الإِيمانُ ودَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة عند النساء المُسلمَات المُهجَّرات

لمَّا كان للدِّين من هُوُيَّةٍ وسُنَنٍ ومعتقداتٍ تأثيرٌ عميق في الصحَّة العقلية، كانت مراعاة الإيمان في المعونة ودَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة ضرورة.

«الصلاة سبب النجاة»، و«الحاجات الدينية رأسُ حاجاتي»، و«يا ليتني سُئِلت». هذه عباراتٌ قالتها النساء المُهجَّرات في العراق وسورية وتونس وتركيا في ثلاث دراسات مستقلةٍ ومنُسَّقٍ فيها سنةَ 2019، أجرتها جامعة بِرْمِنِغهَام وجامعة الملكة مارغريت ومنظَّمة مستقبل سورية الزاهر، بمعاونة منظَّمة الإغاثة الإسلامية عبر العالم والأكاديمية الإنسانية للتنمية. وبحثت الدراسات شأنَ الإيمان في تصدِّي النساء لصعوبة معيشتهنَّ وفي معافاتهنَّ في سياق الهجرة القسرية وسياق النِّزاع.[1]

عانت النساء الداخلات في هذه الدراسة، مثل كثيرات غيرهنَّ من المُهجَّرات، مصاعب يصعب وصفها، ففقدن أقاربَ وأملاكاً، وعِشْن في الحرب والعنف (ومنه العنف الجنسي والعنف الجنسانيّ)، وخُضْنَ في رحلات تُهدِّد حياتهنَّ، وانفصلنَ من أُسَرهنَّ، وذُقْنَ العجز. وإذ قد كُنَّ يوماً منتميات إلى مجتمع محليّ دينيّ، فقد تمسَّكنَ في أثناء تنقُّلهنَّ بالدين والإيمان والروحانيَّة المنتقلة معهنَّ. وقد أثَّر الصُّمود الإيماني والمعاناة الروحية –اللذان يكثر أن يصعب فهمها على الغرباء– في حُسْنِ حال النساء بطرق متنوعة. فطوال تجاربهم كان للهوية الدينية والسُّنَن الدينية والمعتقدات الدينية تأثير عميقٌ في صحَّتهنَّ العقلية، سواء في تخفيف الضائقة النفسانية أو في المساهمة فيها.

ينتقلنَ وينتقل إيمانهنَّ معهنَّ

تشير نتائج الدراسة إلى أن النساء اعتمدن على طائفة واسعة من الروايات الدينية لإيجاد معنىً لمعاناتهن وتوجيه اتِّخاذهنَّ القرارات الحاسمة، ومنها قرارات الطلاق والانتحار. فاستعملنَ جملةً متنوعةً من السُّنَن الدينية آلياتٍ أوليّة للتكيُّف، ورأَينَ قيمةً للتوجيه الصادر من القادة الدينيين ولبلوغ المواضع والموارد الدينية. ووصفت النساء ما يتّبعن من سُنَن دينية أنها تُريحهنَّ، وأنها وسيلة للحماية من الخطر، ووسيلة لتقليل القلق، ووسيلة للهَدْيِ في اتِّخاذ القرار. قالت جنان، وهي امرأة تبلغ من عمرها 51 سنة تعيش في مخيم للنازحين الداخليِّين في العراق: «إنما الأَمرُ كصبِّ الماء على النَّار»، مشيرةً إلى صلاتها وقراءَتها القرآن. ويشابه ذلك ما ألَّفتهُ المعتقدات الدينية من إطارٍ أساسيٍّ فسَّر من خلاله أَكثرُ النساء في الدراسات الثلاث الحياةَ وسعيهنَّ إلى إدراك تجاربهن. وأعانَ شعورهنَّ بالمودَّة الروحية المستمرَّة للهِ على المثابرة في مكابدتهنَّ المستمرة.

ومع ذلك، عانت النساء في المخيمات والملاجئ من المُعوِّقات الإمدادية (اللوجستية) في أدائهنَّ الشعائرَ الدينية، ومن ذلك انتفاء الخصوصيَّة، وانتفاء أماكن الصلاة في مواضع إقامتهم المزدحمة. ففي بلدان العبور واللُّجوء، شعر بعضهنَّ بالتَّعب الشديد أو الانشغال بالمُجهِدَات اليومية فشُغِلْنَ عن أداء العبادة إفراديّاً، وافتقرنَ إلى فرص أداء الشعائر الجماعيّة. وقد كُنَّ فقَدْنَ اللوازم الدينية أو اضطررنَ إلى تركها، مثل النصوص القُدسيَّة وسُبحَة الدُّعاء وسُجَّادة الصلاة. وفقد بعضهنَّ هواتف محمولة خَزَنَّ فيها تطبيقات دينية، أو لم يستطعنَ شَحْنَ هواتفهم حّتى يصلنَ إلى التطبيقات الدينية.

وألمح بعضهنَّ إلى أن أدائهنَّ سننهنَّ الدينية قد قلَّ لمُكابدتهنَّ في التوفيق بين تجاربهنّ وإيمانهنَّ بالله. فعندَ بعضهنَّ كان انخفاض إيمانهنَّ مؤقتةً فقط، ولكن عند اللواتي لم يتمكنَّ من حل الخلاف بين تجاربهم وإيمانهم، أو من استعادة استقرار أدائهنَّ الدينيّ السابق، كان انخفاض إيمانهنَّ مرتبطاً بأعراض القلق والاكتئاب. فكان بهنَّ حاجة إلى الطَّمأنة من المعارف المُقدَّسة –التي شعرنَ أنَّها بعيدةٌ عن متناولهنَّ– لتعينهم على معالجة المعتقدات الداخلية المرتبطة بما ذقنَه من إساءة، والمرتبطة بلَوْمِ النَّفْس أيضاً.

دَعمٌ مُعَرقَل

عبَّرت بعض النساء في الدراسة عن رغبتهنَّ في التحدُّث عن المكابدة الروحية في وَسَطٍ إرشاديٍّ رسميٍّ، لكنهنَّ شعرنَ أنهن لا ينبغي لهنَّ الحديث عن المسائل الإيمانيّة. إذ قالت إحدى المُستَطْلَعات في العراق: «هذا بيِّنٌ، لأنهم حين يحدِّثوننا لا يذكرون عن الدين شيئاً». ومِثلُ ذلك أنْ قالت إحدى المشاركات في الدراسة من سورية إنَّها تحبُّ لو استعملت «أقوالٌ وأمثلةٌ دينية ... في العلاج، لأن شخصيَّتي تميل إلى الإيمان والدين».

هذا، ويميل مقدِّمو الخدمات الدوليون والمحلِّيون إلى تجنب الدخول في شؤون الدين، ولم يدخلوا فيها إلا حين طلبت النساء ذلك صراحةً. ومع ذلك، فإن مواقف الموظفين والسياسات التنظيمية صاغت ما تعدُّه النساء حالاً آمناً للإفصاح. مثال ذلك، أنَّه كثيراً ما كان يُبنَى إدراك الملامح الدينية للمهاجرات اللاتي يعبرنَ الحدود في تونس على مظهرهنَّ، ولم يتم تُضمَّن مُراعاةُ الحاجات الدينية في إجراءات التحرِّي عند الاستقبال، ولا في الفحوص الطبيَّة، ولا في أعمال دَعْم الحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة. ومعظم النساء في البلدان الأربعة ذَكَرنَ رغبتهنَّ في نوع أوسع من المشاركة الإعانيَّة التي تركز على زيادة أو استعادة الوصول إلى دَعْمٍ خارجيٍّ متعلق بالإيمان الذي تعرَّض لاضطراب الشديد. ورغبت كثيرات في الوصول إلى أمكنةٍ يمكنهنَّ فيها التجمُّع مع نساء أخريات للصلاة كما كُنَّ يفعلنَ من قبل. وأما حالة النساء العابرات، فكانت أمكنة الصلاة فهيا أو القادة الدينيين غير معلومة أو بعيدة، ولأنهم غير قادرات على بلوغ أمكنة القادة الروحيِّين، ظلَّ كثير منهنَّ يعانين اضطراباتٍ انفعالية لم تُحلّ.

ولم يأخذ الدعم الذي كان متاحاً للنساء من المعونة ومقدمي خدمات دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة لم يأخذ إلى حد بعيد في الحسبان تأثيرَ الإيمان في الضائقة النفسانية ولا أهميةَ تسهيل الوصول إلى الموارد الدينية للتكيُّف، وبدلاً من ذلك ظُنَّ أنَّ القادة الدينيِّين المحليِّين سيحتملون مسؤولية مثل هذه الحاجات. وكان الاستدلال على ذلك مرتبطاً في كثيرٍ من الأحيان بمخاوف الحِيَاد وعدم التحيُّز. لكن في كثيرٍ من هذه السياقات –مثل مدن العبور ومراكز الحَجْز والمخيمات ومواضع إعادة التوطين– كان وصول النساء إلى هؤلاء الأشخاص أو الموارد قليلٌ، أو أنهنّ أُغفِلْنَ أو استبعدن من الدَّعم بسبب جنسهنَّ. ثم إن الذين لهم تفويض إنسانيّ والذين كان يمكن أن يتوسّطوا في تحقيق تكافؤ الوصول لم يسألوا النساء في الدراسة عن حاجاتهنَّ الدينية وتجنَّبوا مناقشة شؤون الإيمان في التقديرات وخُطَط الاستجابة. فكان من ذلك أنِ افتقر كثيرٌ من النساء في هذه الدراسة إلى الدَّعم الخارجيّ لإستراتيجيَّتهنَّ في التصدِّي لصعوبة معيشتهنَّ.

دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة المراعي للإيمان مع النِّساء المُسْلِمات

صحيحٌ أنّ تهميشَ المخاوف الدينية للمُهجَّرات يمكن أن يُضِرَّ، ولكن صحيحٌ أيضاً أنَّ المبالغة في إبراز أهمية الإيمان عند فئة من السكّان أو في إنشاء الفروض حول الحاجات الدينية على أساس دين الأغلبية– يمكن أن تُضِر. وينبغي أن تكون المعونة مستجيبة لمَنْ يرغَب ولا يرغب في الدخول بوجهٍ من الوجوه في الإيمان. وهكذا تبدأ مراعاة الإيمان في المعونة ودَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة بسؤال المُهجَّرات: ما أسباب مشكلاتهنَّ في رأيهنَّ، وما حلولها؟ وهل يُرِدْنَ أن يكون لِلُّغة الدينية والفاعلين الدينيين والسُّنن الروحية شأنٌ، إن وُجِدَت، في حلِّ مشكلاتهنَّ؟

على أنَّ أُسُسَ مراعاة الإيمان في دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة راسخةٌ في المبادئ والتوجيهات المنصوص عليها في المبادئ التوجيهية للجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات في شأن دَعْمُ الصحَّةِ العقليَّة والحالِ النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة في الطوارئ.[2] ففيها إرشادٌ إلى إشراك الداعمين الدينيِّين وإجراء التقديرات التي تأخذ في الاعتبار القضايا والفاعلين الدينيِّين، وتُبرِزُ أهميةَ البناء على الموارد والقدرات المتاحة، وعلى الإسهام، وعلى أنظمة الدَّعم المتكاملة وحقوق الإنسان. ثمَّ أُنشِئ مزيد الإرشادات العملية سنةَ 2018 في مراعاة الإيمان في دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة.[3] وبعد أن استفدنا في هذه الدراسة من هذه الإرشادات والمعطيات، نقدِّم بين يديها عدداً من التوصيات بمعاملة النساء المُسْلِمات خصيصى.

ينبغي للفاعلين في دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة وفي ميادين المعونة الأخرى أن يتحمّلوا مسؤولية التقدير والتيسير والرَّصد في مساواة الوصول إلى الموارد والمواضع الدينية للنِّساء والرجال، وأن يعملوا من قُرْبٍ مع الزعماء الدينيين الرسميِّين وغير الرسميِّين، وأن يُقِرُّوا بأن الوصول إلى الموارد الدينية يقوم على أساس الجنس. ومن المهم تحديد الزعيمات الدينيّات غير الرسميّات في السِّياق المَحليِّ اللاتي يلجأنَ إليهنَّ النساء الأُخرَيَات يطلبنَ الدَّعمَ الروحي والعاطفي. وإِشراكُ هؤلاء النساء في التَّصميم والتنفيذ لبرامج دَعْم الحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة، ومنها التدريب على الإسعاف الأوليّ النفسانيّ.

هذا، وينبغي تَبْصِرَةُ مُوظَّفي دَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة بوجود وملاءمة التعاليم الدينية الرئيسة والأمثال المحليَّة التي يستعملها للتكلُّف الأفراد والمجتمعات المحلية. ويُضَاف إلى ذلك، أنه يمكن أن يكون التَّعريف بالأنبياء والنساء اللاتي يُحتَذَى على مثالهنَّ في الروايات الدينية مصدراً للسُّلوَان، فهُم أيضاً عانوا التَّهجير والاضطهاد والفقدان. فلقد يؤدِّي توسيع مدارك الموظَّفين بما تقدَّم ذكره من أساليب التصدِّي لصعوبة المعيشة إلى تعزيز فاعليّة البرامج.

وينبغي في أدوات الصحَّة العقلية أن يُنظَر إلى ما يُستعمَل في الضائقة من تعابير اصطلاحيَّة، يكثر أن تَبُثَّ اللغة الدينية في أوصاف ما يَعرِض في وجوه اضطراب الصحَّة العقليَّة؛ مثال ذلك أنَّ أهلَ العراق يقولون «الروح (تعبانة)» ويقصدون بها الاكتئاب.

وينبغي مراعاة شأنِ التجارب السيئة المتعلقة بالهُويَّة الدينية عند تقدير ما للضائقة من أسباب أصليّة، وبخاصَّة عند المُعرَّضَات لفظائع الحرب والاضطهاد الديني، والتمييز الديني والعِرْقي. فتوسيع فَهْمِ الوظائف الإيجابيَّة والسلبيَّة للمعتقدات المحليَّة في الذَّنب والعقاب الإلهي، وتأثيرها في درجات الكَرْب وآليات التصدِّي لصعوبة المعيشة، يمكن أن يُعِينَ المُراعِينَ على إعداد استجاباتٍ فعّالة في الرعاية.

ويمكن أن تكون فِرَق دَعْم الحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة بين النظراء التي تُعِدُّها النساء وتقودها مُعزِّزاً قويّاً لحُسْن الحال، ولا سيَّما إن أُدمِجَت في المشاريع التعليمية والمولِّدة للدَّخْل. وأيضاً فقد تشتمل هذه المبادرات على أعمال التصدِّي الديني لصعوبة المعيشة، مثل دَعْم الأقران لإعادة أداءِ الشعائر وإعادة إنشاء أمكنةٍ للمناقشة في شؤون الإيمان ومخاوف أخرى.

 

كاثلين رُتلِج KRutledge@qmu.ac.uk

مديرة شؤون الاستجابة للمعونة الإنسانية، وباحثةٌ نائلةٌ درجة الدكتوراه، في جامعة الملكة مارغريت

 

سَنْدرا إيمان پِرْتِك S.M.Pertek@pgr.bham.ac.uk

مستشارةٌ في شؤون الجنسانيَّة، وباحثةٌ نائلةٌ درجة الدكتوراه، في جامعة بِرْمِنِغهَام

 

محمد أبوهلال Mahilal3@gmail.com
طبيبٌ نفسانيّ سوريّ، ومؤسِّسُ منظَّمة مستقبل سورية الزاهر

 

عطا الله فِتْسغِيبُون Atallah.Fitzgibbon@irworldwide.org

نصيحٌ في إقامة المشاركات للشؤون الإيمانيّة، في مُنظَّمة الإغاثة الإسلامية عبر العالم

 

[1] اشتملت على 246 امرأةً، أكثرهنَّ مسلمات (96%)، والبقية مَسيحيَّات، تقع سِنُّهنَّ بين 18 سنة و64 سنة. واشتملت الدراسة أيضاً على 22 مقابلةً قُوبِلَ فيها مزاولون في ميدان المعونة الإنسانية ودَعْم الصحَّة العقليَّة والحال النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة.

[2] IASC (2007) IASC Guidelines on Mental Health and Psychosocial Support in Emergency Settings  

(المبادئ التوجيهية في اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات في شأن دَعْمُ الصحَّةِ العقليَّة والحالِ النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة في الطوارئ)   

https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/system/files/2020-11/IASC%20Guidelines%20on%20Mental%20Health%20and%20Psychosocial%20Support%20in%20Emergency%20Settings%20%28English%29.pdf

اقرأه باللغة العربية:

 https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/system/files/iasc_guidelines_mhpss_arabic.pdf

[3] Islamic Relief Worldwide and Lutheran World Federation (2018) A faith-sensitive approach in humanitarian response: Guidance on mental health and psychosocial programming .

(طريقة مقاربةٍ تراعي الإيمان في الاستجابة الإنسانية: الإرشاد في برامج دَعْمُ الصحَّةِ العقليَّة والحالِ النفسانيَّة الاجتماعيَّة)

https://reliefweb.int/report/world/faith-sensitive-approach-humanitarian-response-guidance-mental-health-and-psychosocial

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Faith and MHPSS among displaced Muslim women

With religious identity, practices and beliefs having a profound impact on mental health, faith sensitivity in aid and MHPSS is essential.

“Prayer was the rope of survival.” “Religious needs are my primary needs.” “I wish I had been asked.” These statements were shared by displaced women in Iraq, Syria, Tunisia and Turkey in three independent, coordinated research studies in 2019 led by University of Birmingham, Queen Margaret University and Syria Bright Future in collaboration with Islamic Relief Worldwide and the Humanitarian Academy for Development. The studies examined the role of faith in coping and recovery of women in forced migration and conflict contexts.[1]

The women in this study, like many forced migrants, suffered unspeakable hardships, experiencing loss of relatives and belongings, war and violence (including sexual and gender-based violence), life-threatening journeys, separation from family, and powerlessness. Having once belonged to a local faith community, now, on the move, they had held onto the religion, faith and spirituality that move with them. Faith resilience and spiritual suffering – often difficult to comprehend for outsiders – influenced women’s well-being in varied ways. Throughout their experiences, religious identity, religious practices and religious beliefs had a profound impact on mental health, both buffering and contributing to psychological distress.

Faith moves with them

The findings from the study indicate that the women drew widely upon their faith narratives to find meaning in their suffering and inform critical decision-making, including decisions regarding divorce and suicide. They employed a variety of faith practices as primary coping mechanisms, and valued guidance from informal and formal, female and male faith leaders and access to religious spaces and resources. Women described their religious practices as providing comfort, as a conduit of protection from danger, as a means to reduce anxiety, and as a pathway to receive direction for decision-making. “It’s just like pouring water on fire,” shared Jinan, a 51-year-old woman living in an IDP camp in Iraq, referring to her practices of prayer and reading the Qur’an. Religious beliefs similarly formed a primary framework through which the majority of the women in the three studies interpreted life and sought to understand their experiences. A sense of continuing spiritual intimacy with God helped women to persevere through their ongoing struggles.

The women in camps and shelters, however, struggled with logistical barriers to practising their faith, including the lack of privacy and lack of a dedicated space for prayer in their crowded accommodation. In countries of transit and refuge, some felt too tired or preoccupied with daily stresses to perform their individual worship, and lacked opportunities to exercise communal faith practices. They had lost or had to leave behind religious accessories such as sacred texts, prayer beads and prayer mats. Some lost mobile phones in which they kept religious applications or were unable to charge their phones to access religious applications.

Some intimated that their religious practices had declined as a result of their struggle to reconcile their experiences with their belief in God. For some, the decline in their faith was only temporary but for those who were unable to resolve the dissonance between their experiences and their faith, or to restore the stability of their former practice, the decline was linked with symptoms of anxiety and depression. They needed reassurance from sacred knowledge – which felt out of their reach – to help process internalised beliefs associated with abuses they had experienced, as well as self-blame.

Disrupted support

Some of the women in the study shared the desire to speak about spiritual struggles in a formal counselling setting but felt that they were not meant to talk about faith issues. One respondent in Iraq shared: “It is clear, because when they talk to us they never mention anything about religion.” Similarly, a study participant from Syria said that she wished that “religious sayings and examples…can be used in treatment, because my personality is inclined to faith and religion.”

International and local service providers tended to avoid engaging with religion and did so only when explicitly requested by the women. However, staff attitudes and organisational policies shaped what the women considered safe to disclose. For instance, the religious profile of migrants crossing borders in Tunisia was often assumed based on their appearances, and accounting for religious needs was not embedded in reception screening procedures, nor in medical checks or psychosocial support activities. Most women across the four countries spoke of a desire for a broader type of aid engagement focused on increasing or restoring access to external supports related to faith that had been severely disrupted. Many wished for access to spaces where they might gather with other women to pray as they had done before. For women in transit, the locations of prayer spaces or faith leaders were unknown or remote and, unable to locate spiritual leaders, many were left with unresolved emotional turmoil.

The support that was accessible to the women from aid and MHPSS providers largely did not account for the impact of faith on psychological distress nor the relevance of facilitating access to faith resources for coping, instead assuming local faith leaders would take responsibility for such needs. The reasoning was frequently linked to concerns for neutrality and impartiality. In many of these contexts however – transit towns, detention centres, camps and resettlement locations – the women had limited access to such persons or resources, or had been overlooked or estranged from support due to their gender. Those with a humanitarian mandate who could have brokered equal access did not ask the women in the study about their needs related to faith and avoided discussion of faith in assessments and response plans. As a result, many of the women in this study lacked external support for their coping strategies.

Faith-sensitive MHPSS with Muslim women

While marginalising faith concerns of displaced populations can create harm, over-emphasising the importance of faith to a population or making assumptions about faith needs based on the majority religion may also create harm. Aid should be responsive to persons who both do and do not wish to be engaged in any way with faith. Thus faith sensitivity in aid and MHPSS begins with asking the displaced population: what they believe the causes of their problems are, what they feel the solutions should be and what role, if any, they would like for faith language, faith actors and spiritual practices to be a part of that process.

The foundations for faith sensitivity in MHPSS are rooted in the principles and directives set forth in the IASC Guidelines on MHPSS in Emergency Settings.[2] These provide guidance on engaging religious supports and on undertaking assessments that take faith issues and actors into account, and emphasise the importance of building on available resources and capacity, participation, integrated support systems and human rights. Further practical guidance on faith sensitivity in MHPSS was developed in 2018.[3] Drawing on this guidance and the data in this study, we offer a number of recommendations for working specifically with Muslim women.

MHPSS and other aid actors should take responsibility for assessing, facilitating and monitoring equal access to faith resources and spaces for women and men, working closely with formal and informal faith leaders, and recognising that access to religious resources is gendered. It is important to identify informal female faith leaders in the local context to whom other women turn for spiritual and emotional support. Engage those women in PSS programme design and implementation, including in Psychological First Aid trainings.

MHPSS staff should be made aware of the existence and relevance of key faith teachings and local proverbs that are utilised for coping by individuals and communities. In addition, identification with Prophets and female role models in faith narratives can be a source of comfort as they too experienced displacement, persecution and loss. Heightening staff awareness of these coping methods may enhance the effectiveness of the programmes.

Mental health tools should take into account local idioms of distress that often infuse faith language into descriptions of symptoms of mental health disorders; for example, in Iraq “tired soul” was used to describe the experience of depression.

The role of adverse experiences related to religious identity should be considered when assessing root causes of distress, especially for populations exposed to war atrocities and religious persecutions, and religious and racial discrimination. Increased understanding of the positive and negative functions of local beliefs regarding guilt and divine punishment, and their impact on distress levels and coping mechanisms, can help providers tailor effective care responses.

Women’s peer-to-peer psychosocial support groups designed and led by women can be particularly potent in improving well-being, especially when integrated with educational and income-generation projects. These initiatives may also include religious coping activities such as providing peer support to re-establish rituals and space for discussion related to faith and other concerns.

 

Kathleen Rutledge KRutledge@qmu.ac.uk

Humanitarian response director; doctoral researcher, Queen Margaret University

 

Sandra Iman Pertek S.M.Pertek@pgr.bham.ac.uk

Gender consultant; doctoral researcher, University of Birmingham

 

Mohammad Abo-Hilal Mahilal3@gmail.com
 

Syrian psychiatrist; founder of Syria Bright Future

 

Atallah Fitzgibbon Atallah.Fitzgibbon@irworldwide.org

Faith Partnerships Advisor, Islamic Relief Worldwide

 

[1] Involving 246 women, most Muslim (96%), with the remainder Christian, ages ranging from 18-64. The study also included 22 interviews with humanitarian and MHPSS practitioners.

[2] IASC (2007) IASC Guidelines on Mental Health and Psychosocial Support in Emergency Settings  https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/system/files/2020-11/IASC%20Guidelines%20on%20Mental%20Health%20and%20Psychosocial%20Support%20in%20Emergency%20Settings%20%28English%29.pdf

[3] Islamic Relief Worldwide and Lutheran World Federation (2018) A faith-sensitive approach in humanitarian response: Guidance on mental health and psychosocial programminghttps://reliefweb.int/report/world/faith-sensitive-approach-humanitarian-response-guidance-mental-health-and-psychosocial

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700