تَقْديم: لا صحَّة بلا صحَّة عقليَّة

«لا صحَّة بلا صحَّة عقليَّة». قالها مؤكِّداً أنطونيو غُتِيرِش الأمين العام في الأمم المتحدة في أيار/مايو 2020، وهي رسالة يسيرة ولكن قويّة.[1] وقد حذَّرَ، مُنذراً إنذاراً جاء في وقته، من أنَّ الارتفاع العالميّ المفاجئ في الانتشار والشِّدَّة لمشكلات الصحة العقلية بسبب داء الحُمَة التاجية (كوڤيد 19) أمرٌ غير مستبعدٍ البتَّة، وأن بالأمر حاجةً مُلحَّة إلى اتِّخاذ إجراءات وإلى تمويل للتصدِّي للوَقْع المُدمِّر الذي جلبته جائحة على بُلُوغِ خدمات الصحَّة العقليَّة.

وقد أشار استطلاع أجرته منظمة الصحة العالمية[2] في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر من سنة 2020 إلى أنَّ داء الحُمَة التاجية (كوڤيد 19) قد عَرقَلَ بعض خدمات الصحَّة العقليَّة في 93% من البلدان في جميع العالم وطَلبُ دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة لا ينفكِّ يزيد. فدَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة أمرٌ رئيسٌ في حُسْن حالنا، أفراداً وجماعات، ولا سيَّما اليوم. حتَّة إنَّ دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة تزداد أهميَّته عند أكثر الناس استضعافاً العائشينَ أصلاً في هامش المجتمع، المتضرِّرين بالنِّزاع أو بالكوارث، المُهاجِرين قَسْراً أو الذين ما يزالون ينتقلون. وقد فقد كثيرٌ منهم قبلَ الجائحة منازلهم ومجتمعاتهم المحليَّة وأعزَّاءهم وسُبُل معاشهم. فوقعت الجائحة وزادت شدَّةَ ضائقتهم وأحوال معيشتهم المتقلقلة.

وتَنْصُرُ هولندا بشدَّةٍ الإقرار بأهمية دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة عند المتضرِّرين بالأزمات من ناسٍ ومجتمعات محليَّة، وتَلتزمُ ضمانَ تحقيقِ طريقةٍ للمقاربة شاملةٍ في دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة في كلِّ وسائل المعونة الإنسانيَّة، وفي كلِّ برامج مَنْع النِّزاع وبناء السلام أيضاً.[3] وإنّا وما يماثِلُنا في الفِكْر من بلدان وهيئات نتقدَّمُ. ففي السنين القليلة الماضية، صُنِّفَ أخيراً دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة في أولويَّة جدول الأعمال الدولي. نعم، تُوُصِّلَ سنة 2019 إلى اتفاقياتٍ مهمة في إدخالِ دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة في كلِّ استجابةٍ إنسانية، مع مؤتمر انتبه إلى العقل الآن (Mind the Mind Now Conference) وإعلان مؤتمر أمستردام[4] إذ أخذ تحالفٌ من 28 بلداً و10 منظَّمات على نفسه أن يعالج حاجات الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة عند المتضرِّرين بالطوارئ.

وفيما يلي حاجةٌ لا تنفصل ممَّا تقدَّم:

  • إلى تعزيز إِدماجِ دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة في كلِّ استجابة للأزمات من أوّلها،
  • وإلى إدماج المهارات الأساسية لدَعْم الحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة في تدريب كلِّ عامل في ميدان المعونة الإنسانية،
  • وإلى الاهتمام بحُسْن الحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة عند العاملين في ميدان المعونة الإنسانية وأوَائِلِ المستجيبين والمتطوِّعين.

 

هذه مبادئ لها منزلة عالية في جدول الأعمال عند الفرقة المرجعيّة لشؤون دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة التابعة للجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات،[5] وهي أيضاً مبادئ بُيِّنَت في قرار كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2019[6] الصادر عن لحركة الدولية للصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر، الذي يدعو إلى إدماج دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة في كلِّ جوانب استجابتها للطوارئ.

ومع أنَّ خطواتٍ مُهمةً قدِ اتُّخِذَت، فبسبب التَّزَايُد في سوء الصحَّة العقليَّة، صار بِنَا حاجةٌ ماسَّة إلى زيادة استثماراتنا في التمويل، وكذلك في الجهود السياسية والنَّهج السياسيّ وفي تنمية الموارد البشرية. وفي كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2020، عُقِدَ اجتماع رفيع[7] في أسبوع المعونة الإنسانية، أصدر فيه كثير من الهيئات الإنسانية التابعة للأمم المتحدة دعوةً مشتركة إلى العمل، وحثَّت الأطراف على الوفاء بما التزمته قَبْلاً في إيصال الخدمات في دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة بين القطاعات حتَّى تُقضَى حاجات المتضررِّين بالطوارئ.[8] وفي كانون الثاني/يناير 2021، اعتمد المجلس التنفيذي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية قراراً في الاستعداد والاستجابة للصَّحة العقليَّة في الطوارئ الصحيَّة العامَّة.[9] ويدعو القرار جمعية الصحَّة العالميَّة في 2021 إلى اعتماد خطة العمل المُحدَّثة في الصحَّة العقليَّة، ويدعو الدول الأعضاء إلى تخصيص التمويل الكافي، ويدعو منظَّمة الصحَّة العالميَّة إلى تقوية قدرتها في ميدان الصحَّة العقليَّة.

إنَّ الصحَّة العقليَّة ليست ضرباً من الإتراف ولا فكرةً دابرةً ولا عِبئاً زائداً. إنها أداةٌ فعَّالة إذ تُعِين الأفراد والأسر والمجتمعات على إطلاق قوّتهم الكامنة على إنعاش صمودهم وزوايا نظرهم أو على حِفْظها أو على استرجاعها، وتُعِينهم على إعادة بناء التَّماسُك الاجتماعي، واستئناف الأخذ في سُبُل معاشهم، وتعزيز المُصالَحة. فإنَّ إطلاقَ العنان لِمَا يكمن فيهم من قوّة بدَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة ضرورةٌ في تخفيف آثار النِّزاع والكوارث الطبيعية والتَّهجير والجوائح. وهذا إنما فِعلُهُ ممكنٌ بشرط أن نعمل بمُشاركةٍ قويّة مع المُتضرِّرين، والمنظَّمات الشعبية، وجماعات المجتمع المدني، والاستفادة مما بين يدينا اليومَ من التجربة والخبرة والأدوات، والبناء عليها.

وإِّني لأستَحسِنُ وافرَ استحسانٍ هذا العدد من نشرة الهجرة القسرية إذِ اختُصَّ بدَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة، وجاء مناسباً للمزاولين وراسمي السِّياسات والباحثين بالسَّواء. وهو نِعْمَ العبَّارةُ إلى جملةٍ من المعارف والخبرة مُكتَنزَةٍ يلزم نشرها. وإنِّي أدعو كلَّ الحكومات والفاعلين إلى أن يتعاونوا على العمل، وأن يلتزموا التزاماً قويّاً بمعالجة حاجات الصحَّة العقليَّة عند المُهجَّرين في جميع العَالَم، وأن يستفيدوا حقّ الاستفادة ممَّا في دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة من قوَّة كامنة. ذلك أنَّ دَعْمَ الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة يُعِينُ على حِفْظ سلامة عُقُولنا ومجتمعاتنا جميعاً.

 

سِگْرِد كَاْگ

وزيرة التجارة الخارجية والتعاون الإنمائيّ في مملكة هولندا MHPSS@minbuza.nl

 

[1] www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=XLJlqcFYfeM&feature=youtu.be

[2] WHO (2020) The impact of COVID-19 on mental, neurological and substance use services: results of a rapid assessment

(وَقْعُ داء الحُمَة التاجية (كوڤيد 19) في الخدمات العقليَّة والعصبيَّة وتعاطي الموادّ: نتائج من تقدير سريع)

 www.who.int/publications/i/item/978924012455

[3] See ‘Enhanced Integration of MHPSS & Peacebuilding’, October 2020

(تعزيز التكامل في دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة وبناء السلام)

 www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=Zg-i-SlEBIo&feature=youtu.be

[4] المؤتمر الدوليّ في دَعْمُ الصحَّةِ العقليَّة والحالِ النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة في الأزمات – انعقد في أمستردام، في 7-8 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019.

 www.government.nl/ministries/ministry-of-foreign-affairs/events/mental-health-and-psychosocial-support-in-crisis-situations?utm_campaign=mhpss2019.nl&utm_source=mhpss2019.nl&utm_medium=redirect

 إعلان أمستردام

 www.government.nl/ministries/ministry-of-foreign-affairs/documents/diplomatic-statements/2019/10/08/amsterdam-conference-declaration

[5] https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/iasc-reference-group-on-mental-health-and-psychosocial-support-in-emergency-settings

[6] https://rcrcconference.org/app/uploads/2019/12/33IC-R2-MHPSS-_CLEAN_ADOPTED_en.pdf

[7] انظر: https://streams.nfgd.nl/9-december-2020-high-level-on-mhpss-in-crises crises-Dec2020-video

[8] https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/iasc-reference-group-mental-health-and-psychosocial-support-emergency-settings/joint-interagency-call-action-mhpss-2020

bit.ly/IASC-MHPSS-CallForAction-Dec2020

[9] WHO (2021) Promoting mental health preparedness and response for public health emergencies:

(تعزيز الاستعداد والاستجابة للصحَّة العقليَّة في الطوارئ الصحيَّة العامَّة)

https://apps.who.int/gb/ebwha/pdf_files/EB148/B148(3)-en.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Foreword: No health without mental health

Mental health and psychosocial support is vital for our individual and collective well-being, especially now.

“There is no health without mental health.” UN Secretary-General António Guterres reaffirmed this simple but powerful message in May 2020.[1] In a timely effort to sound the alarm, he cautioned that a global upsurge in the prevalence and severity of mental health problems as a result of COVID-19 was very likely, and that action and funding were needed urgently to tackle the devastating impact of the pandemic on access to mental health services.

A WHO survey[2] in October 2020 indicated that COVID-19 had partially disrupted mental health services in 93% of countries worldwide at a time when demand for mental health support is rising. Mental health and psychosocial support (MHPSS) is vital for our individual and collective well-being, especially now. MHPSS is even more crucial for the most vulnerable already living on the margins of society: people who have been hit by conflict or disaster, and who have been forcibly displaced or are on the move. Many of them have already lost their homes, communities, loved ones and livelihoods. The pandemic adds further to their distress and precarious circumstances.

The Netherlands strongly advocates recognising the importance of MHPSS for people and communities affected by crisis, and is committed to ensuring an MHPSS-inclusive approach in all humanitarian efforts, as well as in conflict prevention and peacebuilding programming.[3] Together with like-minded countries and humanitarian agencies, we are making progress. In the past few years MHPSS has finally been designated a priority on the international agenda. Indeed, important agreements on including MHPSS as part of any humanitarian response were reached in 2019, with the Mind the Mind Now Conference and its Amsterdam Conference Declaration[4] whereby a coalition of 28 countries and 10 organisations pledged to address the mental health and psychosocial needs of people affected by emergencies.

Integral to this is the need to:

  • promote the integration of MHPSS into all crisis response from the outset
  • integrate basic psychosocial skills into the training of every humanitarian worker
  • attend to the psychosocial well-being of humanitarian staff, first responders and volunteers.

 

These principles are high on the agenda of the IASC’s MHPSS Reference Group,[5] and are also reflected in the December 2019 resolution[6] by the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, which calls for the integration of MHPSS into all aspects of its emergency response.

However, although important steps have been taken, given the increasing levels of poor mental health we urgently need to scale up our investments – in funding as well as in political and policy efforts and in human resources development. In December 2020, at a high-level meeting[7] during the Humanitarian Week, several UN humanitarian agencies issued a joint call for action, urging parties to honour earlier commitments to provide cross-sectoral MHPSS to meet the needs of people affected by emergencies.[8] In January 2021, the Executive Board of the World Health Organization adopted a decision on mental health preparedness and response for public health emergencies.[9] It calls on the World Health Assembly 2021 to endorse the updated mental health action plan, on Member States to allocate adequate funding, and on WHO to strengthen its capacity in the area of mental health.

MHPSS is not a luxury, an afterthought, or an additional burden. It is an effective tool because it helps individuals, families and communities to release their potential to recover, maintain or regain their resilience and perspective, to rebuild social cohesion, to resume their livelihoods, and to foster reconciliation. Unlocking this potential through MHPSS is essential to alleviating the effects of conflict, natural disasters, displacement and pandemics. And it can be done – provided that we work in close partnership with affected populations, grassroots organisations and civil society groups, making use of and building on existing experience, expertise and tools.

I very much welcome this issue of Forced Migration Review dedicated to MHPSS, relevant for practitioners, policymakers and researchers alike. It is an excellent gateway to a rich body of knowledge and expertise that need to be disseminated. And I call on all governments and actors to work collaboratively and with strengthened commitment to address the mental health needs of displaced people around the world and to make full use of the potential of MHPSS. Because MHPSS helps to keep both our minds and our societies at peace.

 

Sigrid Kaag

Minister for Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation of the Kingdom of the Netherlands MHPSS@minbuza.nl

 

[1] www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=XLJlqcFYfeM&feature=youtu.be

[2] WHO (2020) The impact of COVID-19 on mental, neurological and substance use services: results of a rapid assessment www.who.int/publications/i/item/978924012455

[3] See ‘Enhanced Integration of MHPSS & Peacebuilding’, October 2020 www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=Zg-i-SlEBIo&feature=youtu.be

[4] International Conference on Mental Health and Psychosocial Support in Crisis Situations – Amsterdam, 7-8 October 2019 www.government.nl/ministries/ministry-of-foreign-affairs/events/mental-health-and-psychosocial-support-in-crisis-situations?utm_campaign=mhpss2019.nl&utm_source=mhpss2019.nl&utm_medium=redirect

Amsterdam Declaration www.government.nl/ministries/ministry-of-foreign-affairs/documents/diplomatic-statements/2019/10/08/amsterdam-conference-declaration

[5] https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/iasc-reference-group-on-mental-health-and-psychosocial-support-in-emergency-settings

[6] https://rcrcconference.org/app/uploads/2019/12/33IC-R2-MHPSS-_CLEAN_ADOPTED_en.pdf

[7] See https://streams.nfgd.nl/9-december-2020-high-level-on-mhpss-in-crises

[8] https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/iasc-reference-group-mental-health-and-psychosocial-support-emergency-settings/joint-interagency-call-action-mhpss-2020

[9] WHO (2021) Promoting mental health preparedness and response for public health emergencies https://apps.who.int/gb/ebwha/pdf_files/EB148/B148(3)-en.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700