لسنا جميعاً مصريين

بالنسبة لكثير من اللاجئين في مصر، اتسمت الثورة التي دامت أسابيع معدودة بالعزلة والخوف والوحشية، وبعد الثورة، لم تتحقق الوعود المقدمة بشأن توسيع نطاق الحرية ليشتمل على اللاجئين.

في الأيام العصيبة من الربيع العربي عام 2011، ورغم الشعارات التي أطلقها المحتجون في ميدان التحرير ومنها "جميعنا مصريون"، كان كثير من اللاجئين والمهاجرين في مصر يواجهون مشاعر كراهية الأجانب والتمييز العنصري الصريح والعنف من الطرف الأخر. وقد سجَّلت المؤسسة المصرية لحقوق اللاجئين في مصر نشاطها الأكبر في عام 2011 والذي شهد ارتفاعاً بنسبة 20%.في عدد الشكاوى التي قدمها اللاجئون بشأن تعرضهم للاعتقال والاحتجاز التعسفيين والتمييز والعنف ضدهم

وإلى وقت قريب، كان اللاجئون في مصر يواجهون سياسة استقبال اتسمت "بالتجاهل غير الضار" لقضاياهم، أما الشكاوى الرئيسية التي تقدم بها اللاجئون قبل الثورة فقد كانت تتعلق بعدم قدرتهم على النَّفاذ إلى المدارس الحكومية وتعرضهم للتمييز في العمل والإسكان والاعتقال التعسفي كما وقع بعضهم ضحية للجنايات التي ارتكبت بحقهم (على يد المصريين واللاجئين الآخرين على حد سواء). وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد توقفت عملية إعادة التوطين فعلياً كخيار متاح أمام اللاجئين (باستثناء اللاجئين العراقيين وعلى الأخص منهم اللاجئين المستضعفين). ومثل هذه التغيرات في سياسات إعادة التوطين وتحديد صفة اللجوء تسببت في ظهور احتجاج عارم واعتصام دام تسعين يوماً أمام مقر مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين في القاهرة في نهاية عام 2005، وكان ذلك الاعتصام واحداً من أكثر الأعمال بروزاً من بين جميع الاحتجاجات العامة التي شهدتها مصر خلال العقد السابق للثورة. لكنَّ لقي ذلك الاحتجاج قمعاً من قوات الأمن المصرية وتمخض عن سقوط 26 قتيلاً.

ومع دخول الثورة إلى المجهول، أصبح اللاجئون عرضة للشك بهم بسبب ظهور الدعايات المؤيدة لنظام مبارك المنهار والتي كانت تزعم أنَّ البلاد تتعرض لمؤامرة من قوى خارجية محرضة، وجاء ذلك مع انتشار مفهوم واسع النطاق بأنَّ اللاجئين موجودون في مصر بسبب السياسات التي اتبعها نظام مبارك، وأدى ذلك كله إلى تفشي جو من العداء ورفض تقديم الخدمات للاجئين بل تعدى ذلك إلى استغلالهم وتهديدهم وارتكاب العنف بحقهم. ومثال ذلك لاجئة عراقية تبلغ من العمر 49 عاماً وهي أم تعيش بمفردها مع أبنائها، وكانت جارة لها قد أبلغت أنَّها تحوز في مسكنها أسلحة وأنها مندسّة ومحرضة من الخارج فكانت النتيجة أن اقتحمت القوات المصرية سكنها وأجبرتها على الإخلاء والبحث عن مكان آخر لتعيش فيه.

كما كان للتغير الذي طرأ على نظام الشرطة أثر كبير على اللاجئين، فخلال الثورة، انتقلت مهام الشرطة إلى "اللجان الشعبية" المحلية التي عينت نفسها بنفسها والتي غالباً ما كانت تقيم الحواجز وتتسلح بالأسلحة الخفيفة كالسكاكين مثلاً. ولم تكن بعض اللجان تسمح للاجئين الانضمام إليها وحتى اللاجئين الذين يعيشون منذ أمد بعيد في الأحياء المختلطة فقد كانوا يتعرضون للاستجواب والمضايقة عند تحركهم خارج تلك الأحياء. ومع ذلك، يشير بعض اللاجئين إلى أنَّهم لقوا ترحيباً بعرضهم الانضمام للجان، كما أفاد كثير منهم أنَّ الانضمام إلى اللجان كان الأمر الوحيد الذي سُمح لهم بالمساهمة فيه أثناء الثورة.

وحتى في أعقاب الثورة، فرض تولي الجيش مهام الشرطة المدنية تحديات جديدة أمام اللاجئين وأولها أنَّ الجنود لم يكونوا على دراية بوثائق هوية اللاجئين وبوجود صفة قانونية لهم اسمها "لاجئ". هذا الجهل أدى إلى اعتقال عدد من اللاجئين وتهديدهم بالترحيل الفوري. وفي بعض الأحيان، تمكنت المؤسسة المصرية لحقوق اللاجئين من التدخل من خلال محاميها وإطلاق سراح اللاجئين (رغم أن ذلك لم يحدث قبل وصولهم إلى المطار)

ومنذ اندلاع الثورة، كان على محامي المؤسسة المصرية لحقوق اللاجئين زيارة موكليهم في بيوتهم نظراً لصعوبة بل استحالة وصول اللاجئين إلى مكاتب المؤسسة في القاهرة. أما مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين فقد أغلقت مكاتبها في مصر لأسبوعين تقريباً خلال الثورة. وخلال هذه الفترة،  لم يتمكن اللاجئون من القيام  بالتسجيل وتحديد الوضع القانوني فحسب بل أيضاً لم يحصلوا على خدمات الحماية والمساعدات المالية. لكن المفوضية تمكنت من التخفيف من وطأة إغلاق مكاتبها عن طريق الاستعانة بالمنظمات الأهلية المحلية في مجال توزيع المساعدات المالية. ومع ذلك، اشتكى عدد من اللاجئين من غياب الشفافية في عمليات الدفع وعبروا عن ارتيابهم في وجود الفساد حتى ضمن المنظمات الأهلية المحلية المعروفة. وذلك كان درس تعلمته المفوضية من الثورة فتمكنت من تقليص ذلك الاضطراب بتخفيف مدة الإغلاق لاحقاً.

وعدا عن المفوضية، فقد أغلقت المنظمات الأهلية مكاتبها أيضاً، وحيث إنَّ الجهات الكبرى التي تقدم الخدمات للاجئين كانت تقع قرب بؤرة أحداث الثورة فقد نشأت بعض المشكلات من حيث توفير الكوادر ووصول اللاجئين إلى مكاتبها. وبالنسبة للمنظمات التي كانت تعتمد اعتماداً كبيراً على الكوادر الدولية والمقيمين الدوليين، فقد عانت من استنزاف في مواردها البشرية مع مغادرة أولئك العاملين لمصر.

الخطوات المستقبلية

لقد جذبت الثورة كثيراً من الاهتمام نحو المجتمع المدني في مصر ما أدى إلى زيادة فرص التمويل. وقد جذب التمويل الكبير الانتباه العام إلى قضية تمويل أنشطة المجتمع المدني في مصر. وعلى وجه الخصوص، أدى توسيع الحكومة الأمريكية بصورة عامة لتمويل المجتمع المدني المصري إلى ظهور حالة من العداء الكبير في وسائل الإعلام المصرية. وفي حين عملت منظمات المجتمع المدني لعقد من الزمن على الأقل تحت قيود هائلة، تحث الثورة الآن على تقويض تلك المنظمات، مما كان له أثر سلبي على جميع منظمات المجتمع المدني، بما فيها مقدمو الخدمات للاجئين رغم أنَّ أياً من تلك المنظمات لم تكن لتعمل دون الحصول على مساعدات من خارج مصر.

والمدهش في الأمر ضمن هذه البيئة أنَّه كان هناك تزايد في اهتمام اللاجئين بتنظيم أنفسهم في المنظمات المجتمعية.. وفي حين أنَّه كان هناك بالفعل عدد من تلك المنظمات الخاصة باللاجئين في القاهرة منذ فترة طوية (خاصة بين الجاليات العريقة كالجماعات العرقية الصومالية) فقد أصبح هناك بعد الثورة أعداد متزايدة من اللاجئين ممن تواصلوا مع المؤسسة المصرية لحقوق اللاجئين بهدف تنظيم أنفسهم ضمن إطار رسمي كمنظمات مجتمعية. ولربما جاء بعض ذلك الاهتمام من العزلة التي شعروا بها بعد الثورة ورغبة منهم في تخفيف ذلك الموقف  في المستقبل. وكبديل لذلك، قد ينشأ بعض هذا الاهتمام من الإحساس بالفرصة والحرية التي شعر بها الكثيرون في مصر.

لقد زادت أعداد منظمات المجتمع المدني من تنقل المديرين الأكفاء وجعلت استقطاب الكوادر الأكفاء أمراً صعباً للغاية، والآن، يتنافس مقدمو الخدمات للاجئين على الكوادر مع منظمات المجتمع المدني ذائعة الصيت وذات الملامح السياسية البارزة والتي كانت في العادة تعرض رواتب أكبر.

إثبات حكم القانون

لقد فرضت الثورة تحديات بشأن حكم القانون، حيث تأثرت بها مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان الوطنية في مصر التي تعاونت معها في الأعوام القليلة الماضية منظمات أهلية معنية باللاجئين هدف مساعدتهم.

لكن تبقى المخاطر الكبرى في مصر متعلقة بالجهل واللامبالاة اللتين تبديهما الأحزاب السياسية إزاء اللاجئين. فقضايا اللاجئين تواجه اليوم مطالب كبيرة ملحة من قبل المواطنين لكن أصبحت تلك القضايا الآن أكثر تهميشاً. ومنذ الثورة، انصب تركيز معظم الفاعلين السياسيين على المواطنين على أنهم أولى من غيرهم في الحصول على الحقوق في مصر، ومعظم الحقوق المنصوص عليها في الإعلان الدستوري كانت تتعلق بالمواطنين فقط دون غيرهم. من هنا، ورغم الفرصة التي أتاحتها الحرية السياسية التي جاءت بها الثورة، وجد مناصرو قضايا اللاجئين أنفسهم مجبرين على التركيز الأكبر على الحفاظ على الحقوق الأساسية (كحق منع الإعادة القسرية) بدلاً من توسيع نطاق حقوقاللاجئين.

الخلاصة

لقد أدت الفوضى مع الغموض الذي حاق بالثورة والتمييز الذي تبعها إلى زيادة انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الخاصة باللاجئين وجعلت جميع اللاجئين مستضعفين. وعلامة على الخوف الذي كان اللاجئون يشعرون به، هناك أعداد متزايدة منهم وقت كتابة هذه المقالة ينظمون اعتصاماً عاماً (بدأ في مارس/آذار 2012) أمام مكاتب مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين في القاهرة يطالبون فيه بإعادة التوطين أو بتأمين السكن المنفصل. (والمفارقة أنَّه بالنسبة لواحد من المواقع التجريبية ضمن سياسة المفوضية الجديدة بشأن اللاجئين في الحضر، فقد جعلت الثورة اللاجئين مناصرين لسياسة توسيع المخيمات الحضرية).

أما السياسات الحكومية الجديدة وممارستها إزاء اللاجئين ومواقف الشارع المصري فستكون واحدة من المؤشرات الأولى على مدى التحقيق الفعلي للحرية والدمج اللذان وُعد بهما الثوار في ميدان التحرير.

 

مارتن جونز martin.jones@york.ac.uk هو نائب رئيس المؤسسة المصرية لحقوق اللاجئين ومحاضر في مركز حقوق الإنسان التطبيقية في جامعة يورك (المملكة المتحدة).

شارك في إعداد هذه المقالة كلُ من محمد بيومي وأحمد بدوي وسارة صادق، وهم جميعاً يعملون لدى المؤسسة المصرية لحقوق اللاجئين www.efrr-eg.com

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

We are not all Egyptian

For many refugees in Egypt the weeks of the revolution were marked by isolation, fear and brutality. In the aftermath of the revolution, the promise of greater freedom has not yet been extended to refugees.

In the heady days of the Arab Spring in 2011, even as protesters in Tahrir Square took up a chant proclaiming “We are all Egyptian”, many refugees and migrants in Egypt were facing increased xenophobia, overt racism and violence. The Egyptian Foundation for Refugee Rights (EFRR) recorded its busiest year in 2011 as the number of refugees complaining of arbitrary arrest and detention, acts of violence and acts of discrimination increased by over 20%.

Until recently refugees in Egypt found a reception policy that has been characterised as ‘benign neglect’.  The chief complaints by refugees before the revolution were the lack of access to public schooling, discrimination in employment and housing, arbitrary arrest, and criminal victimisation (by both Egyptians and other refugees). In addition, resettlement has effectively stopped being available for most refugees (except Iraqi refugees and particularly vulnerable refugees). Such changes in resettlement and status determination policies resulted in a mass protest and sit-in lasting 90 days outside UNHCR’s Cairo office at the end of 2005 – one of  the most significant acts of public protest in Egypt in the decade before the revolution, a protest crushed by the Egyptian security forces with the loss of at least 26 lives.

In the uncertainty of the revolution, refugees were the object of suspicion. The propaganda of the failing Mubarak regime – that the country was under siege from foreign agitators – in conjunction with the notion that refugees were in Egypt thanks to the policies of the Mubarak regime triggered widespread hostility, refusal of services, profiteering, threats and violence against refugees. In one case, a 49-year-old single mother Iraqi refugee was accused by a neighbour of hoarding weapons and being a foreign instigator. Her home was raided by the Egyptian military and she was forced to find housing elsewhere.

The change in the nature of policing also had a profound effect on refugees. During the revolution, policing devolved to self-appointed local ‘popular committees’, which often erected barricades and armed themselves with knives and other basic weapons. Some committees did not allow refugees to join and even refugees who were long-standing residents of mixed neighbourhoods were questioned and harassed when moving about. However, some refugees report that they were welcomed to join committees and a significant number report feeling that being a member of a committee was the only contribution that they were allowed to make to the revolution.
 
Even in the aftermath of the revolution, the use of the military to perform civilian policing has posed new challenges for refugees. At a basic level, soldiers are not familiar with refugee identity documents and the legal category of ‘refugee’. This has resulted in several refugees being arrested and threatened with immediate deportation. Fortunately, in these cases the lawyers of EFRR managed to intervene and have the refugees released (though not before they had been taken to the airport).

Since the revolution EFRR’s lawyers have had to visit clients in their homes because travel in Cairo has become much more difficult for refugees – and was impossible for periods of time during the revolution. UNHCR closed its offices in Egypt for almost two weeks during the revolution. During this time refugees were unable to access not only registration and status determination but also protection services and financial assistance. The office closure was mitigated by UNHCR’s use of local NGOs to disburse financial assistance. However, many refugees complained about the lack of transparency of payments and suspected corruption even within well-established local NGOs. To UNHCR’s credit, it learned from the revolution and shorter closures that occurred later caused much less disruption.

As well as UNHCR, local NGOs also closed their offices. The largest providers of services to refugees were all located near the epicentre of the revolution, and this posed problems both for staff getting to work and also refugees attending at their offices. Those that rely heavily upon international staff and international interns suffered attrition as staff members left Egypt.

Moving forward

The revolution brought a flood of attention to civil society in Egypt, leading to increased funding opportunities. The flood of money has brought with it public attention to the financing of civil society activities in Egypt. In particular, a very public expansion of funding of Egyptian civil society by the US government has led to much hostility in the Egyptian media. While civil society organisations have for at least the last decade worked under fairly severe restrictions, the revolution prompted a crack down on NGOs which has had a chilling effect on all civil society organisations, including refugee service providers, notwithstanding that none of them could function without funding from outside of Egypt.

Somewhat surprisingly in this environment, there has been a growth in interest by refugees in organising themselves into community-based organisations (CBOs). While there have been refugee CBOs in Cairo for a long time (particularly amongst well-established communities such as various Sudanese ethnicities), since the revolution a growing number of groups of refugees have approached EFRR with a view to formalising themselves as CBOs. Some of this interest may arise out of the isolation of the revolution and a desire to mitigate such a situation in the future. Alternatively, some of this interest may be emerging out of the new sense of opportunity and freedom felt by many in Egypt.

A growth in civil society has increased the mobility of experienced managers and made recruitment of experienced staff more difficult. All refugee service providers are now competing for staff with mainstream civil society organisations with higher political profiles and often offering higher salaries.

Establishing the rule of law

The revolution has posed challenges for the rule of law, among its casualties being the national human rights institutions of Egypt with which, in recent years, refugee NGOs had been able to engage to the benefit of refugees.

The biggest dangers to refugees in Egypt remain the ignorance and indifference in all political parties to refugees. Faced with long-standing pressing demands from citizens, refugee issues have been further marginalised. Since the revolution, most political actors have focused on citizens as being the principal rights bearers in Egypt; most of the rights in the Constitutional Declaration 2011 are extended only to citizens. Thus, despite the opportunity presented by the new political freedom brought by the revolution, advocates for refugees have been forced to largely focus on maintaining basic rights (such as non-refoulement)rather than extending refugee rights.

Conclusion

The chaos and uncertainty of the revolution and the discrimination it has released have resulted in an increase in human rights violations against refugees and made all refugees more vulnerable. As a sign of the fear felt by refugees, a growing number of them are, at the time of writing, staging a public protest (begun in March 2012) outside the Cairo offices of UNHCR. They demand either resettlement or secure segregated housing. (Ironically for one of the pilot sites of UNHCR’s new urban refugee policy, the revolution has made refugees advocate for a policy of urban encampment.)

The new government’s policies and practices towards refugees, along with the views of the Egyptian public, will be one of the first indicators of the extent to which the freedom and inclusion promised by the revolutionaries of Tahrir Square have been genuinely realised.

Martin Jones martin.jones@york.ac.uk is vice-chairman of the Egyptian Foundation for Refugee Rights and a lecturer at the Centre for Applied Human Rights of the University of York (UK).  Mohamed Bayoumi, Ahmed Badawy, and Sara Sadek, staff members of EFRR, contributed to this article.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview