التصدِّي لمُتحدِّيات التَّشارك في معطيات الدَّنَا

تمثِّل العوائق الإدارية والأخلاقية التي تحول دون التشارك في معطيات الدَّنا لتعرُّف هوية المهاجرين المعثور عليهم في طول الحدود بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك– مثالاً على الحاجة إلى حلول طويلة الأمد وإلى أعمال مستدامة.

الدَّنَا (DNA) موروثٌ لا يتبدَّل أبداً، ومقياسٌ قوي في تعرُّف هوية الإنسان من رفاته. وقد تقدَّمت وجوه التَّحسين التقني في استعماله على مر العقود، ولكنَّ العوائق الأخلاقية والإدارية والبيروقراطية تقيُّد استعماله، ولا سيَّما في التعرُّف العابر للأوطان. وهذا بيِّنٌ في الولايات الحدودية من الولايات المتحدة، حيث تُدفَن الجثامين التي لا يُعرَف أصحابها ويُظَنُّ أنها لمهاجرين من غير أَخذِ عيِّنات الدَّنَا منها أو تُترك لتظلَ بلا اسم عدّةَ سنين.

منذ سنة 2008، عُثِرَ على أكثر من 800 جثمان لا يُعرَف صاحبه في مقاطعة بروكس، على بعد أكثر من 70 ميلاً في شماليّ الحدود بين تِكْسَس والمكسيك.[1] ويجري على هذه الوفيات التي لا يُعلَم سببها تحقيقٌ يشتمل في معظم الأمكنة على تشريح الجثة مع أخذ عينات من الدنا، ولكن في جنوبيّ تِكسَس لم تُتَّبع القوانين وسُنَن العمل في ذلك قبلَ سنة 2013، وهذا يعني أنه لم تؤخَذ عينات من الدنا قبل هذه السنة. ولذا تُنبَشُ القبور اليومَ لجَمْع الدنا والمعطيات الأناسيَّة الأخرى لتحقيق هوية المتوفَّى. وقد تُعرِّفَت إلى الآن 34 جثّة من 163 جثّة من جثث الذي تُوُفُّوا من زمن بعيد، ومزيد من القبور ستُنبَش. وبسبب النقص الذي لم يزل منذ زمن بعيد في تتبُّع الحالات في المنطقة، لا نعرف عددَ القبور الغُفْل أو غير المُعلَّمة التي قد تحوي رفات المفقودين.[2]

وكثيراً ما يستغرق التعرُّف سنين، فعادةً تُرسَل الجثامين التي لا يُعرَف أصحابها إلى سلطة طبية قانونية لتُتَعرَّف هُويّتها، وهناك في معظم الحالات يجري عليها التشريح، وفيه أخذ عينات من الدنا. ثمَّ تُحمَّلُ معطيات الدنا على نظام معطيات الدنا الاتِّحاديّ: النظام المركَّب لفهرس الدنا. وتُقَابل هذه المعطيات ومعطيات فهرس المفقودين وفهرس أقارب المفقودين. وفي التعرُّف المبنيّ الدنا باستعمال النظام المركَّب لفهرس الدنا نظريّةٌ تقول إنّه في وقتٍ ما سيُخبِرُ أفراد الأسرة عن مَفقودِهم ويقدِّمون عينات «مرجعية أسرية» من الدنا. وحينئذٍ يمكن أن تتسلَّم كلّ ولاية قضائية في الولايات المتحدة بلاغاً بمفقودٍ وعيّنةً مرجعيّة أسرية، ثمَّ ترسل تلك العيّنة إلى مختبرِ دنا تابعٍ للنظام المركَّب لفهرس الدنا.

حاجةٌ إلى التَّنسيق والتَّعاون

وأما الأُسَر المهاجرة فيعترضها عوائق متعدِّدة تعوِّق تعرُّف الهوية. فالنظام المركَّب لفهرس الدنا صُمِّمَ أوَّل ما صُمِّم للقضايا الجنائية لا لتعرُّف هويّة المفقودين. وصُمِّمَ لحماية جَوْدة المعطيات، وفيه قيودٌ على الوصول إلى المعطيات تُنشِئ أعباء ثقيلة في الأعمال الورقية عند رَفْعِ تقارير للجثامين التي لا يُعرَف أصحابها وللعيّنات المرجعيّة الأسرية. ثم إنّ مختبرات الجريمة تُبدِّي النظر في الحالات الفردية التي قد تكون حياة الفرد أو حريته مُهدَّدة بالزوال؛ أي أنَّ مُعالجةَ الجثامين التي لا يُعرَف أصحابها والعيّنات المرجعيّة الأسرية قد تُؤخَّر. وأيضاً تقتضي مختبرات النظام المركَّب لفهرس الدنا رقمَ تقريرِ حالةٍ للمفقود من ولاية من الولايات القضائية الأمريكية، وهذا قد لا يكون ممكناً إذا رُفِعَ التقرير خارجَ الولايات المتحدة.

وأهمُّ من ذلك أنه في حالات المفقودين العابرة للأوطان، من المقتضيات الاتِّحادية لنظام المركَّب لفهرس الدنا أن يَجْمَعَ العينات المرجعية الأسرية موظَّفو إنفاذ القانون. ولكن قد لا يرغب أقارب المفقودين في إعطاء سلطات إنفاذ القانون عيّناتٍ مرجعيّة أسرية، وربما كان السبب في ذلك خوفَهم من أن يُبعَدُوا هم أو أفراد أسرهم. وفوق ذلك، يمكن أن يعرِّض الإدراك العامّ بتقرير المفقود حياةَ الأسرة والمُهاجِر للخَطَر. إذ يكثر أن يَقَعَ الابتزاز على أفراد الأسرة الذين يُخبِّرون بالمفقود.

هذا، وتستمرّ عدّة من الجهود الحكومية وغير الحكومية في تحسين البحث والاسترجاع، وتعرُّف الهوية، والاتصال والإعادة إلى الوطن. مثال ذلك: أن بعض السلطات القضائية ابتدأت في إرسال الجثامين التي لا يُعرَف أصحابها والعيّنات المرجعيّة الأسرية إلى مختبر دنا خاصٍّ لا يطلب أخذَ عيّنات مرجعيّة أسرية في حضور سلطات إنفاذ القانون، وقد أسهم ذلك في تعرُّف هويّة كثيرٍ من الأفراد. ويمكن أن يقبل المختبر الخاصّ أيضاً الجثامين التي لا يُعرَف أصحابها والعيّنات المرجعيّة الأسرية من بُلدانٍ أخرى. على أنّ أكثرَ الجثامين التي لا يُعرَف أصحابها واردة في النظام المركَّب لفهرس الدنا، وبعضها وارد في قاعدة معطيات خاصّة، وأما العيّنات المرجعيّة الأسرية فأكثرها مُودَعٌ قاعدةَ معطيات خاصَّةً لا في النظام المركَّب لفهرس الدنا. فأنشأَ ذلك نظامَين لمعطيات الدنا منفصلٌ بعضهما من بعض، يعتريهما النَّقص في الحالات الإفرادية، ففُوِّتت فرصٌ في تعرُّف الهويّات.

ومع مرور السنين، اجتمعت جماعات مختلفة من أصحاب المصلحة للتصدِّي لهذه المُتحدِّيات وغيرها من مُتحدِّيات تعرُّف الدنا. وفي أصحاب المصلحة جميع طبقات إنفاذ القانون، وقضاة الصلح، والمسؤولون الطبيُّون القانونيُّون، والقنصليات، والمنظمات الحكومية الدولية، والمنظمات الإنسانية، وُمناصِرو أُسَر المهاجرين، وعلماء الأَناسَة الشرعيِّون، والقيِّمون على قواعد المعطيات، وخبراء الدنا، والمسؤولون الحكوميُّون، وخبراء حقوق الإنسان. وقد نشأت بعض التحسُّن باجتماع هذه الجهود، مثل: تحسين الاتصال بين أصحاب المصلحة، وإنشاء قاعدة معطيات إنسانية جديدة حتَّى يُقَابَلَ بين العيّنات المرجعيّة الأسرية التي لا وجود لها في النظام المركَّب لفهرس الدنا وبين الجثامين التي لا يُعرَف أصحابها في النظام المركَّب لفهرس الدنا، ومن التحسين أيضاً أنَّ المسؤولون القنصليُّون صار يسمح لهم بجَمْع العيّنات المرجعيّة الأسرية لتُودَعَ النظام المركَّب لفهرس الدنا.[3]

وأما شَأنُ الأكاديميِّين فسلوك طُرُق للمقاربة البحثيّة غير متحيِّزة لفحص فجوات السياسة ووجهات النظر المختلفة التي تقيُّد التَّقدُّم. وقد وضعت فرقتنا إستراتيجيةَ بحثٍ تركز همَّها في استعمال معطيات الدنا في التعرُّف، وفي آذار/مارس 2020 عقدنا ندوةً لأصحاب المصلحة المحترفين وتناقشنا في خيارات السياسة (وفي نيَّتنا أيضاً أن نستجمعَ أُسَر المفقودين العابرين للأوطان). فمكَّننا ذلك من سرد المُتحدِّيات التي حدَّدها أصحاب المصلحة ومن النظر في الأولويات والمقترحات التي تقدِّمها كلّ جماعة من أصحاب المصلحة بين يديها.

أهداف مختلفة وأولويَّات مختلفة

ومع حُسْن نيّة أصحاب المصلحة جميعاً، تؤدِّي الضغوط السياسية والاختلافات الشَّديدة في الأولويات المبنيّة على الأهداف إلى الخلاف وسوء التواصل بشأن في شؤون السياسات. مثال ذلك، أنَّ عند وحدة من وحدات العدالة الجنائية مصلحةٌ في الحفاظ على النزاهة في قضية مفقود يمكن أن تكون جريمة قتل. ومثل ذلك، أنَّ أَمنَ الحدود له مصلحة في معرفة هويّة المهاجرين والمنتسبين إليهم حتَّى يتحقَّق العصابات والمشتغلين بالتَّهريب. ويُبايِنُ ذلك أنَّ المنظَّمات الإنسانية تَنْصُرُ حقَّ الأسرة في المعرفة وإعادة أعزّائها إلى الوطن من غير نظرٍ إلى دخولهم في أعمالٍ غير قانونية. ولكلِّ هدفٍ من هذه الأهداف قيمةٌ جوهرية، غير أنّ الاختلاف فيها يجلب الخلاف والجَّدَل.

هذا، وكثيرٌ من المعلومات المحيطة بالمفقود العابر للأوطان بالغٌ في الحساسيّة. وتُعدُّ المعطيات الجغرافية التي يُعثَر فيها الرفات مفيدةً في العثور على مزيدٍ من الناس وفَحْصِ في طُرُق التَّهريب. ويمكن أن يستغلَّ المهرِّبون أو الخاطفون أسماءَ أفراد أُسَر المفقودين أو يمكن أن تُستعمَل في التحقيق في انتهاكات الهجرة في الولايات المتحدة. وأيضاً يمكن استعمال معطيات الدنا من المفقودين ومن أفراد أسرهم في التحقيق في الأعمال الإجرامية. وبالنظر إلى هذه الحساسيات، ترى أنَّ انتفاءَ الثقة بين جماعات أصحاب المصلحة كثير. ففَهم الأعمال الجارية ومصالح أصحاب المصلحة خطوةٌ أولى في التقدُّم، وفي هذه المرحلة من بحثنا يمكن ملاحظة بعض ميادين رئيسة لتحقيق التَّحسِين.

تحويل السَّرديَّات المحيطة بالجثامين التي لا يُعرَف أصحابها: كثير من وجوه الافتراض تحجب تصوُّر الأحوال المُلابِسة للمفقودين عند الحدود. وأحد وجوه الافتراض أنَّهم مهاجرون جميعاً. نعم، كثيرٌ منهم مهاجرون ولكن ليس كلّهم. ووجه افتراض آخر هو أن المهاجرين جميعاً هاجروا من المكسيك وبلدان في أمريكا الوسطى. ولكن تتزايد اليوم أعداد المهاجرون الذي يأتون من جميع العالم إلى أمريكا الجنوبية ليقصدوا الشَّمال إلى الولايات المتحدة. ووجه افتراض آخر يقول إن المُتحدِّيات التي تعترض التعرُّف بالدنا مقتصرة على المهاجرين المفقودين. لكنَّ الواقع أنّ كثيراً من قيود التشارك في المعطيات وقيود التمويل مضروبةٌ على جميع ضروب التَّحقيق المتعلق بالمفقودين. وقد عدَّلنا لغتنا بأخرةٍ فاستبدلنا بمصطلح «المهاجرين المفقودين» مصطلح «المفقودين العابرين للأوطان» لنُبيِّنَ تماماً أن المُتحدِّيات ليست مقصورة على المهاجرين أو على مناطق معينة من العالم، ولنُبرِزَ المسائل الخاصّة بوجوه التعرُّف العابرة للحدود بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك.

تحسين التواصل: سوء التفاهم متخلِّلٌ في المنظَّمات، ولا سيِّما حين يدخل في الأمر أصحاب مصلحة كثيرون. ولذا كان الوضوح والصَّراحة ضروريّان في تنفيذ السياسات الجارية، وصَوْغ سياسات جديدة، والتواصل بين المنظمات.

رَفْعُ الحلول الإبداعية: أكثر النتائج الواعدة لبحثنا هي الأفكار التي يمكن أن تُحسِّن الحال الراهنة. مثال ذلك، أنَّ كثيراً من أصحاب المصلحة عبّروا عن دعمهم العامّ لاستعمال أدوات «الدنا السريع» في تحليل معطيات الدنا سريعاً في الجثامين التي لا يُعرَف أصحابها والعيِّنات المرجعيَّة الأسرية. ويمكن أن يَستعمِلَ هذه الأدوات غير ذي خبرة، إذ في طَوْقها معالجة العينات في 90 دقيقة، وهي تُحمَل وحملها يسير بالقياس إلى غيرها. وقد اتُّفِقَ اتِّفاقاً قويّاً على الحاجة إلى آلية لتدريب الأفراد غير العاملين في إنفاذ القانون وإعطائهم الشهادات، حتَّى يصبحوا جامعي عيّنات مرجعيّة أسريّة.

وصحيحٌ أنّ آليات السياسة الدقيقة المحتاج إليها لتحقيق التَّحسين ما تزال غير واضحة، ولكن كلُّ صاحب مصلحة لقيناه يوافق على أنَّ إصلاحَ سُنَن العمل المتّبعة اليوم ضرورة. فنأمل أن يكون في بناءِ إطارٍ سياسيّ مبنيّ على الأولويات والحلول التي يقودها أصحاب المصلحة إعانةٌ على الإتيان بحلول مستدامة.

 

سارة كَتْسانِس sara.katsanis@northwestern.edu  @GxJustice

بوفيسورة بحث مساعدة، في طب الأطفال، بكلية الطب في فِنْبِرغ، من جامعة نورثوستِرْن، ومستشفى آن وروبِرت لوري للأطفال في شيكاغو

 

ديانا مادِن dimadden@luriechildrens.org

مُنسِّقةٌ بحوث السلوك، في مستشفى آن وروبِرت لوري للأطفال في شيكاغو

 

كُورتنِي سِگِرْت csiegert@txstate.edu

مُرشّحةٌ لنَيْلِ درجة الدكتوراه، بكلية علم الإنسان، في جامعة تِكْسَس

 

إدوَردو كانالِس ecsouthtexashumanrights@gmail.com

مُؤسِّسٌ ومدير، في مركز سَوْث تِكْسَس لحقوق الإنسان

 

كَيْت سبَرْدلي mks@txstate.edu  @kate_spradley

بروفيسورةٌ، بكلية علم الإنسان، في جامعة تِكْسَس

 

كلُّ ما ورد من آراءٍ في هذه المقالة هي آراء مؤلِّفيها وليست آراء الجهات التي ينتمون إليها أو يعملون فيها ولا آراء المموِّلين. وقد دَعَمَ هذا العملَ منحةٌ أرقامها R01HG009923 من المعهد الوطني لبحوث المجموع المُورِّثي البشري (الجينوم البشري).

 

[1] صحيحٌ أن مقاطعة بروكس لا تقع على الحدود، ولكنّها تتناول كثيراً من وفيات المهاجرين بسبب وجود بقعة تفتيش تابعة للجمارك ودوريات الحدود الأمريكية.

[2] Spradley M K and Gocha TP (2020) ‘Migrant deaths along the Texas/Mexico border: a collaborative approach to forensic identification of human remains’, Forensic Science and Humanitarian Action: Interacting with the Dead and the Living

(وفيات المهاجرين على طول الحدود بين تِكْسَس والمكسيك: طريقة تعاونيّة تُقَارِبُ تعرُّفَ هويّة الجثامين في الطب الشرعيّ)

 https://doi.org/10.1002/9781119482062.ch34

[3] Budowle B, Bus M M, Josserand M A and Peters D L (2020) ‘A standalone humanitarian DNA identification database system to increase identification of human remains of foreign nationals’, International Journal of Legal Medicine 134(6)

(نظام قاعدة معطيات قائمٌ برأسه لتعرُّف الدنا في المعونة الإنسانية بغيةَ زيادة تعرُّف جثامين المواطنين الأجانب)

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00414-020-02396-9

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Tackling DNA data-sharing challenges

Administrative and ethical barriers to DNA data sharing for identification of migrants found along the US–Mexico border exemplify the need for long-term solutions and sustainable processes.

Inherited and unchanging throughout life, DNA is a powerful metric for identifying human remains. Technical improvements in using it have advanced over the decades; however, ethical, administrative and bureaucratic barriers restrict its use, particularly for transnational identification. This is apparent in US border states, where unidentified human remains (UHR) thought to be those of migrants are buried without DNA sampling or left to languish unnamed for years.

Since 2008, over 800 UHR have been found in Brooks County, over 70 miles north of the Texas border with Mexico.[1] Such unexplained deaths are subject to investigation which in most places includes an autopsy with DNA sampling; in South Texas, however, the relevant laws and practices were not followed prior to 2013, meaning that DNA samples were not taken. Graves are now being exhumed to collect DNA and other anthropological data to investigate the identities of the deceased. So far, 34 of 163 long-term deceased have been identified and more graves await exhumation. Due to the historic lack of case tracking in the region, we do not know how many more nameless or unmarked graves might contain the remains of missing people.[2]

Identification often takes years. Usually, UHR are sent to a medico-legal authority for identification where, in most cases, an autopsy will be performed, including DNA sampling. DNA data can be uploaded to the federal DNA data system, the Combined DNA Index System (CODIS). These data will be compared with the missing persons index and with an index of relatives of missing persons. The theory of DNA-based identification via CODIS is that at some point family members will report the missing person and provide ‘family reference’ DNA samples (FRS). Any jurisdiction in the US can take a missing person report and an FRS, then submit that FRS to a CODIS DNA laboratory.

Need for cooperation and collaboration

For migrant families, however, multiple barriers limit identifications. CODIS was designed for criminal casework, not for missing persons identifications. It is designed to protect the quality of the data and includes restrictions on access that create heavy paperwork burdens for FRS and UHR submissions. Moreover, crime laboratories prioritise casework where a person’s life or liberty might be at stake; this means UHR and FRS processing might be delayed. CODIS laboratories also require a missing person case report number from a US jurisdiction, which might not be possible if the report is filed outside the US.

Most importantly for transnational missing cases, it is a federal requirement of CODIS that FRS be collected by law enforcement personnel. However, relatives of the missing might be unwilling or unable to provide FRS to law enforcement, perhaps fearing deportation of themselves or their family members. Further, public awareness of a missing person report can endanger the lives of the family and that of the migrant. Family members reporting a missing person often face extortion.

Numerous governmental and non-governmental efforts to improve search and recovery, identification processes, and communication and repatriation processes are ongoing. For example, some jurisdictions have begun sending UHR and FRS to a private DNA laboratory that does not require FRS be obtained in the presence of law enforcement, and this has contributed to the identification of many individuals. A private laboratory can also accept UHR and FRS from other countries. However, most UHR are in CODIS, and some are in a private database, while most FRS are in a private database and not in CODIS. This has created two DNA data systems that are disconnected from one another and individually under-populated, resulting in missed opportunities for identifications.

Over the years, various stakeholder groups have convened to address these and other DNA identification challenges. Stakeholders include all levels of law enforcement, Justices of the Peace, medico-legal officials, consulates, intergovernmental organizations, humanitarian organizations, migrant family advocates, forensic anthropologists, database stewards, DNA experts, governmental officials and human rights experts. Some improvements have emerged from these efforts, such as: improved communication among stakeholders; a new humanitarian database to enable comparison of FRS data not in CODIS with the UHR data in CODIS; and that consular officials are now allowed to collect FRS for CODIS.[3]

One of the roles academics can play is to provide unbiased research approaches to examine the policy gaps and differing perspectives that restrict progress. Our team drew up a research strategy focusing on the use of DNA data for identifications, and in March 2020 we held a symposium for professional stakeholders to debate policy options (we also plan to bring together families of transnational missing persons). This enabled us to chronicle the specific challenges identified by stakeholders and consider the priorities and proposals of each stakeholder group.

Different missions, different priorities

Despite the good intentions of all stakeholders, political pressures and stark differences in mission-based priorities lead to disagreements and miscommunications on policy matters. For example, a criminal justice unit has an interest in maintaining the integrity of a missing person case that could be a homicide. Similarly, border security has an interest in learning the identities of migrants and their affiliates in order to investigate gang and smuggling rings. In contrast, humanitarian organisations advocate for a family’s right to know and for the repatriation of their loved ones regardless of their involvement in illegal activity. Each of these missions holds intrinsic value – but the differences create friction.

Much of the information surrounding a transnational missing person is highly sensitive. Geographic data on where remains are found are useful both for finding more people and for investigating smuggling routes. Names of family members of the missing can be exploited by smugglers or kidnappers or used to investigate immigration violations in the US. DNA data from the missing and from family members can also be used to investigate criminal activity. Given these sensitivities, distrust between stakeholder groups is high. Understanding the processes at play and the interests of stakeholders is the first step toward progress, and at this stage in our research certain key areas for improvement can be noted.

Shift the narratives surrounding the unidentified: Many assumptions cloud perceptions of the circumstances of missing persons at the border. One assumption is that they are all migrants; many are, but not all. Another is that the migrants are all from Mexico and countries in Central America. Increasingly, migrants from around the world are travelling to South America to go north to the US. Another assumption is that the challenges to DNA-based identifications are unique to missing migrants. In reality, many of the data-sharing and funding restrictions apply to all types of missing persons investigations. We have adjusted our language recently from ‘missing migrants’ to ‘transnational missing persons’ to more accurately reflect the fact that the challenges are not unique to migrants or to particular regions of the world and to highlight the issues specific to US–Mexico cross-border identifications.

Improve communications: Misunderstandings percolate through organisations, particularly when so many stakeholders are involved. Transparency is essential in implementing current policies, formulating new policies and communicating between organisations.

Leverage creative solutions: The most promising outcomes of our research are ideas that could improve the status quo. For example, many of the stakeholders expressed general support for the use of ‘rapid DNA’ instruments for quick DNA data analysis of UHR or FRS. Such instruments can be used by non-experts, can process samples in 90 minutes, and are relatively portable. There was also strong agreement on the need for a mechanism for training and certifying non-law enforcement personnel as FRS collectors.

Though the precise policy mechanisms needed to enable improvements remain unclear, every single stakeholder with whom we have interacted agrees that current practices must be reformed. We hope that building a policy framework based on priorities and stakeholder-driven solutions can aid the construction of sustainable solutions.

 

Sara H Katsanis sara.katsanis@northwestern.edu @GxJustice

Research Assistant Professor, Pediatrics, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University; Ann & Robert H Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago

 

Diana Madden dimadden@luriechildrens.org

Behavioral Research Coordinator, Ann & Robert H Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago

 

Courtney C Siegert csiegert@txstate.edu

PhD Candidate, Department of Anthropology, Texas State University

 

Eduardo Canales ecsouthtexashumanrights@gmail.com

Founder and Director, South Texas Human Rights Center

 

Kate Spradley mks@txstate.edu @kate_spradley

Professor, Department of Anthropology, Texas State University

 

The views expressed here are those of the authors and not of their affiliations or funding sources. This work was supported by Grant No R01HG009923 from the National Human Genome Research Institute.

 

[1] Although Brooks County is not located along the border, it handles many migrant deaths due to the presence of a US Customs and Border Patrol checkpoint.

[2] Spradley M K and Gocha TP (2020) ‘Migrant deaths along the Texas/Mexico border: a collaborative approach to forensic identification of human remains’, Forensic Science and Humanitarian Action: Interacting with the Dead and the Living https://doi.org/10.1002/9781119482062.ch34

[3] Budowle B, Bus M M, Josserand M A and Peters D L (2020) ‘A standalone humanitarian DNA identification database system to increase identification of human remains of foreign nationals’, International Journal of Legal Medicine 134(6) https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00414-020-02396-9

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700