اللجوء الكنسي

اللجوء أو الملاذ الكنسي هو ممارسة تهدف لدعم اللاجئين وتقديم المشورة والمأوى لهم، إذا كانوا يتعرضون للترحيل إلى بلادهم الأصلية حيث الظروف المعيشية اللاإنسانية أو التعذيب أو حتّى الموت. ويمكن العثور على هذه الممارسة في أوجه العمل الخيري أو السياسي.

يُعد منح الملجأ أو على وجه التحديد منح الملاذ أو الإيواء الكنسي شكلٌ خاص من أشكال العمل الخيري، وهو تقليدٌ قديم منذ مئات السنين. وقد استُوْحت فكرة "اللجوء الكنسي" المعروفة في ألمانيا الآن من"حركة الملاذ الآمن الأمريكية"  وحركات أُخَر في الدول الأوروبية، والتي أدّت إلى ظهور ميثاق جرونينجن في عام ١٩٨٧، وأخيراً إلى صدور الميثاق العام لحركة الملاذ الجديدة في أوروبا في عام٢٠١٠. [i]

وفي عام 1983، منحت أبْرَشِيّة في مدينة برلين اللجوء الكنسي لثلاث عائلات فلسطينية كانت مهددة بالترحيل إلى لبنان في أثناء الحرب الأهلية هناك، ومنذ ذلك الحين أصبح اللجوء الكنسي معمول به في جميع أنحاء ألمانيا، كما عملت به كل من الكنيسة البروتستانتية والكاثوليكية، وقد اتخذت كلتا الكنيستان موقفاً بجانب اللاجئين وحقوقهم في كثير من التصريحات العامة من أجل الحصول على حقوقهم، كما استخدمتا اللجوء الكنسي كوسيلة لحماية المُهجَّرين ودعمهم في المطالبة بحقوقهم.

مثال توضيحي: في مدينة براونشفايغ الصغيرة، تعيش أسرة مكونة من ثمانية أفراد: الأب والأم وستة أطفال، ويذهب الأطفال إلى المدارس بالإضافة إلى التدريب المهني. وفجأة، بعد أن قضوا ثمانية أعوام في ألمانيا، تتسلم الأسرة خطاباً من سلطة الأجانب (Ausländerbehörde) تطالبهم فيه بمغادرة البلاد بعد عدة أيام، ومن ثمّ سيُرحلون إلى باكستان، إلى البلد التي كانوا فيها، وسيُضطهدون فيها لانتمائهم إلى الطائفة الأحمدية، وهم أقلية مسلمة. وفي يوم ما، قبل موعد ترحيلهم، إذا بجماعة صغيرة من البروتستانت تفتح أبواب الكنيسة لاستقبال هذه الأسرة، وفي اليوم التالي، سوف ترسل الكنيسة خطاباً إلى سلطة الأجانب، ما نصّه: " نُعلن في هذا الخطاب أنَّ هذه الأسرة في الملجأ الكنسي الآن، ولذلك فهي في حماية جماعتنا".

فاللجوء الكنسي أمر عملي وملموس. ويواجه أفراد الكنيسة تحديات متمثلة في مقاطعة خططهم وعاداتهم اليومية، والتصرف السريع بأفضل طريقة عملية:لاستقبال المُهجرين وإيجاد أماكن للمبيت وللأكل، ولقضاء بعض الوقت معهم، لمجرد أن يكونوا هناك وحسب. و يحمي اللجوء الكنسي  الناس من السلطات ومن ضباط الشرطة الذين يظهرون مع بزوغ الفجر لاعتقال الناس وترحيلهم. وليست هذه الحماية بالأمر الرمزي، بل هي واقع ملموس. فما يقف في طريق سلطة الدولة هي: أبواب الكنائس الموصدة وبيوت القساوسة، وأراضي الكنيسة التي تحترمها سلطات الدولة -عادةً-كمكان لا يجوز تدنيسه. وهناك أيضاً المتطوعون من أعضاء الكنيسة والجيران، والقساوسة الذين يحرصون على غلق هذه الأبواب، والذين يتحدثون إلى ضباط الشرطة والسلطات، والذين يبذلون قصارى جهدهم لحماية هذا المكان الآمن، وبذلك فهم يمنحون الحماية للناس، الذين تعدهم الدولة غير مستحقين للحماية.

وبالرغم من أنّ اللجوء الكنسي ليس حقّاً رسمياً، فغالباً ما تحترم الدولة هذا الملاذ، ولكن هناك استثناءات، ومن غير المستبعد أن تدخل الشرطة غلى الكنيسة في نهاية المطاف وتخليها من الأفراد المطلوبين. إلاَّ أنَّ ذلك لن يحدث أبداً دون إحداث جلبة في الرأي العام و دون صدور بيانات صحفية ومفاوضات بين الكنيسة وموظفي الدولة. وعادة ما تحدث مناقشات مستفيضة بين راعي الكنيسة والمطران من ناحية، وبينه والسلطات السياسية من ناحية أخرى، وذلك محاولةً للتأكد من عدم دخول الشرطة أراضي الكنيسة في المستقبل أو ترحيل الناس منها بالقوة، ولكنَّ هذه المفاوضات جاءت متأخرةً جداً لحماية الأفراد والأسر الذين رُحلوا ،بالرغم من وجودهم في الملجأ الكنسي،

وبالتالي، يعتمد اللجوء الكنسي إلى حد ما على الكنيسة كمؤسسة قوية، فالكنيسة كمؤسسة، هي التي تحترمها الدولة، في حالة الاتفاق على عدم اقتحام مواقعها، أو في حالة طلبها للمفاوضات.  ومع ذلك، فهو أيضاً عمل كنسي شعبي، وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فالملاذ ليس مكاناً أو عملاً فحسب، ولكنَّه المجتمع الذي لم تنص عليه القوانين، والتي بموجبها يُحصر اللاجئون في مراكز الاحتجاز بدلاً من السماح لهم بالعيش في استقلالية، هذا هو المجتمع الذى يدعم اللاجئين ويرافقهم في كفاحهم من أجل " الحق في الحصول على الحقوق". [ii]

بيرغيت نويفيرت neufert@kirchenasyl.de تعمل لدى اللجنة المسكونية الألمانية للجوء الكنسي www.kirchenasyl.de وهي طالبة دكتوراه في جامعة جورج أوغست، غوتنغن.



[ii]  أريندت هـ (1951) أصول الحكم الشمولي، سانت دييغو: هاركورت برايس آند كمباني، ص. 296.

(The Origins of Totalitarianism)

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Church asylum

Church asylum, or sanctuary, is a practice to support, counsel and give shelter to refugees who are threatened with deportation to inhumane living conditions, torture or even death. This practice can be located at the interface of benevolence and politics.

Giving refuge, or more specifically, giving sanctuary or church asylum, is a specific form of benevolence that has a centuries-long tradition. What is known in Germany as ‘church asylum’ has mostly been inspired by the American Sanctuary Movement and by movements in other European countries, leading to the Charta of Groningen in 1987 and eventually to a common Charta of the New Sanctuary Movement in Europe in 2010.[1]

In 1983 a Berlin parish granted church asylum to three Palestinian families threatened with deportation to Lebanon during the civil war there, and since then church asylum has been established all over Germany and is practised in the Protestant as well as the Catholic Church. Both churches have taken a stand for refugees and their rights in numerous public statements and have used church asylum as an instrument to protect refugees and support them in claiming their rights.

A snapshot: In the small town of Braunschweig lives a family of eight: mother, father, six children. The children go to school and to vocational training. All of a sudden – after eight years in Germany – the family receives a letter from the Aliens Authority (Ausländerbehörde): they are requested to leave the country a few days later. They will be deported back to Pakistan, back to the country where they have been and will be persecuted, because they belong to the Muslim minority of Ahmadiyyah. One day before their planned deportation a small protestant congregation opens the church to the family. The next day the Aliens’ Authority will receive a letter from the church: “This is to announce that the family is now in church asylum and is therefore protected by our congregation.”

Church asylum is very hands-on and tangible. People are challenged to forget about their plans and everyday routines, to react immediately and in a most practical manner: to open doors, to create spaces to sleep and eat, to spend time with people, to simply be there. Church asylum protects people from the authorities, from police officers who come at the crack of dawn to pick up and deport people. This protection happens not in a symbolic but in a physical way. It is the closed doors of churches and parsonages that stand in the way of state power; it is church grounds that are – usually – respected by state authorities as a space not to be entered; and it is volunteers – church members and neighbours – and pastors who keep these doors shut, who talk to police officers and authorities, and who do whatever is necessary to protect this safe space and by doing so protect people whom the state does not regard as deserving of protection.

Although there is no official right to church asylum, the state most often respects sanctuary. But there are exceptions and police might, after all, enter and clear a church. However, this never happens without public attention – without press releases and negotiations between church and state officials. Usually, there are extensive discussions between the pastor of a church and the bishop on the one hand, and the political authorities on the other hand. In doing so, they try to make sure that in future the police will neither enter church grounds nor forcibly remove people. However, for individuals and families who have been deported despite being in church asylum, these negotiations come too late.

In consequence, church asylum is to a certain degree based on the church as a powerful institution. It is the institution of the church that is respected by the state when agreeing not to invade church sites and when the church demands negotiations. However, it is also a grassroots church practice. Furthermore, sanctuary is not only a place, and not only a practice; it is a community that is not provided for in the laws by which refugees are accommodated in detention centres rather than allowed to live independently. It is this community that supports and accompanies refugees in their struggle for “the right to have rights”.[2]

 

Birgit Neufert birgit.neufert@kirchenasyl.de works for the German Ecumenical Committee on Church Asylum www.kirchenasyl.de and is a PhD student at Georg August University, Goettingen.

 

[2] Arendt, H (1951) The Origins of Totalitarianism. San Diego: Harcourt Brace & Company, p296.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview