الفاعلون الإنسانيون المعترف بهم حديثاً

يتزايد القادة الإنسانيين "الجدد" من حيث الخصائص والأثر والقدرة. وهم في حاجة إلى الاعتراف بهم من قِبل المجتمع الإنساني الدولي كنظراء.

لقد قدمت الأزمات الإنسانية المتزامنة والمتعددة خلال العامين 2011 و2012 في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا تحديات للنظام الإنساني التقليدي نظراً للقيود المفروضة على النَّفاذ والتكييف والتمويل. وفي نفس الوقت، كان للفاعلين "غير التقليديين" أثرٌ عظيمٌ في مصر وليبيا وتونس واليمن نظراً للتقارب بينهم من حيث المكان والوقت. وقد ساهموا في ملء الفجوة من خلال استباق المجتمع الدولي وإقامة روابط أفضل في المجتمع المحلي وتجاه هياكل الحوكمة غير الرسمية. وينطبق ذلك أيضاً على الصومال.

ويعتمد النموذج التقليدي للإجراءات الإنسانية التي يقتضيها المجتمع الدولي على الاهتمام بالكارثة، حيث يكون موقع الحوكمة الإنسانية والتمويل في دول الشمال. وهو يختص بالمجتمع الإنساني الضعيف على المستوى المحلي أو الإقليمي (من حيث النطاق والمبادئ والتنسيق). وفي أوائل عام 2011، أعطى الموقف في ليبيا هذا الانطباع. وفي شرق البلاد، إلى جانب الحدود مع مصر وتونس، كانت المجتمعات المحلية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني أول من تجاوب مع احتياجات الأشخاص النازحين. وجاء بعد ذلك المنظمات الأهلية المصرية، حيث نظمت قوافل إلى بني غازي وأماكن أخرى، في حين أصدرت منظمة التعاون الإسلامي واتحاد الأطباء العرب تقارير دورية حول الأوضاع بأسابيع قبل تقارير نظام الاستجابة التقليدية.

وعلى المستوى الإقليمي، تزايدت مصادر وآثار الإدارات الإنسانية لجامعة الدول العربية ومنظمة التعاون الإسلامي. كما أصبحت المنظمات الأهلية الوطنية أكثر أهمية بعد اضطهادها تحت حكم الأنظمة المستبدة. وعلى المستوى الدولي، تعمل المنظمات الأهلية المصرية مع المنظمات الأخرى مثل اتحاد الأطباء العرب وبنك الطعام للاستجابة في ليبيا والصومال وسوريا. كما يتضح نشاط المنظمات الأهلية من الخليج (خاصة قطر والإمارات العربية المتحدة) وتركيا في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وخارجها.

وعلى المجتمع الدولي لإظهار الالتزام بهؤلاء الفاعلين النامين ودعمهم وفقاً لشروطهم. كما أن هؤلاء الفاعلين في حاجة إلى الاعتراف بهم بسبب الوصول إليهم وشرعيتهم واتصالاتهم. هذا يعني بناء الثقة والقدرة الداعمة وتشجيع التعاون. علاوة على ذلك، فقد تساعد هذه الشراكات في إزالة الشكوك غير الصحيحة وتعزيز العمل الإنساني والتنموي كمجال محايد لبناء الثقة بين المجتمعات.

وقد حان الوقت من أجل تعميق الشراكة بين الأمم المتحدة وجامعة الدول العربية ومنظمة التعاون الإسلامي، إذ إنَّ لكل منها مهارات وقواعد للمستفيدين وطرق مختلفة للوصول. وهذا يحدث في اجتماعات وزيارات تقييم مشتركة (كما حدث حول سوريا، على سبيل المثال). وكجزء من ذلك، على الجهات الإقليمية مناقشة آليات التنسيق المدعومة من الجميع، بما في ذلك الحكومات والمنظمات الأهلية. وستستفيد الهيئات المختلفة كاللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الوكالات حتماً من إشراك الفاعلين الجدد والاعتراف بهم. وبصورة جماعية، فإنه يتعين أن يكون لهم مكان ضمن اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الوكالات بنفس الطريقة التي يكون للمنظمات الأهلية مكان. ومن أحد الأساليب الأخرى لإظهار الثقة، مع تعظيم الفعالية، أن تقدم الحكومات الغربية التمويل المباشر لعدد أكبر من المنظمات الأهلية الإسلامية.

وفي بعض الأحيان، تستطيع المنظمات الأهلية الدولية الوصول بصورة أفضل للمحتاجين والحصول على مزيد من الخبرات ومصادر التمويل المختلفة. ويتضح أثرها على الأرض وفي شحذ الدعم في الدول المانحة. لكن تحتاج المنظمات الأهلية المحلية إلى النظر إليها كنظراء، وعلى المانحين القيام بالمزيد لدعم قدرة واتصالات منظمات المجتمع المدني المنهجية. كما أن هناك ايضاً حاجة للجمع بينهم كأقران. ومن أحد العوائق الواضحة أن المجتمعات الإنسانية التقليدية و"المعترف بها حديثاً" تتعامل مع المساءلة والمبادئ الإنسانية بشكل مختلف. وليس كافياً أن نتساءل عن السبب في ألا يكون لأحد المجتمعات الإنسانية نفس بيان القيم كباقي المجتمعات، فعلينا إذن أن نفهم المنظمات وقيمها.

ويبقى لنا أن نعرف ما إذا كان الموقف المتأزم خلال العام الأول من الربيع العربي سيستمر في تحدي الهيكل الإنساني التقليدي، والبادي أن هذا محتمل. ومعاً، علينا إيجاد أساليب أفضل للتعامل مع الأزمات في سوريا والصومال والساحل واليمن ومناطق أخرى.

يعمل جينس شو هاميلتون james@humanitarianforum.org مديراً للمنتدى الإنساني www.humanitarianforum.org.

 

تم تأسيس المنتدى الإنساني عام 2005 كشبكة من المنظمات الإنسانية والتنموية المهمة من الدول الإسلامية المانحة والمستقبلة والنظام الغربي ومتعدد الأطراف. وهو يهدف إلى تحسين فعالية وكفاءة المساعدة من خلال التعامل مع الفجوات المحددة بين المجتمعات الإنسانية من خلال التدريب والحوار والتعاون والعمل على نطاق عالمي وفي الدول الشريكة مثل إندونيسيا وليبيا والصومال واليمن.

وقد درب المنتدى الدولي المئات من منظمات المجتمع المدني العاملة في أو لأجل شرقي ليبيا والصومال وسوريا واليمن. وإلى جانب جامعة الدول العربية ومنظمة التعاون الإسلامي ومكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، عقد المنتدى الإنساني أيضاً العديد من المؤتمرات للجهات المعنية الأقليمية من أجل ليبيا والصومال وسوريا واليمن، مما أعطى الفرصة للحديث مع عشرات الأشخاص من جميع المستويات في هذه الجهات الإقليمية وحركة الهلال الأحمر/الصليب الأحمر والمنظمات الأهلية الدولية والمنظمات الأهلية/ منظمات المجتمع المدني الإقليمية.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Newly recognised humanitarian actors

‘New’ humanitarian leaders are growing in profile, impact and capacity. They need to be recognised as equals by the international humanitarian community.

The multiple parallel humanitarian crises of 2011-12 in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) have challenged the traditional humanitarian system because of constraints of access, adaptation and funding. At the same time, ‘non-traditional’ actors have had a great impact in Egypt, Libya, Tunisia and Yemen by being close in space and time. They have filled a gap by acting earlier than the international community and having better links into the local community and to informal governance structures. The same is true in Somalia.

A traditional model of internationally mandated humanitarian action depends on interest in a disaster where humanitarian governance and funding are, i.e. in the Global North. It assumes a weak local or regional humanitarian community (in terms of scale, principles and coordination). Early in 2011, the situation in Libya belied this. In the east of the country, as well as on the borders with Egypt and Tunisia, local communities and civil society organisations (CSOs) were the first to respond to the needs of displaced people. Egyptian NGOs followed, organising convoys to Benghazi and elsewhere, while local humanitarian committees in Libya, the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) and the Arab Medical Union produced regular situation reports weeks before those of the traditional response system.

Regionally, the humanitarian departments of the League of Arab States (LAS) and the OIC have grown in resources and impact. National NGOs are also becoming more visible, after being stifled under autocratic regimes. Egyptian NGOs are working more internationally, with organisations like the Arab Medical Union and the Food Bank responding in Libya, Somalia and Syria. NGOs from the Gulf (particularly Qatar and the UAE) and Turkey are also increasingly active both in MENA and outside it.

The international community needs to show commitment to these evolving actors, supporting them on their own terms. They need to be recognised because of their access, legitimacy and connections. This means building trust, supporting capacity and encouraging cooperation. Additionally such partnerships may help to break down misplaced suspicions and promote humanitarian and development work as a neutral area for building trust between communities.

It is time to deepen partnership between the UN, LAS and OIC, each of which has different skills, constituencies and access. This is happening in joint meetings and assessment visits (for example about Syria). As part of this, the regional bodies need to discuss mechanisms of coordination supported by all, including governments and NGOs. Structures like the Inter-Agency Standing Committee (IASC) would certainly benefit from involving and recognising the new actors. Collectively, they should have a seat on the IASC in the same way that other NGO groups have seats. Another way to demonstrate trust – and maximise effectiveness – would be for western governments to provide direct funding to more Islamic NGOs.

International NGOs sometimes have better access to those in need, more experience and different funding sources. Their impact on the ground and in galvanising support in donor countries is clear. Nevertheless, local NGOs need to be seen as equals and donors should do more to support systemic CSO capacity and connections. There also needs to be a coming together as peers. One of the perceived barriers is that the traditional and the ‘newly recognised’ humanitarian communities treat accountability and humanitarian principles differently. It is not enough to ask why one humanitarian community does not have the same statement of values as another; we need to understand the organisations and their values.

It remains to be seen if the extreme situation during the first year of the Arab Spring will continue to challenge the regional humanitarian architecture – but it seems likely. Together, we need to find better ways of addressing the crises in Syria, Somalia, the Sahel, Yemen and elsewhere.

James Shaw-Hamilton james@humanitarianforum.org is the Director of The Humanitarian Forum www.humanitarianforum.org.

The Humanitarian Forum was set up in 2005 as a network of key humanitarian and development organisations from Muslim donor and recipient countries, the West and the multilateral system. It aims to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of aid by addressing identified gaps between humanitarian communities through training, dialogue and cooperation, working internationally and in partner countries. The Humanitarian Forum has trained hundreds of civil society organisations (CSOs) working in or for eastern Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview