شمولية المنظور

تعد مناصرة حقوق الإنسان وكرامة المهاجرين والأشخاص المُهجَّرين من أهم تحديات هذا القرن. فقضايا الهجرة معقدة ومتعددة في جوانبها، وتتسبب في ظاهرة لا يقل حجمها عن العولمة في القطاعات الاقتصادية والسياسية والثقافية إلى درجة لا يُستهان بها. وتساهم انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان والنزاعات المسلحة والكوارث الطبيعية والتغيرات المناخية المتزايدة والتدهور البيئي في هذه الموجة غير المسبوقة في التنقل الإنساني.

ويتولد عن الأزمات المعقدة التي أثارتها الأسباب البشرية و/ أو الإنسانية في تخبط التنقلات القسرية السائدة للأشخاص، إما داخلياً أو عبر الحدود، ولا يجعل ما سبق بعض السكان مستضعفين بصورة كبيرة فحسب، بل إن لذلك أيضاً مضمونات دائمة على المجتمعات والاقتصادات والتنمية والبيئات والأمن والحوكمة. وهناك اعتراف متنام بأن الفئات القانونية الحالية للأشخاص المتأثرين بالكوارث، كاللاجئين أو النازحين داخلياً، لا يتفهمون بشكل كامل الظروف المختلفة للأشخاص في أوضاع الأزمات والسبل المتعددة التي ينتهجها الأشخاص للفرار من تلك الأوضاع كما أنهم لا يتفهمون اختلاف طبيعة الظروف بمرور الوقت.

فعلى سبيل المثال، قد تعجز التوجهات المركّزة فقط على الأشخاص المُهجَّرين في توضيح الحقائق الأخرى مثل الاستضعاف المتزايد للأشخاص غير القادرين على الهجرة في أوقات الأزمات والآخرين العالقين بالظروف الخطيرة. ويمكن لوضع التنقل المتعلق بالأزمات في سياق أوسع أن يلقي الضوء على العوامل الهيكلية الكامنة التي تقرر سلوكيات هجرة الأشخاص قبل وخلال وبعد الأزمات، مع تعزيز الأساليب الفعالة لحماية ومساعدة الأشخاص المتأثرين وضمان حقوقهم الإنسانية. وتظهر الأحداث الواقعة في شمال أفريقيا، خاصة الأزمة الليبية، الحاجة والقيمة المضافة للنظر إلى الأزمات من وجهة نظر التنقل، أي ما نطلق عليه في منظمة الهجرة الدولية "أزمة الهجرة".

واستكمالاً لأطر عمل الاستعدادية والاستجابة وصور التعافي الإنسانية الخاصة بالأزمات المقعدة، يتناول منهج إدارة الهجرة جميع المراحل المتعلقة بالاستجابة للكوارث من وجهة نظر التنقل البشري. ويتعلق أحد أهم التحديات الباقية بتنسيق الدول بين بعضهم ومع المؤسسات التي تملك التفويض والبنية للاستجابة لهذه الكوارث. وتأخذ منظمة الهجرة الدولية بزمام القيادة في مراجعة الأنظمة والآليات التشغيلية لتحسين الاستعدادية والاستجابة لأزمات الهجرة.

 

ويليام ليسي سوينغ هو المدير العام لمنظمة الهجرة الدولية www.iom.int. ولمزيد من المعلومات حول المنظمة، يُرجى الاتصال بجان فيليب تشاوزي pchauzy@iom.int.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Broadening our perspective

Upholding the human rights and dignity of migrants and people displaced is one of the major challenges of the century. The causes of migration are complex and myriad, and result in no small measure from the phenomenon of globalisation in the economic, political and cultural spheres. Human rights violations, armed conflict, natural disasters and, increasingly, climate change and environmental degradation also contribute to this unprecedented surge in human mobility.

Complex crises triggered by man-made and/or natural causes generate disorderly and predominantly forced movements of people, either internally or across borders; these not only make some populations significantly vulnerable but also have lasting implications for societies, economies, development, environments, security and governance. There is a growing recognition that existing legal categories of crisis-affected persons – such as refugees or internally displaced persons – may not fully capture the varied conditions of people in crisis situations, the many avenues used by persons to escape such situations, and the changing nature of circumstances over time.

Approaches that focus solely on displaced persons, for example, may fail to reflect other realities – such as the high vulnerability of persons unable to migrate during crises and remaining trapped in dangerous conditions. Placing crisis-related mobility in a larger migration context can shed light on latent structural factors which determine people’s migration behaviour before, during and after a crisis, and promote effective ways to protect, assist and guarantee the human rights of affected persons. The events in North Africa, in particular the Libya crisis, demonstrate the need and added value of looking at a crisis from a mobility standpoint, what we at IOM term a ‘migration crisis’.

Complementary to humanitarian preparedness, response and recovery frameworks for complex crises, a migration management approach examines all phases related to crisis response from the standpoint of human mobility. One of the major challenges that remains is for states to coordinate among themselves and with the institutions that have the mandate and architecture to respond to these crises. IOM is taking a lead in reviewing operational systems and mechanisms to improve preparedness and response to migration crises.

William Lacy Swing is Director General of the International Organization for Migration www.iom.int  For more information about IOM, please contact Jean-Philippe Chauzy pchauzy@iom.int

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview