شَأنُ الوُسَطاءِ الثقافيِّين ووجوه مسؤوليَّتهم

الوَساطَة الثقافيَّة أمر عظيم الشَّأن في تحسين الوصول إلى خدمات الصحة العقليَّة ورَفْع جودتها.

يتزايد الإقرار بالحاجة إلى الوساطة الثقافية –وهي طَريقةُ مقاربةٍ تتجاوز الاقتصار على خدمات الترجمة– لقضاء حاجات المُهاجِرين وطَالِبي اللُّجوء واللاجئين.[1] ويعمل الوسطاء الثقافيون مع طائفة عريضة من المنظَّمات، ومنها المنظمات غير الحكومية والمستشفيات والمراكز الصحية والشرطة، فيُعِينُون المُهجَّرين في الخدمات الطبية وشبه الطبية، وفي تعزيز الصحة، وفي الخدمات النفسانيَّة والمشورة القانونية.

وقد أجرت منظمة أطباء بلا حدود، التي ما تزال تُوصِل وُجُوهاً من الدعم للمُهاجِرين في جميع إيطاليا منذ سنة 1999، دراسةً لفهم شأن الوَساطة الثقافيَّة في بيسير إيصال خدمات الصحَّة العقليَّة ولفهم المُتحدِّيات التي تَعتَرِضُ مُوصِلي خدمات الوَساطة الثقافية، ولتعلُّم المزيد عن خبرات من الوسطاء الثقافيِّين أنفسهم وعمّا يحتاجون إليه في الدَّعم.[2] فأُجرِيَ  25 مقابلةً مُفصَّلةً مُمْعناً فيها مع وسطاء ثقافيين وموظفي منظَّمة أطباء بلا حدود والمُخبِّرين الرَّئيسين من المؤسَّسات والمنظَّمات الأكاديمية الذين كانوا خبراء في استعمال الوساطة الثقافية مع المُهجَّرين.[3]

شَأنُ الوسطاء الثقافيِّين عظيم

التواصل والترجمة من المهمات الرَّئيسة في عمل كلِّ وسيط ثقافي، وفي هذا تبادلٌ نافعٌ وإعانةٌ على بناء الثِّقة. فالتَّواصُلُ الثلاثيّ الذي يحصل بين الوسطاء الثقافيِّين وعملائهم وأعضاء الفرقة الآخرين (مثل علماء النفس) علاقةٌ ثلاثية عظيمة الأهميَّة تُعِين المستفيدين على الوصول إلى الخدمات الأساسية والإفادة منها. وتُعِين هذه العلاقة على بناء الثقة بين الوسيط الثقافي والعميل، فتُحسِّن من ثمَّ التواصل بين العميل ومُقدِّم الخدمة.

وكثيراً ما يكون الوسطاء الثقافيون حلقة الوصل الأولى بين الناس يتواصلون مع خدمات الصحة العقليَّة. وكثيراً ما يكون الوسطاء قادرين على تيسير فَهْم أكثر ملاءمة وسَبْقاً للحاجات وعلى مَنْع حصول الأخطاء أو على تجنُّب فوات الفرص للوصول في الوقت المناسب إلى الرعاية والخدمات. وكان هذا الاتصال الأوَّلي مفيداً في تقدير حاجات للمهجَّرين التي تقتضي قضاءها فوراً، ولا سيَّما فيما يتعلق بالضائقة النفسانيَّة.

ويُعِين بعض الوسطاء الثقافيين الأطباء أو العاملين في ميدان الصحة العقلية في أثناء الاستشارة الفردية، أو العمل مع النَّاجين من التعذيب والنساء اللاتي اتُّجِرَ بهن. ويعمل آخرون مع هيئاتٍ قانونية وأمنية، ويقدمون المعلومات والترجمة في أثناء جلسات الاستماع القانونية. فيترجمون الكلام والمفاهيم بين العملاء ومقدمي الخدمات، فهذا يحقِّق أن يُفهَمَ العَميلُ وأن يقدرَ على الوصول إلى الرعاية والدعم الذي يحتاج إليه.

عَملٌ صعب يثير الانفعالات

ثمَّ إنَّ العمل صعب على الوسطاء أنفسهم. فكثيراً ما يأتون من جماعات اللاجئين وقد مرّ كثير منهم برحلات وتجارب هجرة مماثلة لما مرّ به الذين يحاولون دَعْمَهم يكثر أن تكونَ راضِحةً (صادمة)، فيصعب عليهم من ثمَّ تعيين بُعْدٍ مناسبٍ وموضوعيٍّ ومهنيّ بينهم وبين كل مات سبق ذكره. وإذ قد كانوا مرُّوا بلجوء صعب في إيطاليا بأنفسهم، فقد جاز ألا يكونوا متثبّتين من أنه هل ينبغي له إخبار عملائهم بهذه التجارب، وإن كان كذلك فكيف؟ فيُتَّهمون أحياناً بالتحيُّز أو يُطلَب إليهم الكذب أو إخفاء المعلومات، فيوضعون في موضع صعب جدّاً.

هذا من جهة، ومن جهة أخرى قال أحد العاملين في منظمة أطباء بلا حدود إنَّ كَوْنَ بعض الوسطاء الثقافيين سافروا بالطريقة نفسها وثمَّ أصبحوا في وضع مُستقِر «أمر ذو رسالة حَسَنة للناس ... فوجود الوسيط هناك، ولو لم يتحدَّث في بعض الأحيان، كان بالحقّ ذا قيمةٍ زائدة في هذه الحالة، إذ يقلِّل التوتُّر والخوف...».

هذا، ولا يرغب العملاء دوماً في أن يُعِينهم وسيطٌ ثقافي أو أن يتواصلوا معه من قُرْب، ولا يرغبون دوماً في التحدث بلغتهم الأمّ في أثناء الجلسات النفسانيَّة أو السريريَّة. وقال في ذلك أحد الخبراء في الوساطة الثقافية مُبيِّناً: «إنَّها لغة جلَّاديهم». ويُفضِّل بعضهم التعبير عن أنفسهم باللغة الفرنسية أو الإنجليزية بلا وسيط ثقافي يُعِينُ على الترجمة. وصحيحٌ أنَّ عندَ عُملاءِ منظَّمة أطباء بلا حدود أصلاً الحقُّ في رفض دعم الوسيط الثقافي في أثناء جلساتهم، ولكن هناك حاجة إلى مَزيدِ عملٍ لإعلامهم (وطمأنتهم من ثَمَّ) قواعدَ السلوك والسريَّة، ذلك يُعِينُهم على تقرير أمرِهم بينَ رغبتهم في أن يُعِينهم وسيط ثقافيّ وأن يرفضوا ذلك.

وصحيحٌ أنَّ في أُلفَة تجارب الوسطاء طُمَأنينةٌ للعملاء، ولكن التجربة المشتركة بين الوسطاء الثقافيين والذين يعينونهم تجعل عملهم صعباً من حيث الانفعالات، وتجعل احتمالَ مخاطر الرُّضوح (الصدمات) غير المباشرة ونفاد الوسع غير المباشرة قريبَ التحقُّق جداً. وقد يَأخُذُ الوسطاء الثقافيون بإستراتيجيات شخصية للتصدِّي للصعوبة، ولكن دعمَ الحال النفسانية المُدمَج جيداً والإِشرافَ ضروريان لحماية الوسطاء الثقافيين حماية كاملة، ولا سيَّما المُعرَّضين لقضايا حسَّاسَة جداً تتعلق بالصحَّة العقليَّة أو العنف أو التعذيب.

ويلزم عقد اجتماعات منتظمة بين الوسطاء الثقافيين ونظرائهم –مثل علماء النفس والمختصِّين بالعلاج الطبيعي أو الأطباء– قبلَ مُفَاعلَة العملاء وبعدَها. على أنَّ أحدَ القيود على ذلك أنَّ العمل بدوام كامل ليس حاضراً دوماً للوسطاء الثقافيين، وهذا إنما يؤدي إلى شعور كثيرين منهم بانتفاء الاستقرار لحالهم الوظيفي أيضاً.

ثم إنَّ الوصول في الوقت المناسب إلى خدمات الصحَّة العقليَّة للاجئين وطالبي اللجوء مُكوِّنٌ أساسيّ في إيصال الخدمات الطبيَّة الأساسيَّة في إيطاليا، كما هي الحال في كلِّ مكان آخر. والوسطاء الثقافيون ضرورةٌ في تحقيق ذلك ولكنَّ الضغوط عليهم وعلى شأنهم ذاك كثيرة. ومن المُعِينات أيضاً زيادة التركيز على التدريب وتنمية المهارات للوسطاء الثقافيِّين والمُوظَّفين الذين يعملون معهم، فمن شأن ذلك أن يُحقِّق وضوحاً أحسن لشؤون إيصال الخدمة وجَوْدتها، ويُقلِّل احتمالَ زيادة الرُّضوح النفسانيَّة.

 

إيميلي فِنَبلِس emiliecvenables@gmail.com

من وحدة لوكسمبورغ للبحوث العملية، في منظَّمة أطباء بلا حدود بلوكسمبورغ، وقسم العلوم الاجتماعيَّة والسلوكيَّة، في كلية الصحَّة العامة، بجامعة كَيْب تَوْن 

 

كاثِرِين وَيْتهَوس kitwhitehouse@gmail.com

من وحدة لوكسمبورغ للبحوث العملية، في منظَّمة أطباء بلا حدود بلوكسمبورغ

 

كَتْرِينا سبِهْسُو caspissu@gmail.com

من بعثة إيطاليا، التابعة لمنظَّمة أطباء بلا حدود

 

لِلْيان بِتْزِي lilian.pizzi@gmail.com

من بعثة إيطاليا، التابعة لمنظَّمة أطباء بلا حدود

 

أحمد الروسان ahmad.alrousan@rome.msf.org

من بعثة إيطاليا، التابعة لمنظَّمة أطباء بلا حدود

 

إستيفانو دِكَارلو ste.dicarlo@gmail.com

من بعثة إيطاليا، التابعة لمنظَّمة أطباء بلا حدود

 

[1] نستعمل مصطلح «الوَسَاطَة الثقافية» ومصطلح «الوسطاء الثقافيِّين» ونقصد بهما ما بيَّنته المبادئ التوجيهية في منظَّمة أطباء بلا حدود حينَ أُجرِيت الدراسة. فبعد الدراسة صار يُشَار في الوصف الوظيفي المُحدَّث إلى الوَسَاطة بين الثَّقافَات.

[2] يطيب لفرقة البحث أن تُعرِب عن تقديرها وُجُوهَ الإسهام القيّم للمشاركين في الدراسة، وتقديرها دَعْمَ منظَّمة أطباء بلا حدود في إيطاليا. ونشكر بخاصةٍ لفرَنْشِسْكَا زوكارو وأدولين دِغْرَتيَيْه دعمَهما وإسهامَهما في هذه الدراسة البحثية.

[3] انظر العَرْض هنا https://f1000research.com/slides/5-1331.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Roles and responsibilities of cultural mediators

Cultural mediation is critical to optimising both access to and quality of mental health services.

There is increasing recognition of the need for cultural mediation – an approach that goes beyond purely providing translation or interpreting services – to meet the needs of migrants, asylum seekers and refugees.[1] Cultural mediators work with a wide variety of organisations including NGOs, hospitals, health centres and the police, and provide assistance to displaced populations in areas including medical and para-medical services, health promotion, psychological services and legal advice.

Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF), which has provided a range of support to migrants throughout Italy since 1999, conducted a study to understand the role of cultural mediation in facilitating mental health provision and the challenges faced by those providing cultural mediation services, and to learn more about the experiences and support needs of cultural mediators themselves.[2] Twenty-five in-depth interviews were conducted with cultural mediators, MSF staff and key informants from academic institutions and organisations who were experts in the use of cultural mediation with displaced populations.[3]

Pivotal role of cultural mediators

Communication and translation are the main tasks of any cultural mediator’s work, enabling meaningful exchange and helping to build trust. The three-way communication that occurs between cultural mediators, their clients and other team members (such as psychologists) is an extremely important triangular relationship which helps beneficiaries to access and benefit from essential services. This relationship helps to build trust between the cultural mediator and the client, in turn improving communication between the client and the service-provider.

Cultural mediators are often the first point of contact that people have with mental health services. The mediators are often able to facilitate a more adequate and earlier understanding of needs and prevent mistakes being made or avoid missed opportunities for timely access to care and services. This initial contact was beneficial in assessing the immediate needs of displaced populations, particularly relating to acute psychological distress.

Some cultural mediators assist clinicians or mental health staff during individual consultations, or work with survivors of torture and women who have been trafficked. Others work with legal and security agencies, providing information and translation during legal hearings. They translate both words and concepts between clients and service providers, ensuring that the client is understood and can access the care and support they need.

Emotional and challenging work

The work is also challenging for the mediators themselves. Often they are drawn from the refugee community and many of them have been through similar, often traumatic, migration journeys and experiences as the people they are trying to support; it is more difficult therefore for them to establish a proper, objective and professional distance. Where they have been through a difficult asylum process in Italy themselves, they can be unsure if – or how – they should share these experiences with their clients. They are sometimes accused of bias or are asked to lie or conceal information, which puts them in a very difficult position.

On the other hand, as an MSF staff member said, the fact that some of the cultural mediators had travelled the same way and were in a stable situation “was a positive message for the people… the very fact of being there, even sometimes without speaking, was already of added value in this situation, to decrease the tension, the fear...”

Clients do not always want assistance from, or close proximity to, a cultural mediator, and do not always want to speak their home language during psychological or clinical sessions. As one expert in cultural mediation explained, “it’s the language of their torturers”. Some prefer expressing themselves in French or English without a cultural mediator to assist with translation. Although MSF clients already have the right to decline the support of a cultural mediator during their sessions, more work is needed to inform (and thereby reassure) them about codes of conduct and confidentiality to help in deciding whether or not to have the assistance of a cultural mediator.

While familiarity with their experiences provides reassurance for clients, the shared experience between cultural mediators and those whom they assist makes their work emotionally challenging and the risks for them of vicarious trauma and burnout are extremely high. Cultural mediators may adopt personal coping strategies, but well-integrated psychological support and supervision are necessary to fully protect cultural mediators, particularly those exposed to extremely sensitive issues around mental health, violence or torture.

Regular meetings between cultural mediators and their counterpart colleagues – such as psychologists, physiotherapists or clinicians – need to take place before and after interactions with clients. However, as many cultural mediators do not work full time, or may be working with different organisations simultaneously, such meetings can be challenging to attend. In addition, this precarious employment status adds further to the challenges they face. 

Timely access to mental health services for refugees and asylum seekers is a fundamental component of essential medical provision, in Italy as elsewhere. Cultural mediators are essential to this but the pressures on them in that role are many. A greater focus on training and skills development for cultural mediators and for those staff working with them would also help ensure an improved clarity of roles and quality of service provision, and would reduce the potential for increased trauma.

 

Emilie Venables emiliecvenables@gmail.com

Luxembourg Operational Research Unit, Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) Luxembourg; Division of Social and Behavioural Sciences, School of Public Health and Family Medicine, University of Cape Town  

 

Katherine Whitehouse kitwhitehouse@gmail.com

Luxembourg Operational Research Unit, MSF Luxembourg

 

Caterina Spissu caspissu@gmail.com

Italy Mission, MSF

 

Lilian Pizzi lilian.pizzi@gmail.com

Italy Mission, MSF

 

Ahmad Al Rousan ahmad.alrousan@rome.msf.org

Italy Mission, MSF

 

Stefano di Carlo ste.dicarlo@gmail.com

Italy Mission, MSF

 

[1] We use the terms ‘cultural mediation’ and ‘cultural mediators’ to reflect MSF’s guidelines at the time when the study was conducted. Subsequently updated job descriptions refer to ‘inter-cultural mediation’.

[2] The research team would like to acknowledge the invaluable contributions of the study participants as well as the support of MSF Italy. We would particularly like to thank Francesca Zuccaro and Adeline De Gratet for their support and input into this research study.

[3] See presentation at https://f1000research.com/slides/5-1331.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700