قياس وَفَيَات المهاجرين وحالات اختفائهم

كثيرةٌ هي المُتحدِّيات التي تعوِّق توثيقَ وَفَيَات المهاجرين واختفائهم، على أنَّ ما يمكن فعله لتحسين استيعاب هذه المعطيات وإتمامها كثيرٌ أيضاً.

يحاول النَّاسُ الهِجرةَ إلى بلدان أخرى فيغرقون في قنوات ماءِ الصَّرف الصحيّ، ويموتون بالبرد في الغابات القاصية؛ ويموتون بالتَّجفَاف والجوع بعد أن يصيب مركباتهم خلل في عرض الصحراء. فيُعِينُ توثيق وَفَيَات المهاجرين وحالات اختفائهم على مَنْعِ هَمَليَّة هذه المآسي، ثمَّ إن جَمْعَ هذه المعطيات وتحليلها ونشرها مفيدٌ في حملات المناصرة، فيُعلِمُ سياسات الهجرة القائمة على الأدلة، ويُحسِّن التخطيط التنفيذي. 

ومع ذلك، جمع معلومات الوفيات في طريق الهجرة صَعبٌ لعدَّة أسباب. إذ يجبر انعدام الخيارات الآمنة والقانونية في الهجرة الناسَ على السَّفر في طُرُق هجرةٍ غير نظامية ليتجنَّبوا كَشفَهُم. ونتيجة لذلك، إما أن لا يُبلَّغ عن الوفيات وإما أن تقع ولا شهود عليها. وفوق ذلك تُصعِّب التضاريس الخشنة النائية وِجدانَ رفات الناس؛ فرفات عددٍ لا يحصى من الأشخاص الذين أتت حتوفهم في رحلات الهجرة غير النظامية –وبخاصةٍ المفقودين في البحر– لا تسترجع أبداً.

ثمَّ في الأمر مسألتين إضافيتين، على أنّ التغلب عليهما ممكنٌ: أولاً صعوبة الاصطلاح على تعريف إجرائيّ لاسم «المهاجر المفقود»، وثانياً قِلّة مصادر المعطيات التي يُعتدُّ بها ويُوصَل إليها.  وفي جائحة مرض الحُمَة التاجية (كوڤيد 19)، صار جمع المعطيات يصعب أكثر فأكثر، فقد نشأت عقبات زائدة من انخفاضِ الإنباء بوفيات المهاجرين في وسائل الإعلام، والعجزِ عن البلوغِ إلى المهاجرين لجمع الشهادات، وإغلاقِ الحدود الذي يدفع المهاجرين إلى طُرُق أكثر خفاءً.

مَنِ المُهاجِر المَفقُود؟

في المنظمة الدولية للهجرة مشروعٌ اسمه مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين، وهو مجموعة معطيات عالميَّة مُباحَة لتتبُّع وفيات الناس في طُرُق الهجرة المختلطة في جميع العالم.[1] وقد سَجَّل المشروع منذ شُرِعَ فيه سنةَ 2014 من الوفيات وحالات الاختفاء في طُرُق الهجرة 40505.[2] ولا تعريفَ مصطلحاً عليهِ لاسم «المهاجر المفقود»، ولكن يحتاج ولا شكّ إلى تعريفٍ إجرائيّ لإنشاء قاعدة أدلة.

ويشير التعريف الذي أتى به مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين إلى كلِّ شخصٍ مات (أو فُقِد ويُظنُّ موته) في أثناءِ الهجرة إلى مقصد دولي، مهما تكن حالته القانونية. وأما من مات من المهاجرين أو فُقِدَ في غير الهجرة فلا يُدخلُون في قاعدة المعطيات، مثال ذلك مَن يقيم في بلدٍ أجنبي. ويُستبْعِد مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين أيضاً الوفيات التي تحدث في مراكز حَجْز المهاجرين، وفي المستوطنات مثل مخيمات اللاجئين، والوفيات التي تحدث بعدَ الإبعاد. وقد وُضِعَ هذا التعريف خصيصى لتحديد احتمال الأخطار التي تحفّ برحلات الهجرة غير النظامية.

ومن أصناف المهاجرين المفقودين التي ما ورد ذكرها في التعريف الذي وضعه مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين هي كثرةٌ من المهاجرين الذين يُقطَع الاتَّصال بينهم وبين أعزَّائهم. وقد يكون هؤلاء أحياء ولكنّهم حيث لا وسيلة لهم للاتِّصال بأسرهم، أو قد يقصدون أن لا يتَّصلوا مخافةَ الإبعاد أو غيره من العواقب.

صحيحٌ أن اعتمادَ تعريفٍ ضرورة لابتداء جَمْع المعطيات في أمرٍ من الأمور، ولكن قد ينشأ من أيضاً سوء العاقبة. مثال ذلك: أنّ استبعادَ الوفيات التي تحدث في مآوي المهاجرين أو مخيّمات اللاجئين أو في أثناء الحَجْز قدْ يؤدِّي إلى تصوُّرِ أنَّ المهاجرين في مثل هذه الأمكنة آمَنُ من الذين ما يزالون ينتقلون. وأيضاً فقد يُضيِّق مَن لا يعلم منهجية مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين نطاقَ جمع المعطيات عن وفيات المهاجرين ويحطّ معيارها. فهذا أمرٌ حمّال مشكلات ولا سيّما حين تَسْتعملُ وسائل الإعلام الأرقامَ التي ينشرها مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين وهي ليس عندها من المعلومات الأساسية إلا الشيء القليل، وحين تُعرَض معدلات الوفيات ولا تُفسَّر طريقة حسابها.[3]

ويضاف إلى ذلك، أن تحديدَ وقتِ وقوع الوفاة «في أثناء الهجرة» أمر فيه مشكلات ومصاعب. ويدخل في معنى فكرة العبور في العموم العَارِضيَّةُ (كون الشيء عارضاً غير باقٍ)، فلا تدلُّ على شيءٍ من طولِ رحلة الهجرة أو وجهتها أو اتِّصالها. ففي منهجية مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين يُفتَرَض أنّ العبور مُتَّصلٌ عموماً، ولكنّ الواقع أنَّ المهاجرين يكثر أن يقفوا رحلتهم مؤقّتاً أو أن يغيِّروا وجهتهم لتعود إليهم قوَّتهم ويعوّضوا ما خسروه من المال، وقد يأتي على تمام رحلاتهم شهورٌ أو سنين. فإن تُوُفِّيَ مهاجر أو فُقِدَ في أثناء لَبثةٍ من لبثاته، فلا يَعُدُّ وفاتَه مَشرُوعُ المهاجرين المفقودين. فيكون من ذلك استبعاد كثيرٍ من الحوادث من قاعدة المعطيات لأنّ إثباتَ وفاة المهاجر وهو في العبور غير مستطاع. 

ومِثلُ ذلك، أنَّ المهاجرين كثيراً ما يقسرون على اللَّبث بمكانٍ في رحلاتهم بسببِ سياسات الحكومات التي تقيُّد حركتَهم. ففي سنة 2020، كانت ما ضُرِبَ من قيودٍ على التنقُّل بغيةَ أن يُحصَرَ انتشار مرض الحُمَة التاجية (كوڤيد 19) مُقْلِقاً على الخصوص، فتُرِكَ آلافٌ من المهاجرين متقطّعةً بهم الأسبَابُ في أحوال مُخطِرَة، قد تَخْلُو من المعونة الإنسانية، مثل بلوغ الرعاية الصحيَّة.

تُوُفِّيَ مراهقٌ من ساحل العاج على متن سفينةِ حَجْرٍ صحيّ في إيطاليا، بعد مرور شهرٍ على إنقاذه من البحر المتوسط. ووردَ أنّ نَقْصَ الرعاية الصحية على متن السفينة صيَّرَ صحته إلى حال أسوأَ فتوفِّيَ في آخر المطاف. ولو جُعلَت له رعاية صحية أفضل من فور نَشْلهِ من البحر لأمكنَ أن تُنقَذَ حياته.

مصادر المعطيات

تجمع وتنشر بعض المصادر الرسمية المعطيات في وفيات المهاجرين، على أنّ ما يوجد من المعطيات هو في بعض الأحيان غير مدقّق أو غير تامّ. إذ يَجمعُ هذه القِلّة من المعطيات الرسمية في العادة هيئات الحدود وفاحصي الطبّ الشرعي. ولمعالجة عدم عدِّ كثيرٍ من المهاجرين المفقودين في المعطيات الحكومية، يعتمد مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين على مصادر أخرى، مثل وسائل الإعلام ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، والمنظمات غير الحكومية، والمجتمع المدني، والمنظمات الدولية، والمهاجرين أنفسهم.

يُعِينُ مكتب مقاطعة بيما التابع للطبيب الشرعيّ في أرِيزُونا أُسَرَ المهاجرين المفقودين، إذ يفحص الجثث التي لا يُعرَف أصحابها ويعثر عليها في نطاق سلطته القضائية، ويُعيِّن أيّاً منها يمكن أن يطلق على أصحابها أنهم «عابروا حدود لا يحملون وثائق رسمية». ومن المعايير التي يتّخذها المكتب وجدان الجثّة في مسلك من مسالك الهجرة المعروفة، وتطابق متاع الشخص والأشياء التي يحملها المهاجرون عادةً، وقدوم هذه الأشياء من المكسيك. فينشأُ عن هذا التصنيف اليسير سِجلٌّ لا يقدّر بثمن لوفيات المهاجرين على طول حدودٍ تقع فيها إحدى أعلى معدلات الوفيات. ومنذ سنة 2001، سجل المكتب أكثرَ من 3398 وفاةً من وفيات المهاجرين.[4]

فأكثر ما يستعمل مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين من المصادر تقاريرَ وسائل الإعلام. ولكن يكثر أن تكون المعلومات التي تنشرها وسائل الإعلام في وفيات المهاجرين غير مدقّقة أو غير تامّة، أو أن يساء تفسيرها ويُغالَى فيها.[5] ويضاف إلى ذلك، أنّ الوفيات حين تقع منها أعداد كثيرة في طرق الهجرة المعروفة، مثل طريق البحر الأبيض المتوسط​، هي أكثر قرباً إلى أن تُبلِّغَها وَسائلُ الإعلام، وهذا قد يثبت في معطيات مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين صفةَ الانحياز. وهذه المشكلة إنما تتفاقم حين يركز جزء كبير من نشرات الأنباء همّه في بضع مسائل فقط. ففي سنة 2015، كان حظّ أزمة خليج البنغال من نَشْر أنبائِها في وسائل الإعلام عريضاً، فزادت معطياتنا زيادةً عظيمة. ووثَّق مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين موت 577 مهاجراً من الروهنغيا في البحر في تلك السَّنَة. ولكن في سنة 2020 سجل المشروع من وفيات البحر 165 وفاة فقط، مع أن المنظمات غير الحكومية قد أعلنت أن بضعاً وألفاً من الروهنغيا تقطعت بهم الأسباب في البحر شهوراً، مشيرةً بذلك إلى أن عدد الوفيات قد يكون أكثير كثيراً من ذلك.

هذا ويستعمل مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين أيضاً مصادر أخرى للمعلومات مثل استطلاع المهاجرين وشهادات النَّاجين. على أنّ ما يحدث أخيراً من تشديد الإجراءات على المنظَّمات غير الحكومية التي تقوم بأعمال البحث والإنقاذ وتدعم المهاجرين بما ينقذ أرواحهم –مثل الذين ينشطون في البحر المتوسط ​والحدود الجنوبية في الولايات المتحدة– لا يُعرِّض حياة المهاجرين للخطر فحسب، بل هو إلى ذلك يعوِّق قدرتنا على جمع الأدلة. وأخيراً، يستعمل مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين معطيات الموضع المُنطَلَق منه في البحر لتعيين الحوادث المحتملة التي يدخل فيها وفيات المهاجرين أو اختفاؤهم في مسالك البحار.

في سنة 2020، زاد تدفُّق المهاجرين في الممر البحري من الساحل الشمالي الغربي لإفريقيا إلى جزر الكناري الإسبانية زيادةً عظيمة بالقياس إلى تدفّقهم سنة 2019.  وكانت معلومات جنس المفقودين في هذا الممر وسنّهم وموضع موتهم أو اختفائهم المحدَّد قليلة الوجود. ففي سنة 2020، توفِّي 849 شخصاً في الأفلّ على هذا الممر. وما يزال هناك عدّة حوادث تحتمل أن يكون توفِّي فيه مئات من الناس سيتثبّت منها مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين ويسجّلها، ولكن جَمع الأدلة صعب. وبناءً على ذلك، ابتدأ مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين جمعَ معطيات المنطلقين من ساحل السنغال؛ فبذلك يمكن بعدُ أن تُقَابَل هي ومعطيات الواصلين إلى جزائر الكناري لحُسبَان ما يحتمل عرقه من السفن. 

التوصيات

صحيحٌ أنّ المتحدِّيات التي تعوِّق التوثيق كثيرة، ولكن يمكن أن يُفعَل شيء كثير لتحسين استيعاب معطيات المهاجرين المفقودين وإتمامها، كما تقترح التوصيات الآتية.

يجب أن تمثل المعطيات التجارب المعيشة التي يخوض فيها الناس في رحلات الهجرة. يجب على الفاعلين الذين يعملون بالتعريفات الإجرائية، مثل تعريفات مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين، أن يصوغوا إرشادات في طُرُق تكيُّف منهجيتهم بالحقائق النَّاشئة في رحلات الهجرة.

يجب على كلِّ الفاعلين العاملين في الأمكنة التي تقع فيها وفيات المهاجرين واختفاؤهم أنْ يجمعوا المعطيات وينشروها. وأيضاً يجب على الفاعلين الذين يجمعون تقاريرَ المفقودين أن يصنّفوا هذه المعطيات بحيث يمكن أن تُعيَّن حالات الاختفاء التي بينها وبين الهجرة صلة.

يجب أن يتشارك الفاعلون في معطيات المهاجرين المفقودين من غير نظرٍ إلى التعريف. يكثر أن تكون معطيات المهاجرين المفقودين متفرّقة ومجزّأة، وهناك قيمة عاليةلجمع مصادر المعطيات المتباينة معاً لتُقابَلَ وتُحقَّق.

يجب على الدول أن تبتدئ سريعاً جمعَ معطيات وفيات المهاجرين داخل أراضيها. لا يبعد أن يكون الفاعلون الرسميُّون يجمعون معطيات الوفيات في طَوْق ولايتهم القضائية. ويجب على السلطات المحلية والوطنية والإقليمية التي تجمع هذه المعطيات أن تصنّفها بحسب حالة الهجرة وأن وتنشرها وفقاً لمعايير حماية المعطيات. ويشمل ذلك جمع المعلومات –جمعاً مُدقّقاً– من المهاجرين فيما شهدوا من وفيات أصحابهم أو اختفائهم.

يجب أن تتعاون المنظمات غير الحكومية والمنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية والمجتمع المدني على حلّ المسائل وتوليد الأدلة. من الفاعلين غير الحكوميّين مَن يقود مباشرة مع الناس وهم ينتقلون أعمالاً يبذل فيها الجهد لجمع المعطيات، ويمكن أن يتجيء تلك الأعمال بمعلومات جديدة وأن تزيد احتمالَ تحقيق المعطيات، ولا سيما في الأحوال التي لا تُسترجَعُ فيها جثث المهاجرين. وينبغي أيضاً أن يُحَثَّ على معاونة أسر المفقودين وعلى التعاون فيما بينها، ففي مشاركتها إتيانٌ بمعلومات مهمّة ومعونة لها على التصدِّي لصعوبة الحَيْرة فيما فقدوا.

يجب أن تلتزم وسائل الإعلام المبادئ التوجيهية الراهنة في تبليغ وفيات المهاجرين. يمكن أن تكون التقارير الإعلامية أوَّلَ مشيرٍ إلى وفاة مهاجرٍ أو اختفائه، فلها بذلك شأنٌ عظيم في جمع المعطيات. ويجب الكلام في تفاصيل الناس الداخلين في مثل هذه الأحداث كلما أمكن ذلك، مع مراعاة الواجب للموتى ومصالح أسرهم. وفوق ذلك، ينبغي أن تذكر التقارير الإخبارية ما يقيّد كلّ معطياتٍ تنشرها، وذلك لتجنب انتفاء التَّدقيق أو التفسير المغلوط فيه، وينبغي أن تسعى إلى وصف مَن تمثّله الأعداد من الناس.

 

أندريا غارثِيّا بورخا agarciaborja@iom.int @agarciaborja

مُحلِّلة معطيات

 

جوليا بلاك jblack@iom.int @_Julia_Black

موظَّفٌة في المشروع

 

مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين من المنظمة الدولية للهجرة

 

[1] https://missingmigrants.iom.int

[2] هذه الأرقام تستوعب ما حدث من ذلك في المدة الواقعة بين 1 كانون الثاني/يناير 2014 و30 كانون الثاني/يناير 2021.

[3] Dearden K, Sánchez Dionis M, Black J and Laczko F (2019) ‘Calculating “Death Rates” in the Context of Migration Journeys

(حسابُ «معدلات الوفيات» في سياق رحلات الهجرة) 

https://publications.iom.int/books/gmdac-briefing-series-towards-safer-migration-africa-migration-and-data-northern-and-western

[4]  خريطة وفيات المهاجرين

[5] White A and Singleton A ‘Mixed messages: Media coverage of migration and fatalities’, chapter 3 in IOM (2017) Fatal Journeys, Volume 3, Part 1: Improving Data on Missing Migrants bit.ly/2Us5nKQ

(رسائل مختلطة: نصيب الهجرة والوفيات من نَشْر أنبائها)

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Measuring migrant deaths and disappearances

There are many challenges that hinder documentation of migrant deaths and disappearances but also much that can be done to improve the coverage and completeness of such data.

People trying to migrate to other countries drown in sewage canals; they freeze to death in remote forests; they die of dehydration and starvation after their vehicles break down in the middle of the desert. Documenting migrant deaths and disappearances helps to counter the invisibility of these tragedies, while collection, analysis and dissemination of such data are also valuable for advocacy campaigns, to inform evidence-based migration policies, and to improve operational planning. 

However, collecting information on fatalities during migration is challenging for several reasons. The lack of safe and legal options for migration forces people to travel on irregular migration routes to evade detection. As a result, deaths either go unreported or without witnesses. Remote, harsh topography also makes it difficult to find people’s remains; the remains of countless people who die on irregular migration journeys – especially those who go missing at sea – are never recovered.

There are additional, though more surmountable, issues involved: firstly, the difficulties of agreeing an operational definition of a ‘missing migrant’ and, secondly, the lack of reliable, accessible data sources.  In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, data collection has become increasingly challenging, with additional obstacles posed by reduced media coverage of migrant deaths, inability to reach migrants to collect testimonies, and border closures pushing migrants to more invisible routes.

Who is a missing migrant?

The International Organization for Migration’s Missing Migrants Project (MMP) is a global, open-access dataset tracking deaths of people along mixed migration routes worldwide.[1] Since it was created in 2014, the project has recorded 40,505 deaths and disappearances during migration.[2] There is no agreed definition of ‘missing migrant’ but clearly an operational definition is needed in order to produce an evidence base.

MMP’s definition refers to a person who died (or who went missing and is presumed to be dead) in the process of migration towards an international destination, regardless of the person’s legal status. Migrants who die or go missing outside the process of migration – for example, when a migrant is residing in a foreign country – are not included in the database. MMP also excludes deaths that occur in immigration detention and settlements such as refugee camps, and deaths after deportation. This definition was designed specifically to identify the risks linked to irregular migration journeys.

A category of missing migrant that is absent from MMP’s definition relates to the many migrants who lose contact with their loved ones. These people may be alive but in situations where they are not able to contact their families, or they may choose not to for fear of deportation or other consequences.

Though adopting a definition is necessary for starting data collection on any topic, it can also have negative consequences. For example, the exclusion of deaths that occur in migrant shelters, refugee camps or in detention can lead to the perception that migrants in such spaces are safer than those on the move. It can also lead to underestimating the scope and scale of migrant deaths by those who are not aware of MMP’s methodology. This is especially problematic when MMP’s figures are used in the media with limited background information and when death rates are shown without an explanation about how they were calculated.[3]

In addition, establishing when a death happened ‘in the process of migration’ is particularly problematic. In general, the notion of transit implies temporariness but it says nothing about the length, direction or continuity of the migration journey. In the MMP methodology, it is assumed that transit is generally continuous; in reality, migrants often pause or re-route their journeys to regain strength and financial resources, and their completed journeys may take months or years. If a migrant dies or goes missing during one of their stopovers, their death would not be counted by MMP. The result is that many incidents are excluded from the database because it could not be established that the migrant was in transit. 

Likewise, migrants are often forced to pause their journeys because of government policies that restrain their movement. In 2020 mobility restrictions imposed to contain the spread of COVID-19 have been of particular concern, leaving thousands of migrants stranded in dangerous situations where humanitarian support, including access to health care, may be unavailable.

An Ivorian teenager died on board a quarantine ship in Italy one month after being rescued from the Mediterranean. Reportedly, the lack of access to adequate health care on the ship caused his health to deteriorate and eventually his death.[4] Had he had access to better health care immediately after his sea journey, his life might have been saved.

Sources of data

Few official sources collect and publish data on migrant deaths, and the available data are sometimes inaccurate or incomplete. The few official data that are available are typically collected by border agencies and forensic examiners. To address the issue that many missing migrants are not captured in government data, MMP relies on other sources, such as social and news media, NGOs, civil society, international organisations, and migrants themselves.

In its efforts to help the families of missing migrants, the Pima County Office of the Medical Examiner in Arizona examines unidentified remains found in its jurisdiction and determines which ones could be coded as ‘undocumented border crossers’. The criteria they use include whether the body was recovered in a known migration corridor, whether the person’s belongings match the items typically carried by migrants, and whether those supplies came from Mexico. This simple classification translates into an invaluable record of migrant deaths along a border with one of the highest fatality rates. Since 2001, they have recorded over 3,398 migrant deaths.[5]

Media reports are one of the most frequently used sources by MMP. However, very often the information that the media provide about migrant fatalities is inaccurate, incomplete or misinterpreted and exaggerated.[6] In addition, where deaths occur in large numbers and on well-known routes, such as the Mediterranean route, these are more likely to be reported by the media and this can bias MMP data. This problem is further exacerbated when a large part of the media coverage focuses on just a few issues. In 2015, when there was wide media coverage of the Bay of Bengal crisis, our data saw a substantial increase. MMP documented 577 Rohingya migrants’ deaths at sea that year. In contrast, in 2020, MMP has only recorded 165 such deaths, even though NGOs have declared that well over a thousand Rohingya have been stranded at sea for months, indicating that the death toll might well be higher.

MMP also uses other sources of information such as migrant surveys and survivors’ testimonies. The more recent crackdown on NGOs that carry out search and rescue operations and offer lifesaving support to migrants – such as those active in the Mediterranean and at the southern US border – not only puts migrant lives at risk but also hampers our ability to collect evidence. Lastly, MMP uses maritime departure data to identify possible incidents involving migrant deaths or disappearances on overseas routes.

In 2020, the sea passage from the northwestern coast of Africa to Spain’s Canary Islands saw a significant increase in migration flows compared with 2019. Information about the sex and age of people who go missing on this route and the precise location of their death or disappearance is scarce. In 2020, at least 849 people lost their lives on this route. Several incidents potentially involving hundreds of deaths are still to be verified and recorded by MMP but evidence is difficult to obtain. MMP has consequently started to collect data on departures from the Senegalese coast; this information can then be compared with that on arrivals in the Canary Islands to account for potential shipwrecks. 

Recommendations

Though there are many challenges that hinder documentation, much can be done to improve the coverage and completeness of data on missing migrants, as the following recommendations suggest.

Data must represent the lived experiences of people taking migration journeys. Actors using operational definitions, such as MMP’s, should develop guidelines on how to adapt their methodologies to the evolving realities of migration journeys.

All actors working in spaces where migrant deaths and disappearances occur should collect and share data. Also, actors collecting missing persons reports should disaggregate these data so that disappearances linked to migration can be identified.

Data on missing migrants should be shared among actors, regardless of definition. Data on missing migrants tend to be scattered and fragmented, and there is great value in bringing disparate sources of data together for comparison and verification.

States must urgently start collecting data on migrant deaths within their territories. Official actors are likely already to collect data about deaths within their jurisdiction. Local, national and regional authorities that collect such data should disaggregate it by migratory status and publish it in accordance with data protection standards. This includes collecting information – in a sensitive way – from migrants about deaths or disappearances of fellow migrants that they have witnessed.

NGOs, international NGOs and civil society should collaborate to resolve cases and generate evidence. Data collection efforts led by non-governmental actors working directly with people on the move can provide new information and increase the likelihood that data can be verified, particularly in cases where migrants’ bodies are not recovered. Collaboration with and between families of the missing should also be encouraged, as their involvement can both provide crucial information and help families cope with the uncertainty of the loss that they face.

The media should use existing guidelines for reporting on migrant deaths. Media reports can be the first indication that a migrant death or disappearance has occurred, and as such can play a vital role in data collection. Details on the people involved in such an event should be included whenever possible, while giving due consideration to the deceased and their families’ interests. Beyond this, news reports should mention the limitations of any data published, so as to avoid inaccuracies or misinterpretations, and should endeavour to portray the people behind the numbers.

 

Andrea Garcia Borja agarciaborja@iom.int @agarciaborja

Data Analyst

 

Julia Black jblack@iom.int @_Julia_Black

Project Officer

 

IOM Missing Migrants Project

 

[1] https://missingmigrants.iom.int

[2] Figure covers period from 1 January 2014 to 30 January 2021.

[3] Dearden K, Sánchez Dionis M, Black J and Laczko F (2019) ‘Calculating “Death Rates” in the Context of Migration Journeys’ https://publications.iom.int/books/gmdac-briefing-series-towards-safer-migration-africa-migration-and-data-northern-and-western

[4] Agenzia Italia (2020) bit.ly/3neBlXF (Italian only)

[5] Map of Migrant Mortality bit.ly/35ajDhC

[6] White A and Singleton A ‘Mixed messages: Media coverage of migration and fatalities’, chapter 3 in IOM (2017) Fatal Journeys, Volume 3, Part 1: Improving Data on Missing Migrants bit.ly/2Us5nKQ

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700