however, in attempting to fill this gap. These include, on the one hand, the risk of overstretching and losing focus and, on the other, a diminution of freedom and courage in the face of funders’ requirements and the need to achieve measurable outcomes. FBOs can represent the best of their background traditions when they allow the thinking of those traditions to interact with, and be challenged by, the evolution of thinking in professional management, social entrepreneurship and forced migration. I have few illusions, however, of the difficulty and complexity of this task.

Nor do I view religious traditions’ contribution to work with the forcibly displaced as limited to FBOs. Indeed, the networks provided by mosques and churches often form the first entry point of a refugee into a new society; this is, in many ways, the greatest contribution that faith groups make and it lacks sufficient acknowledgement. Furthermore, the arguments I make can equally apply to ‘secular’ non-faith-based organisations working in the sector – FBOs do not have a monopoly on ethics. However, the major religions all have a wisdom that can be creatively brought into dialogue with the identification of needs and current trends in programmatic thinking to result in well-targeted, cost-effective work with high impact.

The concept of rights

The body of thought by which the Catholic Church applies its beliefs to social and political issues is known as Catholic Social Teaching. There are many aspects to this but one in particular concerns us: the concept of the intrinsic dignity of the human person, no matter in what circumstances that person finds him or herself. This dignity endows the person with the status of someone to whom respect must be shown in every way. It is not hard to see the close links this concept has with those values enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, as well as many other human rights instruments. Catholic Social Teaching emphasises two aspects of the nature of human dignity and its understanding of the human person which I think are especially helpful.

The first is that it views the person not only as an individual with rights but also as a being-in-relation-to-others, and in many ways dependent upon those others for the realisation of selfhood. Thus a person interacts with others in a plethora of ways, economically, socially, culturally and politically, and finds their identity and meaning principally as a result of these interactions. The person as a result has a right to contribute meaningfully to a community of people. It is not difficult to see that the most significant political mechanism for the realisation of this right is the political community we call the state. When the state, for whatever reason, does not adequately provide this participatory environment, then the person has a right, and indeed a duty, to address this situation, if necessary, by migration.

This challenges us out of our traditional provider-beneficiary mindset. Refugee flight is more to be seen as the active exercise of a right, and there is much less opportunity to view the displaced person as helpless victim. It also follows that countries have a duty to welcome forced migrants and take active steps to integrate them effectively into society in some way or other.

Secondly, agencies which have their foundation in this tradition are provided with broader and more flexible parameters when faced with issues of definition – of deciding who should be admitted to their sphere of concern. This should provide a guide to a systematic and ethically consistent response to refugees, survival migrants, crisis migrants, internally displaced people and other groupings under the term ‘displaced’. This greater flexibility extends to the nature of the programmes they design, altering the focus from the refugees themselves to the provision of capacity to the host society to help those refugees begin to contribute meaningfully to that society. This in turn opens the door to FBOs implementing projects which involve both members of the host society and refugees, instead of merely targeting refugees alone and heightening the risk of xenophobic backlash from the host population.

It is this more social view of the human person and their rights that both provides a challenge and gives a continuing rationale for FBOs to be actively involved in the sector. It concerns a logical incoherence in human rights discourse and governments’ consequent political response to forced migrants attempting to cross into their territory. The concept of the secular state came into being in the aftermath of the European wars of religion and the accommodation that religion would be allowed to continue, in a more private sphere, in return for secular rulers providing for the physical security of the people who lived within the borders of the state. As the role of the state has developed, so has the responsibility of governments to privilege the rights of its citizens over those of others. The existence of the forced migrant, who appeals to a more universal set of human rights, sits awkwardly with this political accommodation. Our recent history sees governments on all sides of the political spectrum fundamentally struggling with their response to forced migrants as any truly principled response is not politically expedient. The exception is if governments can make the difficult public case that there exist benefits of in-migration for the local population that outweigh the negatives of accepting a group of strangers within one’s borders.

With the international system of protection still nascent in its development and subject to the interests of member states (and funding), FBOs are ideally placed, by virtue of the operative freedom and universal understanding of the human person granted in their traditions, to fill this gap. They can do things that governments need done but do not necessarily want to be seen to be doing. This is not to absolve governments of the responsibility to enact a regime of universal human rights. Nor is it to say that such a role for FBOs is either simple or straightforward. FBOs must hold that dual line of maintaining accountability, both to standards of service and local statutes, and at the same time exercising that freedom which accountability to their own faith traditions elicits.

Conceivably, the greatest contribution of faith communities lies not in their organisations but rather in the already mentioned networks and resultant capacity to allow people on the move to connect and find a welcome and hospitality in an otherwise possibly hostile environment. Experience has shown too that it is the comprehensive nature of these networks that, if activated, makes the real difference in the crucial first forty-eight hours of an emergency.

It follows that transnational organisations could do well to recognise the peculiar contribution of FBOs and learn how to work better with them. The sector has great need of broad-based cooperation and of the utilisation of the strengths brought by the differences of all the various groups which offer their services. At the same time, FBOs could do well to shake off their fear of working with civil and transnational authorities. In so doing, they will continue to play a vital role in filling the logical gap created by the politics of human rights, while remaining suitably accountable both to civil authorities and to the directions discerned in the light of their faith traditions.

 

Fr David Holdcroft SJ southernafrica.director@jrs.net is Regional Director, Southern Africa region, Jesuit Refugee Service. www.jrssaf.org or www.jrs.net

 

[1] Not her real name.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview