صِدام العقيدة وسيطرتها: تقديم المعونة للاجئين في غانا وكينيا

تقِّيم دراسة حالة من غانا أهمية الاستجابة القائمة على العقيدة للتهجير في غرب إفريقيا، بينما في كينيا فهناك مثال يسلط الضوء على المشاكل التي يمكن أن تنشأ من التعاون بين المنظمات العلمانية والأخرى القائمة على العقيدة.

كانت المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة وما زالت عاملاً رئيسياً في استجابة غانا لأزمة اللاجئين الليبيريين. فقد كانت الكنائس الإنجيلية المسيحية والخمسينية ،التي كان اللاجئون والغانيون يديرونها، أوائل المستجيبين وقدمت في وقت لاحق الدعم حينما انخفضت المعونة الرسمية انخفاضاً كبيراً. ولما فرّت الأفواج الأولى من الليبيريين إلى غانا في عام ١٩٩٠، لم تكن غانا تمتلك البنية التحتية الإنسانية الرسمية للتعامل مع ما يمكن أن يصبح أزمة كبيرة مع وصول أكثر من ثلاثين ألف لاجئ  ليبيري. وحسب معظم الروايات، تولى المجلس المسيحي لغانا دوراً أساسياً في تقديم المعونة للاجئين في المراحل الأولى من الأزمة ( يتكون المجلس المسيحي من خمسة عشر كنيسة مسيحية موجودة في غانا منذ زمن بعيد، مثل الكنيسة المشيخية).

ووفّرت المجتمعات الكنسية وأعضاؤها الأفراد المسكن والغذاء ومواد الإغاثة الأخرى قبل أن تشكل الحكومة الغينية لجنة معنية باللاجئين، وتخصص مجمع "جومو بودبرام" في المنطقة الوسطى في غانا مخيماً للاجئين.  ومثلت المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة دوراً كبيراً في تحسين ظروف المخيم، وذلك بعد أن طلبت الحكومة الغينية المساعدة من مفوض الأمم المتحدة السامي للاجئين، وأصبحت عملية التَّسجيل والمعونة أكثر خضوعاً للمعايير. 

وكثير من اللاجئين الليبيريين الذين وصلوا إلى بودبرام كانوا من "المعمدانيين الكاريزمية"، وهي عقيدة تتماشى مع تدين المستجيبين الأوائل الغينيين و والمنظمات الإنجيلية غير الحكومية، ومع أن الاستجابة الإنسانية لأزمة اللاجئين كانت بوجه عام محفوفة بالمشاكل، إلّا أنّ مجهودات المعونة القائمة على العقيدة في بودبرام قوبلت باستجابة إيجابية، نظراً لأنها يمكن أن تصاغ في إطار ديني مشترك. وعلاوة على ذلك، يستعين كثير من الليبيريين بالدين لتفسير الماضي وتعبئة الموارد من أجل المستقبل وإنشاء شبكات للتبادل الاقتصادي وتعزيز المصالحة بين الأعراق. وترقباً للفوائد المتصورة في حالة التدين على المذهب الخمسيني، انضمت اعداد لا حصر لها من الليبيريين إلى الكنائس الخمسينية والإنجيلية في المخيم. كما اتصل اللاجئون الليبيريون بأعضاء الكنيسة في الخارج، لا سيّما في الولايات المتحدة، للحصول على دعم مالي لكنائسهم ومنح دراسية لأفراد الأبريشية وبعض الخدمات الاجتماعية. وفي الوقت الحاضر، يعمل كثير من القلة المتبقية من مقدمي المعونة في المخيم على أساس ديني.

صدام العقيدة

خلافاً للنجاح الذي لاقته المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة في غانا، تسلط البحوث في شرق إفريقيا الضوء على الطرق التي يمكن للنهج القائم على العقيدة في المساعدة الإنسانية أن يسبب فيها المشكلات عند تطبيق البرامج أو توفير الخدمة للاجئين خاصة عندما تكون المعتقدات الدينية للمنظمة وموظفيها مخالفة لأهداف المشروع.

وكثير من الشركاء التنفيذيين من المنظمات غير الحكومية العاملون مع مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين في مخيمات اللاجئين في شرق أفريقيا هم منظمات قائمة على العقيدة؛ بعضهم منظمات دولية كبيرة، بينما البعض الآخر منظمات محلية. وفي أحد مخيمات اللاجئين، تُدار كثير من عمليات التثقيف في مجال الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية والتوعية توجه من جانب منظمة مسيحية محلية بصفتها شريك تنفيذي لمفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين. وسعت إحدى المنظمات العلمانية الدولية، التي لم تكن نشطة في المخيم، إلي تنفيذ حملة للصحة الجنسية والإنجابية للمراهقين والشباب، إذ تشترك كلتا المنظمتان في تدريب اللاجئين العاملين في المجال المجتمعي لتثقيف إخوانهم في مجتمعات اللاجئين في أمور الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية التي تواجه المراهقين من اللاجئين.

وكان هدف المنظمة الدولية غير الحكومية تثقيف شباب اللاجئين في أمور كالأمراض المنقولة جنسياً وتنظيم الأسرة. إلاَّ أنَّ كلتا المنظمتين تحمل معتقدات مختلفة فيما يتعلق بممارسة الجنس قبل الزواج، واستخدام وسائل منع الحمل، والعمل في تجارة الجنس والمثلية الجنسية. وكان جل اهتمام المنظمة العلمانية ضمان الوقاية الصحية للمراهقين من خلال تشجيع استخدام وسائل منع الحمل للوقاية من الأمراض المنقولة جنسياً والحمل غير المرغوب فيه. ولم يُظهر أفراد هذه المنظمة أي معتقدات سواءً مع كل من المثلية الجنسي والعمل في تجارة الجنس وممارسة المراهقين للجنس (الجنس قبل الزواج) أم ضدهم. وعلى النقيض من هذا النهج، عبّر أفراد المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة عن معتقداتهم في أنّ المراهقين ما زالوا صغاراً على الزواج ولا ينبغي لهم ممارسة أي نشاط جنسي قبل الزواج، وكان نهجهم اتباع العفة حتى الزواج قدر المستطاع، واللجوء إلى الممارسات الجنسية الآمنة عند إخفاق هذه التدابير.

ولا تقتصر بالطبع المعتقدات الشديدة فيما يتعلق بالعلاقات الجنسية والإنجاب على المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة وأفرادها فحسب، فمسائل العلاقات الجنسية والإنجاب هي مسائل شائكة ترتبط بمفاهيم كالأخلاق والنقاء والصحة العامة، ولكنه ليس من المستغرب أن تختلف منظمة علمانية مع منظمة قائمة على العقيدة في النهج المتبع للحفاظ على الصحة الجنسية والإنجابية للمراهقين. ويمكن لهذا الصدام أن يؤدي بسهولة إلى تقليل فرص النجاح في تحقيق أهداف المشروع، وإعطاء معلومات متضاربة للاجئين، وفي النهاية يؤدي إلى نتائج أكثر سوءاً للصحة الجنسية والإنجابية للمراهقين.

  إليزابيث فيرتس wirtz@purdue.edu وجوناس إيكي jecke@purdue.edu مرشحان لنيل درجة الدكتوراه[i]في قسم علم الإنسان، جامعة بوردو.www.purdue.edu



[i] بتمويل كريم من الهيئة الألمانية للتبادل الثقافي، ومعهد كيلوج للدراسات الدولية، والمؤسسة الوطنية للعلوم، وكلية بوردو للآداب الحرة ومؤسسة بوردو للأبحاث.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The clash and clout of faith: refugee aid in Ghana and Kenya

A case-study from Ghana assesses the importance of a faith-based response to displacement in West Africa, while an example from Kenya highlights problems that can arise in collaborations between secular and faith-based organisations.

Faith-based organisations (FBOs) have been fundamental to Ghana’s response to the Liberian refugee crisis. Evangelical Christian and Pentecostal churches, run by refugees and Ghanaians, were first responders and later offered a buffer when official aid had been drastically reduced. When the first Liberians fled to Ghana in 1990, Ghana had no official humanitarian infrastructure to cope with what would become a major crisis with the arrival of more than 30,000 Liberian refugees. By most accounts, the Christian Council of Ghana – consisting of 15 long-standing Christian churches in Ghana, such as the Presbyterian Church – was crucial in providing aid for the refugees in the early stages of the crisis.

Church communities and individual members provided lodging, food and other relief goods before the Ghanaian government formed a committee on refugees and designated the Gomoa Buduburam compound in Ghana’s Central Region as a refugee camp. After the Ghanaian government had called the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) for assistance, and the aid and registration process had become more standardised, FBOs played a major role in improving conditions in the camp.

Many of the Liberian refugees who arrived in Buduburam were Charismatic Baptists, a faith that resonated well with the religiosity of the Ghanaian first responders and evangelical NGOs. Even though the overall humanitarian response to the refugee crisis was beset with problems, the faith-based aid efforts in Buduburam met with a positive response precisely because they could be framed in a commonly shared religious framework. Furthermore, many Liberians in Buduburam drew on their religiosity to explain the past, mobilise resources for the future, create economic exchange networks and promote inter-ethnic reconciliation. In anticipation of the perceived benefits of Pentecostal religiosity, countless Liberians joined Pentecostal and Evangelical churches in the camp. Liberian refugees contacted church members abroad, particularly in the US, to solicit financial support for their churches, individual scholarships for parishioners and some social services. Nowadays, many of the few remaining aid providers in the camp are faith-based.

Clash of belief

In contrast to the success that FBOs have had in Ghana, research in East Africa highlights ways in which a faith-based approach to humanitarian assistance can cause problems in implementing programmes or delivering services to refugees, particularly when the religious beliefs of the organisation and its employees are in contrast to the goals of the project.

Many of the implementing partner non-governmental organisations (NGOs) working with UNHCR in refugee camps in East Africa are FBOs; some are large international organisations while others are locally based. In one particular refugee camp, much of the sexual and reproductive health education and outreach is managed and directed by a local Christian FBO, as an implementing partner of UNHCR. An international, secular organisation, which had not previously been active in the camp, sought to implement an adolescent and youth sexual and reproductive health campaign, in which the two organisations would jointly train community-based refugee workers to educate their fellow refugee communities on sexual and reproductive health issues facing adolescent refugees.

The international NGO’s goal was to educate refugee youth on subjects such as sexually transmitted infections and family planning. However, the two organisations held different beliefs regarding premarital sex, contraceptive use, commercial sex work and homosexuality. The secular organisation was most concerned with protecting the health of adolescents through encouraging the use of contraceptives to protect against STIs and unintended pregnancies. The staff from this organisation did not display any particular beliefs for or against homosexuality, commercial sex work or adolescent/pre-marital sex. Contrary to this approach, the FBO staff expressed their belief that adolescents are too young to marry and should not engage in premarital sexual activity; their approach to adolescent sexual and reproductive health was to encourage abstinence until marriage as much as possible and only turn to safe sex practices when these measures fail.

Strong beliefs about sexuality and reproduction are not of course restricted to FBOs or their staff. Sexuality and reproduction are highly charged topics tied to notions of morality, purity and public health. But it is hardly surprising that a secular organisation and a faith-based organisation might disagree on approaches to adolescent sexual and reproductive health. Such a clash could easily lead to reduced success in achieving project goals, conflicting information being given to refugees and, ultimately, poorer adolescent sexual and reproductive health outcomes.

 

Elizabeth Wirtz wirtz@purdue.edu and Jonas Ecke jecke@purdue.edu are doctoral candidates[1] in the Department of Anthropology, Purdue University. www.purdue.edu

 

[1] Funding generously provided by the German Academic Exchange Service, Kellogg Institute for International Studies, National Science Foundation, Purdue College of Liberal Arts and Purdue Research Foundation.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview