إعادة التوطين مطلوبة للاجئين في تونس

حيث تشهد تونس تغيرات سياسية واجتماعية واقتصادية واسعة النطاق، فإن هناك حاجة ماسّة للتخفيف من عبء استضافة الفارّين من ليبيا والذين لا يمكنهم العودة إلى أوطانهم.

لم تكن الدول المجاورة لليبيا في وضع يسمح لها بأن تقدم أكثر من ملاذ مؤقت للعديد من الأشخاص الذين عانوا من أوضاع التهجير المتعددة من أوطانهم ومن دول اللجوء السابقة.

"إنني سعيدة للغاية، رغم أني خائفة" تقول تيجي[1]، وهي إرترية تبلغ من العمر 21 عاماً تعيش في مخيم شوشة جنوبي تونس منذ أولى أيام الحرب في ليبيا وتم اختيارها أيضاً ضمن برنامج إعادة التوطين في أستراليا. غادرت تيجي إريتريا عندما كان عمرها 15 عاماً، إلى السودان أولاً ثم إلى ليبيا. "لقد كانت الحياة قاسية في ليبيا، وكنت أعمل خادمة في المنازل".

أما موسى، فقد كان أقل حظاً، وهو إريتري أيضاً، حيث قوبل طلبه بإعادة توطينه في النرويج والولايات المتحدة بالرفض وظل هو منتظراً. "لا تعد العودة إلى ليبيا خياراً في الوقت الحالي، إذ يُعتقل القادمون من الدول الأفريقية جنوب الصحراء ويُعذبون." وقد عاد بعض من أصدقائه إلى ليبيا لاستقلال قارب إلى أوروبا. "إنهم الآن في إيطاليا، أما نحن فعلينا الانتظار لحل بطيء هنا في المخيم، لذلك قرروا البحث عن حل سريع. ورغم أننا شباب، فليس الوقت في صالحنا." وعند الحديث إلى هؤلاء الرجال، نجد أن العديد منهم مستعدون للمخاطرة بحياتهم والاتجاه بقارب إلى لامبيدوسا أو مالطة. ويرى البعض أن البديل هو شوشة، "فماذا سأخسر؟".

وتعرض الإقامة الممتدة في مخيم شوشة الأسر الذي يضم أطفالاً صغاراً أو قاصرين غير مصاحبين ببالغين أو أشخاص من ذوي الحالات الصحية الخطيرة وغير هؤلاء من المستضعفين إلى مخاطر جسيمة. وفي وقتنا الحالي، تعد إعادة التوطين الحل الدائم الفعلي والوحيد للاجئين في شوشة. إلا أن استجابة الدول الأوروبية كانت محدودة للغاية في توفير مناطق لإعادة توطين اللاجئين في مخيم شوشة، فقد كان أغلبية اللاجئين قد أحيلوا إلى إعادة التوطين في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. لكن الحالات المستضعفة تواجه المصاعب الجمّة نتيجة تباطؤ عملية التجهيز من قِبل الولايات المتحدة (التي درجت العادة على أن تمتد ما بين 6 إلى 12 شهراً قبل المغادرة). علاوة على ذلك، هناك بعض اللاجئين ممن لا تنطبق عليهم شروط إعادة التوطين في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية نظراً للقيود التي تفرضها إزاء الأشخاص الذين تعتقد بانتمائهم إلى بعض الجماعات المناوئة. لذلك، فإن هناك حاجة لإيجاد حلول بديلة لهؤلاء الأشخاص.

ومن بين الأشخاص المشردين في مخيم شوشة، يعود الكثير منهم إلى ليبيا، رغم المخاطر الجسيمة التي يواجهونها هناك، كي يستقلوا القوارب إلى أوروبا ليبدأوا رحلة بحرية محفوفة بالمخاطر. يقول توماس من نيجيريا: "إن الوصول إلى جزيرة لامبيدوسا مسألة حظ. إن فشلت، فلا بأس وإن نجحت، فهذا جيد[2]. وجميعنا يحتاج إلى الشجاعة كي يستطيع الاستمرار في حياته. أما هنا، فنحن عالقون... لكن كيف يمكن أن نعود إلى نيجيريا خاويي الوفاض؟ لقد دفعت لنا عائلاتنا الأموال كي نكسب المزيد منها ونعيدها إلى أوطاننا. وليتنا قادرين على العودة ببعض المال على الأقل، ساعتها لن نشعر بالخزي." وإذا كانت منظمة الهجرة الدولية والمفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين لتقدمان بعض المساعدة المالية إلى المهاجرين (وأيضاً المساعدات الخاصة بالنقل والتوثيق)، لكانوا في وضع أفضل كي يقرروا العودة إلى وطنهم.

أما الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي فبالنظر إلى قربها من المنطقة المتأثرة بالنزاع ومواردها الكبيرة نسبياً، يتعين عليها اتخاذ دور رائد في الاستجابة لموقف هؤلاء اللاجئين المتأزم. وعليهم كذلك تولي المسؤولية الجسيمة الناتجة عن تجاهلها خلال السنوات الماضية للسجل الإنساني الأليم في ليبيا من ناحية والسعي النشيط للتعاون مع حكومة العقيد معمر القذافي لوقف تدفق الأفراد من أفريقيا إلى أوروبا من ناحية أخرى. وقد نتج عن سياسات الاتحاد الأوروبي العديد من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الخطيرة للاجئين وطالبي اللجوء والمهاجرين.

أيضاً، تجاهلت استجابة إعادة التوطين الضعيفة من قِبل دول الاتحاد الأوروبي لأزمة اللاجئين النازحين على أعتاب القارة الأوروبية حتى الآن حقيقة أن بعض الدول الأوروبية كانت طرفاً في الصراع الذي يعد أحد أهم أسباب الانتقال غير الطوعي للأشخاص، من خلال مشاركتها في عمليات حلف شمال الأطلسي في ليبيا.

أمايا فالكارسل international.advocacy@jrs.net هي منسقة المناصرة الدولية في الجمعية اليسوعية لخدمة اللاجئين www.jrs.net.



[1] الأسماء ليست حقيقية

[2] في عام 2011، سجل البحر المتوسط رقماً قياسياً في كونه أخطر مساحة مائية في العالم، حيث لقي أكثر من 1500 شخص حتفهم بالغرق أو الفقدان (وربما تكون هذه الأرقام أقل من الواقع).

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Resettlement is needed for refugees in Tunisia

With Tunisia experiencing wide-ranging political, social and economic change, there is an imperative need to alleviate the burden of hosting people fleeing Libya who are unable to return to their countries of origin.

The countries neighbouring Libya were not in a position to provide more than temporary refuge for many people who had experienced multiple displacement from their countries of origin and previous countries of asylum.

“I am very happy but also fearful,” says Tigi1, a 21-year-old Eritrean woman who has been living in Shousha camp in southern Tunisia since the early days of the war in Libya and who has been selected to go through a resettlement programme to Australia. She fled her country when she was 15 years old, first to Sudan and then Libya. “Life in Libya was very difficult. I worked as a domestic worker.”

Musse has been less lucky. Also from Eritrea, his resettlement application to Norway and USA has been rejected and his life is about waiting. “Going back to Libya now is not an option. Sub-Saharan Africans are being detained and tortured.” Some of his friends went back to Libya to take a boat towards Europe. “They are now in Italy. We have to wait for a slow solution here in the camp, so they decided for the quick solution. We are young but time is against us.” Talking to these young men, one realises how many of them are ready to risk their lives taking a boat for Lampedusa or Malta. Many say, “The alternative is Shousha, so what can I lose?”

 Extended stay in Shousha camp poses considerable risks to families with small children, unaccompanied minors, persons with serious medical conditions and other vulnerable persons. Resettlement is, for the time being, the only realistic durable solution for the refugees in Shousha. But there has been a limited response by European countries thus far in providing resettlement spaces for refugees living in Shousha camp with the majority of refugees being submitted to the US. However, vulnerable cases face significant difficulties because of the slower processing time of the US (6-12 months before departure is the norm). In addition, some refugees in Shousha camp will be ineligible to be submitted for resettlement to the US due to its restrictive approach to persons perceived to be affiliated to certain opposition groups. Alternative solutions need to be found for these individuals.

Of the people who are stranded in Shousha, more and more are going back to Libya, despite facing serious risks there, in order to board boats for Europe and embark on a perilous sea journey. Thomas from Nigeria says, “Arriving in Lampedusa is a question of luck. If you fail, ok; if you succeed, it’s fine.2 One needs to have courage in life to continue moving forward. Here we are stuck… but how can we go back to Nigeria empty-handed? Our families paid so we could earn money to send it back home. If we could go back at least with some money, we would not feel ashamed.” If IOM and UNHCR were to provide some financial assistance to migrants (as well as assistance in terms of transportation and documentation), they would be in a better position to decide to go back home.

Given their proximity to the affected region and their comparatively greater resources, EU Member States should be taking a leading role in responding to the grim situation of these refugees. EU Member States bear a heavy responsibility for the way in which in recent years they have ignored Libya’s dire human rights record on the one hand, while actively seeking the collaboration of Colonel Gaddafi’s government to stem the flow of people arriving in Europe from Africa, on the other. The policies of the EU resulted in serious violations of the human rights of refugees, asylum seekers and migrants.

EU countries’ poor resettlement response so far to the plight of displaced refugees on Europe’s doorstep also ignores the fact that some European countries, by participating in NATO operations in Libya, have been party to the very conflict that has been one of the main causes of the involuntary movement of people.

Amaya Valcárcel international.advocacy@jrs.net is International Advocacy Coordinator in the Jesuit Refugee Service www.jrs.net

1 Not the real names

2 In 2011 the Mediterranean took the record for being the deadliest stretch of water in the world: more than 1,500 people drowned or went missing (and these numbers may be an underestimate).

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview