بتوجيهات من المبادئ الإنسانية

تقدم الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ من خلال العمل مع اللاجئين، والنَّازحين داخلياً و المهاجري في كولومبيا، ولبنان ولوكسمبورغ بعض أمثلة الطرق التي قد تصبح فيها المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة أوفر حظاً أو أقل حظاً بحكم اعتمادها على العقيدة، وتوضح الأمثلة أيضاً ضرورة تمسك تلك المنظمات بالمعايير الدولية.

الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ عضو في الشبكة الدولية لمنظمة الكاريتاس الدولية وتعمل بإلهام من التعاليم الكاثوليكي الاجتماعي. وتعدُّ المنظمة نفسها منظمة نابذة للتمييز وملتزمة بالمبادئ الإنسانية الدولية وتحترم الثقافة والتقاليد. ويقوم التعاون بين الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ والمانح الرئيسي للممول لنشاطاتها وزارة لوكسمبورغ للشؤون الخارجية والأوروبية على إدراك أنَّ الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ ومنظماتها الشريكة حول العالم هي منظمات مهنية لا تهدف للربح تحترم المعايير الإنسانية ولن تستخدم الموارد البشرية والمالية في التبشير من أي نوع كان. ويبدي شركاء الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ التزاماتهم التعاقدية في احترام المبادئ والمعايير الإنسانية كما تستثمر الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ جهوداً لا يُستهان بها في رصد أداء شركائها في مختلف المجالات.

وتعمل الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ في لبنان وكولومبيا ومن خلال مجموعات الكاريتاس الوطنية وغيرها من الشركاء المحليين وتساعد على ترسيخها في السياق المحلي. وقدمت شريكتها الكاريتاس لبنان المساعدة لآلاف من الناس خلال الحرب الأهلية بغض النظر عن ديانتهم، ويؤكد دعمها الحالي للاجئين السوريين على نزاهة موقفها التنظيمي. وفي كولومبيا، نشطت المنظمة الشريكة الكاريتاس كولومبيا للخدمات الاجتماعية الرعوية في مجالات التضامن وبناء السلام وعمل المناصرة منذ عام 1956 وساعدت الناس ممن هُجرواً في الداخل إثر النزاع المسلَّح، ويُنظر إلى منظمة الكاريتاس كولومبيا للخدمات الاجتماعية الرعوية محلياً على أنها منظمة حيادية سياساً وتنفذ عمل المناصرة نيابة عن الأشخاص الأكثر استضعافاً وتدفع نحو مساءلة الحكومة.

وفي بعض الأحيان، يُمثِّل ارتباط الكاريتاس بالدين نقطة في مصلحتها. ففي لبنان، نادراً ما يحتاج العمال المنزليون المهاجرون إلى إذن لمغادرة أمكان عملهم. ومع ذلك، في بلد يتجذر فيه الدين، غالباً ما يقدم أصحاب العمل استثناءً لموظفيهم للسماح لهم بممارسة شعائرهم. ومن هنا يستطيع عمال المنازل المهاجرون المُسَاءُ معاملتهم الوصول إلى الكاريتاس من خلال الخدمات الرعوية وهي آلية لا تتوافر كثيراً للمنظمات التي ليس لها أي خلفية مهنية. 

وفي كولومبيا، شارك مؤتمر الأساقفة الكولومبيون في عمليات التفاوض والوساطة نحو إبرام اتفاق للسلام وتولى عدة أدوار من المراقب إلى الوسيط وأكد دائماً في الوقت نفسه على أهمية الحوار والمصالحة والتصدي لحالات عدم التكافوء الاجتماعي-الاقتصادي المتجذرة في النِّزاع. وتمكنت الكنسية أيضاً من بناء درجة من الثقة مع مختلف أطراف النِّزاع المسلَّح، وتكرر استخدام هذا الموقع المميز في تيسير الحوار بي الأطراف والوصول إلى الضحايا ومنع اندلاع مزيد من العنف.

المهنية أولاً

للتعامل مع الجوانب السلبية المحتملة لجذور الكاريتاس الكاثوليكية، بذلت المنظمة جهداً لا يوصف عبر السنين لإثبات أنها تُعلِي المهنية أولاً قبل اي شيء آخر وذلك بترجمة بيان رسالتها واقعاً عملياً وهي "مساعدتنا تصل إلى جميع الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم بغض النظر عن الديانة والجنس والولادة والآراء والولاء والعمر واللغة أو اي وضع آخر." وفي لبنان، تشير الأدلة إلى أنَّ مهنية المنظمة وشمل المسلمين إضافة إلى المسيحيين في كوادرها العاملة والمتطوعة أدت إلى ربط اسم الكاريتاس في أذهان الناس بالمساعدات وليس بالديانة.

وتدعم الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ مئات المهاجرين، وطالي اللجوء و اللاجئين في لوكسمبورغ نفسها علماً أنَّ بعضهم يبحثون على وجه الخصوص على  المساعدات من الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ نظراً لأنَّها منظمة كاثوليكية. وتتسم الشريحة القادمة بتنوع في الخلفيات الدينية المختلطة ولا شك أنَّ لذلك أثر في اختلاف التوقعات حول ما يجب أن تقدمه المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة وتنوع الخبرات معها وهذا الأمر قد يضيف اللون الحيوي للرؤية التي رسمتها الكاريتاس. ويعي الموظفون أنَّ بعض المهاجرين قد يتجنبون التقرب من الكاريتاس للحصول على المساعدة لخوف غير مسوَّغ له من أنَّ الاخيار قد يكون مبنياً على معايير التنازل. ومن خلال المعرفة بهذه المصاعب وحالات سوء الفهم تلك، يعمل الموظفون على طمأنة المهاجرين بأنَّهم لن يخضعوا تحت أي ظرف كان إلى الاختيار أو الرفض على أساس دياناتهم. وتُوزَّع المعلومات المتعلقة بخدمات الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ ليس على الشبكات المحددة بالعقائد فحسب بل من خلال شبكات التواصل المهنية أيضاً والمنظمات الشريكة ودوائر الحكومة والشرطة. أما الإقامة المؤقتة التي تديرها الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ لمصلحة طالبي اللجوء فهي مصممة تحديداً بحيث تكون مساحة متعددة ثقافاتها لا تسمح بنشاطات التبشير.

وللمشاعر الروحية والعقيدة الدينية أثر إلهامي أساسي إذ يمثلان البوصلة والحافز للمنظمات القائمة على العقيدة التي تمتلك كثيراً من المزايا النسبية عند العمل مع المهاجرين، لكنها في الوقت نفسه يجب أن تمارس سياسة عدم التسامح إزاء نشاطات التبشير أو التمييز وعليها أن لا تضحي بأي وقت كان بالمبادئ الإنسانية.

 

أندرياس فوغت Andreas.VOGT@caritas.lu رئيس قسم التعاون الدولي، وصوفي كولسيل Sophie.COLSELL@caritas.lu مساعدة المشروعات في قسم التعاون الدولي في منظمة الكاريتاس لوكسمبورغ. www.caritas.lu

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Guided by humanitarian principles

Caritas Luxembourg’s work with refugees, IDPs and migrants in Colombia, Lebanon and Luxembourg offers some examples of the ways in which a faith-based organisation may be advantaged or disadvantaged by its faith basis and how it needs to adhere to humanitarian standards.

Caritas Luxembourg is a member of the international network of Caritas Internationalis and inspired by Catholic Social Teaching. The organisation regards itself as non-discriminatory, committed to international humanitarian principles and respectful of culture and custom. The collaboration between Caritas Luxembourg and its main donor, the Luxembourg Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, is based on the understanding that Caritas Luxembourg and its partner organisations around the world are professional, not-for-profit organisations respecting humanitarian standards and norms and will not use human or financial resources for proselytism of any kind. Caritas Luxembourg’s partners contractually commit to respect humanitarian principles and standards, and Caritas Luxembourg invests considerable efforts in monitoring its partners’ performance in all different fields.

Caritas Luxembourg works in Lebanon and Colombia with and through national Caritas groups and other local partners, which helps anchor it in the local context. Its partner Caritas Lebanon provided assistance to thousands of people during the civil war, regardless of their religion, and its current support for Syrian refugees confirms this disinterested organisational position.

The fact that Caritas is linked to a religion can sometimes play to its advantage. In Lebanon, migrant domestic workers seldom have permission to leave their place of employment. However, in a country which is deeply religious, employers will often make an exception for their employees to practise their religion. Many mistreated migrant domestic workers therefore gain access to Caritas through pastoral services, a mechanism less readily available to organisations having no confessional background.

In Colombia, the Colombian Bishops’ Conference has been involved in negotiating and mediating peace processes in many roles, from observer to mediator, while always emphasising the importance of dialogue and reconciliation and addressing the socio-economic inequalities inherent to the conflict. The Church has also been able to build a certain level of trust with the different parties of the armed conflict, and this privileged position has repeatedly been used for facilitating dialogue between the parties, getting access to victims and preventing further violence.

Professionalism first

To address the potentially negative aspects of Caritas’ roots in Catholicism, the organisation has made a tremendous effort over the years to demonstrate its professionalism first and foremost by putting into practice its mission statement that “our help reaches out to all people worldwide, regardless of their religion, sex, birth, views, allegiance, age, language or other status”. In Lebanon, evidence suggests that due to its professionalism, and the inclusion of Muslims as well as Christians among its staff and volunteers, people associate the name Caritas with assistance rather than with religion.

Caritas Luxembourg supports hundreds of migrants, asylum seekers and refugees in Luxembourg itself, some of whom specifically seek the assistance of Caritas Luxembourg as a Catholic organisation. The incoming population is of mixed religious background and obviously has a variety of expectations of and experiences with faith-based organisations which might colour their vision of Caritas. Staff are aware that some migrants might avoid approaching Caritas for assistance due to an unfounded fear that beneficiary selection may be based upon confessional criteria. Aware of these difficulties and misconceptions, Caritas Luxembourg staff reassure migrants that they will under no circumstances be selected or rejected on the basis of their religion. Information about Caritas Luxembourg’s services is distributed not only through faith-specific networks but through professional communications networks, partner organisations, and government and police services. The temporary residence for asylum seekers in Luxembourg managed by Caritas is deliberately designed as a multi-cultural space, where proselytism is not accepted.

Spirituality and religious belief provide the fundamental inspiration, reference point and motivation of faith-based organisations, which have many comparative advantages when working with migrants but which must practise a zero-tolerance policy regarding proselytism and discrimination, and must at no time compromise humanitarian principles.

 

Andreas Vogt Andreas.VOGT@caritas.lu is Head of International Cooperation, and Sophie Colsell Sophie.COLSELL@caritas.lu is Project Assistant, International Cooperation, both at Caritas Luxembourg. www.caritas.lu

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview