احترام العقائد وتفادي الضرر: المساعدة النفسية الاجتماعية في الأردن والولايات المتحدة

على كل من المنظمات الدينية والعلمانية معرفة الطرق التي يمكن أن يُقدم من خلالها الدين المداواة والدعم والتي يمكن أيضًا أن تتسبب في إيذاء اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء.

قدمت المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة تاريخيًا مجموعة متنوعة من الخدمات للاجئين وطالبي اللجوء بغض النظر عن دين هؤلاء الأفراد أو انتمائهم الديني، ولا تختلف هذه المساعدات عن تلك التي تقدمها نظيراتها العلمانية. وتسترشد المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة بقيمها الدينية وتسعى للتواصل مع مؤسسات دينية أوسع للحصول على الموارد التي قد لا تقدر المنظمات العلمانية على الحصول عليها. وإضافة إلى ما سبق، يستخدم كثير من اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء الدين والقيم الروحية بوصفهما مصدرين للتعايش والاستشفاء والمرونة.[i].

يقارن هذا المقال العمل النفسي الاجتماعي مع اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء الذي تضطلع به اثنين من المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة، هما: منظمة الهيئة الكاثوليكية للرفاه في الشرق الأدنى في عمَّان، الأردن، ومنظمة البحارة الدولية في مدينة نيويورك. فمن ناحية، تقدم منظمة الهيئة الكاثوليكية للرفاه في الشرق الأدنى يد العون للسكان العراقيين والسوريين والفلسطينيين والأردنيين وتوفر لهم المساعدات الطبية والغذاء والإسكان والتعليم بغض النظر عن الخلفية الدينية للفرد، وتقدم كذلك هذه المنظمة التمويل لكنيسة مبشري مريم الفرنسيسكان في الأردن لبرامج التعليم المسيحي (التي تُقدم حصريًا لعائلات مسيحية). أما منظمة البحارة الدولية فمنظمة دينية اجتماعية لوثرية تابعة للكنيسة الإنجيلية اللوثرية في أمريكا التي توفر أساسًا مساكن مؤقتة لطالبي اللجوء والمهاجرين القادمين من دول أمريكا الوسطى والجنوبية والشرق الأوسط وإفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى.

فوائد المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة التي تقدم المساعدة النفسية الاجتماعية

يتحدث كثير من اللاجئين وطالبو اللجوء الذين عملت معهم في الأردن والولايات المتحدة عن أهمية العقائد الدينية واندماجهم في المجتمعات المحلية الدينية بوصفها مصدرًا للدعم الروحي والعاطفي والاجتماعي. وتستطيع المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة من خلال أنشطتها مساعدة طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين على الشعور بالانتماء وتوفر لهم نوع من الشعور بالألفة. فعلى سبيل المثال، درّست كنيسة مبشري مريم الفرنسيسكان الكتاب المقدس في مجموعة أسبوعية داخل ديرهم. وقد أعربن كثيرات من المشاركات كيف تطلعن للانضمام لهذه المجموعة نظرًا لما قدمته لهن من نشاط روحي واجتماعي في ظل محدودية الموارد التي يحظى بها اللاجئون للإنفاق على الأنشطة الترفيهية. وقد منحت الدراسة الأسبوعية للكتاب المقدس اللاجئين مساحة لمعرفة المزيد عن دينهم والتفاعل مع المجتمع المحلي واكتشاف الموارد والخدمات المتاحة لهم من قبل المنظمات الأخرى فضلًا عن أنها ساعدتهم على مسايرة الضغوط التي يتعرضون لها.

وتقدم منظمة البحارة الدولية المساكن المؤقتة لطالبي اللجوء والمهاجرين الذين خرجوا مؤخرًا من مراكز الاحتجاز، ويزور أيضًا موظفو منظمة البحارة الدولية والمتطوعون طالبي اللجوء والمهاجرين المحتجزين في مراكز الاحتجاز في جميع أرجاء نيو جيرسي لتزويدهم بالدعم العاطفي والاجتماعي.[ii]  ويأتي كثير من متطوعي منظمة البحارة الدولية من التجمعات اللوثرية في مدينة نيويورك ويشاركون في هذا البرنامج بوصفه وسيلة لتفعيل إيمانهم بدينهم. وتدرب منظمة البحارة الدولية المتطوعين قبل إجراءهم زيارات لمراكز الاحتجاز حتى يعرفوا أن غرض الزيارة ليس جذب الأتباع بل تقديم الدعم العاطفي والاجتماعي. ولكن إذا جاء المحتجزون على ذكر مدى أهمية العقائد الدينية لهم فبإمكان المتطوعين الاشتراك مع المحتجزين في حوار حول هذا الموضوع. فعلى سبيل المثال، تحدث أحد المهاجرين المحتجزين إلى متطوعي منظمة البحارة الدولية قائلاً إنَّ قراءة الكتاب المقدس ساعدته على أن يكون إيجابيًا خلال إقامته في الاحتجاز، وهكذا شعر هذا المحتجز بالأريحية لمشاركة هذه المعلومات عقب لقائه مع أحد المتطوعين لمدة ساعة ثم شاركه المقاطع من الكتاب المقدَّس التي يُحب أن يقرأها وأخيرًا أعرب المحتجز عن شعوره بالراحة لإجراء هذا الحوار. في حين لا يشعر الموظفون في المنظمات العلمانية بالراحة عند الانخراط في حوارات بشأن العقيدة.

ويتحدث طالبو اللجوء الذين يمكثون في دار ضيافة منظمة البحارة الدولية أيضًا عن أهمية العقائد الدينية. فعلى سبيل المثال، ذكر أحد طالبي اللجوء الذي عرّف نفسه بصفته مسيحيًا أن البقاء في مكان مسيحي ساعده على الشعور بالثقة والأمان. فالمساعدة تخلق بيئة يشعر فيها اللاجئون وطالبو اللجوء بالأمان وبالتقبل وبالثقة وجميعها أمور مهمة لرفاههم العقلي والعاطفي. وتساعد الرموز والصور الدينية على خلق مساحات مألوفة ومطمئنة لطالبي اللجوء واللاجئين. وعلاوة على ما سبق، يمكن أن يساعد الموظفون الذين يشاركون في الشعائر الدينية والذين يحترمونها - سواء كانت من دينهم أم من دين آخر - على بناء جسور الثقة مع العملاء وتكوين روابط اتصال فعَّال مع كل من المنظمة والمجتمع الأوسع. وفي المقابل، قد لا تقدر المنظمات العلمانية التي تقدم خدمات مماثلة على خلق بيئة ترعى العملاء الذين يشيدون بالدين والقيم الروحية بوصفها جوانب مهمة لرفاههم العاطفي فهذه المنظمات تفرط في استخدام التدخلات العلاجية الغربية التي تختلف كثيرًا عن طرق الأشخاص الذين يخدمونها في التعايش ما يسبب الألم النفسي لهم.

وإضافة إلى تقديم الدعم الروحي والعاطفي والاجتماعي، لدى المنظمات القائمة على العقيدة روابط مع الشبكات الاجتماعية الأخرى، مثل: أماكن العبادة، وهي قادرة على جذب الموارد والمتطوعين من خلال هذه الشبكات. فعلى سبيل المثال، تعمل منظمة البحارة الدولية مع التجمعات اللوثرية لتوظيف المتطوعين لزيارة مراكز الاحتجاز بينما تستخدم كل من منظمة الهيئة الكاثوليكية للرفاه في الشرق الأدنى وكنيسة مبشري مريم الفرنسيسكان شبكاتهم الكنسية لإيجاد الموارد وتوزيعها، مثل: الإسكان والأثاث والملابس لعملائهم اللاجئين. ويمكن أن يتواصل الموظفون مع طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين الذين يتبعون العقائد الدينية نفسها التي تتبعها المنظمة القائمة على العقيدة ويتجمعون في أماكن العبادة التي تزودهم بمزيد من المساعدة الروحية. وعلى صعيد آخر، لا تحظى المنظمات العلمانية بروابط اتصال مع أماكن العبادة.

القيود والمخاطر

تواجه المنظمات الدينية أيضًا قيودًا وقد تضر ببعض الأفراد الذين يعتنقون دينًا مغايرًا لدين المنظمة، فهم قد يتعرضون للاضطهاد بسبب دينهم أو للتشكيك في صحة معتقداتهم أو للشعور بأن سلطة عُليا قد تخلت عنهم في وقت محنتهم. حتى إن بعض الأفراد يخافون طلب المساعدة من المنظمات الدينية خشية أن يضطروا للتحول عن معتقداتهم الدينية. وعلى موظفي المنظمة القائمة على العقيدة الانتباه لمثل هذه القضايا وإذا ما أعرب طالبو اللجوء واللاجئون عن مثل هذه المخاوف وجب على الممارسين مساعدتهم على اكتشاف طرق أخرى مفيدة للتعايش وإحالتهم - إذا لزم الأمر - لمنظمات أخرى.

وقد يشعر طالبو اللجوء واللاجئون بالقلق إزاء تلقي المساعدة من منظمة قائمة على العقيدة لا تعتنق دينهم نفسه. حتى إن بعض العملاء يظنون أن مثل هذه المنظمات لا تقدم المساعدة إلا للأفراد الذين يعتنقون الدين نفسه الخاص بالمنظمة وأحيانًا يعتقد خطأً بعض العملاء ذوو دين المنظمة نفسه أنهم سيحظون بمعاملة أفضل من غيرهم. وقد يشعر العملاء الذين يعتنقون دين المنظمة نفسه بالضغط للإفصاح عن دينهم عند تلقي المساعدة من المنظمات الدينية.

وقد تتسبب الرموز والصور الدينية في إشعار العملاء من الأديان المغايرة بالبعد عن المنظمة. فقد كان أحد المتطوعين في منظمة البحارة الدولية يرتدي صليبًا أثناء تحدثه مع مهاجر محتجز في مركز الاحتجاز قدم نفسه بوصفه مسلمًا، وحينها شعر المحتجز بالانزعاج من الصليب وأوضح أنه مُسلم ولا يرغب في التحول عن دينه. وهكذا، على موظفي المنظمات الدينية إعطاء رسائل جلية إلى المجتمع المحلي مفادها أنهم يقدمون المساعدة لجميع الأفراد بغض النظر عن معتقداتهم الدينية وأن يتجنبوا إظهار رموزهم الدينية.

ومن الأهمية بمكان لموظفي كل من المنظمات الدينية والعلمانية أن يكونوا ضليعين في المبادئ الأساسية للأديان التي يتبعها عملائهم. وعلى المنظمات الانتباه لبعض الممارسات والالتزامات واحترامها، مثل: القيود الغذائية والأعياد الدينية. وعلى الموظفين أيضًا - إن أمكن - محاولة إدماج تقاليد العملاء الروحية في نشاطات المنظمة أو عقد احتفالات ثقافية إذا ما وصفها العملاء بأنها تعني شيئًا مهمًا لمجتمعاتهم وطريقًا لرفاههم النفسي الاجتماعي ولا سيما إذا كانت تناسب السياق المحلي. وبناءً على طلب زوج مسلم وزوجته المسيحية من طالبي اللجوء، بارك قس منظمة البحارة الدولية طفلهم حديث الولادة مستخدمًا تقاليد كلا الدينين.

أخيرًا، على المنظمات الاستعداد للانخراط في حوار الأديان والقيم الروحية مع عملائهم نظرًا لأن كثيراً من السكان النازحين يرون الدين عاملًا مهمًا للتعايش والمداواة وعلى كل من المنظمات الدينية والعلمانية تدريب موظفيهم على المبادئ الأساسية لأديان عملائهم. ويجب إجراء مزيد من الأبحاث متعددة التخصصات وتكوين مزيد من أطر الممارسات من قبل الأخصائيين الاجتماعيين والعاملين في مجال الصحة العقلية والعاملين في مجال المساعدات الإنسانية سعيًا لضمان النظر إلى الدين والقيم الروحية بوصفها شيئًا قيمًا يستحق أن يكون موضوعًا للحوار مع طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين ولضمان عدم تسبب ممارساتهم في إحداث مزيد من الضرر النفسي الاجتماعي أو العاطفي.

مريم زوما zomamaryam@gmail.com كانت حتى وقت قريب متدربة على العمل الاجتماعي في منظمة البحارة الدولية http://sihnyc.org وهي حاليًا مرشحة لنيل درجة الماجستير في العمل الاجتماعي في مدرسة سيلبرمان للعمل الاجتماعي في كلية هانتر في جامعة مدينة نيويورك. www.hunter.cuny.edu/socwork

 


[i]  جوزدزياك إي وشاندي دي(2002)  "الافتتاحية: الدين والقيم الروحية في الهجرة القسرية"، مجلة دراسات اللاجئين، المجلد 15، العدد 2.

[ii]  للحصول على معلومات بشأن تأثير الاحتجاز، راجع العدد 44 من مجلة الهجرة القسرية عن "الاحتجاز، وبدائل الاحتجاز، والترحيل www.fmreview.org/ar/detention ."

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Respecting faiths, avoiding harm: psychosocial assistance in Jordan and the United States

Both faith-based and secular organisations need to recognise the ways in which religion can provide healing and support but can also cause harm for refugees and asylum seekers.

Faith-based organisations (FBOs) have historically provided a variety of services to refugees and asylum seekers, regardless of individuals’ religious or spiritual affiliation, and this assistance may be indistinguishable from that provided by secular counterparts. However, FBOs are guided by their religious values and may reach out to wider religious institutions for resources that secular organisations may not be able to access. In addition, many refugees and asylum seekers use religion and spirituality as a source of coping, recovery and resilience.[1]

This article compares psychosocial work with refugee and asylum seekers by two FBOs: the Catholic Near East Welfare Association (CNEWA) in Amman, Jordan, and Seafarers International House (SIH) in New York City, US. CNEWA provides assistance to Iraqi, Syrian, Palestinian and Jordanian populations and help with medical issues, food, housing and education, regardless of a person’s religious background; in addition, CNEWA provides funding to the Franciscan Missionaries of Mary (FMM) in Jordan for catechetical programmes (exclusively for Christian families). SIH is a Lutheran social ministry organisation affiliated with the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America which mainly provides temporary housing for asylum seekers and immigrants originating from countries in Central and South America, the Middle East and sub-Saharan Africa. 

Benefits of FBOs providing psychosocial assistance

Many of the refugees and asylum seekers with whom I worked in Jordan and the US speak about the importance of faith and their integration into faith communities as a source of spiritual, emotional and social support. FBOs through their activities can help asylum seekers and refugees feel a sense of belonging and provide them with some sense of familiarity. For example, the FMM taught a weekly group Bible study course at their convent. Many of the female participants said how they looked forward to this since it provided them with both a spiritual and a social activity in a context where refugees have limited resources to spend on recreational activities. Weekly Bible study provided refugees with a space to learn about their faith, interact with the community, and discover resources and services available to them from other organisations; it also helped them cope with the stress of their situation.

SIH provides temporary housing to asylum seekers and immigrants recently released from detention centres; in addition, SIH staff and volunteers visit asylum seekers and immigrant detainees in detention centres throughout New Jersey to provide them with emotional and social support.[2] Many of SIH’s volunteers come from Lutheran congregations in New York City and participate in this programme as a way to act on their religious faith. SIH trains volunteers before they visit a detention centre so that they know that the purpose of the visit is not to proselytise but to provide emotional and social support. However, if the detainee brings up faith as something important to them, then volunteers can engage with detainees on this topic. For example, one immigrant detainee told SIH’s volunteers that reading the Bible helped him stay positive during his stay in detention; he felt comfortable enough to share this information after meeting with a volunteer for an hour and they then shared Bible passages they liked to read, and the detainee said this conversation brought him comfort. Staff at secular agencies may not feel comfortable engaging in discussions about faith.

Asylum seekers who stay at SIH’s guesthouse also speak about the importance of faith. One asylum-seeking client who self-identified as Christian said that staying in a Christian place helped him feel secure and safe. Helping create an environment where refugees and asylum seekers feel safe, accepted and secure is extremely important for their mental and emotional well-being. Religious symbols and images can help create spaces which appear familiar and are reassuring to asylum seekers and refugees. Furthermore, staff partaking in and respecting religious rituals – whether of their own faith or another – can help establish trust with clients and a meaningful connection to both the agency and broader community. Secular organisations providing similar services may not be able to create a nurturing environment for clients who cite religion and spirituality as important aspects of their emotional well-being; indeed, they may over-utilise Western therapeutic interventions that may be very different from the client’s own forms of coping and which may cause the client distress.

In addition to providing spiritual, emotional and social support, FBOs have connections to other social networks, such as places of worship, and can attract resources and volunteers through these networks. For example, SIH works with Lutheran congregations to recruit volunteers to visit detention centres while CNEWA and FMM use their church networks to locate and distribute resources such as housing, furniture and clothing for their refugee clients. Staff can connect asylum seekers and refugees who share the same faith as the FBO to places of worship that may provide them with additional spiritual assistance. Secular agencies may not have connections to places of worship.

Limitations and pitfalls

FBOs also have limitations and may cause distress to some individuals who practise a different faith from the agency, were persecuted because of their faith, question their faith or feel a higher power abandoned them in their time of distress. Some may be afraid to seek assistance from FBOs because they fear being converted. FBO staff need to be mindful of these issues and if asylum seekers and refugees express such concerns, practitioners must help them discover other beneficial methods of coping and if necessary refer them to other organisations.

Asylum seekers and refugees may feel discomfort at receiving assistance from an FBO not aligned with their own faith. Some clients may think these agencies only assist individuals of the same faith, or clients of the same faith may think they will receive preferential treatment. Clients with the same faith might also feel pressurised to outwardly display their faith when receiving assistance from faith-based agencies.

Religious symbols and images may make clients who practise a different faith feel distanced from the agency. One SIH volunteer was wearing a cross when speaking with an immigrant detainee in a detention centre who identified as Muslim; the detainee was made uncomfortable by the cross, stating that he was Muslim and did not want to be converted. Faith-based agency staff need to send clear messages to the community that they provide assistance to all individuals regardless of their faith; if possible, they should avoid displaying religious symbols.

It is extremely important for both secular and faith-based agency staff to be versed in the basic tenets of the faiths that their clients follow. Agencies need to be mindful and respectful of certain practices and obligations, such as dietary restrictions and holy days. Staff should also, if possible, try to incorporate clients’ spiritual traditions into the activities of the agency, or hold cultural celebrations if clients cite this as something meaningful to their community and path to psychosocial well-being, and if it is appropriate in the local context. At the request of a Muslim and Christian asylum-seeker couple, SIH’s pastor provided a blessing for their newborn child, incorporating both traditions.

Agencies must be prepared to engage in a discussion of faith and spirituality with their clients since many displaced populations cite faith as an important factor for coping and healing, and both secular and faith-based agencies should therefore train staff in the basic tenets of their clients’ faiths. More interdisciplinary research needs to be done and additional practice frameworks need to be created by social workers, mental-health practitioners and humanitarian aid workers to ensure that faith and spirituality are seen as something valuable to discuss with asylum seekers and refugees, and to ensure that their own practices do not cause additional psychosocial or emotional harm.

 

Maryam Zoma zomamaryam@gmail.com was until recently a Social Work Intern with Seafarers International House http://sihnyc.org and is currently a Master of Social Work candidate at the Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College of The City University of New York. www.hunter.cuny.edu/socwork

 

[1] Gozdziak E and Shandy D (2002) ‘Editorial Introduction: Religion and Spirituality in Forced Migration’, Journal of Refugee Studies Vol 15, No 2.

[2] For information about the impact of detention, see FMR issue 44 on ‘Detention, alternatives to detention, and deportation’. www.fmreview.org/detention

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview