رحلات إحدى المنظمات العلمانية في جنوب لبنان

تبين خبرات المنظمة العلمانية غير الحكومية في جنوب لبنان إمكانية بناء المنظمة غيرالدينية للعلاقات المثمرة مع الجهات الفاعلة القائمة على العقيدة دون المساس بهويتها العلمانية.

الدين والإيمان من العوامل المهمة المؤثرة على الحوكمة والممارسات الاجتماعية والمعتقدات التي تمس حماية الأطفال. ولهذا سعت منظمات حماية الطفل، مثل: المنظمة غير الحكومية السويسرية "مؤسسة أرض الإنسان"، للعمل مع الخطابات الدينية والجهات الفاعلة القائمة على العقيدة من أجل مكافحة مختلف أشكال العنف ضد الأطفال. وقد شهدت منظمات كثيرة منها توترات وصعوبات عندما حاولت إقامة برامج حماية الطفل في المجتمعات ذات الأغلبية المسلمة. وتقترح تجربة فريق حماية الطفل التابع لمؤسسة أرض الإنسان الذي يعمل في مخيمات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين ومجتمعات منطقة صور في جنوب لبنان نموذجًا للعمل يُمكّن المنظمات الدولية العلمانية من العمل بفاعلية في أوضاع تقل فيها احتمالية إدماجهم في الثقافة المحلية للمجتمع و/أو حيث يُنظر إليهم على أنَّ لديهم جدول أعمال ذا أهداف أخرى غير تقديم المساعدة وحسب.

أقامت مؤسسة أرض الإنسان - منظمة "خالية من أي تحيز سياسي أو ديني أو عرقي" وفقًا لميثاقها - مكتبًا في لبنان عام 1975. ومنذ عام 2009، ركزت المؤسسة على العمل في مخيمات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في منطقة صور وكونت علاقة قوية مع فاعلي الحوكمة من الفلسطينيين والجهات الفاعلة الأخرى سعيًا لتأسيس شراكة ثابتة وتشجيع صانعي القرار لتولي مهمة الاستجابات لحماية الطفل. واستند تدخلها إلى تقييم الاحتياجات الذي ركز على جمع المعلومات وبناء الشبكات في الوقت نفسه وشرح تطلع مؤسسة أرض الإنسان لتكوين شراكات قائمة على الثقة والتعاطف مع التركيز على رفاه الأطفال بدلًا من الاهتمام بالسياسة أو الدين.

وعلى الرغم من هذا، واجهت مؤسسة أرض الإنسان عوائق كثيرة في بداية عملها في مجتمعات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين. فعندما بدأ الموظفون في التحدث عن المشروع، أعربت العائلات وقادة المجتمع المحلي عن درجات متفاوتة من انعدام الثقة. وكان من بين المخاوف التي ذكروها امتلاك مؤسسة أرض الإنسان جدول أعمال خفي لتعزيز القيم الغربية و/أو المسيحية. وإضافة إلى ذلك، أبدت هذه المجتمعات عدم رغبتها في الاعتراف بوجود مزيد من المخاطر الحساسة التي تواجه حماية الطفل، مثل: الاعتداء الجنسي على الأطفال أو الاستغلال الجنسي التجاري للأطفال، بزعم أن تلك الأفعال "حرام" ومشينة وغير مقبولة أخلاقيًا ما يجعلها مواضيع يُحظر التحدث بشأنها. وعزز ذلك الخوف من أنَّ الاعتراف علنًا بوجود مثل هذه الممارسات قد يغذي التصورات السلبية بشأن اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في لبنان. ويمكن تقسيم التدابير التي اتخذتها مؤسسة أرض الإنسان للتغلب على هذه العوائق عمومًا إلى فئتين، هما: تكوين علاقات ثقة بين جميع أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين بغض النظر عن انتماءاتهم الدينية أو السياسية والأنشطة المزمع تنفيذها مع الجهات الفاعلة الدينية.

بناء الثقة والمشاركة

بُنيت الثقة من خلال المشاركة المستمرة والشفافة مع الجهات المسؤولة. وتضمن ذلك في الأساس الاعتراف بكل من بنى الحوكمة المنحازة لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية والتحالف (المعارضة) وأفراد المجتمع والاجتماع بهم بانتظام لإرساء أقدام مؤسسة أرض الإنسان جليًا بوصفها منظمة غير حكومية دولية محايدة تعمل مع الجميع. واشتمل ذلك على حوارات غير معلنة تتعلق بنظام إدارة الحالات الفردية - حيث تم الاعتراف بجميع هياكل السلطة والأفراد المعنيين وبوضعهم محل احترام - وبإشراك المجتمع في جميع جوانب وضع المشروع وتصميمه.

والمهم، كان على مؤسسة أرض الإنسان إظهار أكبر قدر من الالتزام لتكوين علاقات سليمة داخل المؤسسة مثلما حرصت على تكوين علاقات جيدة داخل المجتمعات المحلية. وقد أنشئ قسم للتدريب والتطوير لا يختص بضمان اتساق معايير العمل من خلال تعيين الموظفين وبناء القدرات وحسب ولكنه يعنى كذلك بتجميع الأفكار وتيسير النقد البناء لعمليات مؤسسة أرض الإنسان وممارساتها. وغذت ثقافة مكان العمل المهتمة بالأفكار والاعتبارات علاقات مؤسسة أرض الإنسان مع مجتمع اللاجئين الفلسطينيين وتلاشت النظرة التهديدية أو التخريبية لهوية مؤسسة أرض الإنسان المؤسسية العلمانية في آخر المطاف. ونمت جسور الثقة وصارت محورية في تسهيل الابتكار والإبداع من أجل تحديد أفضل الطرق لمعالجة المخاطر التي تواجه حماية الطفل.

وإضافة إلى بناء الثقة، وُضع عدد من الأنشطة التي سعت خصيصًا لإشراك الجهات الفاعلة الدينية المحلية في تعزيز بيئة توفر الحماية لأطفال اللاجئين الفلسطينيين. ومنذ عام 2010، أعرب كثير من الأئمة الفلسطينيين عن استعدادهم للانخراط على نحو ملموس أكثر في أنشطة مشروع مؤسسة أرض الإنسان. وتحقيقًا لهذه الغاية، جرت مبادرات كثيرة مع الأئمة وفقًا لخلفية مؤسسة أرض الإنسان التي كانت واضحة في هويتها المؤسسية غير الدينية والمعبرة في الوقت نفسه عن احترامها للقيم الإسلامية التي تسعى لتحقيق الرفاه والحماية للأطفال.

وفي بادئ الأمر، دُعي الأئمة لحضور الاجتماعات وورش العمل لتحقيق تواصل أفضل مع الجهات الفاعلة الحاكمة والمجتمع المدني من أجل تعزيز التشبيك لحماية الطفل. وفتح ذلك بدوره أبوابًا للباحثين الاجتماعيين في مؤسسة أرض الإنسان ليعززوا العلاقات مع المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة التي قد تكون بمنزلة مورد لهم أو شركاء في إحالة الحالات. وعلى مستوى أعمق، طُلبت المشورة من بعض الأئمة على نحو فردي لتقديم الدعم الشخصي ولتشجيع عملية التغيير من خلال توفير التوجيه الديني للعائلات المختارة التي كانت عازفة عن تعديل السلوكيات الضارة.

وشجعت مؤسسة أرض الإنسان أيضًا الأئمة على تضمين بعض الرسائل في خطب الجمعة. فقد كان موظفو المشروع يجتمعون مع الأئمة لتحديد الخطر الذي يواجه حماية الطفل والذي يجب مناقشته أثناء الخطبة، مثل: العقوبة البدنية أو الزواج المبكر أو التسرب من المدرسة، وللاتفاق على مضمون الرسالة التي ستلقى على الأسماع. وإجماليًا، وصلت تلك الرسائل لما يُقدر بنحو 3800 شخص بحلول نهاية عام 2013. وهكذا، كان الاستماع للزعماء الدينيين وهم يشيرون بصراحة لقضايا حماية الطفل خلال صلوات الجمعة عنصرًا رئيسيًا في إزالة السمعة السيئة التي اتسمت بها حماية الطفل في المجتمع.

ومع تطور العلاقات وتعززها، تطور مستوى الوصول لقضايا حماية الطفل أكثر حساسية وصعوبة، مثل: نكاح المحارم والاستغلال الجنسي التجاري للأطفال واستغلال الأطفال في التصوير الإباحي وإساءة معاملة الأطفال. وقد أدركت جميع الجهات الفاعلة أنَّ طبيعة عمل حماية الطفل تفرز اختلافات في الاتجاه والمنهجية، ومع ذلك نجحت مؤسسة أرض الإنسان من خلال تكوين علاقات مبنية على الثقة في التخلص من مستويات النزاع المحتملة التي قد تعرض قدرة المنظمة على التصرف لصالح رفاه الأطفال للخطر أو التخفيف من حدتها.

وثمة حاجة لوضع الدروس المستفادة على طول الطريق نصب أعيننا. وبالنظر إلى أنَّ الثقة تبنى على مشاركة المعرفة والمعلومات، تصبح المبادئ الأساسية للموافقة والسرية مهددة بالتعرض للخطر. وعلى العاملين في مجال الحماية في مناطق النزاع إيلاء اهتمام خاص بضمان تقدير أي فرد أو منظمة مشاركة في نظام إدارة الحالات الفردية تقديرًا كليًا لقيمة الموافقة المستنيرة والسرية مع التمسك بهما في جميع الأوقات.

وبوصف مؤسسة أرض الإنسان منظمة غير دينية، يوضح عمل المؤسسة مع مجتمعات اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في جنوب لبنان ضرورة ألا تكون المعتقدات الدينية الشخصية أو المؤسسية المتباينة - في الأوضاع الإنسانية - عوامل حاسمة في تمكين الشراكة والتعاون. بل على العكس، إن الثقة والتعاطف هما من يربطان الجهات الفاعلة المختلفة معًا حول الرؤى المشتركة لتحسين أوضاع المجتمع.

جايسون سكوير jason.squire@tdh.ch المندوب القطري السابق لمؤسسة أرض الإنسان في لبنان والمندوب الحالي في نيبال، وكريستين هوب kristen.hope@tdh.ch منسق مؤسسة أرض الإنسان الإقليمي لحماية الطفل في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. www.tdh.ch

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Journeys of a secular organisation in south Lebanon

A secular NGO’s experiences in south Lebanon demonstrate that it is possible for non-faith-based organisations to develop productive relationships with faith-based actors without compromising their secular identities.

Religion and faith are important factors which influence governance, social practices and beliefs affecting child protection. Child protection organisations – such as Swiss NGO Terre des hommes Foundation (Tdh) – have therefore sought to engage with religious discourses and faith-based actors to combat different forms of violence against children. Many have experienced tensions and difficulties, however, when carrying out child protection programmes in Muslim-majority communities. The experience of Tdh’s child protection team working in Palestinian refugee camps and communities of Tyre area in south Lebanon suggests a model of action that enables secular international organisations to engage effectively in situations where they are less likely to be embedded within the local culture of a community and/or where they may be perceived as having an agenda other than that of purely delivering aid.

Tdh, an organisation “free from any political, religious or ethnic bias” according to its Charter, established an office in Lebanon in 1975. Since 2009, it has focused on work in the Palestinian refugee camps of the Tyre area, developing a strong relationship with Palestinian governance and other actors in order to build firm partnerships and encourage decision makers to take ownership of child protection responses. The intervention was based on a needs assessment that concentrated on collecting information while at the same time building networks and explaining that Tdh looked to build partnerships based on trust and empathy, focusing on children’s well-being rather than on politics or religion.

Despite this, Tdh encountered several obstacles at the beginning of its work in the Palestinian refugee communities. When staff initially spoke about the project, families and community leaders expressed varying degrees of mistrust. One of the concerns voiced was that Tdh had a hidden agenda to promote Western and/or Christian values. In addition, there was an unwillingness to acknowledge more sensitive child protection risks, such as child sexual abuse or commercial sexual exploitation of children because these were designated as haram – shameful and morally unacceptable, and therefore taboo subjects. This was reinforced by the fear that openly acknowledging the existence of such practices would fuel negative perceptions of Palestinian refugees in Lebanon. The measures taken by Tdh to overcome these obstacles can be broadly divided into two categories: the creation of relationships of trust among all concerned stakeholders, regardless of religious or political affiliation, and targeted activities with faith-based actors.

Building trust and engagement

Trust was built through continual, transparent engagement with duty bearers. Crucially this included recognising and regularly meeting with both Palestinian Liberation Organisation-aligned and Al Tahaluf (opposition) governance structures and community members in order to position Tdh unambiguously as a neutral INGO working with everyone. It involved both confidential discussions regarding case management, where all relevant authority structures and individuals were acknowledged and respected, and involvement of the community in all aspects of project development and design.

Importantly, Tdh needed to show as much commitment to getting relationships right inside the organisation as it did with relationships in the communities. A training and development department was established with the remit not only to ensure consistency in work standards through staff inductions and capacity building but also to capture reflections and facilitate constructive critique of Tdh’s processes and practice. This workplace culture of reflection and consideration fed into Tdh’s relations with the Palestinian refugee community, and Tdh’s secular institutional identity eventually was no longer seen as threatening or subversive. Trust grew and become central to facilitating innovation and creativity in how to better address child protection risks. 

In addition to building trust, a number of activities were developed that specifically sought to engage local faith-based actors in fostering a protective environment for Palestinian refugee children. As early as 2010, several Palestinian imams expressed a willingness to become more concretely involved in Tdh’s project activities. To that end, numerous initiatives were undertaken with imams, all of which took place against the background of Tdh being transparent about its non-faith-based institutional identity while at the same time articulating its respect of Islamic values that seek the well-being and protection of children.

Initially the imams were invited to meetings and workshops in order to be better connected with governance and civil society actors to enhance child protection networking. This in turn saw doors open for Tdh case workers to strengthen relationships with FBOs which could be resources or referral partners. On a deeper level, certain imams were consulted individually in order to provide personalised support and to encourage change by providing religious guidance to selected families who were reluctant to modify harmful behaviours.

Tdh also encouraged imams to incorporate specific messages into their Friday sermons. Project staff would meet with the imam in order to determine the specific child protection risk to be discussed during the sermon, namely corporal punishment, early marriage or school dropout, and to agree on the content of the message to be shared. In total, an estimated total audience of 3,800 people were reached through these messages by the end of 2013. Hearing religious leaders openly refer to child protection issues during Friday prayers was a key element in de-stigmatising child protection concerns in the community.

As relationships matured and strengthened, so did the level of access to more delicate and difficult child protection cases such as incest, commercial sexual exploitation of children, child pornography and child abuse. All actors recognised that the nature of child protection work leads to differences of attitude and approach but, having built up relationships of trust, Tdh was able to either eliminate or mitigate potential levels of conflict which could have jeopardised the organisation’s capacity to act for children’s well-being.

There is a need, however, to be mindful of the lessons learned along the way. Given that trust is built on sharing knowledge and information, there is a risk that the fundamental principles of consent and confidentiality could be compromised. Front-line protection workers need to pay particular attention to ensuring that any individual or organisation involved in case management fully appreciate the value of and uphold informed consent and confidentiality at all times.

As a non-FBO, Tdh’s work with the Palestinian refugee communities in south Lebanon illustrates how, in humanitarian settings, diverging personal or organisational faith persuasions need not be determining factors in enabling partnership and collaboration. Rather, trust and empathy function to bind different actors together around common visions for community improvement.

 

Jason Squire jason.squire@tdh.ch is former Tdh Country Delegate in Lebanon and current Country Delegate in Nepal, and Kristen Hope kristen.hope@tdh.ch is Tdh MENA Regional Child Protection Coordinator. www.tdh.ch

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview