الاستشفاء بعد الكوارث والدعم في اليابان

هناك عدة جوانب ساعدت منظمة سوكا غاكاي في المساهمة الفعالة في جهد الإغاثة بعد الزلزال والموجات المدية التي ضربت اليابان في مارس/آذار 2011 والاستجابة للحاجات المادية والنفسية-الاجتماعية.

في 11 من مارس/آذار 2011، ضرب شرق اليابان زلزال بقوة 9 ريختر وتبعه تسونامي عقب نحو 30 دقيقة تقريبًا. وبحلول 22 من يونيو/حزيران، بلغ عدد الضحايا أكثر من 15,000 من بينهم 7,000 ما زالوا في عداد المفقودين وصار أكثر من 110,000 يعيشون في الملاجئ أو المساكن المؤقتة. وقد دُمرّت كثير من قرى المنطقة المتضررة ومدنها بالكامل. وتطوع الآلاف في أنشطة الإغاثة مثلما فعلت بعض  الجماعات، من بينها منظمة سوكا غاكاي التي تعد حركة علمانية بوذية والتي سارعت بتشكيل فريق تنسيق الاستجابة في حالات الكوارث.

وقد ارتكزت أفعال أعضاء منظمة سوكا غاكاي المشاركين - الذين عاش معظمهم في المناطق المتضررة - إلى اعتقادهم البوذي بأن لجميع الأشخاص حياة ذات كرامة وقيمة بالقدر نفسه. وهكذا، ظل أعضاء المنظمة عمومًا يدعون أن تتحقق "السعادة لهم وللآخرين" ويسعون لتنفيذ ذلك بطرق عدة من بينها التطوع. وبوصف سوكا غاكاي منظمة قائمة على العقيدة، كان ثمة جوانب عديدة مكنت المنظمة من المساهمة الفعَّالة في جهود الإغاثة من خلال الاستجابة لكل من الاحتياجات المادية والنفسية على حد سواء.

أولًا وقبل كل شيء، قدمت شبكة المراكز المجتمعية التابعة لمنظمة سوكا غاكاي الملاجئ ذات المآوى وإمدادات الإغاثة. واستخدمت أيضًا بعض منازل أعضاء المنظمة كملاجئ محلية أو كنقاط اتصال لتوزيع إمدادات الإغاثة. ثانيًا، أوصل المتطوعون إمدادات الإغاثة إلى مآو الإجلاء وإلى آخرين - من خلال شبكتنا المجتمعية - من غير المتضررين مباشرة بالكوارث ولكنهم  كانوا يعانون جراء انهيار البنية التحتية. وبسبب شبكة هذه المنظمة ومعرفتها بالمجتمع المحلي، تمكن المتطوعون من معرفة أماكن وجود الناس في المناطق المتضررة والإمدادات التي يحتاجونها. ثالثًا، أقمنا حفلات تأبين وصلاة لتقديم الدعم النفسي مع تخصيص صلوات رجونا فيها الاستشفاء السريع للمناطق المتضررة. وأخيرًا، جُمعَت التبرعات لبلديات عدة في المناطق المتضررة.

وبمقدور المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة أن تمثّل دورًا فريدًا في تقديم كل من الدعم المادي والنفسي. إلا أن المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة في اليابان بحاجة لمزيد من التنسيق الفعَّال مع القطاع العام، مثل: الحكومة الوطنية والبلديات المحلية. وقد صرح أكيهيكو موريشيما - زعيم منظمة سوكا غاكاي آنذاك في ولاية مياجي (التي تحملت الوطأة العظمى من التسونامي) - في لقاء معه قائلًا: "قمنا بأنشطة الإغاثة لدينا مركزين أولًا على الأفراد المحتاجين على مرأى منا. ... في حين قد لا تتبع الإدارة العامة بالضرورة المنهجية نفسها. فهم عادة ما يؤثرون الكفاءة والمساواة في الحصول على إمدادات الإغاثة". ولكلا المنهجين نقاط القوة التي يجب أن يكمل بعضها الآخر. وفي حالات الطوارئ، على المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة العمل على نحو مُتضامن لتجاوز الاختلافات في موروثاتهم الدينية. وبهذا الخصوص، جدير بالذكر أنَّه في أبريل/نيسان 2011 أنشئت شبكة (باسم مشروع التنسيق الديني الياباني للإغاثة في حالات الكوارث[1]) بهدف تنسيق الإغاثة في حالات الكوارث من قبل المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة.

 

كيمياكي كاواي kawai@soka.jp مدير لجنة السلام، منظمة سوكا غاكاي. www.sgi.org

 


[1]  (المقالة باليابانية فقط)https://sites.google.com/site/syuenrenindex

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Post-disaster recovery and support in Japan

As a locally based faith-based organisation, there were several aspects that enabled Soka Gakkai to contribute effectively to the relief effort following the March 2011 earthquake and tsunami in Japan, responding to both physical and psychological needs.

On 11th March 2011, eastern Japan was hit by a magnitude 9 earthquake, followed by a tsunami approximately 30 minutes later. By 22nd June, the death toll had reached over 15,000, with more than 7,000 still missing and over 110,000 living in shelters or temporary housing. Many villages and towns of the affected region had been completely destroyed. Thousands of individuals volunteered for relief activities, as did a range of groups including Soka Gakkai, a lay Buddhist movement, which immediately set up a disaster response coordination team.

The actions of the Soka Gakkai members who got involved – many of whom lived in the affected areas – were grounded in their Buddhist belief that all people possess life of equal dignity and value; members generally pray and take action for “the happiness of both oneself and others”, including by volunteering. As a locally based and faith-based organisation (FBO), there were several aspects that enabled Soka Gakkai to contribute effectively to the relief effort, responding to both physical and psychological needs.

First and foremost, Soka Gakkai’s network of community centres provided evacuees with shelters and relief supplies. Some members’ homes were also used to accommodate local evacuees and as relay points for distributing relief supplies. Secondly, volunteers delivered relief supplies to general evacuation shelters and also, through our community-based network, to others not directly hit by the disaster but severely affected by the destruction of infrastructure. Because of their networks and knowledge of their local community, volunteer members knew the whereabouts of people in the affected areas and what supplies they might need. Thirdly, we provided memorial and prayer services for psychological support, with prayers dedicated to the swift recovery of affected areas. Finally, money was donated to various municipalities in the affected areas.

FBOs can play a unique role in providing both material and psychological support. However, FBOs based in Japan need to more effectively coordinate with public sector bodies such as the national government and local municipalities. Akihiko Morishima, then leader of Soka Gakkai in Miyagi Prefecture (which took the brunt of the tsunami), stated in an interview: “We have carried out our relief activities focusing first on the individual in need just in front of us. …The public administration, however, may not necessarily take the same approach. They usually prioritise efficiency and equal access to relief.” Both approaches have their own strengths that should complement each other. In emergency situations, FBOs need to work in solidarity beyond differences in their religious traditions. In this regard, it was significant that in April 2011 a network was launched (called the Japan Religion Coordinating Project for Disaster Relief[1]) for the purpose of coordinating disaster relief by faith-based organisations.

 

Kimiaki Kawai kawai@soka.jp is Director of Peace Committee, Soka Gakkai. www.sgi.org

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview