منظورٌ لحكومة لوكسمبورغ حول العقيدة في إبرام الشراكات

في حين تبدي لوكسمبورغ مرونة في إقامة الشراكات مع الهيئات التي تتخذ الموضع الأفضل في مساعدة السكان المتأثرين، تشترط على شركائها الامتثال إلى المبادئ الإنسانية.

تعمل حكومة لوكسمبورغ من كثب مع منظمات المجتمع المدني والهيئات متعددة الأطراف بغية تحسين الظروف المعيشية للسكان المتأثرين بالكوارث الطبيعية أو النِّزاعات ولمنع أو تخفيف الآثار الناجمة عن الأزمات الإنسانية. ولا تضع الحكومة أي اعتبار للهوية الدينية لتلك الهيئات ولا للمعتقدات أو القيم التي يعتنقها متلقو المساعدات أي اعتبار في تحديد أهلية الشركاء.

ومع ذلك، هناك مجموعة واضحة من الشروط التي تحكم عملية اختيار الشركاء. أولها: يجب أن تكون عمليات اتخاذ القرارات للمنظمات غير الحكومية المؤهلة موجَّهة بالحاجات بالكامل. ويعني ذلك أنَّه على المنظمة وشركائها المحليين أن ينتحوا موقف الحياد في تحديد أوجه الاستضعاف واختيار المجتمعات. وثانيها: تولي لوكسمبورغ الأولوية للوصول إلى المجتمعات الأكثر ضعفاً وتمويل العمل الإنساني على العموم في الأزمات المطوَّلة "والمنسية". وقد يقع الاختيار على الشركاء بناءً على قدرتهم الخاصة على الوصول أو حسب مقدار الدراية والخبرة المتاحة لهم في العمل في البيئات المعقَّدة. وثالثها: تُمنَح الأفضلية للمنظمات التي لها سجل إيجابي يُظهر التزامها بمعايير عالية من المساءلة والبنى العملياتية المتينة.

وفي حين تدرك لوكسمبورغ تماماً الفروقات القائمة بين الخطابات القائمة على العقيدة والعلمانية في العمل الإنساني كما تدرك الانتقادات السائدة حول بعض المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة التي تُتهم أحياناً بأنها تسعى للتبشير، تحاول في الوقت نفسه أن لا تفقد بصيرتها ونظرها لأوجه القوة التي يحظى بها شركاؤها. وغالباً ما يُعرَف عن المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة أنَّها جزء متين من السياقات المحلية وهذا ما يعزز من مكانتها وقدرتها على فهم عوامل التغيير المحلية والخصوصيات الثقافية ما قد يساعد في توفير الوصول إلى المجتمعات. وعلاوة على ذلك، من الممكن للدين نظراً لحضوره العالمي وتأثيره أن يمثل دوراً مهماً كوسيط يساعد على تحسين الرفاه النفسي-الاجتماعي لدى السكان المتأثرين بالكوارث. ففي بعض السياقات على سبيل المثال، قد يكون من المفيد استخدام الإشارات المرجعية الدينية المألوفة عند تقديم المشورة لأنَّ من شأن ذلك استعادة الأمل ومساعدة المجتمعات على التغلب على الصدمة النفسية.

لكنَّ حكومة لوكسمبورغ وإن لم تغفل المزايا المحتملة، تولي اهتماماً خاصاً للدرجة التي يمكن للمنظمات الشريكة أن تمتثل فيها إلى المبادئ الإنسانية المحددة في مدونة السلوك لحركة الصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر والمنظمات غير الحكومية في الإغاثة في حالات الكوارث.[1] وفي الإجماع الأوروبي حول المساعدات الإنسانية[2]. وبالمثل، يرفض القانون الإنساني الدولي وقانون حقوق الإنسان أي نوع من المحاباة والتمييز المبنيين على العقيدة بالإضافة إلى أي نوع من النزعة التبشيرية التي من شأنها أن تشوّه المنهج الحيادي القائم على الحاجات. ومن هنا، تتضمن إحدى مسؤوليات جهود المساعدات الإنسانية في لوكسمبورغ التمحيص في العمل الذي تؤديه المنظمات غير الحكومية الشريكة كلها وليس المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة وحدها من ناحية الحيادية.

وتشير الأبحاث الدولية إلى أن الموظفين المعينين لدى المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة تمتلك خلفيات مهنية تتشابه إلى حد كبير مع ما يستخدمه موظفو المنظمات غير القائمة على العقيدة.[3] نتيجة المهنية في القطاع الإنساني. وإذا كان هذا المنحى يهدف إلى تعميم الثقافات التنظيمية فسوف تسود مجموعة مشتركة من المبادئ بالإضافة إلى لغة إنسانية متقاربة وربما يتيح ذلك في المستقبل إلى إزالة الحد الفاصل بين المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة وتلك العلمانية. ولا شك أنَّ ذلك سيعود بالنفع والفائدة على المحتاجين.

ماكس لامش Max.Lamesch@mae.etat.lu   نيابة عن مدير التعاون الإنمائي والشؤون الإنسانية في وزارة الشؤون الخارجية والأوروبية في لوكسمبورغ www.mae.lu

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

A Luxembourg government perspective on faith in partnership

While flexible in partnering with agencies best placed to assist affected populations, Luxembourg requires its partners to adhere to humanitarian principles.

The Luxembourg government works closely with civil society organisations and multilateral agencies in order to improve the living conditions of populations affected by natural disasters or conflicts and to prevent and mitigate the effects of humanitarian crises. Neither the religious identity of these agencies nor the beliefs or values of those being assisted determine the eligibility of its partners.

There is, however, a clear set of requirements governing the selection of partners. Firstly, the decision-making processes of eligible NGOs must be fully needs oriented. This means that the organisation, together with its local partners, must remain neutral and impartial in identifying vulnerabilities and selecting communities. Secondly, it is a priority for Luxembourg to reach the most vulnerable communities and to fund humanitarian action predominantly in protracted and ‘forgotten’ crises. Partners may be chosen based on their special access capacity or on their particular know-how in working in complex environments. Thirdly, the preferred partners are organisations with a positive track record, showing high standards of accountability and solid operational structures.

While Luxembourg is fully aware of the differences that exist between faith-based and secular discourses in humanitarianism and of the prevailing criticism towards certain FBOs frequently accused of proselytism, it tries not to lose sight of the operational strengths of its partners. FBOs are often known to be well embedded in local contexts and are therefore well positioned to understand local dynamics and cultural specificities, which can help to provide access to communities. Moreover, because of its global presence and influence, religion can be an important medium through which the psychosocial wellbeing of disaster-hit populations can be improved. In certain contexts, for example, using familiar religious references when providing counselling may prove beneficial in contributing to the restoration of hope and in helping communities to overcome trauma.

And yet, while taking into account these potential advantages, the Luxembourg government pays particular attention to the extent to which partner organisations adhere to the humanitarian principles as laid out in the Code of Conduct for the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement and Non-Governmental Organisations in Disaster Relief[1] and in the European Consensus on Humanitarian Aid[2]. International humanitarian law and human rights law also reject any kind of favouritism and discrimination based on faith, as well as any form of proselytism potentially distorting a neutral needs-based approach. One of the responsibilities of Luxembourg’s humanitarian aid desk is therefore to scrutinise the work done by partner NGOs – not only FBOs – in terms of their neutrality and impartiality.

International research suggests that staff employed by FBOs tend to have professional backgrounds which are increasingly similar to those employed by non-faith organisations,[3] as a consequence of the professionalisation of the humanitarian sector. If this trend towards mainstreaming organisational cultures, a common set of principles and a converging humanitarian language prevails, the divide between faith-based and secular organisations may one day become obsolete. This could well be to the benefit of people in need.

 

Max Lamesch Max.Lamesch@mae.etat.lu on behalf of the Directorate for Development Cooperation and Humanitarian Affairs, Luxembourg Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs. www.mae.lu

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview