المهاجرون العالقون في الأزمة

يشير عدد من المبادرات الجديدة إلى طرق تمكّن المجتمع الدولي وخاصة الحكومات من المساعدة في تخفيف استضعاف العمال المهاجرين خلال أوضاع النزاع والأزمات.

غالباً ما يكون العمال المهاجرون الأجانب في منطقة النزاع أكثر استضعافاً من السكان المحليين وذلك لعدة أسباب. فربما لا يتكلمون اللغة المحلية ولا يشتركون بثقافة أهلها ولا يعرفون شيئاً عن طبيعة جغرافيا البلاد. وغالباً ما يكونون في أسفل الهرم الاقتصادي. وعلى النقيض من السكان المحليين، لا يوجد للمهاجرين عائلات أو شبكات لجالياتهم يستنجدون بها في أوقات العسرة، ومن هنا يجدون أنفسهم في عزلة. فعلى سبيل المثال، لقي الليبيون الهاربون من ليبيا دعماً من أفراد عائلاتهم ومن التونسيين على حد سواء أما العمال المهاجرون فتزداد مخاوفهم من أمرين أولهما التعرض للخطر المباشر وثانيهما الأثر السلبي المستقبلي لتغيير وضعهم الوظيفي في الخارج على عوائلهم الذين يعيشون على حوالاتهم.

وكما يلاحظ في مرحلة ما بعد الأزمة في ليبيا فقد كان للعودة السريعة للأعداد الكبيرة من العمال المهاجرين إلى مواطنهم الأصلية خلال مدة قصيرة جداً آثار وتبعات سلبية جداً ليس على مكتسباتهم المالية الأجنبية التي فقدوها فحسب ولكن على ارتفاع نسبة البطالة في أوطانهم أيضاً. ومن هنا حدثت نقلة في وضع المهاجرين العائدين من موقف المعيل الأساسي للعائلة إلى صفة المعال. وهذا التغيير غالباً ما يتبعه صعوبات ويتسبب في إحداث حالة من التوتر لكل من الفرد والعائلة على حد سواء. وفضلاً عن ذلك هناك من ترتب عليه ديون كثيرة لقاء تأمين سفره للعمل في الخارج وسداد مثل تلك الديون ستصبح مسؤولية العائلة بأكملها وهذا ما يفرض ضغوطاً مالية إضافية على الأسرة.

أما عن كيفية تعامل كل بلد مع موضوع عودة المهاجرين العمال وإعادة دمجهم إبان الأزمة الليبية فكانت تعتمد اعتماداً رئيسياً على عدد العمال المهاجرين المعنيين والموارد المتوافرة لدى الحكومة. ومع ازدياد الأزمة الليبية سوءاً، تمكنت الحكومة الفلبينية من الإسراع في حشد الأموال اللازمة وإقامة البنى الضرورية للبدء بإعادة المهاجرين وعملت عن كثب مع الجالية الفلبينية في ليبيا لنشر المعلومات وحشد العمال لتسجيلهم ممن يرغبون في نقلهم و المساعدة في الإخلاء الحقيقي وإعادة المهاجرين. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك كان للفليبين وما زال تشريع ينص على المبادئ المؤسسية للإجراءات والبنى اللازمة للاستجابة إلى موجات إعادة العودة واسعة النطاق .

وهناك بلدان أخرى اتخذت مساراً مختلفاً فمولت منظمات دولية مثل المنظمة الدولية للهجرة من أجل تولي مهمة إخلاء العمال المهاجرين من ليبيا ونقلهم إلى بلادهم، وهناك من البلدان أيضاً كبنغلاديش والتشاد التي قدمت بنفسها الرحلات الجوية بالإضافة إلى المساهمات المالية، وبهذا، لم يكن هناك منهج موحد بين الدول في هذه العملية.

وقد سلطت هذه الأزمة الضوء مجدداً على استضعاف العمال المهاجرين خلال أوضاع النزاع. وتضمن ذلك الخوف الذي اعترى المهاجرين من تعرضهم للمضايقة أو استهدافهم من قبل الأطراف المتحاربة أو من عدم قدرتهم على تغطية نفقات سفرهم للخروج من مناطق النزاع أو فقدانهم القدرة على الحصول على وثائق سفرهم (بسبب أن بعض أصحاب العمل كانوا يحجزون جوازات سفر العمال للتخفيف ما أمكن من المخالفات التعاقدية)، أو غياب المعرفة أو محدوديتها بشأن اللغات المحلية أو فقدان الوصول أو محدوديته إلى مسؤولي سفاراتهم (خاصة في الحالات التي كان مسؤولو السفارات قد غادروا البلاد أو أخلوها مبكراً) أو عدم المعرفة بنظام النقل ومسارات النجاة السليمة.

وكما ذكرنا سابقاً، فإن الإخلاء القسري غالباً ما نتج عنه عودة العامل المهاجر مثقلاً بالديون إلى عائلته التي كانت تعيش على الحوالات التي كان يرسلها إليهم من الخارج، كما أن المهاجرين الذين عادوا إلى الظروف الفقيرة في مواطنهم غالباً ما كانت لديهم الرغبة في الهجرة مجدداً، وعادة ما يكون ذلك إلى البلد الذي هربوا منه على اعتبار أنها أصبحت مألوفة لديهم.

وأزمة الهجرة التي حدثت مؤخراً في ليبيا تمثل هذه الحالة، فالمهاجرون العائدون يرغبون بالعودة إلى ليبيا رغم عدم استقرارها وفي 23 نوفمبر/ تشرين الثاني 2011 عاد بالفعل 38 مهاجراً بنغالياً إلى ليبيا للعمل مع أنه ما زال هناك مهاجرون يهربون من ليبيا إلى بنغلاديش في ذلك الوقت.

الطريق إلى الأمام

ما زالت الحكومات والمؤسسات المعنية حالياً تنفذ مبادرات مهمة للتصدي لتلك التحديات، وندرج فيما يلي بعض المبادرات التي يمكن أن تتبع أو توسَّع.

  1. بناء إجراءات تشغيلية معيارية

على ضوء الأزمة الليبية عُقِدَ خلال أبريل/ نيسان 2011 لقاء الاستشارات الوزارية الرابع للبلدان المصدرة للعمالة في آسيا (والمعروف باسم عملية كولومبو) [1]. وأوصت وفود الحكومات من الدول الأعضاء بناء إجراءات عملية موحدة ودائمة لحماية العمال المهاجرين في حالات الطوارئ المعقدة، وتقدم هذه الإجراءات البنى المؤسسية اللازمة والتخطيط اللازم للطوارئ من أجل التصدي لمثل تلك الأوضاع في المستقبل. وعلى وجه الخصوص، تتضمن الإجراءات معلومات مفصلة حول معايير الحماية في الموقع ونقل المهاجرين إلى أماكن أخرى وإجراءات الإخلاء والعودة مع التركيز على التنسيق مع مختلف الجهات المعنية ذات المصلحة.

فالحكومة الفلبينية على سبيل المثال تدرك منذ وقت طويل أنَّ دعم مواطنيها العاملين في الخارج خلال الأزمات عنصر مهم وحاسم وينصب في أفضل مصالح البلاد. وخلال الأزمة الليبية، أنشأت الفليبين فريق الاستعداد والاستجابة للتعامل مع العمال المهاجرين في الخارج وكان ذلك الفريق يعمل بإشراف مباشر من مكتب رئيس الجمهورية. وقد أوكلت إلى الفريق مهام عدة من أهمها رسم خطط الطوارئ ومراجعتها دورياً في أوقات الأزمات التي تؤثر على الفليبين في الخارج.

  1. إنشاء صندوق ائتمان للطوارئ

أوصت الدول الأعضاء في ملتقى عملية كولومبو أيضاً بتأسيس آلية تمويل رسمية لضمان استجابة سريعة ومهيكلة لتكون بديلاً عن عملية النداء الإغاثي اللحظي التي تُطلق بعد وقوع الأزمة الإنسانية، كما أنَّ عدداً قليلاً من الدول المصدرة للعمالة قادرة على إخلاء مواطنيها وإعادتهم إلى بلادهم من منطقة النزاع بأسرع وقت ممكن. وفي حين أنَّ المنظمة الدولية للهجرة وشركائها قادرون على الاستجابة بسرعة للأزمة فإنَّ غياب الاستجابات المنسقة بين المانحين أدى إلى عدم كفاءة عملية الحشد. وكانت الفجوات التمويلية في الماضي قد عرضت للخطر عملية إعادة المهاجرين من مناطق النزاع ولذلك يتطلب ضمان الأمن الإنساني للمهاجرين وجود تيار تمويلي أكثر استقراراً لا يعتمد اعتماداً مطلقاً على إيثار المانحين ولا على رغبة هؤلاء المانحين بتخفيف احتمال الهجرة غير النظامية.

  1. عرض التأمين الأصغر للمهاجرين

غالبا ما يكون العمال المهاجرون غير مستعدين للتعامل مع الحالات الطارئة مثل الأمراض والإصابات التي قد يتعرضوا إليها على سبيل المثال ولا مع الكوارث الطبيعية أو الاضطرابات السياسية في البلد الذي يعملون به. وإذا ما أغلق أصحاب العمل مؤسسات أعمالهم وغادروا فمن الطبيعي أن يصبح العمال المهاجرون محرومين من القدرة على دعم أنفسهم مالياً. وخلال العقد الماضي، انتشرت خطط تأمين المهاجرين بنجاح في أمريكا اللاتينية وفي منطقتي جنوب آسيا وجنوب شرق آسيا، وهناك أمثلة أخرى للتأمين الاجتماعي كما في سيريلانكا حيث ترعى الحكومات خطط التأمين الاجتماعي صفة دائمة لعملية الهجرة وترعى خطط التأمين الاجتماعي لمجموعات محددة من السكان، أما خطط التأمين الأصغر فتقدمها المؤسسات الخاصة للمهاجرين وعائلاتهم.

  1. تدريب المهاجرين في مجال التخطيط للطوارئ

لا يدرك معظم المهاجرين المخاطر والمصاعب المرتبطة بالهجرة إلى الخارج قبل مغادرتهم لبلادهم وفي حين أنَّ هناك حملات مختلفة وبرامج توجيهية قد أُطلقت قبل سنوات لرفع وعي المهاجر قبل مغادرة بلده ومع أنها كانت تهدف إلى رفع الوعي حول مختلف القضايا بدءاً بمحو الأمية المالية ووصولاً إلى التحسيس بالقيم الثقافية للبلد المستضيف فإنَّ التخطيط لأزمات الطوارئ نادراً ما يذكر. فعلى المهاجرين أن يكونوا على دراية بأنواع المخاطر التي قد يواجهونها (خاصة في حالة الاضطرابات السياسية المفاجئة و النزاعات) والخطوات التي يمكنهم اتباعها لضمان سلامتهم.

  1. بناء قدرات السفارات على حماية العمال المهاجرين

هناك بعض البلدان المصدرة للعمالة مثل بنغلاديش وباكستان والفليبين ممن عينوا ملحقين عماليين بسفاراتهم وذلك لتقديم المساعدة والرعاية. و مثل هؤلاء الموظفين مدربون على عدة قضايا مختلفة تتعلق بالهجرة مثل محاربة الإتجار وتسهيل الحوالات وتسجيل الشكاوي والاستجابة لها. وسيكون لرفع وعيهم إزاء الآليات القائمة والاستجابات المؤسسية للأزمات دور في تعزيز قدرات هذه السفارات على حماية المهاجرين إما في الموقع أو خلال عملية النقل إلى مكان آخر أو الإخلاء أو الإعادة وينبغي أن يكون الملحقون العماليون نقطة الاتصال الأولى للمهاجرين المنكوبين وعليهم ينبغي أن تقع مسؤولية نشر المعلومات للجاليات المهاجرة خصوصاً أثناء حالات الطوارئ و ينبغي أيضاً إيلاء الاهتمام الخاص إلى القاصرين غير المصاحبين ببالغين والنساء من المهاجرين الذين يُعتبَرون على مستوى أعلى من المخاطر.

  1. بناء خطط ما بعد العودة وإعادة الاندماج.

يجب على الفاعلين الوطنيين والدوليين أن يبحثوا في استراتيجيات إعادة التأهيل طويلة الأمد بالنسبة للمهاجرين المجبرين على العودة وذلك مثلاً من خلال توفير فرص العمل إما في الوطن أو في الخارج وعلى غرار ذلك يلاحظ أنَّ عدداً كبيراً من الدول منها بنغلاديش أجبرت جميع العائدين التسجل فور وصولهم إلى المطار حتى لو لم يكن هناك خطط لإعادة الاندماج إبان الأزمة الليبية للاجئين فقد سجل مسؤولو الهجرة البنغاليين المهاجرين لضمان توافر الحكومة على قائمة كاملة بأسماء العائدين ومعلومات الاتصال بهم. وقد أثبتت المعلومات المجموعة فائدة كبيرة حيث مكنت الحكومة البنغلاديشية فيما بعد من الحصول على قرض من البنك الدولي لإعادة دفع الأموال اللازمة للمنظمة الدولية للهجرة لتغطية التكاليف التي تحملتها تلك المنظمة إزاء نقل المهاجرين ولتوفر لكل عائد منحة نقدية تدفع مرة واحدة.

 

برايان كيلي bkelly@iom.int مستشار الطوارئ الإقليمية وما بعد الأزمات لمنطقتي آسيا والمحيط الهادئ.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Migrants caught in crisis

A number of new initiatives point to ways in which the international community – particularly governments – could help reduce the vulnerabilities of migrant workers during conflict and crisis situations.

International labour migrants in a conflict zone are often more vulnerable than the local population. They may not speak the language or share the culture, lack knowledge of the geography of the country, and are often at the bottom of the economic pyramid. With no family or community networks to call on in times of trouble, their isolation is in stark contrast to, for example, the support given to fleeing Libyans by family members and by Tunisians. They fear both the immediate danger and the future negative impact that a change in their overseas employment situation will have on those who are dependent on their remittances.

As seen in the aftermath of the Libya crisis, the rapid return of large numbers of migrant workers to their countries of origin within a fairly short time has tremendous negative consequences in terms not only of lost foreign exchange earnings but also of increased unemployment. These returning migrants also quickly shift from being the primary provider for a family to becoming a dependant. This adjustment is often difficult and stressful for both the individual and his or her family. In addition, if – as is often the case – debts were incurred to secure the overseas work, the repayment of the debt becomes the responsibility of the entire family, putting additional financial pressures on the household.

How every country handled the return and reintegration of labour migrants during the Libya crisis depended primarily on the number of migrant workers involved and the resources available to the government. As the crisis in Libya worsened, the Philippines government managed to quickly mobilise the necessary funds and create structures to initiate the repatriation. It also worked closely with the Filipino community in Libya to disseminate information, mobilise and register migrant workers wishing to relocate, and to help in the actual evacuation and repatriation efforts. Furthermore, the Philippines had also long had legislation institutionalising the procedures and structures for responding to and managing such large-scale repatriation. 

Other countries took a different route and funded international organisations, such as the International Organization for Migration (IOM), to charter flights and handle the evacuation of migrant workers from Libya. Some others, such as Bangladesh and Chad, themselves provided charter flights in addition to financial contributions. There is no standard approach.

This crisis once again highlighted the vulnerabilities of migrant workers during conflict situations. These include the fear of being harassed or targetted by warring parties, the inability to cover travel expenses out of conflict zones, a lack of access to travel documents (since some employers keep workers’ passports to minimise contract defaults), a lack or limited knowledge of local languages, a lack of or limited access to embassy officials (particularly in instances when embassy officials evacuated early) and a lack of knowledge about the transportation system and safe escape routes.

As highlighted earlier, forced evacuation commonly results in the return of a debt-ridden traumatised migrant worker to families dependent on remittances from abroad. Migrants returning to poor conditions back home are usually keen to re-migrate, usually to the country they have fled, given their sense of familiarity with the local environment.

The recent migration crisis in Libya is such a case. Repatriated migrants are willing and even eager to return there despite its instability. As early as 23 November 2011, 38 Bangladeshi migrants had returned to Libya to work, even as other migrants were still fleeing to Bangladesh.

The way forward

Governments and relevant organisations are already undertaking important initiatives to address these challenges. Below are some initiatives which could either be undertaken or expanded:

Develop standard operating procedures: In light of the Libyan crisis, during the April 2011 Fourth Ministerial Consultations of the Labour Sending Countries in Asia (known as the Colombo Process),1 government delegates from the member states recommended the development of standing operating procedures (SOPs) for the protection of migrant workers in complex emergencies. SOPs provide for the necessary institutional structures and contingency planning required in order to address similar situations in the future. More specifically, SOPs include detailed information on in-situ protection measures, relocation, and evacuation and repatriation procedures, with an emphasis on coordination among the various stakeholders.

The Philippines government, for instance, has long recognised that supporting its citizens working abroad during crisis is critically important and in the nation’s best interest. During the Libyan crisis, the Philippines created an Overseas Preparedness and Response Team under the office of the President. The team was tasked with, among other things, formulating and periodically reviewing contingency plans in times of crises affecting Filipinos overseas.

Create an emergency trust fund: The Colombo Process member states also recommended establishing a formal funding mechanism to ensure a rapid and structured response, as an alternative to the current flash-appeal process following a humanitarian crisis. Few labour-sending states have the standing capacity to evacuate and repatriate their nationals from a conflict zone as quickly as necessary. While IOM and its partners can respond rapidly to a crisis, the inconsistency of donor responses results in inefficient mobilisation. Funding gaps have previously jeopardised the continued repatriation of migrants from conflict zones. Ensuring the human security of migrants requires a more stable funding stream, not solely dependent on donors’ altruism or their desire to mitigate the likelihood of irregular migration.

Offer micro-insurance to migrants: Migrant workers are often unprepared to deal with emergency situations – such as personal illness and injury, natural disasters or political upheaval – in the destination country. If employers close their businesses and leave, migrant workers typically have no means to support themselves. Over the past decade, migrant insurance schemes have spread with success throughout Latin America and South and Southeast Asia. There are also examples of social insurance, as in Sri Lanka, where social insurance schemes are a permanent feature of the migration process. Social insurance schemes are sponsored by governments for specific population groups, whereas micro-insurance schemes are provided by private agencies for migrants and their families.

Train migrants in contingency planning: Most migrant workers are unaware of the risks and hardships associated with migrating abroad before they depart. While various awareness campaigns and pre-departure orientation programmes in recent years have aimed at raising awareness on various topics from financial literacy to host country cultural norms, the topic of emergency crisis planning is rarely included. Migrants need to be aware of the types of risks they may encounter (especially in the case of sudden political upheaval and conflict) and what steps they can take to ensure their safety.

Build embassies’ capacity to protect labour migrants: A number of labour-sending countries, such as Bangladesh, Pakistan and the Philippines, have designated labour attachés within their respective embassies to provide assistance and welfare. Such officials are trained in various issues relating to migration such as counter-trafficking, facilitating remittances, and registering and responding to complaints. Increasing their awareness of existing mechanisms and institutional responses to crises would enhance their capacity to protect migrants, whether in situ or during relocation, evacuation and repatriation. Labour attachés should be the first point of contact for distressed migrants and be responsible for disseminating information to migrant communities, especially during emergencies. Special attention should be given to unaccompanied minors and women migrants, who are always at higher risk.

Develop post-return and reintegration plans: National and international actors need to consider long-term rehabilitation strategies for migrants forced to return, such as by providing job opportunities at home or abroad. For instance, several countries, including Bangladesh, have made it mandatory for all returnees to register upon arrival at the airport. Even though no reintegration plans existed during the Libyan migrant crisis, Bangladeshi immigration officials registered migrants to ensure that the government had a full list of returnees, including their contact details. The information collected proved extremely useful when the Government of Bangladesh later obtained a loan from the World Bank to reimburse IOM for some of the repatriation costs and to provide each returnee with a one-time cash grant.

Brian Kelly bkelly@iom.int is the Regional Emergency and Post-Crisis Advisor for Asia and the Pacific.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview