استجابة إنسانية متعددة الأديان في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى

مثَّل التعاون بين الأديان دورًا رئيسيًا في ضمان بقاء التماسك الاجتماعي والوساطة بين الأديان في جدول الأعمال الدولي المتعلق بالاستجابة في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى حيث دين الناس جزء لا يتجزأ من هويتهم وحيث الدين سلعة يُتاجر بها بطريقة مروعة.

للوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية وهيئة الإغاثة الإسلامية تاريخ طويل من العمل التعاوني للاستجابة في حالات الأزمات الإنسانية عندما تعجزان - لأسباب أمنية أو بسبب حساسية النزاع أو أي مخاطر أخرى - عن العمل بمفردهما. وقبل أن تتعاونا في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى، وضعتا فعليًا طرقًا للعمل معًا.

وكان من بين العوامل المحفزة للاستجابة متعددة الأديان في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى رغبة المنظمات الإسلامية في المملكة المتحدة في الاستجابة للأزمة هناك بسبب تزايد الاحتياجات الإنسانية  وكذلك توقعات قاعدة الداعمين لهم. وباستثناء هيئة الإغاثة الإسلامية، لم تمول المنظمات الإسلامية في المملكة المتحدة التي أبدت اهتمامها ببرامج الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية وإمكانية الشراكة معها أي برامج جرت في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى ولم يكن لأي من هذه المنظمات وجود داخل الدولة. فقد حال استمرار حالة الانفلات الأمني والعنف الذي استهدف غالبًا السكان المسلمين وزيادة عدد الهجمات ضد العاملين في المنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية وممتلكاتها دون اشتراك المنظمات الإسلامية في الاستجابة داخل جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى. وقد قدمت الشراكة مع المنظمات المسيحية - التي كانت تعمل على نحو وثيق مع برنامج التعاون بين الأديان داخل البلاد[1]  والتي كانت تدعو للتركيز أكثر على الوساطة بين الأديان - حلًا للنزاع مّكن تلك المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية من الاستجابة للأزمة.

وزاد كلا الجانبين من خياراتهم للتمويل. فمن ناحية الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية، كانت تلك فرصة لإيصال التمويل لشركائها من المنظمات التي كانت تعمل داخل البلاد عن طريق التبرعات الخاصة بالمؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية، مثل: منظمة المساعدة الإسلامية وهيئة المعونة الإسلامية وكذلك من خلال علاقات هيئة الإغاثة الإسلامية ومنتديات المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية مع المؤسسات المانحة.

ومنذ بدء الأزمة الحالية في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى، صار الدين سلعة للمتاجرة في يد من هم في السلطة. وطالما دأب برنامج التعاون بين الأديان[2]  الذي يضم رئيس الأساقفة ديودونيه نزابالاينجا  والإمام عمر كوبين لاياما والقس نيكولاس جوريكويامي - باستمرار على إيصال رسالة الاعتدال والتسامح والاحترام من خلال الحوار مع المجتمعات المحلية وكذلك بأن يمثِّلون قدوة في أفعالهم. وبزيادة التوتر والعنف بين المجتمعات المحلية، قرر رئيس الأساقفة والإمام العيش معًا في منزل رئيس الأساقفة لتأمين الحماية لبعضهما ولكي يصبحان قدوة للسلام والتماسك على الرغم من النزاع الدائر.

المناصرة

كان لجهود برنامج التعاون بين الأديان أيضًا دور فعَّال في جذب الانتباه الدولي للأزمة في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى. فباستثناء الاهتمام المتزايد لوسائل الإعلام من ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2013 إلى يناير/كانون الثاني 2014، ظلت الأزمة في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى مهملة إلى حد كبير من قبل المجتمع الدولي. وفي ضوء إدراك الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية بفضل برنامج التعاون بين الأديان وما استوحته من القيمة الرمزية للبرنامج، سعت الوكالة حثيثًا لتوسيع جهودها في المناصرة من خلال التواصل مع منتديات المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية واستكشاف فرص تقديم رسائل مشتركة بشأن قضايا المناصرة. وتكوّن شعور بأن هذه العلاقة قادرة على المساعدة في التوسع في نشر رسائل المناصرة التي تبعثها الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية ليس بسبب سمعة منتديات المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية داخل القطاع وحسب ولكن بسبب تأثير حافز اتحاد رأي المنظمات الإسلامية والمسيحية معًا على صانعي القرار السياسي. ومع تركيز معظم استجابة الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية الأولية للأزمة في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى على المناصرة ومع استثمار مساحة كبيرة من وقتها في تحليل الوضع، تمكنت الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية أيضًا من تقديم جزء كبير من قدرتها الاستيعابية على المناصرة إلى المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية التي لم يكن لمعظمها تواجد في البلاد وكانت قدرتها على مناصرة هذه القضايا محدودة.

ومن خلال هذا الرابط بين الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية ومنتديات المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية نمت العلاقات بين المنظمات الإسلامية والكاثوليكية العاملة في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى سعيًا لتوسيع نطاق هذه القيمة الرمزية إلى إيصال المساعدات على أرض الواقع. وقد صرحت البارونة بريدج في برلمان المملكة المتحدة في يونيو/حزيران 2014 قائلة: "إذا حصل المجتمع المسيحي في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى على المساعدات الغذائية من منظمات المساعدات الإسلامية في المملكة المتحدة فهذا من شأنه المساعدة في إعادة بناء الثقة بين المجتمعات المحلية التي هي في أمس الحاجة إليها". وكانت الرؤية التي تمثلت في تعزيز التماسك الاجتماعي من خلال البرامج الإنسانية المشتركة متعددة الأديان وتطبيق أعمال برنامج التعاون بين الأديان ورسائله عاملًا دافعًا على طريق تكوين علاقات عمل بين منظمات المساعدات الإسلامية والكاثوليكية عند الاستجابة للأزمة في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى.

الاستثمار والإنجازات

كانت الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية تنسق فعليًا أعمال مناصرة كثيرة في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى واشتركت منتديات المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية في هذه القضايا وحضرت الاجتماعات بانتظام. وقد كانت منتديات المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية من دفع منظمة المساعدة الإسلامية وهيئة المعونة الإسلامية للتوجه إلى الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية للاستفسار عن دور الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى والتماس التوجيه بشأن كيف لهم أن يدعموا العمل في الشراكة. واستجابة لطلبات منظمة المساعدة الإسلامية ومنتديات المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية، عقدت الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية اجتماعًا بين عدداً من المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية ونظيراتها من منظمات خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية الأمريكية لمناقشة فرص التمويل والشراكة والبرامج المشتركة المحتملة.

ونتيجة لذلك الاجتماع، قام كل من الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية وهيئة الإغاثة الإسلامية ومنتديات المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية وهيئة المعونة الإسلامية ببعثة مشتركة دامت أسبوعًا في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى. وكان ذلك استثمارًا في بناء علاقات العمل بين المنظمات. وتمكنت هذه المجموعة من زيارة مشاريع عديدة ليكرروا بذلك منهجية برنامج التعاون بين الأديان وكان الممثلين من الكاثوليك والمسلمين والبروتستانت الذين عملوا معًا لتضميد جراح النزاع وحاولوا تحقيق الوساطة والمصالحة. وأتاحت هذه الزيارة أيضًا للمنظمات إجراء تقييم مشترك للاحتياجات الضرورية والتعرف كذلك على خيارات التمويل المشترك ووضع البرامج على نحو تعاوني. وإضافة إلى ما سبق، ساعدتهم البعثة على توسيع رسائل المناصرة التي تبعثها المجموعة حيث كانت إضافة كبيرة للقيمة الرمزية ومنحت أيضًا من شاركوا في هذه البعثة الفرصة أثناء عودتهم للحديث مع صانعي القرار السياسي والداعمين من منطلق تجربتهم الأولى لهم في البلاد.

ومن خلال الجهود المشتركة بين الأديان، استطاع تجمع المنظمات الدينية غير الحكومية في المملكة المتحدة الوصول إلى صانعي القرار السياسي في المملكة المتحدة لتسليط الضوء باستمرار على الحاجة لدعم التماسك الاجتماعي في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى. وقد مهد ذلك - جزئيًا - الاهتمام الدولي بأعمال برنامج التعاون بين الأديان.

فتجاهل الدين سيحد بشدة أي تحليل للوضع الراهن في البلاد. وفي جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى نفسها، ترى المجتمعات المحلية المؤسسات الدينية بوصفها مصدر للهدوء والمأوى. وتجد غالبية الكنائس محاطة بمخيم للنازحين يوفر الإغاثة للمجتمعات المسيحية والمسلمة التي لجأت له. وقد أتاحت هذه البعثة المشتركة أيضًا الفرصة للتعاون في البرامج حيث تمول هيئة الإغاثة الإسلامية حاليًا منظمات خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية لتنفيذ برامج الإيواء والأمن الغذائي وصار لها وجود أكثر استمرارية في بانغي.

إلا أن هذه العملية لا تخلو من التحديات. فقد كانت المنظمات الخمس (الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية ومنظمات خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية وهيئة الإغاثة الإسلامية ومنتديات المؤسسات الخيرية الإسلامية و هيئة المعونة الإسلامية) التي قامت بهذه البعثة المشتركة وباستضافتها بحاجة إلى استثمار وقدرة استيعابية ضخمة ولاسيما عند تنظيم الزيارة إلى بانغي. ويتطلب الحفاظ على هذه العلاقات بالمثل الاستثمار والقدرة الاستيعابية التي لا تُتاح دائمًا بسبب المطالب التنافسية. وعلى الرغم السهولة النسبية في تنسيق الاتصالات وجهود المناصرة مباشرة عقب البعثة المشتركة إلا أنه بمرور الوقت يصبح التنسيق بين المنظمات الخمس أكثر تحديًا.

الفرص

بالرغم من هذه التحديات، تستمر الأزمة في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى وسيصبح من الضروري زيادة جهود تعزيز التماسك الاجتماعي في البلاد. وثمة مزايا واضحة في استمرار المنهجية متعددة الأديان في الاستجابة الإنسانية داخل جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى وفي عمل المنظمات الكاثوليكية والإسلامية معًا. ويُتيح العمل مع منظمات دينية مختلفة وجود منهجية مراعية لأوضاع النزاع وكذلك المساعدة على زيادة رسائل المناصرة وكسب إمكانية التواصل مع صانعي القرار. وما زال ثمة حاجة لمناصرة توفير الظروف الملائمة - مثلًا - للعودة الآمنة لجميع من نزحوا بفعل النزاع وضمان توفير البرامج الإنسانية لظروف العودة هذه.

ويصعب قياس أثر منهجية البرامج متعددة الأديان على تعزيز التماسك الاجتماعي في ضوء الوضع المضطرب. وثمة أمثلة واضحة في عمل منظمات خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية مع المجتمعات الإسلامية على أنَّ مثل هذه الشراكة قد زادت من إيصال المساعدات الإنسانية وسهلت بعض الحوار بين المجموعات هناك. وبالرغم من تميز سياقات الطوارئ عن بعضها وأن لكل منها تحليلها الخاص بها، في بعض المواقف المتشابهة حيث يمثّل الدين دورًا مهمًا في النزاع وفي عملية المصالحة، لا يعد العمل مع منظمات دينية مختلفة ضروريًا وحسب ولكن مفضلًا أيضًا.

كاثرين ماهوني cmahony@cafod.org.ukالمنسق الإقليمي في حالات الطوارئ - غرب أفريقيا ومنطقة  البحيرات الكبرى، الوكالة الكاثوليكية للتنمية الخارجية . www.cafod.org.uk



[1]  انظر مقال نزابالاينجا ولاياما وغبانجو صفحة 4.

[2]  في حين أنه يُشار إلى تجمع الزعماء الدينيين دوليًا ببرنامج التعاون بين الأديان إلا أن اسمه الرسمي برنامج الاعترافات الدينية في إفريقيا الوسطى.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

An inter-religious humanitarian response in the Central African Republic

Inter-religious action has played a key role in ensuring that social cohesion and inter-religious mediation remain on the international agenda in relation to response in the Central African Republic, where people’s faith is an integral part of their identity but where it has been manipulated in a horrific way.

CAFOD and Islamic Relief have a long history of working together to respond to humanitarian crises when, for reasons of security, conflict sensitivity or other risk factors, either organisation would have been unable to respond without this partnership. Prior to engaging in the Central African Republic (CAR) they therefore already had established ways of working together.

One of the driving factors behind the inter-religious response in CAR was the desire of Muslim agencies in the UK to respond to the crisis there, due to both the growing humanitarian needs and also the expectations of their supporter base. With the exception of Islamic Relief, the UK’s Muslim agencies who had expressed an interest in CAFOD’s programming and the possibility of partnership were not funding any programmes in CAR, and none of the agencies had a presence in-country. The continued state of insecurity and violence, largely targeted at Muslim populations, and an increasing number of attacks against international NGO workers and property, prevented Muslim agencies engaging in CAR. Partnership with Christian agencies, which were working closely with the Inter-Religious Platform in-country[1] and had been advocating for a greater focus on inter-religious mediation, provided a conflict-sensitive solution that enabled these Muslim charities to respond to the crisis.

Both sides increased their options for funding. For CAFOD it was an opportunity to access funding for its partner organisations who were working in-country through the private donations of the Muslim charities such as Islamic Help and Muslim Aid and also through Islamic Relief’s and Muslim Charities Forum’s (MCF) relationships with institutional donors.

From the start of the current crisis in CAR, religion has been manipulated by those in power. The Inter-Religious Platform,[2] comprising Archbishop Dieudonné Nzapalainga, Imam Omar Kobine Layama and Pastor Nicholas Guérékoyame Gbangou, has continuously worked to communicate a message of moderation, tolerance and respect through dialogue with communities but also by example in their own actions. As tensions and violence between communities increased, the Archbishop and the Imam decided to live together at the Archbishop’s home, to offer protection to each other and to set an example of peace and cohesion despite the ongoing conflict.

Advocacy

The efforts of the Inter-Religious Platform have also been instrumental in drawing international attention to the crisis in CAR. With the exception of heightened media interest around December 2013 and January 2014, the crisis in CAR has remained largely neglected by the international community. Recognising and inspired by the symbolic value of the Inter-Religious Platform, CAFOD actively sought to amplify its advocacy efforts by approaching MCF and exploring opportunities for joint messaging on advocacy issues. It was felt that this relationship could help amplify CAFOD’s advocacy messages, not only because of MCF’s reputation within the sector but also because of the traction that a united voice between Muslim and Christian organisations would have with political decision makers. Having focused much of its initial response to the crisis in CAR on advocacy and having invested a large amount of time analysing the situation, CAFOD was also able to provide significant advocacy capacity to Muslim charities, most of whom had no presence in the country and limited capacity to advocate on these issues.

It was through this link between CAFOD and MCF that relationships between Catholic and Muslim agencies working on CAR were developed in order to extend this symbolic value to the delivery of aid. Baroness Berridge stated in the UK Parliament in June 2014, “If the Christian community in the CAR gets its food aid from UK Muslim aid agencies, this will help to rebuild much-needed trust among the communities.” It was this vision of promoting social cohesion through joint inter-religious humanitarian programming, mirroring the actions and messages of the Inter-Religious Platform, that was a driving factor in establishing working relationships between Muslim and Catholic aid organisations in response to the crisis in CAR.

Investment and achievements

CAFOD was already coordinating a lot of advocacy work on CAR, and MCF were engaged on these issues and regularly attended meetings. It was MCF which directed Islamic Help and Muslim Aid to approach CAFOD to enquire about CAFOD’s role in CAR and seek guidance on how they could support this work in partnership. In response to the requests of Islamic Help and MCF, CAFOD convened a meeting between a number of Muslim charities and its US sister agency Catholic Relief Services (CRS) to discuss potential funding, partnership and joint programming opportunities.

As a result of this meeting, CAFOD, Islamic Relief, MCF and Muslim Aid undertook a week-long joint mission to CAR. This was a significant investment in establishing working relationships between the agencies. The group was able to visit numerous projects replicating the approach of the Inter-Religious Platform and examples where Catholics, Muslims and Protestants were working together to heal the wounds of the conflict and were trying to bring about mediation and reconciliation. The visit allowed agencies to assess the needs of affected communities and further explore options for joint programming and funding. In addition the mission helped amplify the group’s advocacy messages as it added significant symbolic value and also allowed those on the mission on their return to speak with policymakers and supporters from their own first-hand experience of the country.

Through their joint inter-religious efforts, the grouping of UK faith-based NGOs has been able to obtain access to UK policymakers which they have used to continuously highlight the need to support social cohesion in CAR. This access, in part, was facilitated by the international regard for the work of the Inter-Religious Platform.

To ignore faith would severely limit any analysis of the current situation in the country. In CAR itself, religious institutions are perceived by communities as a source of sanctuary and shelter. Almost every church is surrounded by an IDP camp, providing relief to Christian and Muslim communities sheltered there. The joint mission has also since enabled some programme collaboration; Islamic Relief is now directly funding CRS to implement shelter and food security programmes and has established a more permanent presence in Bangui.

However, this process has not been without its challenges. The five organisations who undertook and hosted the joint mission (CAFOD, CRS, Islamic Relief, MCF and Muslim Aid) required significant investment and capacity, particularly in organising the visit to Bangui. The maintenance of these relationships similarly requires investment and capacity, which is not always available due to competing demands. Whilst it was fairly easy to coordinate communications and advocacy in the immediate aftermath of the joint mission, as time passes coordination between five agencies can be challenging.

Opportunities

Despite these challenges, the crisis in CAR continues, and efforts to promote social cohesion will require scaling up in-country. There are clear advantages to pursuing an inter-religious approach to the humanitarian response in CAR and for Catholic and Muslim organisations to work together. Working with different faith organisations enables a conflict-sensitive approach as well as helping to amplify advocacy messages and gain traction with decision makers. There is still a need to advocate on, for example, adequate conditions for the safe return of all those who have been displaced by the conflict and to ensure that humanitarian programmes enable these conditions for return.

The impact of this inter-religious approach to programming in the promotion of social cohesion, given the volatile situation, is difficult to measure. That being said, there are clear examples in the work of CRS with Muslim communities that such engagement has increased humanitarian access and facilitated some dialogue between groups there. Whilst every emergency context is different and requires its own analysis, in similar situations where religion plays an important role both in the conflict and in the reconciliation process, working with different faith organisations is not only sometimes necessary but preferable.

 

Catherine Mahony cmahony@cafod.org.uk is Regional Emergency Coordinator – West Africa and Great Lakes, CAFOD. www.cafod.org.uk

 

[1] See article by Nzapalainga, Layama and Gbangou on page 4.

[2] While the grouping of religious leaders is referred to internationally as the Inter-Religious Platform, its official name is La Platforme des Confessions Religieuses en Centrafrique.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview