طالب اللجوء: منظور قائم على العقيدة

سوف تصغي المنظمة القائمة على العقيدة إلى اللاجئ والمهجَّر وسوف تحاول أن تفهمه عندما يُجبره ظلم القوانين والتقاليد والثقافات والعقائد على الفرار.

من وجهة نظري، ومن خلال تعاملاتي مع اللاجئين والمهاجرين من جميع أنواعهم، تُعدّ العقيدة موقفاً روحياً للوصول إلى أعماق الشخص بصفته إنسان يمكن مناداته بالأخ أو الصديق أو الزائر ممن قد يطرق الباب عليك وأفتحه له. وليست القضية هنا مسألة فعل الخير والإحسان وإبداء الشفقة بل هو خيار بنبع من إيماني وعقيدتي.

وهكذا، أود تنقية الأرضية التي قد يحاول البعض على أساسها استخدام اللاجئ على أنَّه مشروع ممكن للتبشير. فأنا دائماً أنظر إلى هذه التصرفات على أنها استغلال ضعف إنسان ما وتعريضه لنوع آخر من أنواع العنف. لكنَّ رسالتنا (الكاثوليكية) هي في الأساس تقديم الحب والعطف والود.

وعلى عكس القانون، الذي قد يتَّسم بالجمود والصرامة، سوف تصغي المنظمة القائمة على العقيدة إلى اللاجئ والمهجَّر وسوف تحاول أن تفهمه عندما يُجبره ظلم القوانين والتقاليد والثقافات والعقائد على الفرار. فالعقيدة، والإيمان بأي دين كان، إنما ينصب في الحرية. وكذلك مفهوم "الحقوق" أيضاً يمثل خطر التعرض للمعاملة الجافة كما يفعل القانون. ولو أننا أعطينا الحقوق لأصحابها في طريقة روتينية أو وظيفية لنزعنا صبغة العقيدة أو الإيمان بالدين، فعندها سيكون من الادعاءات المنافقة بنظر الآخرين أن يقول المرء إنه يفعل ذلك بوازع ديني أو عقدي. وقد تعلمت من كثير من اللاجئين أنَّ الإيمان هو الأمل وهو القوة التي لا تستعصي على استيعاب من يعيش في نطاق منطق الجدارة أو عدالة الشوارع أو التعريفات الجامدة.

وفي هذه الناحية الحساسة أصلاً، تتمثل واحدة من مشكلات اليوم في المسافة الجغرافية أو الدينية التي يأتي منها اللاجئون. وهنا في المكسيك، هناك أشخاص من نيبال، على سبيل المثال، ومن بنغلاديش والعراق ونيجيريا وإثيوبيا والسودان والصومال. ولذلك على الأشخاص الذين تعينهم المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة للعمل مع هؤلاء الأشخاص أن يتمتعوا برؤية لا ضيقة بل واسعة ومتسامحة وشاملة. فالانفتاح على الأشخاص من الديانات أو الممارسات الأخرى لن تخاطر بتسخيف عقيدتنا بل ستُنشئ روابط ومستقبلاً يحتفي بالتنوع والتضامن. وعندما يواجه طالب اللجوء البرودة في التعامل ذاتها التي قد يواجهها المرء في المنظمات الحكومية أو الهيئات المتعاقدة من تلك المنظمات، فقد يمثّل ذلك صفعة لأمل إيجادهم للاستقبال الذي لم يجدوه في أي مكان آخر من قبل. أما العمل وفقاً للقيم الأخلاقية العالمية فمن شأنه أن يرسل رسالة من الأمل للناس الذين ربما قد خبروا شيئاً من الإحباط والاضطهاد.

الأب فلور ماريا ريغوني rigoni2000@gmail.com عمل أكثر من 30 عاماً في كاسا ديل ميغرانتي-ألبيرغي بيلين، في تشاباس، المكسيك.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The asylum seeker: a faith perspective

An organisation based on faith will listen and try to understand when unjust laws, traditions, cultures or ideologies cause refugees to flee.

In my view and in the course of my dealings with refugees and migrants of all kinds, faith is a spiritual attitude for reaching the core of the person – as a human being who can be called brother, friend, guest, someone who can knock at my door and I open it. There is no element of charity or pity but a choice that comes from my faith.

Thus I would like to clear the ground of any attempt to use the refugee as a possible object of proselytism. I have always considered this to be taking advantage of someone’s vulnerability and subjecting them to another form of violence. Our (Catholic) mission is rather to offer love and compassion.

In contrast to the law, which is cold and regimented, an organisation based on faith will listen and try to understand when unjust laws, traditions, cultures or ideologies cause refugees to flee. Faith – of any religion – is about freedom. The concept of ‘rights’ too runs the risk of being treated coldly, like the law. If we act out rights in a routine or functional manner we should drop the label of faith or religious belief – to say we were acting from faith would be hypocritical and immediately be seen as such by others. And, as I have learnt from many refugees, faith is about hope, which is a force that is incomprehensible to those who live within the logic of merit, the justice of the street or strict definitions.

In this already sensitive area, one of today’s problems is the geographical or religious distance that refugees have come from. Here in Mexico we have people from, for example, Nepal, Bangladesh, Iraq, Nigeria, Ethiopia, Sudan and Somalia, so those who are appointed by faith organisations to work with them need to have a broad, tolerant and comprehensive vision. Opening oneself to those of other religions or their practices does not risk sullying our faith but can create linkages and a future where diversity and solidarity can be celebrated. When the asylum seeker meets the same coldness as is sometimes found in government organisations or their subcontracted agencies, this can be a blow to their hope of finding a reception that they have not found before. Acting in keeping with universal moral values sends a message of hope to people who may have experienced any manner of disappointment and persecution.

 

Padre Flor Maria Rigoni rigoni2000@gmail.com has worked for over 30 years in the Casa del Migrante-Albergue Belén, in Chiapas, Mexico.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview