خيارات العودة للوطن: أحلاها مر

غادر المهاجرون ليبيا في عجلة من أمرهم ويشوبهم الخوف على حياتهم، وقد تركوا ممتلكاتهم ومتعلقاتهم الثمينة كي يتمكنوا من المغادرة. ورغم إنقاذ الاستجابة الدولية لحياة الكثيرين ومساهمتها في تسهيل عودتهم لأوطانهم، يمكن أن يكون للعودة السابق لأوانها بعض التداعيات غير المرغوب بها.

يتناول هذا المقال تقييم التقارير ونشاطات التصنيف المنفذة من قِبل منظمة الهجرة الدولية لتحديد الاحتياجات في مناطق العودة وتمهيد الطريق أمام برامج إعادة الاندماج واستقرار المجتمع. وقد أدت نتائج تقارير التقييم للبدء في بعض مشروعات إعادة الاندماج في غانا على سبيل المثال. وتم تنفيذ التقييمات ما بين يونيو/حزيران 2011 وأكتوبر/تشرين الأول من نفس العام[1].

وقد غادر حوالي 800000 ألف مهاجر ليبيا عام 2011، حيث عاد 212,331 مواطن غرب أفريقي منهم إلى ستة من دول الموطن[2]. و 130,677من خلال العبور المباشر للحدود من ليبيا و81,654 بمساعدة منظمة الهجرة الدولية والأغلبية من عبر الجو. وكانت الأغلبية العظمى من العائدين غرب الأفريقيين من الذكور (98-99%) الذين تراوحت أعمارهم في الغالب ما بين 20 و40 عاماً وشغلت نسبة كبيرة منهم وظائف ذات مهارات منخفضة في ليبيا كالعمالة والزراعة والإنشاءات.

وتقول التقديرات إنَّ العمال المهاجرين في ليبيا أرسلوا حوالات مالية تقارب مليار دولار أمريكي عام 2010. والأغلبية من العائدين تنحدر من مجتمعات فقيرة ومتخلفة تعاني من القصور الزراعي وانعدام الأمن الغذائي وسوء التغذية وغياب الفرص الاقتصادية وضعف البنية الأساسية الصحية وخدمات التعليم. وكانت هجرة العمال استراتيجية أساسية للتعايش حيث كانت الحوالات المالية من العائدين تمثل دوراً هاماً في بقاء الأسر على قيد الحياة. وتم استخدامها في تلبية الاحتياجات اليومية الأساسية وهي الطعام والسكن والصحة والتعليم، وتُرك قليل مما تبقى للاستثمار. وفي واقع الأمر، أُنفقت معظم الحوالات المالية على الطعام، حيث صُرف حوالي 90% من تحويلات الدخل إلى هذه الضرورة الأساسية في بعض الدول. فإذا أُنفق المال على شراء الأصول، فسيكون ذلك على الأصول الزراعية.

وعلى الرغم من سريان الإحساس بالأثر الاقتصادي لفقدان الحوالات على المستويين الفردي والمجتمعي، يبدو أن النتائج الأخرى توضح أن الحوالات قد كان لها قليل الأثر على المجتمع الأشمل، مع تأثُّر الاستهلاك الأسري دونما شك، ومثلت الأموال المخصصة للتدبير المنزلي والتموين اليومي مشكلة، حتى أنَّ البعض اضطر إلى التفكير في سحب أبنائهم من المدارس. ويبدو أن المشكلة الحقيقية متأزمة بشكل خاص في المناطق التي عانت من انعدام الأمن الغذائي الحاد لسنوات مثل النيجر أو حيثما ظهر الاعتماد الكبير على الحوالات، كما هو الحال في مالي.

ففي النيجر، كان لوقف الحوالات المفاجئ أثر سلبي على الأسواق المحلية والتجار. أما في السنغال، فقد عانت القرى ذات مجتمع المغتربين الواسع في ليبيا بصورة حادة، وكانت إحدى القرى تحصل على 75% من دخلها من الحوالات من ليبيا أو من أماكن أخرى.

الاستقبال في الأوطان

عملت منظمة الهجرة الدولية مع الحكومة والوكالات الشريكة على إقامة مرافق الاستقبال. وقد تضمن ذلك إعداد المراكز الانتقالية لتقديم الطعام والمياه والصرف الصحي مع تنظيم التنقلات إلى الوجهات النهائية. وفي بعض الدول، قوبل العائدون في مدنهم الأصلية بالطعام والإسكان الذين قدمتهما السلطات المحلية والمنظمات الأهلية.

ويتضح أن عودة المهاجرين واستقبالهم قد تم تنظيمه بصورة ممنهجة عبر دول غرب أفريقيا، لكن المعايير الضابطة لتلك العملية لم تكن ثابتة وربما كان ذلك بسبب الظروف، عندما تعلق الأمر بدعم إعادة الاندماج. وفيما يخص الاستقبال، يبدو أن المنهج المتبع في السنغال هو نفسه المنهج المتبع في دول المنطقة. فقد حشدت الحكومة لجنة وطنية بمساعدة منظمة الهجرة الوطني والوكالات الأخرى لتخطيط الاستجابة. وتضمن ذلك مقابلة العائدين في المطارات الدولية أو عند نقاط العبور البرية، مع تزويدهم بالمساعدة الأساسية ثم تنظيم انتقالاتهم إلى العودة لمواطنهم الأصلية.

ورغم رجوع العائدين في أمن وسلام، ظهرت الحاجة الماسة لدعم إعادة الاندماج. وفي النيجر، أصدرت الحكومة أمراً بدعم العائدين، ممثلاً في توزيع الطعام وتوريد الحبوب وتوزيع الماشية والدعم النقدي، لكن اختلف التنفيذ على المستوى المحلي. وقامت بعض السلطات المحلية بالقليل من الجهود ولم تكن لها عملية تسجيل واضحة. وفي حين اتسمت البداية للسلطات الأخرى بالتباطؤ، تم تفعيل خطط هذه السلطات الخاصة بالتحويلات النقدية ونقود العمل ودعم بنوك الحبوب. أما في تشاد، فقد أقامت بعض المناطق لجاناً ترحيبية ونفذت التسجيل كاستهلال للأنشطة الأخرى، في حين لم تقم مناطق أخرى بأي شيء. وبالنسبة للسنغال، ارتبط جزء من المشكلة بإدارة العودة على المستوى المركزي دون إشراك السلطات المحلية التي ساهمت في الاستجابة الضعيفة على المستوى المحلي. وعلى الرغم من النوايا الطيبة التي قدمتها الحكومة في غانا، لم يتم البدء في برنامج التسجيل. فهذا أحد العائدين في النيجر يقول: "بقيت هناك مدة أربعة أشهر ولم يصلنا أي دعم. ويبدو أن هناك شيء مخطط لنا، لكنه يبقى دون تنفيذ في نيامي."

ومن أحد الدروس المهمة المستفادة هو الحاجة لتقديم التدابير الخاصة لتسهيل إعادة اندماج العائدين في الوقت المناسب. وتم تقديم خطة مبتكرة لإعادة اندماج العائدين في بنغلاديش [انظر المربع النصي]. ومن السابق كثيراً لأوانه تقييم النتائج طويلة الأجل لهذه الخطة، لكنها يمكن أن تكون نموذجاً تحتذي به الدول الأخرى في المستقبل.

لقد كان الاستقبال لدى العودة إلى الموطن تجربة مختلطة بالنسبة للعديد من اللاجئين، حيث اتسم لم الشمل بالحميمية وسُرت العائلات لرؤية أفرادهم يعودون بسلام، لكن سرعان ما تحول السرور إلى مخاوف من الحصول على النقود لتلبية متطلبات الحياة الأساسية والحرج بين العائدين نظراً لعودتهم لأوطانهم خاويي الوفاض. وكان أغلب العائدين من الأسر الفقيرة بصورة عامة، وقد زادت العودة للوطن من استضعاف الأسر المكافحة.

ووجد العائدون في جميع الدول أنفسهم في ظروف غاية في الصعوبة، وعبروا جميعاً عن مشاعر اليأس والقلق والإحباط. علاوة على ذلك، تفرض المأساة الإنسانية للشباب والشابات، الذين قُطع دابر معيشتهم وأرزاقهم وتم وضعهم مرة أخرى في موقف التبعية ويواجهون التوقعات الغامضة وغير المؤكدة نفسها على كافة التقارير. وغالباً ما يتحدث العائدون عن الشعور بالإهانة ويعبرون كثيراً عن مشاعر اليأس والقلق والإحباط جراء الاستخفاف والإهانة من جانب أفراد المجتمع ومن ضعف وعدم استقرار حالاتهم النفسية العقلية. وتتعلق أغلب الاهتمامات وأكثرها شيوعاً بالعمل والنفقات اليومية والإسكان. ففي بوركينا فاسو، يعيش أكثر العائدين مع أقاربهم أو أصدقاءهم في المنازل المصنوعة من المواد المؤقتة. وظهر أن البعض لديه مشكلات في الحصول على الطعام وسداد تكاليف المدارس والعناية الصحية.

ويستجيب العائدون إلى هذا الوضع من خلال الاتجاه إلى عدد من التدابير لامتلاك نقود العيش. وقد رفع مديرو البنوك المحلية في غانا تقاريراً حول سحب الودائع والدفع المبكر للودائع الثابتة، إلى جانب الزيادة في الطلب على القروض. وفي بوركينا فاسو، كانت الأنعام تُباع للوفاء بالاحتياجات المباشرة. وفي كلتا الحالتين، عٌدّ ذلك صرف قيمة الشيكات نقداً في الاستثمارات المهمة.

وعاد بعض اللاجئين إلى وظائفهم السابقة، لكن لم يعد الكثير منهم بتوفيرات كافية لبناء أنفسهم. وفي جميع هذه الدول، كان للعائدين أفكار حول البدء في أنشطة جديدة مدرّة للدخل وكانوا حريصين على القيام بذلك، لكنهم احتاجوا للأموال والمواد للمساعدة في إطلاق هذه المبادرات.

وبعيداً عن المال، تضمنت العوائق الأساسية الأخرى لإعادة الاندماج الصدمات النفسية وفقدان الممتلكات أو الاستثمارات والديون. ويبدو أن "الصدمة الثقافية" للعودة للوطن كانت مشكلة بالنسبة للبعض ممن اعتادوا على أسلوب حياة مختلف في ليبيا، حيث وصفهم البعض من أفراد المجتمع بأن ملابسهم كانت مختلفة، وقد ظهروا وشاركوا في ما يُرى على أنه سلوكيات غير لائقة. وفي بعض الحالات، أبدوا عدم استعدادهم للعمل الذي كانوا يقومون به من قبل وأرادوا أعمالاً أكثر مهارية. ولم يكن مفاجئاً أن التقييمات وجدت أن بعض العائدين يتجهون إلى فكرة الهجرة مرة أخرى. إلا أن المثير في الأمر هو أن أغلب العائدين حرصوا على البقاء في المنزل والتكيُّف مع الظروف المحلية لو كان بإمكانهم المساعدة في إيجاد وظائف أو إقامة مشروعات.

وفي بعض المجتمعات حيث كانت الهجرة العمالية استراتيجية أساسية للتعايش، كما هو الحال في غانا، أظهر أعضاء المجتمع حساسية تجاه المصاعب التي واجهت المهاجرين العائدين، كما اهتموا بعدم الاستقرار الاجتماعي الذي قد ينشأ في حال لم يستطع الشباب العاملون بجدٍ إيجاد عمل. وبالمقارنة، كان هناك القليل من الدعم المجتمعي في بوركينا فاسو، وذلك نظراً لنقص الاستثمارات من قِبل المهاجرين في مواطنهم أثناء غربتهم.

الاستنتاج

هناك صورة واضحة إلى حد معقول وثابتة عبر الدول، وقد ساهمت كفاءة عملية الترحيل المنفذة من قِبل المجتمع الدولي والحكومات والمنظمات الأهلية، كاستجابة للأخطار المباشرة في إنقاذ حياة الآلاف من العمال المهاجرين ومنعت الأزمة الليبية من الامتداد للدول الأخرى وأن تصبح كارثة إنسانية أكبر بكثير. وبعد مرور عدة أشهر، ومع قرب التهديدات الأمنية المباشرة، فإن الأكثر وضوحاً الآن هو الصعوبة وخيبة الأمل التي يشعر بها مئات الآلاف من الشباب ممن سُلبوا أقواتهم التي سافروا من أجل البحث عنها على حين غَرَّة، مع عدم إمكانية مساعدتهم في العودة للوطن. والحاجة ماسة لبرامج الاندماج الاجتماعي الاقتصادي، ليس فقط لمساعدة العائدين الأفراد والأسر، وإنما أيضاً لسلام واستقرار المجتمعات الأشمل والدول والمنطقة ككل.

 

أسميتا نايك asmita.naik@yahoo.com هي استشاري مستقل. وفرانك لاكزكو flaczko@iom.int هو رئيس قسم أبحاث الهجرة قي المنظمة الدولية للهجرة.



[1] التقارير متاحة من منظمة الهجرة الدولية بناءً على الطلب.

[2] بوركينا فاسو وتشاد وغانا ومالي والنيجر والسنغال.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The bittersweet return home

Migrants left Libya in haste and in fear for their lives. Possessions and valuables were abandoned in the rush to leave. A rapid international response saved lives and facilitated the return home but a premature return may have some unwelcome repercussions.

This article draws on assessment reports and profiling exercises carried out by the International Organization for Migration (IOM) to map out needs in areas for return and to pave the way for reintegration and community stabilisation programmes. The findings of the assessments reports led to some reintegration projects being started in Ghana for example. The assessments were carried out between June and October 2011.1

Nearly 800,000 migrants fled Libya in 2011, of whom 212, 331 West African nationals returned to six home countries2, 130, 677 by direct border crossing from Libya and 81, 654 with IOM assistance, the majority by air. The vast majority of West African returnees were males (98-99%), mostly aged between 20 and 40 years old, of whom a high percentage held low-skilled jobs in Libya, such as labouring, farming and construction.

It has been estimated that migrant workers in Libya remitted nearly US$1 billion in 2010. The majority of returnees were from impoverished and underdeveloped communities which experience agricultural failure, food insecurity, malnutrition, an absence of economic opportunities, and inadequate health infrastructure and education services. Labour migration was a key coping strategy with remittances from returnees playing a major role in household survival. These were used to meet basic daily needs – food, housing, health and education – and little was left over for investment. In fact most remittances were spent on food, with nearly 90% of remittance income going towards this basic essential in some countries. If money was spent on buying assets, this tended to be on agricultural assets.

The economic impact of the loss of remittances was felt at individual family and community levels, although other findings appear to show that remittances actually had little effect on the wider community. Family consumption was undoubtedly affected, money for housekeeping and daily food was a problem, and some had to consider withdrawing children from schools. The problem seems especially acute in places which had suffered severe food insecurity for years such as Niger or where there was a particularly heavy dependence on remittances such as in Mali. In Niger the abrupt termination of remittances had a negative effect on local markets and traders. In Senegal, villages with a large expatriate community in Libya suffered acutely; in one village 75% of the village income was derived from remittances from Libya or elsewhere.

Reception at home

IOM worked with government and partner agencies to ensure reception facilities were in place. This involved setting up transit centres to provide food, water and sanitation while arranging transportation to final destinations. In some countries, returnees were met in their home towns with food and accommodation provided by local authorities and NGOs.

The return and reception of migrants appears to have been systematically organised across the countries of West Africa but measures faltered, perhaps inevitably given the circumstances, when it came to reintegration support. In terms of reception, the approach in Senegal seems typical of other countries in the region. The government mobilised a national committee with the help of IOM and other agencies to plan a response. This involved meeting returnees at international airports or at land border crossings, providing them with basic assistance and then organising transport for them to get home. 

Returnees are back safe and sound but what is much needed is reintegration support. In Niger, the government issued an order for support to returnees comprising food distribution, seed supply, distribution of livestock and cash support. But implementation varied at local level. Some local authorities had done little, and did not even have a clear registration process; other authorities, while slow to start, had plans in place for cash transfers, cash for work, and strengthening grain banks. In Chad some regions had set up welcome committees and were carrying out registration as a prelude to other activities, while others were doing nothing. In Senegal part of the problem appeared to be that return was managed at central level without the involvement of local authorities which made for a weak response at local level. In Ghana, despite the stated good intentions of government, no reintegration programme had been started. A returnee in Niger said, “I’ve been here four months and no support has reached us. It seems that something is scheduled for us but it remains blocked for some reason in Niamey.”

An important lesson learned is the need to introduce specific measures to facilitate the reintegration of the returnees in a timely way. An innovative reintegration scheme for returnees was introduced in Bangladesh [see following article]. It is too early to assess the longer-term outcomes of this scheme but it could be a model for other countries in the future.

The reception on arriving home was a bittersweet experience for many returnees. Reunions were emotional; families were relieved to see family members come home safely but joy quickly turned to worries about making ends meet and embarrassment among returnees at coming home empty-handed. Most returnees were from poor families anyway and the return home heightened the vulnerability of already struggling households.

Returnees in all countries found themselves in very difficult circumstances and commonly expressed sentiments of desperation, anxiety and frustration. Above all, the human tragedy of young men and women, suddenly uprooted from their livelihoods, and transplanted back to a situation of dependency, and facing a bleak and uncertain outlook, comes across forcefully in all the reports. Returnees frequently talked of feeling humiliated, and commonly expressed sentiments of despair, anxiety and frustration; of scorn and abuse by community members; and of fragile and unstable emotional states of mind. The most common and obvious concerns were employment, daily expenses and housing. In Burkina Faso most returnees were living with relatives or friends in homes made of temporary materials. Some appeared to have problems finding the next meal, and with meeting the costs of schooling and health care.

Returnees are responding to this situation by turning to a variety of measures to make ends meet. Local bank managers in Ghana reported the withdrawal of deposits and early redemption of fixed deposits as well as an increase in demand for loans. In Burkina Faso, animals were being sold to meet immediate needs. In both cases, this was in effect cashing in important investments.

Some returnees returned to their former occupations but not many had returned with sufficient savings to set themselves up. In all these countries returnees had ideas about starting new income-generating activities, and were keen to do so, but needed money and materials to help launch these initiatives.

Apart from money, other key barriers to reintegration included psychological trauma, loss of property or investment, and debts. The ‘culture shock’ of returning home seems to have been an issue for some; having got used to a different lifestyle in Libya, they were described by community members as dressing differently, standing out and engaging in what was seen as inappropriate behaviour such as drunkenness and promiscuity. In some cases they appeared unwilling to do the work they did before and wanted more skilled work. It is not surprising that the assessments found some returnees turning to the idea of migrating again. What is interesting, however, is that most of the returnees were keen on staying at home and adapting to local conditions, if only they could be assisted to find jobs or set up enterprises.

In some communities where labour migration was a key coping strategy, such as in Ghana, community members were generally sensitive to the difficulties facing returning migrants, and concerned about the social instability that might arise if these hardworking young men were unable to find jobs.  By contrast, in Burkina Faso there was little community support, probably due to a lack of investment by migrants in their places of origin while they were away.

Conclusion

There is a reasonably clear and consistent picture across countries. The efficiency of the repatriation operation carried out by the international community, governments and NGOs, in response to the most immediate danger, saved the lives of thousands of migrant workers and prevented the Libyan crisis from spilling over into other countries and turning into a much larger humanitarian catastrophe. Several months on, and with immediate security threats at bay, what is most visible now is the hardship and disappointment faced by tens of thousands of young men suddenly robbed of the livelihoods they had journeyed so hard to find, and with no means of helping themselves back home. Programmes for socio-economic integration are badly needed not only to help individual returnees and families but also for the peace and stability of wider communities, countries and the region as a whole.

Asmita Naik asmita.naik@yahoo.com is an independent consultant. Frank Laczko flaczko@iom.int is Head of the Migration Research Division in the International Organization for Migration www.iom.int

1 The reports are available on request from IOM.

2 Burkina Faso, Chad, Ghana, Mali, Niger and Senegal.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview