المهاجرون المفقودون وأسرهم: دعوة إلى زيادة التنسيق الدولي

تقوية التزام التَّنسِيق والتَّعاون ضرورة إذا أُرِيد للفاعلين أن يكونوا أَفعَلَ في تحديد مكان المهاجرين المفقودين وإعانة أسرهم. ومن المبادرات الجديدة ما يفسح سبيلاً للمُضيِّ قُدُماً.

البحث عن المهاجرين المفقودين عملٌ عابر للأوطان، بل وعابر للقارات، يستدعي التعاون بين طائفة عريضة من الفاعلين.[1] وقد كان يفتقر إلى إطار عمل حكومي دولي عالمي في مثل هذا التعاون، لكن هذا تغيَّر مع إدراج الغرض الثامن (بحضٍّ من اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر) في الاتفاق العالمي للهجرة. وبذلك، التزمت أكثر من 150 دولة ببذل جهد مُنسَّق في شأن المهاجرين المفقودين، ومن السبل إلى ذلك توحيد جَمْع المعلومات وتبادلها وإنشاء تَنسِيق عابر لأوطان في تعرُّف الهوية والاتِّصال بالأُسَر.

على أنَّ نقلَ وجوه الالتزام السياسيّ إلى أفعال يقتضي معلومات حتَّى تُحدَّد المشكلة وتُحلَّل. وهذا متحدٍّ سيء السمعة إذ يصعب الحصول على ما يعتدُّ به من عدد المهاجرين المفقودين، لأسبابٍ منها طبيعة السريَّة في الهجرة في كثير من الأحيان. هذا ويكثر أن تَلوِيَ التصورات عُنُقَ المسألة، وهذا ظاهر التركيز في كلِّ من التقارير الإعلامية والاهتمام الرأي العام بسياقات البحر المتوسط أو أمريكا الوسطى، فيُهمَلُ من ثمَّ المدى الواسع لتدفقات الهجرة داخلَ إفريقيا أو آسيا أو الشرق الأوسط. ولذلك كانت المبادرات، من مثل مشروع المهاجرين المفقودين التابع للمنظَّمة الدولية للهجرة أو المرصد الإفريقي للهجرة والتنمية الذي أنشأه الاتحاد الإفريقي بأخرةٍ، بالغةً في الأهمية لإنشاء خط قاعديّ للسياسة العامة وإتاحة التحليل الذي تشتدُّ الحاجة إليه.     

ومع هذا يُحتَاجُ إلى أطر ملموسة لتَنسِيق جهد الفاعلين المعنيِّين على طول طرق الهجرة للوقاية[2] من الفقد ولحلِّ قضايا المهاجرين المفقودين، ومن السبل إلى ذلك جَمْع المعلومات من مصادر مختلفة وتجميعُها والتشارك فيها ومقابلتها بعضها ببعض. ثم إنَّ فحص سُنَن العمل المتّبعة اليومَ وتقديم الإرشاد في كيفية تحقيق ما تقدَّم ذكره غرضٌ يسعى إليه مشروع المفقودين التابع للجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر منذ أطلَقَتْه سنة 2018.[3]

استِجمَاعُ أصحابِ المَصلَحة

أنشأت اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر، بناءً على خبرتها الطويلة في هذا الميدان، مشروع المفقودين لتَجمِيعِ مجتمع عالَمي من أصحاب المصلحة لأجل أن يشتركوا في وَضْع إرشادات لتحسين الاستجابة.[4] وفي مناقشاتٍ أُدِيرَت في ورشةٍ للخبراء سنة 2019[5]، أثبتَ نحو 60 مزاولاً يمثلون دولاً ومنظَّماتٍ وأُسَر المهاجرين المفقودين أنَّ بعض العقبات الرئيسة هي: انتفاء سنن عمل ومعايير راسخة في ميدان جَمْع المعلومات، ومُتحدِّيات حماية المعلومات الشخصية الحسَّاسَة، وضَعْف سُنَن عمل المتَّبعة في الطب الشرعي. وأيضاً فقد ذكر المشاركون وأكَّدوا مُتحدِّيات مُعيَّنة تعترض أُسَر المفقودين، مثل صعوبة الحصول إلى المعلومات من بلد آخر، وانتفاء الثقة بسلطات الدولة، والمعوِّقات الديوانيَّة (البيروقراطية) والقانونية واللغوية. وبالنظر إلى الموارد والخبرات التي قدمها الفاعلون من غير الدول وإلى أهمية إشراك الأُسَر في البحث، حصل اتفاق عامّ على أن أنموذج أصحاب المصلحة المُتعدِّدين للتنسيق قريبٌ أن يُحقِّقَ النتائج المرجوَّة.

ولكي تُحوَّل هذه النتائج إلى عمل، اقترح المشاركون أن يُنشِئ مشروع المفقودين ثلاث مخرجات مُحدَّدات. فأوَّلها، أنّا قد عملنا على مُسوَّدة جملة معطيات للتَّوفيقِ بين المعلومات المتَّصلة بالبحث عن المهاجرين المفقودين.[6] وبدل أن نستبدل بسُنَن العمل المتَّبعة غيرَها بنَيْنا عليها، فجمعنا بين استئمارات الإنتربول واستئمارات تستعملها حركة الصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر، فخرجت وثيقة تحتوي على أسئلة موحَّدة تستوعب معلومات مثل التفاصيل الشخصية للمهاجر المفقود، ومميِّزاته الجسمانيَّة والأحوال الملابِسة لاختفائه. وثاني المُخرَجات نشر مؤلَّف اسمه (مبادئ تفاعل أصحاب المصلحة وأُسَر المهاجرين المفقودين).[7] وهو مؤلَّف يُعالِج ما تقدَّم ذكره من تحدِّيات تعترض الأُسَر، ويُقدِّم بين يَدَيهِ الإِرشادَ للفاعلين في كيفية معاملتها، وورد فيه تَوكِيدُ مركزيَّة شأنِ الأُسَر في كلِّ بحثٍ عن مفقود.

وأما الوثيقة الثالثة فنقول إنَّها أكثر الوثائق الثلاث تعقيداً، وهي جملةٌ من (المبادئ التوجيهية في التَّنسِيق وآليات تبادل المعلومات للبحث عن المهاجرين المفقودين).[8] وتتألَّف هذه الآليات –الموضوعة لبيان مصير المهاجرين المفقودين والنواحي التي انتهوا إليها، سواء كانوا أحياء أو أموات– من شبكة سهلية التكيُّف من أنواع مختلفة من أصحاب المصلحة المتعاونين على تبادل المعلومات وتحليلها في مسالك الهجرة، الذين يمكن أن تختلف شؤونهم وأهميَّتهم النسبية على حسب السياق. وتُحدِّد وثيقتنا العناصر الرَّئيسةَ لهذه الآلية: فهم مشترك للأدوار ووجده المسؤوليَّة، وطريقة مقاربة مُنسَّقة لتدبير المعلومات قد تشمل أدوات تقبل التشغيل البينيّ، ومسارات مُحدَّدة بيِّنة لتبادل المعلومات، واتفاقيات قانونية تقوم عليها كلّ العناصر المتقدّمة الذكر. وأيضاً تَصِف مسوَّدة المبادئ التوجيهية الخطوات الأولية التي يلزم اتِّخاذها في الصعيد الوطني، مثل التَّوفيقِ ومركزيَّة المعطيات التي يجمعها فاعلون شتَّى. وإذ قد كان سياق الهجرة حساساً، فقد أُكِّدَت في الوثيقة الحاجة إلى شِدَّة حماية المعطيات الشخصية.[9]

وقد بُنِيَت وثيقة الإرشاد على جملةٍ من المبادئ التوجيهية التي يعتمدها اليومَ المؤتمر الإقليمي للهجرة في الأمريكيَّتَين، وذلك لتستقيم الوثيقة على التزام المشروع بالتوصيات الأساسيَّة، ما أمكن، في سُنَن العمل المتَّبعة اليومَ. وهذا إنما هو أول إطار عمل حكومي إقليمي يُحدِّدُ أساليب ملموسة للتعاون في مسألة المهاجرين المفقودين. ويُمَاثِل ذلك أنَّ المبادئ التوجيهية تُبيِّن توصيات مُحدَّدة مشيرةً إلى سُنَن العمل المُتَّبعة.

ما المحُتاجُ إليه بعدُ؟

ثم إنَّ المناقشات التي دارت بيننا وبين الخبراء والمزاولين لا تدع لنا أدنى حيّزٍ للشكِّ في أن بالجهد المبذول لبلوغ الغرض الثامن حاجةٌ إلى التَّعزيز والتَّنسيق. وصحيح أنَّ بعض التقرير ترد من بعض البلدان بالإجراءات المُتَّخذة هناك في الصعيد الوطنيّ –مثل تعزيز أنظمة الطب الشرعي الوطنية–، ولكن هذا الجهد يلزم منه انتفاء الكفاية إن بُذِل بلا عمل دولي مُنسَّق. فزِيَادةُ العَزْم والتنسيقَ في عمل الحكومات حاجة لا تزال تُلِحُّ.

ولمَّا انتفت الإجراءات الحاسمة عند الحكومات، كثَّف المجتمع المدني وغيره من الفاعلين غير الحكوميِّين العملَ لملء الفراغ في نواحٍ من العالم كثيرةٍ. على أنَّ عملهم كثيراً ما يكون ضيِّقَ النطاق مُفتقراً إلى الموارد والدعم من السلطات المَعنيَّة. فإنَّا مقتنعون أن شأنَ أقوى الفاعلين الدوليِّين مثل اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر ضروريٌّ في إعانة الدول على أن تستوفي من التزمَتهُ، وهذا مُتمٌّ لما تقدَّم ذكره من بذل الجهد. فشأنٌ كهذا إنما يحتاج إلى أن يُجاوِز الدعوة إلى اجتماعٍ أو المشورة التقنية فيَبلُغَ الدعم الملموس –مثل ما لع علاقة بتدبير المعطيات والمعلومات– ليُمكِّنَ التنسيقَ بين الدول وغيرها. مثال ذلك: أنَّ اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر تعمل اليومَ على إنشاء منصة رقمية تفتح السبيل للسلطات والفاعلين الآخرين أن يتبادلوا ويدبّروا المعطيات والمعلومات المتَّصلة بأمور المفقودين، وجعل كلِّ ذلك آمناً في الصعيد الوطني والعابر للأوطان.

ثم إنَّ إنشاء منهجيات وأعمالاً للتَّحقيق وتعرُّف الهوية تُستعمَل فيها هذه المعلومات استعمالاً فعَّالاً، وتُكيَّفُ بطائفةٍ عريضة من السياقات والموارد الحاضرة– ما يزال مُتحدِّياً شديداً.[10] على أنَّ بذلَ الجهد والاستثمارات الطويلة الأمد ليُضمَنَ تحقيق التنسيق وتبادل المعلومات على طول مسالك الهجرة ضرورةٌ، إذا أردنا إجابة الأُسَر التي تبحث عن عزيزٍ لها مفقود.

 

سِلْفِي ڤَن لامِرَيْه svanlammeren@icrc.org

نَصِيحةٌ، في مشروع المفقودين، من اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر

 

فلوريان فُن كُونِش fvonkoenig@icrc.org 

نَائبُ رئيسٍ، في مشروع المفقودين، من اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر

 

[1] لا تعريفَ قانونياً دولياً لمصطلح «المهاجرين المفقودين». وتعرِّف اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر المفقودينَ بأنهم أفراد لا يعرف أقاربهم المواضع التي انتهوا إليها، أو بأنهم الذين يُبَلَّغُ فقدهم، بناءً على معلومات يُعتَدُّ بها، نتيجةَ نزاعٍ مسلح أو غير ذلك من حالات العنف أو كارثة أو هجرة.

[2] من شاء الاطلاع على توصيات السياسات العامَّة في وقاية المهاجرين من أن يُفقَدوا فليَنْظر:

ICRC (2017) Missing Migrants and their Families, Recommendation 1 www.icrc.org/en/publication/missing-migrants-and-their-families-icrcs-recommendations-policy-makers

[3] www.icrc.org/en/publication/4375-missing-persons-project

[4] يجمع مشروع المفقودين بمنصَّة افتراضية بين الخبراء وممثلي الأُسَر وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين حتَّى تُثَارَ المناقشة ويُبنَى توافق الآراء في سُنَن العمل الحُسْنى وتُعزَّز المعايير التقنيَّة القائمة وتُنشَأَ وتُطوَّر معايير جديدة عند الحاجة إليها. فإن شئت الانضمام إلى جماعة المزاولين العالميَّة اتَّصل بأحد المؤلِّفَين.

[5] اشتركَ في تنظيمه اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر ومشروع المهاجرين المفقودين التابع للمنظمة الدولية للهجرة والفِرقَة الأرجنتينيَّة لأَناسَة الطبِّ الشرعي. انظر:

 ICRC (2020) Clarifying the fate and whereabouts of missing migrants: Exchanging information along migratory routes

(بيان مصير المهاجرين المفقودين والنواحي التي انتهوا إليها: تبادل المعلومات في مسالك الهجرة)

 www.icrc.org/en/publication/clarifying-fate-and-whereabouts-missing-migrants-exchanging-information-along-migratory

[6] باب التشاور في جملة المعطيات مفتوح للنَّاس حتَّى 15 نيسان/أبريل 2021:

www.icrc.org/en/document/draft-minimum-standard-dataset-search-missing-migrants

 اقرأها بالعربية:

 www.icrc.org/ar/document/مسودة-مجموعة-البيانات-المعيارية-الدنيا-للبحث-عن-المهاجرين-المفقودين 

[7] باب التشاور في مسوَّدة الوثيقة مفتوح للنَّاس حتَّى 15 نيسان/أبريل 2021:

www.icrc.org/en/draft-principles-stakeholder-interaction-families-missing-migrants

[8] باب التشاور في مسوَّدة الوثيقة مفتوح للنَّاس حتَّى 31 أيار/مايو 2021:

www.icrc.org/en/document/guidelines-coordination-missing-migrants

[9] انظر:

 ICRC (2020) Handbook on Data Protection in Humanitarian Action, 2nd Edition

(دليل حماية المعطيات في العمل الإنسانيّ)

www.icrc.org/en/publication/430501-handbook-data-protection-humanitarian-action-second-edition

bit.ly/ICRC-Handbook-data-protection-2nd-edition

[10] إن شئت مثالاً على سُبُل الأخذ بعملٍ كهذا، فانظر:

ICRC (2020) The Missing and Deceased Migrants and their Families Program in South Africa and Zimbabwe

(برنامج المهاجرين المفقودين والموتى وأُسَرهم في جنوب إفريقيا وزِمْبابوي)

 www.icrc.org/en/document/southern-africa-icrcs-activities-favour-migrants

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Missing migrants and their families: a call for greater international cooperation

A strengthened commitment to coordination and collaboration is essential if actors are to be more effective in locating missing migrants and assisting their families. New initiatives offer a path forward.

The search for missing migrants is a transnational, even transcontinental, undertaking requiring cooperation among a broad range of actors.[1] A global intergovernmental framework for such cooperation had been lacking, but this changed with the inclusion (at ICRC’s instigation) of Objective 8 in the Global Compact on Migration. With this, more than 150 States committed to establishing coordinated efforts on missing migrants, including by standardising the collection and exchange of information and establishing transnational coordination for identification and communication with families.

Translating political commitments into action, however, requires information in order to quantify and analyse the problem. This is a notorious challenge as reliable numbers of missing migrants are hard to come by, due, among other things, to the often clandestine nature of migration. Moreover, perceptions of the issue are often distorted, reflecting a focus in both media reporting and public attention on the Mediterranean or Central American contexts, thus neglecting the vast extent of intra-African, Asian or Middle Eastern migration flows. Initiatives such as the Missing Migrants Project of the International Organization for Migration (IOM) or the African Union’s recently created African Observatory for Migration and Development are therefore critical to create a baseline for policy and provide much needed analysis.         

At the same time, concrete frameworks are needed to coordinate the efforts of relevant actors along migratory routes to prevent[2] and resolve cases of missing migrants including by collecting, compiling, sharing and comparing information from different sources. Examining existing practices and providing guidance on how to achieve this is an objective that the ICRC’s Missing Persons Project (MPP) has pursued since its launch in 2018.[3]

Bringing stakeholders together

Building on its longstanding experience in this area, the ICRC established the MPP to assemble a global community of stakeholders to jointly develop guidance to improve the response.[4] In discussions at an expert workshop in 2019,[5] some 60 practitioners representing States, organisations and families of missing migrants confirmed some major obstacles: the absence of established practices and standards in the area of information collection, challenges to protect sensitive personal information, and poor forensic practices. Participants also stressed the specific challenges faced by families of missing persons, such as the difficulty of accessing information held in another country, lack of trust in state authorities, and bureaucratic, legal and linguistic barriers. In view of the resources and expertise brought by non-State actors and the importance of involving families in the search, there was broad agreement that a multi-stakeholder model for coordination was most likely to deliver results.

To transform these findings into action, participants proposed that the MPP develop three specific outputs. Firstly, we have worked on a draft dataset to harmonise information relevant to the search for missing migrants.[6] Building on, rather than seeking to replace, existing practices ranging from Interpol forms to those used by the Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, this document contains standardised questions covering information such as personal details of the missing migrant, physical characteristics and circumstances of disappearance. A second output is the publication of Principles on Stakeholder Interaction with Families of Missing Migrants.[7] This addresses the abovementioned challenges faced by families and provides guidance for actors on how to engage with them, emphasising the families’ central role in any search process.

The third and arguably most complex document is a set of Guidelines on Coordination and Information Exchange Mechanisms for the Search for Missing Migrants.[8] These mechanisms – designed to clarify the fate and whereabouts of missing migrants, both dead and alive – comprise a flexible network of different types of stakeholders who cooperate in exchanging and analysing information along a migratory route and whose respective roles and relative importance can vary depending on the context. Our document sets out key elements of such a mechanism: a shared understanding of roles and responsibilities; a coordinated approach to information management that may include inter-operable tools; clearly defined information-sharing pathways; and legal agreements that underpin all of these. The draft guidelines also describe preliminary steps that need to be taken at the national level such as the harmonisation and centralisation of data collected by different actors. Given the sensitivity of the migratory context, the document stresses the need to vigorously protect personal data.[9]

In line with the project’s commitment to basing recommendations, wherever possible, on existing practices, the guidance document builds on a set of guidelines currently under adoption by the Regional Conference on Migration in the Americas. This is the first regional inter-governmental framework to set out concrete modalities for cooperation on the missing migrant issue. In the same vein, the Guidelines illustrate specific recommendations with reference to existing practices.

What else is needed?

The discussions we have held with experts and practitioners leave us in no doubt that efforts to implement Objective 8 need to be reinforced and coordinated. While some countries are reporting on measures taken at national level – such as strengthening national forensic systems – such efforts are bound to be insufficient without coordinated international action. More determined and coordinated action by governments is a pressing need.

In the absence of decisive action by governments, civil society and other non-State actors have stepped up to fill the void in many parts of the world. However, often their action is limited in scope, and lacks resources and support from relevant authorities. We are therefore convinced that a stronger role for international actors such as the ICRC is required in order to assist States to act upon their commitments in complementarity with the aforementioned efforts. Such a role may need to go beyond convener and technical advice functions to the provision of concrete support – such as in relation to data and information management – to enable cooperation among States and others. As an example, the ICRC is currently developing a digital platform that will allow authorities and other actors to share and manage data and information on missing persons securely both nationally and transnationally.

Moreover, developing investigation and identification methodologies and processes that can use this information effectively and that can be tailored to a broad range of contexts and available resources remains a significant challenge.[10] Long-term efforts and investments to ensure cooperation and information exchange along migratory routes are essential, however, if we are to provide answers to families searching for missing loved ones.

 

Sylvie van Lammeren svanlammeren@icrc.org

Adviser, Missing Persons Project, International Committee of the Red Cross

 

Florian von König fvonkoenig@icrc.org  

Deputy Head, Missing Persons Project, International Committee of the Red Cross

 

[1] There is no international legal definition of ‘missing migrants’. The ICRC understands missing persons as individuals whose whereabouts are unknown to their relatives and/or who, on the basis of reliable information, have been reported missing as a result of armed conflicts, other situations of violence, disasters, or migration.  

[2] For ICRC policy recommendations on preventing migrants from going missing, see ICRC (2017) Missing Migrants and their Families, Recommendation 1 www.icrc.org/en/publication/missing-migrants-and-their-families-icrcs-recommendations-policy-makers

[3] www.icrc.org/en/publication/4375-missing-persons-project

[4] Through a virtual platform, the MPP brings together experts, family representatives and other stakeholders to stimulate discussion, build consensus on best practices, promote existing technical standards and develop new ones where needed. To join this global community of practice, please contact one of the authors.

[5] Organised jointly by ICRC, the IOM Missing Migrants Project and the Argentine Forensic Anthropology Team. See ICRC (2020) Clarifying the fate and whereabouts of missing migrants: Exchanging information along migratory routes www.icrc.org/en/publication/clarifying-fate-and-whereabouts-missing-migrants-exchanging-information-along-migratory

[6] Draft dataset open for public consultation until 15 April 2021: www.icrc.org/en/document/draft-minimum-standard-dataset-search-missing-migrants

[7] Draft document open for public consultation until 15 April 2021: www.icrc.org/en/draft-principles-stakeholder-interaction-families-missing-migrants

[8] Draft document open for public consultation until 31 May 2021: www.icrc.org/en/document/guidelines-coordination-missing-migrants

[9] See ICRC (2020) Handbook on Data Protection in Humanitarian Action, 2nd Edition www.icrc.org/en/publication/430501-handbook-data-protection-humanitarian-action-second-edition

[10] For an example of how to undertake such work, see: ICRC (2020) The Missing and Deceased Migrants and their Families Program in South Africa and Zimbabwe www.icrc.org/en/document/southern-africa-icrcs-activities-favour-migrants

 

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700