تونسي وأفتخر!

لقد جاءت الحرب الأهلية التي اندلعت في ليبيا العام الماضي العالم بأسره على حين غرة، فلم يكن أحد مستعد، وتونس كانت أقل الجيران استعداداً، نظراً لانشغالها في ثورتها. وبحلول 27 فبراير/شباط، كان أكثر من 10000 شخص يعبرون الحدود بين تونس وليبيا كل يوم. واستجابت تونس بفتح حدودها مع ليبيا، وحشد التونسيون من جميع أنحاء البلاد الدعم لآلاف الأجانب القادمين إلى منطقتهم الجغرافية في ظروف صعبة للغاية.

ووجد التونسيون الذين رغبوا في المساعدة في جهود الإغاثة كافة السبل للقيام بذلك، حيث تراوحت هذه السبل من الشركات المقدمة لكميات كبيرة من الحليب إلى امرأة مسنّة كانت تتنقل عبر الحافلات لإحضار الطعام المطهي منزلياً للاجئين. وأخذ الموظفون العاملون في إحدى شركات النقل على عاتقهم حشد أسطول من المركبات لنقل الأشخاص القادمين من ليبيا إلى الملاجئ وإلى مطار جربة وإلى المناطق الأخرى في تونس. كذلك، انتشرت الملاجئ الليلية في المدارس والمراكز الترفيهية والفنادق.

وهذا أحد الأطباء الذي قطع مئات الكيلومترات لتقديم خدماته. وعندما اكتشف أن سياسة الهلال الأحمر التونسي تنص على عدم استيعاب المتطوعين الجدد وغير المدربين في حين أن عملية الاستجابة الإنسانية جارية، لم يقبل بذلك عائقاً يمنعه من الاستمرار. فما كان منه إلا أن قدم منحة شخصية لجهود الإغاثة وبدأ العمل في جمع القمامة التي خلفتها الأعداد الغفيرة للأشخاص المارين.

ولمتطوع الهلال الأحمر "حافظ" ذكريات حية حول أحد الطهاة التونسيين الذين قدموا إلى مخيم شوشة الطارئ. هذا الطاهي أحضر خبزاً وأرزاً أعدهما مسبقاً، مخططاً لقضاء يوم واحد فقط في شوشة. وأوضح حافظ بقوله: "لكنني تأثرت بمنظر الآلاف من الأشخاص المرهقين والمصدومين والجوعى، مما جعلني أعود في اليوم التالي مع أصدقائي". وأكمل حافظ: "أنشأت هذه المجموعة من الطباخين المتطوعين خيمة، واتجهوا إلى إعداد الوجبات للمقيمين في المخيم، حيث وفروا وجبات مطهية للمخيم تكفيه لأسبوعين، باستخدام المؤن التي قدمها لهم المواطنون المحليون. ثم بدأت اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر في تمويلهم، وهكذا أُنشئ المطبخ الرئيسي لمخيم شوشة الذي قدم من 23000 إلى 28000 وجبة يومياً."

وفي ولاية تطاوين الواقعة في أقصى جنوب تونس، رحب التونسيون بحوالي 80000 ليبي في منازلهم، مما نجم عنه صعوبات مالية جسيمة تكبدوها مع تزايد نفقات فواتير المرافق العامة. وعندما عرض موظفو المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين المساعدة على الأسر التونسية لتغطية نفقات المياه والغاز والكهرباء الخاصة بهم، اعتبرها الكثيرون إهانة، قائلين: "نحن لا ننتظر التعويض". ثم تعاقدت المفوضية العليا مع شركات المرافق التونسية لتقديم الإعانات بصورة مباشرة.

لم يكن كرم التونسيين الجارف بناءً على توجيهات أو تعليمات عالية المستوى، ذلك لأن الأشخاص تصرفوا ببساطة ولم يستجيبوا بخوف وإنما بتعاطف.

إليزابيث إيستر eyster@unhcr.org، هي نائب ممثل، وهدى شلشول chalchou@unhcr.org هي مساعد المسؤول القانوني، وكارول لاليف laleve@unhcr.org هي مسؤول التقارير لدى مكتب المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة في تونس.

[مربع نصي]

أُقيم مخيم شوشة الطارئ في رأس جدير، على بُعد 7 كم من الحدود التونسية الليبية لإيواء الفارين من ليبيا. واعتباراً من يونيو/حزيران 2012، لا يزال المخيم مستضيفاً لأقل من 3000 لاجئ في انتظار حل دائم.

[نهاية المربع النصي]

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Proud to be Tunisian

Last year’s civil war in Libya caught the world by surprise. Nobody was prepared, least of all neighbouring Tunisia, deep into its own revolution. By 27 February, more than 10,000 people were crossing the border between Tunisia and Libya each day. Tunisia responded by keeping its borders with Libya open and Tunisians from around the country mobilised support for the thousands of foreigners entering their territory in desperate, difficult conditions.

Tunisians who wanted to help in the relief effort found every means to do so, ranging from a company providing huge quantities of milk to an elderly woman travelling by bus to bring home-cooked food for the refugees. Staff working for a transport company took it upon themselves to mobilise a pool of vehicles to transfer people arriving from Libya to shelters, to Djerba airport and to other locations in Tunisia. Overnight shelters sprang up in schools, recreation centres and hostels.

One doctor travelled hundreds of kilometres to offer his services. When he discovered that the Tunisian Red Crescent’s policy is not to take on new and untrained volunteers while a humanitarian response operation is underway, he was undeterred. He made a personal donation towards the relief effort and then started work picking up the rubbish left behind by the huge numbers of people passing through.

Red Crescent volunteer Hafedh has vivid memories of a Tunisian cook who arrived at Shousha transit camp. The cook brought bread and rice he had prepared beforehand, planning to spend only one day in Shousha. “But the sight of thousands of people, exhausted, traumatised and hungry, moved him and made him return the next day, with his friends,” explains Hafedh. “This group of volunteer cooks put up a tent… and set about preparing meals for the residents of the camp. They provided cooked meals for the camp for two weeks, using provisions brought to them by local citizens. Then the International Committee of the Red Cross began funding them, and that is how Shousha’s main kitchen was born, providing 23-28,000 meals a day.”

In Tunisia’s southernmost province of Tataouine, Tunisians welcomed some 80,000 Libyans into their homes, causing not inconsiderable financial difficulties for themselves as utility bills soared. When UNHCR officials offered Tunisian families assistance to cover their water, gas and electricity bills, many took offence, replying: “We don’t expect any compensation.” UNHCR then entered into a contract with the Tunisian utility companies to provide subsidies directly.

The Tunisians’ outpouring of generosity came without instructions or high-level orchestration – people simply acted, responding not with fear but with compassion.

Elizabeth Eyster eyster@unhcr.org is Deputy Representative, Houda Chalchoul chalchou@unhcr.org is Assistant Legal Officer and Carole Lalève laleve@unhcr.org is Reporting Officer with UNHCR Tunisia office.

Shousha transit camp was established in Ras Jdir, 7 km from the Tunisia-Libya border, to accommodate those fleeing Libya. As of June 2012, it still hosts just under 3,000 refugees awaiting a durable solution.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview