التشينيون في ولاية ميزورام، الهند: استجابة قائمة على العقيدة

مثَّل مجتمع العقيدة في ولاية ميزورام في الهند دوراً حاسماً ومؤثراً في توفير الخدمات الاجتماعية وتغيير المواقف والتصورات العامة إزاء اللاجئين وتوفير الوصول والمساعدات والوصول إلى الأكثر استضعافاً حيث لا يوجد أي استجابة إنسانية.

منذ الانتفاضة المناصرة للديمقراطية في بورما عام ١٩٨٨، يفر اللاجئون التشينيون إلى ولاية ميزورام في الهند التي تحد ولاية التشينين الحدودية غرب بورما. ونظراً لبعد الموقع وللقيود التي فرضتها الحكومة على سفر الأجانب إلى ولاية ميزورام، عاش التشينيون في ميزورام خارج نظر المجتمع الدولي. وبغياب مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين (مفوض الأمم المتحدة السامي للاجئين) و أي هيئة دولية للمساعدات الإنسانية، يواجه التشينيون تحديات في الحماية وغياباً في المساعدات الإنسانية إضافة إلى الأعباء الكبيرة المفروضة على الموارد والبنى التحتية في ولاية ميزورام.

ومع أنَّ الحكومة الهندية وفّرت للاجئين المأوى والغذاء فور وصولهم في أواخر الثمانينيات، فقد توقفت هذه الخدمات بعد بضع سنوات ما فرض على التشينيين مصاعب جديدة. وحتى لو كان التشينيون قد فرُّوا من الاضطهاد، فلا تنظر إليهم الهند على أنهم لاجئون بل ينظر إليهم سكان ولاية ميزورام على أنهم مهاجرون اقتصاديون يبحثون عن فرض أفضل للحياة والسبب في ذلك أنَّ النظرة العامة السائدة تعتبرهم فارين من الفقر العام في بلادهم  مذكِّرينهم بالأعباء التي تسببوا بها على عاتق الميزوراميين.

ورغم بعض التغيرات الإيجابية في الحكومة البورمية خلال الأعوام الماضية، ما زالت العودة الطوعية للاجئين إلى بورما ضعيفة ما يفرض ضرورة الإدماج الآمن والإنساني للتشينيين وذلك من خلال الكنائس الميزورامية والمنظمات غير الحكومية وحكومة الولاية بدعم من الحكومة المركزية والمجتمع الدولي. وخلال فترة الرفع المؤقت للقيود على السفر في أبريل/نيسان ٢٠١١، زرت ولاية ميزورام واضطلعت على الطريقة التي مثلت فيها الكنيسة دوراً حاسماً في هذا الخصوص، إذ قدَّمت الخدمات الاجتماعية لكل من السكان الميزوراميين والتشينيين وحددت اللاجئين غير المخدومين في المجتمع وقدمت إليهم الخدمات وتأكدت من وجود حس من الانتماء للمجتمع والترحيب بعيش التشينيين في ولايتهم.

وتتحدث الكنيسة الميزورامية والحكومة وقادة المجتمع المحلي عن الشتينيين على أنهم "أخوة وأخوات" لأنهم مسيحيون مثلهم وينتمون للجذور العرقية ذاتها. ولا يمكن لأحد أن ينكر الدور المحوري الذي تمثله الكنيسة في الحياة الويمية للميزوراميين إذ إنّ الطوائف المسيحية في الولاية الهندية لا تركز على الحاجات الروحية للمجتمع المحلي فحسب بل تقدم أيضاً ما يسد به الحاجات المادية والعاطفية والفكرية من خلال المرافق التي تديردها الكنيسة من مستشفيات ومراكز صحية وبيوت العناية بالمسنين ودور الأيتام وبيوت الإياء والمدارس وبرامج التنمية والمساعدة المجتمعية.          

مساهمات المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة

طرحت مجموعة من الأسئلة أثناء زيارتي وتمحور أحدها حول الدور لذي يتولاه المجتمع المدني، خاصة المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة، في توفير المساعدات والحماية للاجئين في إحدى المناطق التي لم يكن فيها وجود للحماية أو المساعدة الإنسانية. وقدَّمت الجماعات القائمة على العقيدة في ولاية ميزورام الخدمات الاجتماعية الرئيسية للاجئين، وتعمل المستشفيات والمراكز الصحية والمرافق التعليمية التي تديرها الكنائس على تكميل دور الحكومة وتسد الثغرات للتأكد من حصول الفقراء على وجه الخصوص (بمن فيهم اللاجئون) على الرعاية الصحية والتَّعليم في ميزورام. وتتحمل كثير من هذه المستشفيات والمراكز الصحية تكاليف الرعاية الصحية للميزوراميين الأصليين. وبما أنَّ التشينيين والميزوراميين يتشاركون الديانة ذاتها، تعمل الكنيسة منذ أمد بعيد على خدمة الفئتين معاً في البرامج الإنمائية.

فقد بدأت الكنيسة المعمدانية في ميزورام على سبيل المثال مشروع ليديا عام 2011 لمساعدة التشينيين بالإضافة إلى السكان المحليين من قليلي الدخل وذلك بالشراكة مع طائفتين مسيحيتين أخريتين هما كنيسة لايرام المسيح المعمدانية وكنيسة زومي المعمدانية. وبدأت الكنيسة المعمدانية في ميزورام  العمل بإجراء مسح على 10 آلاف فرد إذ جمعت أسماء المهجَّرين وحللت حاجاتهم الإنسانية وحددت سبب قدوم كل واحد منهم إلى ولاية ميزورام وركزت على وضع البرامج لخدمة الأكثر استضعافاً والمقيمين لمدة أطول في ولاية ميزورام. ثم أسست 33 مجموعة للمساعدة الذاتية (80% منهم كانوا من التشينيين و20% منهم كانوا من السكان المحليين) بواقع 7 إلى 15 شخصاً لكل مجموعة. ويساهم الأعضاء بالتمويل شهرياً ثم تودع الأموال في حساب بنكي بأسمائهم. وهناك أيضاً برنامج آخر يركز على تطوير الشباب وواحد آخر للمشورة المجتمعية.

ويركز مشروع ليديا على المشروعات الصغيرة المدرة للدخل لتلك المجموعات ويعمل أيضاً على رفع الوعي بعدة أمور منها على سبيل المثال الفرص التي تمولها الحكومة. ويتضمن المشروع أيضاً نشاطات التَّعليم والتصالح. أما قسم الإغاثة والإنماء في الكنيسة المعمدانية في ميزورام فتقجم التنسيق العام مع الكنائس والمجتمعات المحلية للتشينيين في المناطق الجغرافية الأكثر اكتظاظاً بهم في ولاية ميزورام، في حين يركز قادة المشروع على الأهمية القصوى لعدم فصل اللاجئين التشينيين عن السكان المحليين عند توزيع المساعدات الإنسانية.                            

ومع أنَّ اللاجئين لم يحصلوا بعد على الاعتراف القانوني بهم، فقد ساهم مشروع ليديا في تمكينهم وتوفير مساحة آمنة لهم حيث يمكن أن يبدأ الحوار المجتمعي في التصدي لمشكلة التوترات بين مجتمع اللاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة. وبما أنَّ المشروع لم يستثنِ أحداً من اللاجئين عند تحديد السكان المحتاجين للمساعدات فقد حظي بقبول أكبر لدى المجتمع المحلي. وهكذا، جمع المشروع بين التشينيين والميزوماريين في التدريب وأقام المشروع العلاقات البينية التي ساعدت على بناء بيئة أكثر إيجابيةً للاجئين. وحدد المشروع أيضاً بعض المناطق والسكان الأقل خدمة في ميزورام ووصل إليهم وعمل من خلال شبكات الطوائف الكنسية الثلاث في المناطق التي صعب على المسؤولين الحكوميين المحليين الوصول إليها.

وتوفر المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة الرعاية المجتمعية الشاملة بضم المساعدات إلى الترويج للمواقف الأكثر تفضيلاً إزاء التصورات التي يُنظر للمهاجرين بها في المجتمعات المحلية التي تضيفهم. ولا تقتصر الحماية الأساسية للاجئين على منحهم الاعتراف والحماية بالقانون فحسب إذ لا بد من تمكين قبول المجتمع المحلي لهم أيضاً. وفي ولاية، يذهب إلى الكنيسة كل أفراد إنفاذ القانون تقريباً والمسؤولون الحكوميون والموظفون العموميون، لا يمكن التقليل من شأن تأثير الكنيسة على تغيير التصورات العامة للمهاجرين.

وبالإضافة إلى سعي الكنائس نحو تلبية الحاجات المادية والتعليمية للاجئين عن طريق تقديم المساعدات من خلال المستشفيات والمدارس التابعة لها، فقد شاركت الكنائس أيضاً في الجهود التَّعليمية الهادفة إلى مساعدة مجتمع ميزورام في الوصول إلى فهم أفضل للتشينيين واستيعاب السبب الديني الذي يدعوهم إلى الترحيب بالتشينيين الذين يعيشيون معهم وتقديم الرعاية لهم. فقد أطلقت الكنيسة المعمدانية في ميزورام على سبيل المثال مختلف النشاطات التعليمية التي تدور حول منظور ديني لرعاية المهاجرين. ووزعت المنشورات في الكنائس وعقدت اللقاءات التوعوية العامة، بل تحدثت في بعضها من المنبر حول الاستجابة المسيحية للهجرة. وعيَّن المجمع الكنسي البريسبيتاري الميزورامي قسيساً للوصول بوجه خاص إلى التشينيين في عاصمة الولاية، أيزاول، وتضمنت مهامه خدمات الإرسالية والوعظ الديني والخدمات الاجتماعية كما نسّق صلاة جماعية شهرية أُطلق عليها اسم "الصلاة من أجل بورما" تتضمن جميع الكنائس والأخويات التشينية في أيزاول.     

وساعدت الكنائس إذ تحدثت نيابة عن المستضعفين في مجتمعاتها المحلية على منع النشاطات المعادية للتشينيين في الماضي وتستمر في توفير التعاليم الناقدة لتضمن أن المجتمع لن يكتفي بقبول اللاجئين التشينيين فحسب بل سيرحب بأن يعيشوا معهم أيضاً. وفي أثناء المرحلة الحالية للتغيير في بورما، هناك فرصة عظيمة لانتهاج مقاربة إقليمية مؤطرة حديثاً سوف توفر الحماية والحلول المستدامة بعيدة الأمد للتشينيين وذلك من خلال العمل مع المنظمات المحلية القائمة على العقيدة المحلية الموثوق بها والتي تعمل في المنطقة منذ عشرات السنين. تلك المنظمات لن توفر الإغاثة الحرجة والنشاطات الإنمائية فحسب بل سوف يكون لها تأثير كبير في رسم ملامح المواقف والتصورات في المجتمعات المضيفة لكي ترحّب باللاجئين بين ظهرانيها.

جيني يانغ jyang@wr.org نائب الرئيس للمناصرة والسياسات، منظمة الإغاثة العالمية. www.worldrelief.org

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Chins in Mizoram state, India: a faith-based response

The faith community in Mizoram state in India has played an instrumental role in providing social services, changing public attitudes and perceptions towards refugees, and providing access and assistance, reaching the most vulnerable where there is no international presence.

Since the 1988 pro-democracy uprising in Burma, ethnic Chin refugees have fled to India’s Mizoram state, which borders Burma’s western Chin state. Because of the remote location and government-imposed restrictions on foreigners’ travel to Mizoram state, the Chins in Mizoram have been largely out of sight and out of mind of the international community. In the absence of UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees) and any international humanitarian assistance, the Chins face protection challenges and lack humanitarian assistance, while placing a burden on the resources and infrastructure of Mizoram.

While the Indian government provided the refugees with shelter and food upon their arrival in the late 1980s, these services were stopped after a few years, and the Chins have faced many difficulties. Even though the Chins have fled persecution, they are not recognised as refugees by India; residents of Mizoram state (‘Mizos’) view them primarily as economic migrants because they are perceived to be fleeing generalised poverty, and point to the burden they create for Mizoram.

Despite some positive changes in the Burmese government in recent years, voluntary repatriation to Burma on the whole remains not viable, and the safe, humane integration of Chins will be necessary through Mizoram churches, NGOs and state government, with support from central government and the international community. During a temporary lifting of the travel restrictions in April 2011, I visited Mizoram and witnessed how the church has played a critical role in this regard, providing key social services to both Mizo and Chin populations, identifying and serving the under-served refugees in the community, and ensuring there is a sense of commonality and welcome for the Chin people living in their state.

The Mizoram church, government and community leaders speak of the Chins as “brothers and sisters” because they are fellow Christians and come from the same ethnic roots. One can hardly overstate the influential role that Christianity plays in the daily life of Mizoram, especially as Christian denominations in Mizoram focus on serving not just the spiritual needs of the community but also the physical, emotional and intellectual needs through church-run hospitals, clinics, nursing homes, orphanages, hostels, schools and community development and assistance programmes.

Contributions of FBOs

One of the main questions I asked during my trip was what role civil society – in particular, faith-based organisations (FBOs) – played in providing assistance and protection to refugees in an area where there is no international protection or assistance. Faith-based groups in Mizoram have provided key social services for refugees, and church-run hospitals and clinics complement the government health and education systems and fill gaps to ensure that those who are especially poor – which includes most refugees – receive health care and an education in Mizoram. Many such hospitals and clinics also absorb the health-care costs of indigent Mizos. Since the Chins and Mizos share a common religion, the church has long worked to serve both Mizos and Chins in development projects.

The Baptist Church of Mizoram (BCM), for example, started the Lydia Project in 2011 to assist displaced Chins and low-income local people, in partnership with two other denominations, the Lairam Jesus Christ Baptist Church and Zomi Baptist Church. BCM started by surveying 10,000 individuals – collecting names of the displaced, analysing their humanitarian needs and determining why each one had come to Mizoram – and focusing on developing programmes to serve the most vulnerable and the long-stayers in Mizoram. They developed 33 self-help groups (80% of the members being Chins and 20% local people), with 7 to 15 per group. Members contribute funds monthly which are deposited in a bank in their names. There is also a programme for youth development and one for community counselling.

The Lydia Project focuses on small income-generating projects for these groups, and also works to build awareness of, for example, government-funded opportunities. The project also includes education and reconciliation activities. BCM’s relief and development department provides overall coordination with churches and Chin communities in areas of Mizoram with high concentrations of Chin refugees, while project leaders emphasise how critical it is not to separate out the Chins from the local population for humanitarian assistance.                

Despite the refugees not having legal recognition, the Lydia Project has helped to empower the refugees and provide a safe space in which community dialogue can begin to address tensions between the refugee and host communities. By not singling out the refugees as a population in need, the project has greater acceptance in the local community, and with Chins and Mizos being trained together, the project has created working relationships that will help to foster a more positive environment for the refugees. The project has also identified and reached some of the most under-served areas and populations in Mizoram, working through the three denominations’ networks of churches in areas that are hard to reach even by local government officials.

FBOs provide holistic community care by coupling assistance with promoting more favourable attitudes towards and perceptions of migrants in their communities. Fundamental to the basic protection of refugees is not only their legal recognition and protection but also their acceptance by the local community. In a state where almost all law enforcement officials, elected officials and civil servants attend a church, the influence of the church to change public perception of immigrants cannot be overstated.

As well as trying to meet the physical and educational needs of refugees by offering assistance through their hospitals and schools, the churches have also engaged in educational efforts to help the Mizoram community better understand the Chin community and, from a faith perspective, why they should welcome and care for the Chins living among them. The Baptist Church in Mizoram, for example, has run various educational events around a theological perspective on caring for the immigrant. They have handed out pamphlets at churches, conducted public educational events, and in some churches have talked from the pulpit about a Christian response to immigration. The Mizoram Presbyterian Church Synod hired a minister to reach out specifically to Chins in Aizawl, the state capital; his duties include mission, evangelism and social services, and he also coordinates a monthly prayer gathering called ‘Prayer for Burma’ which includes all Chin churches and fellowships in Aizawl.

By speaking out for the vulnerable in their community the churches have helped to prevent anti-Chin activities in the past, and they continue to provide critical teaching to ensure the community is not only merely accepting but actively welcoming of the Chin refugees among them. During Burma’s current period of change, there is a great opportunity to pursue a newly framed regional approach that will provide protection and long-term durable solutions for the Chins by working through local FBOs that are trusted and have been operational in the region for decades. These organisations can not only provide critically needed relief and development activities but also be influential in shaping attitudes and perceptions of host communities to welcome the refugees among them.

 

Jenny Yang jyang@wr.org is Vice President of Advocacy and Policy, World Relief. www.worldrelief.org

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview