الفاعلون الدينيون المحليون والحماية في البيئات المعقَّدة وغير الآمنة

القادة الدينيون والمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة و المجتمعات الدينية المحلية يمثلون دوراً رئيسياً في حماية الأشخاص المتأثرين بالنِّزاع والكوارث والتَّهجير. لكنَّ المنخرطون في العمل الإنساني بالكاد بدؤوا في إبداء فهم كامل لعمق ونطاق وتنوع عمل الحماية الذي ينجزه الفاعلون الدينيون ودرجات تعقيد العلاقات القائمة بين العقيدة والحماية.

رغم التشارك في القيم والمبادئ الإنسانية والمصالح المشتركة في توفير الحماية، غالباً ما كان الفاعلون الإنسانيون الدينيون والعلمانيون يعملون في عالمين منفصلين ومتوازيين نوعاً ما. فعلى المستوى الوطني، ليس من الغريب أن نرى مجموعتين من الفاعلين الإنسانيين وهم يجاهدون في فهم النظم والطرق التي يعملون بها، فضلاً عن قدرة أي منهما على فهم هيكلية الطرف الآخر، وذلك رغم أنَّ كلاهما يناضل من أجل حماية المجتمعات ذاتها.

ويعود أحد أسباب هذا الانقسام إلى أنَّ العمل الإنساني الغربي غالباً ما كان موسوماً بالقيم العلمانية وكان يميل إلى تجاهل تأثير العقيدة أو التقليل من شأنها خارج نطاق الإيمان الخاص بالفرد. لكن وإن تقلصت مساحة تأثير الدين في البلدان الصناعية، فغالبية الناس المتأثرين بالنِّزاعات والكوارث والتَّهجير هم أشخاص يؤمنون بعقائدهم. وبالنسبة لكثير من الناس، تمثل المعتقدات والقِيَم الدينية دوراً محورياً في حياتهم وتساعدهم في رسم ملامح الطريقة التي يفهمون بها العالم من حولهم ويجدون لأنفسهم دوراً فيه، بل تقدم هذه المعتقدات لهم بُوصِلة أخلاقية تشير إلى ما هو صحيح وخطأ وتساعد الناس على التكيف في أوقات الأزمات. وقد تشجع العقيدة أعمال الحنو والشفقة والتسامح والاحترام لكرامة الإنسان مع إلهامها لمعتنقيها بالعدالة الاجتماعية والتصالح وفض النزاعات.

لكنَّه لن يكون من السهل تجسير الهوَّة في العمل الإنساني بين الجانبين الديني والعلماني وتعزيز مشاركة الفاعلين في المجالين وتقوية الشركات فيما بينهما لتحقيق الحماية. فللفاعلين الدينيين حوافز وطرق متنوعة في العمل كتنوع الثقافات والمجتمعات التي تديم تلك الحوافز والطرق، ويمكن القول إنَّ قليلاً من البحوث نسبياً أُجري لفهم نطاق وتنوع عمل هؤلاء الفاعلين في مجال الحماية أو لتوضيح أدوار الحماية الأنسب لتمثيلها ومسوغات ذلك. وبما أنَّ عمل هؤلاء الفاعلين لا يكاد يظهر للعيان وبما أنَّ المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة والقادة الدينيين نادراً ما يرتبطون في منظومة العمل الإنساني فذلك يجعل من التنسيق والتعاون وتكميل الأدوار من التحديات.

وهناك تحديان آخران أيضاً. فكثير من المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة تفتقر إلى الخبرة وبعضها لا يرغب في تولي قضايا الحماية الحساسة. وبما أن هذه المنظمات تتجذر في الثقافات التقليدية والمعتقدات، فقد تؤبِّد الممارسات التقليدية المؤذية أو تشجع الوصم بالعار (وصم الناجيات من العنف الجنسي والقائم على الجندر على سبيل المثال) في حين هناك قادة دينيون آخرون ومنظمات قائمة على العقيدة تحاول التصدي لتلك المسائل. وهناك البعض منهم من يبشر بعقيدته. وإضافة إلى ذلك، في حين تمارس كثير من المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة نوعاً من الحيادية النسبية ويؤمن معظمها بالمبادئ الإنسانية أو بقيمها، هناك من المنظمات المماثلة ممن تخفق في ذلك بسبب السياق السياسي الذي تعمل به.

ومع ذلك، هناك فوائد محتملة من العمل مع الفاعلين الدينيين وهي فوائد مهمة. فللمنظمات المحلية القائمة على العقيدة روابطها المحلية وحضورها المنتشر فهي بلك تصل إلى المجتمعات المتأثرة بالأزمات بل تتجاوزها إلى ما وراء ما يصل إليه الفاعلون الإنسانيون الآخرون بل حتى السلطات الحكومية خاصة في البيئات المعقَّدة وغير المأمونة حيث توضع علامات الاستفهام والشك حول شرعية السلطات الحكومية والفاعلين الإنسانيين.

وغالباً ما يكون القادة الدينيون المحليون والمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة جزءاً قوياً أساسياً من المجتمعات المحلية ويحصلون على احترامها، كما أنهم أكثر انسجاماً مع القيم الثقافية المحلية وعوامل التغيير الاجتماعية والسياسية. وعادة ما يميلون إلى إلهام درجة عالية من الثقة ضمن مجتمعهم ما يمنحهم تأثيراً كبيراً أكبر من تأثير المعايير والثقافة والسلوك المحلية وكلها من الأمور الحيوية المهمة لعمل الحماية القائم على المجتمع المحلي. ولا بد من الانتباه إلى أنَّ مجرد حجم القاعدات الشعبية لتلك المنظمات وتأثيرها وترابطها غالباً ما تمنح المنظمات نفوذاً لا يُستهان به إزاء السلطات الحكومية والفاعلين من غير الدول. وهناك المشاركة بعيدة الأمد بين الفاعلين الدينيين والمجتمعات المحلية والسلطات الحكوومية فهي تتيح لمبادراتهم الخاصة بالحماية بالتجذر في المجتمعات وإدامة الجهود للتصدي للقضايا الجذرية والأنماط المتغيرة للسلوك أو مناصرة التغيرات في القانون والسياسات.

 ووجود تلك المنظمات قبل الكوارث والنزاعات وأثناءها وبعدها يعني أنها في مكان مناسب لتقديم الإنذار المبكر والعمل المبكر أيضاً منعاً للنزاع وتعزيزاً لجاهزية المجتمع للتعامل مع الكوارث أو النِّزاعات. ويرتبط بذلك دور تلك المنظمات بصفتها المستجيبون الأوائل بعد وقوع الكوارث إذ غالباً ما يكون هذا الدور حساساً وحرجاً. وغالباً ما تُستخدَم المدارس والكنائس والمعابد والمساجد كملاذات آمنة ومراكز لتنسيق جهود الاستجابة. وكذلك هياكلها التنظيمية وشبكاتها، وإن كانت عرضة للتوقف عن العمل من وقت لآخر، توفر قدرات محلية جاهزة للاستجابة. وبمقدور القادة الدينيين أيضاً والمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة أن تستفيد من رأسمالها الاجتماعي لإطلاق مبادرات جديدة وكسب الدعم من المجتمع المحلي وحشد المتطوعين.

ومن هنا، إذا غاب عن بال العاملين في المجال الإنساني أهمية دور العقيدة أو في حالة عدم اهتمامهم بدورها في حياة المجتمعات المتأثرة بالأزمات فسوف يجدون أنفسهم إزاء حواجز وتبعات غير متوقعة وسيفقدون الفرص اللازمة لإقناع المجتمعات وحشدها بل قد يتسببون بأذى غير مقصود. أما المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة والمجتمعات المجتمعات الدينية المحلية فتفهم الدور الذي تمثِّله العقيدة في مساعدة الناس على الاستشفاء من الإساءات بل يمكنها أيضاً أن تقدم الدعم لهم (الطمأنة الروحية والإرشاد الديني والمشورة وغيرها).

ويمكن للقاعدات الشعبية الدينية أيضاً أن تصل إلى ما وراء المجتمع المتأثر وهذا ما يجعلها في وضع مناسب جداً للحيلولة دون وقوع النِّزاعات وحلها والتعامل مع التوترات بين اللاجئين والمجتمع المضيف، والتصدي لكراهية الأجانب والتمييز العنصري وحشد الدعم من المجتمع الأكبر ومعالجة أسباب الانفلات الأمني الذي يتطلب قدراً أوسع من التغيير الاجتماعي والسياسي. وعند استخدام الدين كأداة لإثارة النِّزاعات واستقطاب المجتمعات، فمن المحتمل أن يكون للمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة والمجتمعات القائمة على العقيدة القدرة الفريدة من نوعها لمواجهة الآراء المتطرفة وتخفيف حدة الخلافات والتوترات التي تُشعل نار النزاع وتقود إلى التَّهجير.

جيمس تومسون jthomson@actforpeace.org.au المدير المشارك للسياسة والمناصرة لدى منظمة العمل من أجل السلام(ACT Alliance) ، وهي عضو في ACT Alliance العالمية www.actforpeace.org.au.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Local faith actors and protection in complex and insecure environments

Faith leaders, faith-based organisations and local faith communities play a major role in the protection of people affected by conflict, disaster and displacement. Humanitarians, however, have only recently begun to fully appreciate the depth, scope and variety of protection work being done by faith actors and the complex interrelationships between faith and protection.

Despite sharing common humanitarian values and principles, and common interests in providing protection, faith-based and secular humanitarian actors have often operated in somewhat parallel universes. At the national level, it is not uncommon to see two sets of humanitarian actors struggling to understand, let alone navigate, each other’s structures, systems and ways of working despite the fact that both are striving to protect the same communities.

One reason for the divide stems from the fact that Western humanitarianism has been largely shaped by secular values, and has tended to overlook or downplay the influence of faith outside the realm of private belief. Yet while religion has declined in industrialised countries, the vast majority of people affected by conflicts, disasters and displacement are people of faith. For many their religious beliefs and values play a major role in their lives, helping to shape the way they understand the world and their role and place within it, providing a moral compass as to what is right and wrong, and helping people cope in times of crisis. Faith may encourage acts of compassion, tolerance and respect for human dignity, while inspiring social justice, reconciliation and conflict resolution.

Bridging the gap between secular humanitarians and faith actors, and fostering engagement and stronger protection partnerships, however, are not easy tasks. Faith actors’ motivations and ways of working are as diverse as the cultures and societies that sustain them, and comparatively little research has been undertaken to understand the scope and variety of their protection work or what protection roles they are best placed to play, and why. The low visibility of their work and the fact that local faith-based organisations (FBOs) and faith leaders are rarely linked into the humanitarian system also make coordination, collaboration and complementarity a challenge.

There are other challenges too. Many FBOs lack technical expertise, and some may not be willing to take up sensitive protection issues. Being rooted in traditional cultures and beliefs, they may perpetuate harmful traditional practices or encourage stigmatisation (for example, of survivors of sexual and gender-based violence), while other faith leaders and FBOs try to address these issues. Some proselytise. Additionally, while many FBOs practise relative impartiality and neutrality, and most subscribe to humanitarian principles or their equivalents, others fail to do so because of the political context within which they operate.

The potential benefits of working with faith actors, however, are significant. Because of their local ties and widespread presence, the reach of local FBOs into crisis-affected communities often extends well beyond that of humanitarian actors and even state authorities, particularly in complex and insecure operating environments where the legitimacy of state authorities and humanitarian actors are often called into question.

Local faith leaders and FBOs are usually deeply embedded in – and generally respected by – local communities, and are intimately attuned to local cultural nuances and social and political dynamics. They also tend to inspire a high level of trust within their community, giving them great influence over local norms, culture and behaviour – all of which is vital for community-based protection work. The sheer size of some of these constituencies, along with their influence and connectedness, often gives them considerable leverage with state authorities and non-state actors. The long-term engagement of faith actors with local communities and government authorities also allows their protection initiatives to take root and sustain efforts to address root causes, change patterns of behaviour or advocate for changes in law and policy.

Their presence before, during and after disasters and conflicts mean they are well placed to provide both early warning and early action to prevent conflict, and community-based disaster or conflict preparedness. Linked to this, their role as first responders after disasters is often critical. Schools, churches, temples and mosques are frequently used as safe shelters and for coordinating response efforts. Their organisational structures and networks, though often disrupted, provide a ready-made local response capacity. Faith leaders and FBOs can also draw on their social capital to launch new initiatives and gain community support and mobilise volunteers.

Lack of awareness of – or lack of sensitivity towards – the significant role that faith plays in the lives of crisis-affected communities can result in humanitarians finding themselves up against barriers and unexpected consequences, missing opportunities to persuade and mobilise communities, and even causing unintentional harm. FBOs and local faith communities (LFCs) understand the role that faith can play in helping people recover from abuses and they can provide support (spiritual reassurance, religious guidance, counselling, etc).

Faith constituencies also reach well beyond the affected community and so are well placed to prevent and resolve conflicts; deal with refugee and host community tensions; combat xenophobia and racism; mobilise support from the wider society; and address the causes of insecurity that require wider social and political change. Where religion is used as a tool to incite conflict and polarise communities, FBOs and LFCs also potentially have a unique ability to work with and through their faith communities to counteract extremist views, and reconcile the differences and tensions that fuel conflict and drive displacement.

 

James Thomson jthomson@actforpeace.org.au is Associate Director of Policy and Advocacy with Act for Peace, which is a member of the global ACT Alliance. www.actforpeace.org.au

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview