منح المأوى لأصحاب طلبات اللجوء المرفوضة في كندا

بالرغم من الاتجاه المعادي للاجئين الواضح في التعديلات التشريعية التي جرت مؤخرًا في كندا وموقف الحكومة المتصلب تجاه من يعيشون في المآوي، ما زالت روح المقاومة والمشاركة المجتمعية متقدة وفي حالة جيدة في كندا.

يشير مصطلح المأوى إلى ممارسة القرون الوسطى عندما كان الهاربون من العدالة يطلبون اللجوء إلى الكنيسة لتفادي الملاحقة القضائية. وقد جرى الاحتفال إلى حد كبير بإلغاء هذه الممارسة في القرن السادس عشر باعتبارها علامة للتقدم وانتصارًا لسيادة القانون. وتقلب العودة لممارسة توفير المأوى في العقود الأخيرة الفكرة الأصلية رأسًا على عقب، فبدلًا من رؤية هاربين من العدالة يسعون للحصول على المأوى، نجد هاربين من الظلم ضمن نظام تحديد وضع اللاجئين يسعون للحصول على الحماية من الترحيل داخل الكنيسة وبدعم من رجال الدين.

ما زالت سلطات الهجرة في كندا لا تدخل ممتلكات الكنيسة لاعتقال الأفراد الذين يعيشون في المأوى (وقد كتبت في الواقع توجيهًا سياسيًا لموظفي هيئة خدمات الحدود الكندية موضحة فيها ضرورة عدم دخول أماكن العبادة إلا في الحالات التي تتضمن تهديدات أمنية وجرائم خطيرة) ولكنَّ أحداً منهم لم يشارك في التفاوض بشأن هذه القضايا. وتكون النتيجة إقامة مطولة على نحو متزايد في الاحتجاز وهي بمنزلة طريقة لإجهاض ممارسة الإيواء تلك.

وتُجري الأبرشيات تمحيصاً دقيقاً في قرارات اللاجئين المرفوضين قبل الموافقة على إبقائهم في المأوى ويعد ذلك أساسًا نوعًا من المراجعة غير الرسمية للاستحقاق سعيًا لحماية الأفراد من ترحيلهم إلى التعذيب والاضطهاد وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. وتسوِّغ معظم الكنائس استخدامها للمآوي على أساس أنه لا يحق للاجئين المرفوضين استئناف معايير الاستحقاق للتصدي للقرارات غير الصحيحة ولهذا تتولى الكنائس هذه المهمة. وقد نُفذ مؤخرًا استئناف ولكن هذا الأمر ليس متاحًا لجميع مقدمي طلبات اللجوء.

والتغييرات الأخيرة التي أُجريَت على التشريعات الخاصة باللاجئين أتت مناقضة على نحو صارخ لالتزامات كندا الدولية وهذا ما يدعم فكرة أن انتهاج مقدمي المأوى لمبادرة مدنية للحفاظ على التزامات كندا ليست ضربًا من العصيان المدني للاستهزاء بالقانون الكندي. وتوفير المأوى آلية فعَّالة لحماية الأرواح إلا أنها تفرض تكاليف مادية على الأفراد والمجتمعات المشتركة فيها بسبب مكوث اللاجئين لمدد طويلة في المآوى والغموض الذي يعتري نتائج وضعهم.

وفي ظل هشاشة الأساس القانوني الذي يدعم ممارسة الإيواء، قد يتساءل المرء ما الذي يمنع سلطات الهجرة من دخول الكنائس لاعتقال هؤلاء الأشخاص؟ وتكمن الإجابة في الدعاية السلبية فمما لاشك فيه أنَّه من السيئ اقتحام الكنيسة ودفع القس وجر اللاجئين التي تطالب الكنيسة بحمايتهم. والشيء المؤكد أنَّه إذا قررت مجموعة من الأفراد المعنيين إيواء لاجئ ما مرفوض قررت الدولة ترحيله فلن يحظى هذا اللاجئ بالحماية نفسها من الاعتقال والترحيل التي سيحظى بها من يُدعون للمكوث في مأوى الكنيسة (كنيس اليهود أو مسجد أو معبد) حالياً. وعادة لا تفضل كل من سلطات الهجرة أو المحكمة الاتحادية الهرب من الترحيل بالاختباء "تحت الأرض" بدلًا من السعي لدخول المأوى فكلاهما يريان ذلك بمنزلة ازدراء للقانون.

صار المأوى لا يُقدر بثمن إذا ما وفره رجال الدين المعنيون بإثبات الاستحقاق للعائلات والأفراد باعتباره استمرارًا لتحقيق العدالة ليؤكد بذلك رجال الدين على حقهم في التقدير والإيمان بهم ودعمهم. ويساعد هذا أيضًا في توحيد رجال الدين والمجتمع الأوسع معًا على إيجاد معنى الحق والعدالة والتركيز عليهما.

كريستين مارشال  kristinmarshall@sympatico.ca محامية وعضو في شبكة توفير المأوى الكندية. www.sanctuarycanada.ca

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Offering sanctuary to failed refugee claimants in Canada

Despite the anti-refugee sentiment demonstrated by Canada’s recent legislative changes and the government’s hardening attitude towards those in sanctuary, the spirit of resistance and community engagement is alive and well in Canada.

The term sanctuary connotes the medieval practice where fugitives from justice could take refuge in a church to avoid prosecution. The abolition of this practice in the sixteenth century was largely celebrated as a sign of progress and a triumph of the rule of law. The resurgence of the practice of offering sanctuary in recent decades turns the original notion on its head; instead of fugitives from justice seeking shelter, fugitives from injustice within the refugee determination system seek protection from deportation within a church, with support from the congregation.

Immigration authorities in Canada still do not enter church property to apprehend individuals living in sanctuary (and in fact have written a policy directive to Canada Border Services Agency officers indicating that entering places of worship should be reserved only for cases involving security threats and serious criminality) but neither do they engage in negotiation about these cases. The result is increasingly lengthy stays in confinement – which serves as a means to discourage the practice of sanctuary.

Congregations undertake extensive scrutiny of failed refugee decisions before accepting someone into sanctuary, in essence acting as an informal merit review in order to safeguard against removal to torture, persecution and human rights abuses. Most churches justified their use of sanctuary on the basis that refused claimants had no right of appeal on the merits to challenge an incorrect decision, so they do the review. An appeal was recently implemented, but it is not available to all claimants.

It is precisely the fact that recent changes to refugee legislation stand in such stark contrast to Canada’s international obligations that lends support to the view that sanctuary providers are taking a civil initiative to uphold Canada’s obligations, rather than acting in civil disobedience to flout Canadian law. Providing sanctuary is an effective mechanism to safeguard lives, yet at quite a cost to the individuals and communities involved due to the lengthy delays in close quarters and the uncertainty surrounding the outcome.

With little legal foundation to support the practice of sanctuary, one wonders what stops immigration authorities from entering churches to arrest such people. The answer is the negative publicity: clearly it looks bad to break down a church door, push past a pastor, and drag out refugees that the church claims ought to be protected. One thing for certain is that if a group of concerned individuals decided to shelter a failed refugee claimant slated for deportation, that person would not have the same protection from arrest and deportation that a person invited into the sanctity of a church (synagogue, mosque or temple) currently does. Escaping deportation by going ‘underground’, rather than seeking sanctuary, is often not looked upon favourably by either the immigration authorities or the Federal Court, both of whom view such an act as disrespect for the law.

Sanctuary has been invaluable in the validation that congregations have provided to families and individuals as they pursue justice, confirming that they are cherished, believed and supported. It also serves to bring the congregation and wider community together, to find meaning and focus around what is right and just.

 

Kristin Marshall kristinmarshall@sympatico.ca is a lawyer and a member of the Canadian Sanctuary Network. www.sanctuarycanada.ca

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview