دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة المُراعِي للإيمان عند مزاولي المعونة الإنسانيَّة

الإيمان والروحانية جزء من هوية كثير من الناس وعيشهم كل يوم، ومراعاة الإيمان جزء لا ينفصل من إيصال دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة إيصالاً شاملاً يركز على الناس في الأحوال المقتضية للمعونة الإنسانية.

يرتبط دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة الفعَّال في الاستجابة للطوارئ الإنسانية بآراء العالم ووجوه مزاولة الاستشفاء ولغة الناس الذين يقصد الدَّعْم إلى إعانتهم. والإيمان عامل في قدرة كثير من الأفراد والمجتمعات على التصدِّي لصعوبة المُتحدِّيات النفسانيَّ الاجتماعيَّة، مثال ذلك أنَّ عند كثير من الناس أنَّ دَفْن الأعزَّاء وفقاً لطقوس إيمانهم أمرٌ مهم حتى يدخلوا في الحِدَاد. وهذا هو السبب في أن المبادئ التوجيهية للجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات في شأن دَعْمُ الصحَّةِ العقليَّة والحالِ النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة في الطوارئ تَدعُو الفاعلين في المعونة الإنسانيَّة إلى الدخول في ما هو دينيٌّ وروحانيٌّ محليٌّ من موارد وجماعات وزعماء في برامجهم المنتظمة.[1] وهذا هو السبب أيضاً في أن إدماجَ الزعماء الدينيِّين والسُّنن الدينيَّة المتَّبعة في إجراءات التشغيل الموحَّدة في أثناء الاستجابة لإيبولا بين سنة 2014 وسنة 2015 في غربيّ إفريقيا مثلاً كان فعَّالاً جدّاً.[2]

ويُبتَدَأُ في إنشاء استجابة إنسانية تراعي الإيمان بالإقرار بأنَّ السُّنن والشعائر الدينية، كإقامة الصلاة، يمكن أن تكون عنصراً من عناصر دعم الحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة الذي ينبغي تكملته بضروب أخرى من دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة، لا أن يُستبدَل به غيره. ويمكن أن يعتمدَ مزاولو المعونة الإنسانيَّة طريقة مقاربةٍ تراعي الإيمان من غير نظرٍ إلى ما بينهم أو بين منظَّمتهم وبين ذلك الإيمان من عطف أو انتفاء العطف. فمراعاة الإيمان هي مراعاة الناس الذين تُعِينهُم.[3]

وعلى الرغم من وجوه الالتزام السياسي الرئيسة[4] تتردَّد كثير من المنظَّمات الإنسانية والتنموية في تناول الجوانب المتعلقة بالإيمان تناولاً تحصل معه كفاية عند وضع برامجها أو في أن ترى الفاعلين المحليِّين الدينيِّين شركاءَ محتملين لتتعاون هي وهم في ميدان دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة. ويميل المزاولون إلى تجنُّب التعامل مع الأسئلة المتعلقة بالدين خيفةَ أن يتعارض ذلك والمبادئ الإنسانية في الحِيَاد وعدم التحيُّز. والحقّ أنَّ مراعاة الإيمان في الواقع ليست أمراً دائمَ اليُسْر تَطبيقُه. فكيف إذاً ينبغي أن نُقَارِب الجمعَ بين الإيمان دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة عند تخطيط وتنفيذ استجابات نفسانيَّة اجتماعيَّة تراعي الإيمان ولا تعارض المبادئ الإنسانية؟

مراعاة الإيمان في الواقع

ولإعانة مزاولي دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة على التغلُّب على بعض العوائق ووجوه التردُّد، أُنشِئت أَداةُ تدريب بالشَّابكَة (الإنترنت) في الاستجابة الإنسانية المراعية للإيمان مع تركيز على دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة، لبيان الفُرَص والمُتحدِّيات والخطوات العملية التي يلزم اتِّخاذها.[5] ثمَّ إنَّ التدريب –الذي أُطلِق في حزيران/يونيو سنة 2020– هو نتاج تعاون بين حِلْف أكْت (ACT Alliance)، ومُنظَّمة الإغاثة الإسلامية عبر العالم، ومبادرة التعلُّم المشتركة في الإيمان والمجتمعات المحلية، والاتحاد اللُّوثَري العالمي ومختبر التعلُّم التابع بمنظمة دانتشرك أَيْد. ويستغرق إتمام التدريب كلِّه نحو ساعتين فقط.

فالأخذ بطريقةٍ تراعي الإيمان في مقاربة دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة يعني تعلُّم سُبُل فَهْم الحاجات والموارد الروحانية والدينية للناس، وفَهْم شأن المجتمعات الدينية، وذلك استجابةً للطوارئ الإنسانيَّة. ويدخُلُ في ذلك أيضاً التأمُّل فيما عندَك وعند منظَّمتك من مواقف ووجوه فهم وتحيُّز من الإيمان. ودونك خمسَ توصياتٍ رئيسةً للمزاولين (وبخاصة مَن يعمل في المنظَّمات الدولية) الراغبين في جَعْل دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة أكثرَ مراعاةً للإيمان:

أدخِلْ الإيمان في التَّقدير: فكِّر أن تُدخِل معلومات عمَّا هو في الدين من معتقدات وشعائر وعن أعمال الجماعات الدينية ودور العبادة، ممّا له صلة بالصحَّة العقليَّة وحُسْن الحال النفسانيَّة والاجتماعيَّة في المجتمع المحليّ المُتضرِّر. فكيف يرَوْنَ الأزمة، وكيف يُفسِّرون الضائقة، وبأيِّ مصطلحات يتحدثون عن التصدِّي لصعوبة المعيشة؟ وما التأثيرات الروحانيَّة في حُسْن أحوالهم؟ وما المفاهيم الدينية التي تفيدهم في الاستجابة للمُتحدِّيات التي تعترضهم؟ وتُبيِّنُ الموارد التي أنشأتها مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في السياق الاجتماعي والثقافي والمفاهيم وسُنَن العمل العلاجيّة المتعلقة بالصحَّة العقليَّة وحُسْن الحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة لجماعات مُعيَّنة من اللاجئين– كيف يمكن توثيق مثل هذه المعلومات.[6] فأَجرِ التقديرَ بطرق تشاركية تشتمل أيضاً على وجهات نظر المجتمعات الدينيَّة المحليَّة. وناقش ممثلي مختلف العادات الدينية في مسائل الصحَّة العقليَّة لفهم كيفية تأثير المفاهيم اللاهوتية في فَهْم الأفراد للمُتحدِّيات المتَّصلة بالأمر والتصدِّي لها.

صِلِ البرامجَ بإيمان الناس وشعائرهم حين تُعِدُّ برامج دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة ابنِها على معتقدات الناس وشعائرهم والطقوس والأنشطة المحليَّة التي تكون جزءاً من استراتيجيات فعّالة للتصدِّي لصعوبة المعيشة الموجودة أصلاً في المجتمع المحليّ الذي تُعنَى به. ويمكن أن يشمل ذلك الصلاة وقراءة الكتب القدسية وشعائر الحداد، ومن ذلك أيضاً الأنشطة الجماعيَّة. ففي غزة، يستعمل مستشارو منظَّمة الإغاثة الإسلامية في فلسطين إشارات إلى عقيدة الأشخاص المشاركين في جلسات المجموعة النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة فيجعلونها مداخلَ إلى الموضوع الذي يراد مناقشته، هذا إذا كان ذلك مناسباً على حسب علاقة المشاركين بالإيمان. مثال ذلك: أنهم أشاروا إلى التأثيرات المماثلة للتأمُّل وإقامة الصلاة عند تقديم مسألة التأمُّل أسلوباً لتدبير الكَرْب. فربط موضوع من المواضيع بأفكار مألوفة يجعله أكثر قرباً من الفهم.

تَعاوَنْ أنت والفاعلين الدينيِّين المحليِّين: حين تَدْخُلُ في العمل مع الفاعلين الدينيِّين المحليِّين، أَدخِلْ قادةً من النساء والشباب (الذين يكثر أن يكون لهم أدوار غير رسميَّة)، وأَسِّسْ المشاركات على الإسهام المفيد والتشارك في اتِّخاذ القرارات والتعلُّم المتبادل ومشاركة القدرات. ويمكن أن يقدِّم المتخصِّصون بدَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة تدريبَ القادة الدينيِّين المحليِّين على المبادئ النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة الرَّئيسة، أو أن يناقشوا الحالات التي قد تكون فيها الاستشارة مفيدةً إضافةً إلى الدعم الروحاني، أو أن يقدِّموا للمُحالِين معلوماتٍ عن دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة. ويمكن أن يؤدِّي إنشاء آليات إحالة ذات اتِّجاهين إلى تيسير الوصول إلى الرعاية الروحانيَّة والدينية، بمعونة الأئمَّة والقساوسة والمعالجين الدينيِّين أو التقليديِّين، هذا مع الوصول إلى الرعاية النفسانيَّة والاجتماعيَّة. مثال ذلك أنَّ جمعيَّة الصليب الأحمر الأمريكية تُدِير برنامج رعاية روحانيَّة في الكوارث، وتتعاون في ذلك على وقادة دينيُّون محلُّيون مُدرَّبون على الإسعاف النفسانيّ الأوليّ.[7]

عَالِجْ ما يحتمل ضرره من سُنَنَ العمل المرتبطة بالإيمان: يمكن أن تكون بعض المفاهيم اللاهوتية أساساً لتعامل غير فعَّال وغير مناسب أو أن تُستعمَل لجعل سُنَن عملٍ ضارةٍ شرعيَّةً. ومن أمثلة على ذلك الحَبْس علاجاً لمرض عقليّ ساعةَ يُرَى من هذا المرض أنه مشكلة روحانيَّة لا مشكلةً صحيَّة، أو حينَ يُسَاءُ الربط بين الكوارث والذَّنْب أو الكارما. والاستجابة للآليات السيئة في التصدِّي لصعوبة المعيشة لا تعني فَصْلَ الإيمان من الصحَّة العقليَّة أو محاولة إقناع الناس بتَرْكِ إيمانهم. إنما ينبغي للفاعلين إشراك القادة والأشخاص المستضعفين من مختلف الأجناس والأعمار في تقدير أثر المعتقدات الدينية في الصحَّة العقليَّة، وإشراكهم أيضاً في تحدِّيد الأعمال التي يُحتَمَل ضررها. ثمَّ ينبغي للفاعلين أن يُعزِّزوا الحوار بين القادة الدينيين والمفكرين الدينيين المحليين المطلعين والمجتمع المحلي في الأعراف والتفسيرات الاجتماعية التي تستند إليها، وأن يتيحوا التدريب والموارد المناسبة لدعم إجراء الفِكْر والتغيير.

تَناوَل الإيمان بحيث تحترم المبادئ الإنسانيَّة: قد تُرَى مراعاة الإيمان أنَّها تُعارِض المبادئ الإنسانية في الحِيَاد وعدم التحيُّز، فالحِيَاد يحثُّ على عدم الانتماء إلى عقيدةٍ ما لأن هذا الانتماء مرتبط بسياسات النِّزاع، وفي مبدأ عدم التحيُّز تُؤكَّد الحاجة إلى تجنُّب التحيُّز والتمييز والتبشير على أساس الانتماء الديني. ولكن لا يعني هذا في الحالَين الجهلَ بالإيمان وتجنّبه. فمع تأكيد الحاجة إلى الحِيَاد وعدم التحيُّز، يمكن دَعْم معتقدات وشعائر شخصٍ ما دَعْماً فيه مراعاة. فادعَمْ الأعمال الدينية إذا طلب ذلك أحد الأشخاص الذين تُعِينهم، مثل الانضمام إليهم في الصلاة (إذا كان ذلك مناسباً لك)، ولكن لا تُجبِر على عملٍ ديني إذا لم يُطلَب. فافسَح السبيل لمثل هذه الطلبات بلا إجبارٍ عليها.

نحو استجابة مَحليَّة

إنَّ طريقة المقاربة المراعية للإيمان تَضَعُ الناسَ والمجتمعات المتضرِّرين بالنِّزاعات والكوارث –مع حقوقهم وحاجاتهم وكرامتهم– في قلب استجابة دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة، إذ هي تُعِين على تكييف إعانتهم بحسب سياقهم الاجتماعي والثقافي، والإيمان جزء منه. ويضاف إلى ذلك، أنه يمكن أن يُسهِم التعاون مع الفاعلين الدينية والمجتمعات في تقوية شؤون الفاعلين المحليِّين في نظام المعونة الإنسانيَّة، وتيسير الدعم الذي يقوده المجتمع المحليّ، وإدخال المعونة في البنيات القائمة. لذلك كانت البرامج والمشاركات المراعية للإيمان من الجوانب المهمَّة في توطين المعونة، وفي إصلاحٍ واسعٍ من ثمَّ للنظام الإنساني أيضاً.

 

لِيُونِي هَرْش leonie.harsch@mercator-fellows.org  @LeonieHarsch

زميلةٌ زائرةٌ سابقاً، في مبادرة التعلُّم المشتركة في الإيمان والمجتمعات المحليَّة

 

كُورِي ڤان دِرڤِن c.vanderven@protestantsekerk.nl

موظَّفة برامج، في منظَّمة كِرْك إِنَكْتي، ومديرة برنامج في الإيمان والتنمية سابقاً، من حِلْف أَكْت

 

أولِيڤِيَا وِلْكِنْسُن olivia@jliflc.com  @OliviaWilk

مُدِيرةُ بحوث، في مبادرة التعلُّم المشتركة في الإيمان والمجتمعات المحليَّة

 

[1] IASC (2007) IASC Guidelines on Mental Health and Psychosocial Support in Emergency Settings

(المبادئ التوجيهية في اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات في شأن دَعْمُ الصحَّةِ العقليَّة والحالِ النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة في الطوارئ)

https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/system/files/2020-11/IASC%20Guidelines%20on%20Mental%20Health%20and%20Psychosocial%20Support%20in%20Emergency%20Settings%20%28English%29.pdf

اقرأه باللغة العربية:

https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/system/files/iasc_guidelines_mhpss_arabic.pdf

[2] Winiger F (2020) ‘“More than an intensive care phenomenon”: Religious communities and the WHO Guidelines for Ebola and Covid-19’, Spiritual Care 9(3)

(أكثر من مجرَّد ظاهرة رعاية مركَّزة)

 https://doi.org/10.1515/spircare-2020-0066

[3] انظر أيضاً العدد 48 من نشرة الهجرة القسرية في العقيدة والاستجابات للتَّهجير www.fmreview.org/faith

اقرأه باللغة العربية: www.fmreview.org/ar/faith 

[4] انظر:

 Such as UNHCR’s 2014 Partnership Note on Faith-based Organizations, Local Faith Communities and Faith Leaders

(مذكّرة مشاركة في المنظمات المُقَامة على الإيمان والمجتمعات المحليَّة الإيمانية والزعماء الإيمانيُّون)

 www.unhcr.org/protection/hcdialogue%20/539ef28b9/partnership-note-faith-based-organizations-local-faith-communities-faith.html bit.ly/UNHCR-faith-partnership-note-2014

وانظر الاتِّفاق العالمي سنة 2018 في شأن اللاجئين  www.unhcr.org/gcr/GCR_English.pdf

[5] التدريب مفتوح السبيل إليه بالمجَّان من هنا www.fabo.org/act/fshr. وبُنيَ التدريب على:

 Lutheran World Federation and Islamic Relief Worldwide (2018) A faith-sensitive approach in humanitarian response: Guidance on mental health and psychosocial programming

(طريقة مقاربةٍ تراعي الإيمان في الاستجابة الإنسانية: الإرشاد في برامج دَعْمُ الصحَّةِ العقليَّة والحالِ النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة)

 https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/system/files/faith-sensitive_humanitarian_response_2018.pdf 

[6] UNHCR (2018) Culture, Context and Mental Health of Rohingya Refugees: A review for staff in mental health and psychosocial support programmes for Rohingya refugees

(الثقافة والسياق والصحَّة العقليَّة للاجئين الروهينغيِّين: مراجعة للعاملين في برامج دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة عند اللاجئين الروهينغيِّين)

www.unhcr.org/protection/health/5bbc6f014/culture-context-mental-health-rohingya-refugees.html

[7] American Red Cross (2018) Disaster Spiritual Care

(الرعاية الروحانيَّة في الكوارث)

 www.uphs.upenn.edu/pastoral/events/Jensen_DSC_UPenn_Presentation_2018.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Faith-sensitive MHPSS for humanitarian practitioners

Faith and spirituality are part of many people’s identities and everyday lives, and faith sensitivity is integral to providing holistic, people-centred MHPSS in humanitarian situations.

Effective mental health and psychosocial support (MHPSS) in response to humanitarian emergencies connects with the worldviews, healing practices and language of the people it aims to assist. Faith is a factor in many individuals’ and communities’ capacity to cope with psychosocial challenges; for many people, for example, burying their loved ones according to the rituals of their faith is important in order to be able to grieve. This is why the Inter-Agency Standing Committee’s Guidelines on Mental Health and Psychosocial Support in Emergency Settings call upon humanitarian actors to engage with local religious and spiritual resources, groups and leaders in their regular programming.[1] It is also why the integration of religious leaders and religious practices into standard operating procedures during the 2014–15 Ebola response in West Africa, for example, was so effective.[2]

Developing faith-sensitive humanitarian response starts with recognising that religious practices, such as praying, can be an element of psychosocial support which should be complemented, rather than replaced, by other forms of MHPSS. Humanitarian practitioners can adopt a faith-sensitive approach regardless of their own or their organisation’s identification or non-identification with a faith tradition. Faith sensitivity is about the faith of the people you assist.[3]

Despite major policy commitments[4] many humanitarian and development organisations hesitate to take faith-related aspects sufficiently into account when designing their programmes or to consider local faith actors as potential partners to collaborate with on MHPSS. Practitioners tend to avoid dealing with faith-related questions out of concern that this might interfere with the humanitarian principles of neutrality and impartiality. Indeed, applying faith sensitivity in practice is not always straightforward. So, how should we approach the bringing together of faith and MHPSS in planning and implementing faith-sensitive psychosocial responses that do not go against the humanitarian principles?

Faith sensitivity in practice

To help MHPSS practitioners overcome some of the barriers and hesitations, an online training tool on faith-sensitive humanitarian response with a focus on MHPSS has been developed to outline opportunities, challenges, and practical steps to take.[5] The training – launched in June 2020 – is a product of collaboration between the ACT Alliance, Islamic Relief Worldwide, the Joint Learning Initiative on Faith and Local Communities, the Lutheran World Federation and the DanChurchAid Learning Lab. The full training only takes approximately two hours to complete.

Adopting a faith-sensitive approach to MHPSS means learning how to understand people’s spiritual and religious needs and resources, and the roles of faith communities in responses to humanitarian emergencies. This also involves reflecting on your own and your organisation’s positions, understandings and biases regarding faith. Here are five key recommendations for practitioners (in particular for those in international organisations) wishing to make MHPSS more faith-sensitive:

Include faith in assessments: Consider information on religious beliefs, practices, activities of faith groups, and places of worship that are relevant to the mental health and psychosocial well-being of the affected community. How do they see the crisis, how do they explain distress, and in what terms do they speak about coping? What are the spiritual influences on their well-being? What religious concepts are helpful for them in responding to challenges they face? Resources developed by UNHCR on socio-cultural context, concepts and healing practices concerning mental health and psychosocial well-being of specific refugee communities show how such information can be documented.[6] Conduct such assessments in participatory ways that also include perspectives from local faith communities. Discuss mental health issues with representatives of different faith traditions to understand how theological concepts influence how individuals make sense of and cope with related challenges.

Connect programmes to people’s beliefs and practices: When designing MHPSS programmes, build upon local beliefs, practices, rituals and activities that are part of effective coping strategies already in existence in the respective community. This can include prayer, reading scriptures and mourning rituals, including group activity. In Gaza, counsellors from Islamic Relief Palestine use references to the faith of the people participating in psychosocial group sessions as entry points to the topic discussed, if appropriate in light of the participants’ relationship with faith. For example, they point out similar effects of meditation and the practice of praying when introducing meditation as a technique to manage stress. Connecting a topic with familiar ideas makes it more relatable.

Collaborate with local faith actors: When engaging with local faith actors, include female and youth leaders (who often have informal roles), and base partnerships on meaningful participation, joint decision-making, and mutual learning and capacity sharing. MHPSS specialists can offer training on key psychosocial principles to local faith leaders, discuss cases where counselling may be helpful on top of spiritual support, or provide information on MHPSS services for referrals. Establishing two-way referral mechanisms can facilitate access to spiritual and religious care through imams, pastors and religious or traditional healers alongside access to psychological and social care. For example, the American Red Cross runs a Disaster Spiritual Care programme in collaboration with local faith leaders trained in psychological first aid.[7]

Address potentially harmful practices linked to faith: Certain theological understandings can be a basis for ineffective and inappropriate coping or be used to legitimise harmful practices. Examples are confinement as a treatment for mental illness when such illness is seen as a spiritual instead of a health problem, or inappropriately associating disasters with sin or karma. Responding to negative coping mechanisms does not mean separating faith and mental health or trying to convince people to abandon their faith. Rather, actors should involve both leaders and vulnerable people of different genders and ages in assessing the impact of religious beliefs on mental health and in identifying potentially harmful practices. Then, they should promote dialogue between faith leaders, well-informed local religious thinkers and the local community around social norms and interpretations on which they are based, and provide appropriate training and resources to support a process of reflection and change.

Engage with faith in a way that respects humanitarian principles: Faith sensitivity may be viewed as being in conflict with the humanitarian principles of impartiality and neutrality, with neutrality urging against affiliation with faith as it is connected to the politics of conflicts, and impartiality asserting the need to avoid bias, discrimination and proselytisation based on faith affiliation. Yet in neither case does this mean ignorance and avoidance of faith. While asserting the need to remain neutral and impartial, it is possible to sensitively support someone’s own beliefs and practices. Support religious practices if a person you assist requests this, such as joining them in prayer (if that is appropriate for you), but do not coerce a religious practice if not requested. Allow space for such requests without forcing the issue.

Towards localised response

A faith-sensitive approach puts people and communities affected by conflict and disaster – and their rights, needs and dignity – at the centre of MHPSS response, as it helps adapt assistance to their specific social and cultural context, of which faith is a part. In addition, collaborating with faith actors and communities can contribute to strengthening the roles of local actors in the humanitarian system, facilitating community-led support and embedding assistance in existing structures. Faith-sensitive programming and partnerships are therefore important aspects of the localisation of aid, and thus of a wider reform process of the humanitarian system too.

 

Leonie Harsch leonie.harsch@mercator-fellows.org @LeonieHarsch

Former Visiting Fellow, Joint Learning Initiative on Faith and Local Communities

 

Corrie van der Ven c.vanderven@protestantsekerk.nl

Programme Officer, Kerk in Actie; former Religion and Development Programme Manager, ACT Alliance

 

Olivia Wilkinson olivia@jliflc.com @OliviaWilk

Director of Research, Joint Learning Initiative on Faith and Local Communities

 

[1] IASC (2007) IASC Guidelines on Mental Health and Psychosocial Support in Emergency Settings
https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/system/files/2020-11/IASC%20Guidelines%20on%20Mental%20Health%20and%20Psychosocial%20Support%20in%20Emergency%20Settings%20%28English%29.pdf

[2] Winiger F (2020) ‘“More than an intensive care phenomenon”: Religious communities and the WHO Guidelines for Ebola and Covid-19’, Spiritual Care 9(3) https://doi.org/10.1515/spircare-2020-0066

[3] See also FMR issue 48 on Faith and responses to displacement www.fmreview.org/faith

[4] Such as UNHCR’s 2014 Partnership Note on Faith-based Organizations, Local Faith Communities and Faith Leaders www.unhcr.org/protection/hcdialogue%20/539ef28b9/partnership-note-faith-based-organizations-local-faith-communities-faith.html bit.ly/UNHCR-faith-partnership-note-2014 and the 2018 Global Compact on Refugees www.unhcr.org/gcr/GCR_English.pdf

[5] The training can be freely accessed at www.fabo.org/act/fshr. The training builds on: Lutheran World Federation and Islamic Relief Worldwide (2018) A faith-sensitive approach in humanitarian response: Guidance on mental health and psychosocial programming https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/system/files/faith-sensitive_humanitarian_response_2018.pdf 

[6] Tay A K, Islam R, Riley A, Welton-Mitchell C, Duchesne B, Waters V, Varner A, Silove D and Ventevogel P (2018) Culture, Context and Mental Health of Rohingya Refugees: A review for staff in mental health and psychosocial support programmes for Rohingya refugees, UNHCRwww.unhcr.org/protection/health/5bbc6f014/culture-context-mental-health-rohingya-refugees.html

[7] American Red Cross (2018) Disaster Spiritual Care www.uphs.upenn.edu/pastoral/events/Jensen_DSC_UPenn_Presentation_2018.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700